The Official Xbox One thread... - Page 514 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 221Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #15391 of 17041 Old 05-20-2014, 11:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
scubasteve2365's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,169
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 244
Quote:
Originally Posted by bd2003 View Post

There's been a recent surge in ram requirements due to the next gen consoles. Prior to that was a long stretch where you could go the length of a console cycle without upgrading.

The particular example with watch dogs referencing what it'll take to run the game at 1080p/60 at ultra settings, something neither console will be able to touch.

For poops-n-giggles. What do you think the price would be on a BOM (with HTPC console sized case) that would run watch dogs at 1080/60 versus a BOM with the same case that would run watch dogs at the same specs as PS4 (IIRC, 900p/60) Could you build a PC that would run the game as well as the PS4 does for $399 or less? What about the XBO? 5 years from now would you be able to do the same at $199-$249 (where the PS4/XBO will be priced then)?

I've always had the understanding that even though consoles are usually low-spec for the bulk of the console life cycle compared to PC, that due to the lower overhead (i.e., not running windows) or other developer methods of efficiency result in getting more out of that 1gig of ram than you would in a PC.

"The Scuba Tank" thread
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

PSN/XBL : ScubaSteve2365
scubasteve2365 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #15392 of 17041 Old 05-20-2014, 11:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
scubasteve2365's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,169
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 244
Quote:
Originally Posted by Osirus23 View Post

This is a bunch of nonsense that just proves you know little about PC gaming outside of what you were told 15 years ago. "Constant upgrading" is complete nonsense.

I also have a 5 year old PC that will play Watch Dogs just fine btw.

Interesting, my 3 year old PC, with 16g of Ram and an early gen core i5 wouldn't run Titanfall. Granted I didn't buy a gaming level video card 3 years ago, but in order to get the game to run well today (at least as good as the XBO) I'd have to spend a minimum of $100-$150 bucks. A card 3 years ago that would run Titanfall well would've cost how much then? How much was that PC build 5 years ago that will play Watch Dogs just fine and will it play it as well as the PS4/XBO?

"The Scuba Tank" thread
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

PSN/XBL : ScubaSteve2365
scubasteve2365 is online now  
post #15393 of 17041 Old 05-20-2014, 12:01 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bd2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 10,522
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 283 Post(s)
Liked: 1393
It's hard to say until the game is out. A PC will certainly cost you a little more, but it's more than made up by the lack of a yearly fee and cheaper games and accessories. There's still a case to be made that consoles are simpler, but its way more difficult the justify them from a value perspective than it used to. I think you even can get watch dogs for free with a $150 video card right now (which probably means I'll be able to buy a code from someone for $10.)

Steam/PSN/Xbox Live: Darius510
bd2003 is online now  
post #15394 of 17041 Old 05-20-2014, 12:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
metalsaber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Western, Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,546
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by americangunner View Post

What are the chances that after E3, we stop talking about all this stupid crap that has been recycled through this thread for the last several pages and start focusing on games?

You mean like focusing on resolution and frame rates? tongue.gif
pennhunter likes this.
metalsaber is offline  
post #15395 of 17041 Old 05-20-2014, 12:51 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 16,853
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 430 Post(s)
Liked: 548
Quote:
Originally Posted by scubasteve2365 View Post

For poops-n-giggles. What do you think the price would be on a BOM (with HTPC console sized case) that would run watch dogs at 1080/60 versus a BOM with the same case that would run watch dogs at the same specs as PS4 (IIRC, 900p/60)

From http://www.forbes.com/sites/erikkain/2014/05/13/ubisoft-reveals-actual-resolution-for-watch-dogs-on-ps4-and-xbox-one/
Quote:
“The game also looks great on both generations of consoles,” the post reads. “On new-gen systems the game will run at 900p on PS4 and 792p on Xbox One, at 30 frames-per-second on both consoles.”

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
" -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
post #15396 of 17041 Old 05-20-2014, 12:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
totalownership's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2,264
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 173


AT HAMMOND ROBOTICS WE'RE BRINGING THE FUTURE ... HOME
totalownership is offline  
post #15397 of 17041 Old 05-20-2014, 01:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
freemeat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,719
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 554
792p, isn't that Titanfall as well? Is there technical reason why they go with 792p, maybe scaling smoothly or something?
freemeat is offline  
post #15398 of 17041 Old 05-20-2014, 01:43 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 16,853
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 430 Post(s)
Liked: 548
Quote:
Originally Posted by freemeat View Post

792p, isn't that Titanfall as well? Is there technical reason why they go with 792p, maybe scaling smoothly or something?

Google "Titanfall resolution". Respawn said that were continuing to work on it and intended to issue a patch with a resolution bump.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
" -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
post #15399 of 17041 Old 05-20-2014, 01:45 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bd2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 10,522
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 283 Post(s)
Liked: 1393
Quote:
Originally Posted by freemeat View Post

792p, isn't that Titanfall as well? Is there technical reason why they go with 792p, maybe scaling smoothly or something?

The simple answer is esram limitations. The full explanation requires so much tech jargon it'll make your head explode. ;p

Steam/PSN/Xbox Live: Darius510
bd2003 is online now  
post #15400 of 17041 Old 05-20-2014, 01:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
freemeat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,719
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 554
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post

Google "Titanfall resolution". Respawn said that were continuing to work on it and intended to issue a patch with a resolution bump.

So they are upping it?
Quote:
Originally Posted by bd2003 View Post

The simple answer is esram limitations. The full explanation requires so much tech jargon it'll make your head explode. ;p

ok, well other game are 1080p.. Just was curious if 792p was some weird preferred scaling resolution.
freemeat is offline  
post #15401 of 17041 Old 05-20-2014, 02:14 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bd2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 10,522
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 283 Post(s)
Liked: 1393
Quote:
Originally Posted by freemeat View Post

So they are upping it?
ok, well other game are 1080p.. Just was curious if 792p was some weird preferred scaling resolution.

It depends on how they use the esram.

I think it's actually a pretty bad resolution to scale to 1080, but having more source pixels outweighs it.

Steam/PSN/Xbox Live: Darius510
bd2003 is online now  
post #15402 of 17041 Old 05-20-2014, 04:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tgable's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post

Google "Titanfall resolution". Respawn said that were continuing to work on it and intended to issue a patch with a resolution bump.

The frame rate is bad enough, they should get a batter frame rate, not increase the res. Odds are they will do neither.

Now playing: Madden, Diablo 3, First Light, PvZ: GW
Recently Finished: Watch Dogs
PSN & XBL: Scuzzlebutt33
tgable is offline  
post #15403 of 17041 Old 05-20-2014, 04:48 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bd2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 10,522
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 283 Post(s)
Liked: 1393
Quote:
Originally Posted by tgable View Post

The frame rate is bad enough, they should get a batter frame rate, not increase the res. Odds are they will do neither.

Yeah I get the feeling that if they were going to raise the resolution, they'd have done it by now. All the extra stuff they promised for PC is still MIA as well. Their programmers have prob moved on to TF2 already.

Steam/PSN/Xbox Live: Darius510
bd2003 is online now  
post #15404 of 17041 Old 05-21-2014, 03:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
Jonny5nz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 648
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Who has time to look at the resolution? A solid 60fps would be nice though.
pennhunter likes this.

Jonny 5


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Jonny5nz is offline  
post #15405 of 17041 Old 05-21-2014, 06:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bailey151's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,948
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by scubasteve2365 View Post

.........I've always had the understanding that even though consoles are usually low-spec for the bulk of the console life cycle compared to PC, that due to the lower overhead (i.e., not running windows) or other developer methods of efficiency result in getting more out of that 1gig of ram than you would in a PC.
That's always been the claim, can be optimized for the hardware. Squeeze every last drop out of it since there is no generalized coding.

It's just my opinion & it's worth exactly what you paid for it.
Bailey151 is offline  
post #15406 of 17041 Old 05-21-2014, 06:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
spid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,303
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 377
The new OS features coming in June have been detailed. The biggest feature for me is external drive support. The beta features for Smartglass will roll into full product.

http://majornelson.com/2014/05/21/external-storage-real-names-and-more-coming-with-xbox-one-system-update-in-june/
spid is online now  
post #15407 of 17041 Old 05-21-2014, 06:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
metalsaber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Western, Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,546
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 94
External Hard drive support = huge win

Auto sign in will be nice simple addition as well.
pennhunter and Bailey151 like this.
metalsaber is offline  
post #15408 of 17041 Old 05-21-2014, 07:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mboojigga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Little Rock AFB, Arkansas
Posts: 7,982
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 442
So no ceiling limit for external hardrive size along with being able to hook up two at a time. My 2 3TBs have been ready.
pennhunter likes this.

The 5.0 is here
mboojigga is offline  
post #15409 of 17041 Old 05-21-2014, 07:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
americangunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,890
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 287
A lot of good features coming in that update. I want to see how the real name thing works too.

XBL: xGunner26x

PSN: AMER1CAN_GUNNER

Steam: xGunner26x

americangunner is offline  
post #15410 of 17041 Old 05-21-2014, 07:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bailey151's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,948
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by metalsaber View Post

External Hard drive support = huge win

Auto sign in will be nice simple addition as well.
+1 ......'bout time for the external smile.gif
pennhunter likes this.

It's just my opinion & it's worth exactly what you paid for it.
Bailey151 is offline  
post #15411 of 17041 Old 05-21-2014, 07:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
metalsaber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Western, Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,546
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 94
I'm assuming the HDD can be of any variety as long as it connects via USB3? 5400 or 7200rpms or higher? SSD or any form factor?
metalsaber is offline  
post #15412 of 17041 Old 05-21-2014, 08:15 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bd2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 10,522
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 283 Post(s)
Liked: 1393
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bailey151 View Post

That's always been the claim, can be optimized for the hardware. Squeeze every last drop out of it since there is no generalized coding.

DX12 may change all that though.

Steam/PSN/Xbox Live: Darius510
bd2003 is online now  
post #15413 of 17041 Old 05-21-2014, 08:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
emartins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 3,799
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 275 Post(s)
Liked: 416
Quote:
Originally Posted by metalsaber View Post

I'm assuming the HDD can be of any variety as long as it connects via USB3? 5400 or 7200rpms or higher? SSD or any form factor?

All it mentions is USB3 and 256gb or higher. So I would think anything would work

Hapi -"Lazy......cuz he's a boss like that"

mphfrom77 - "I'm an idiot."

benjamin-benjami -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
emartins is offline  
post #15414 of 17041 Old 05-21-2014, 08:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
metalsaber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Western, Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,546
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by emartins View Post

All it mentions is USB3 and 256gb or higher. So I would think anything would work

Thats my reaction as well, but I'd hate to go dropping a couple hundred bucks on a drive/enclosure that wasn't supported for some reason.
metalsaber is offline  
post #15415 of 17041 Old 05-21-2014, 08:21 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bd2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 10,522
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 283 Post(s)
Liked: 1393
Quote:
Originally Posted by metalsaber View Post

I'm assuming the HDD can be of any variety as long as it connects via USB3? 5400 or 7200rpms or higher? SSD or any form factor?

Maybe they'll run a speed test or something, but I doubt there are any retail USB 3.0 drives slower than the stock HDD anyway, so USB 3.0 support alone should make for a good cutoff. It says at least 256GB though, so that rules out a lot of SSDs.

Steam/PSN/Xbox Live: Darius510
bd2003 is online now  
post #15416 of 17041 Old 05-21-2014, 08:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
emartins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 3,799
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 275 Post(s)
Liked: 416
Quote:
Originally Posted by metalsaber View Post

Thats my reaction as well, but I'd hate to go dropping a couple hundred bucks on a drive/enclosure that wasn't supported for some reason.

I plan on waiting till they tell us exactly what requirements it has

Hapi -"Lazy......cuz he's a boss like that"

mphfrom77 - "I'm an idiot."

benjamin-benjami -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
emartins is offline  
post #15417 of 17041 Old 05-21-2014, 08:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
emartins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 3,799
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 275 Post(s)
Liked: 416
Quote:
Originally Posted by bd2003 View Post

Maybe they'll run a speed test or something, but I doubt there are any retail USB 3.0 drives slower than the stock HDD anyway, so USB 3.0 support alone should make for a good cutoff. It says at least 256GB though, so that rules out a lot of SSDs.


Do you think somehow USB3 will slow down any gains from the SSD. I see MS somehow slowing down the USB3 to the point of the SSD speeds being worthless.

Hapi -"Lazy......cuz he's a boss like that"

mphfrom77 - "I'm an idiot."

benjamin-benjami -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
emartins is offline  
post #15418 of 17041 Old 05-21-2014, 08:34 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bd2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 10,522
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 283 Post(s)
Liked: 1393
Quote:
Originally Posted by emartins View Post

Do you think somehow USB3 will slow down any gains from the SSD. I see MS somehow slowing down the USB3 to the point of the SSD speeds being worthless.

Depends on their implementation. On paper USB 3.0 is faster than the internal SATA2 ports, but they might be reserving some bandwidth for other purposes. Even so, most of the gains from an SSD are going to come from the vastly reduced access time, so I'd wager you'll still see a solid boost from one. It won't be huge though, cause the bottleneck is still the decompression stage.

Steam/PSN/Xbox Live: Darius510
bd2003 is online now  
post #15419 of 17041 Old 05-21-2014, 08:46 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,441
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 644 Post(s)
Liked: 714
Quote:
Originally Posted by metalsaber View Post

External Hard drive support = huge win

Auto sign in will be nice simple addition as well...
Yes. Newegg is having a sale on 2.5" external enclosures with USB 3.0. I have a bunch of old 128GB SSDs lying around. So I think I will buy a several enclosures and use them for my XBOnes.

As far as auto sign in. It already does this for me with kinect.

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is offline  
post #15420 of 17041 Old 05-21-2014, 08:48 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,441
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 644 Post(s)
Liked: 714
Quote:
Originally Posted by emartins View Post

All it mentions is USB3 and 256gb or higher. So I would think anything would work

Crap!! Really?!?! 256GB and higher? There goes my plan to repurpose my old 128GB SSDs.

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is offline  
Reply Xbox Area

Tags
Monoprice , Xbox One Console Day One Edition

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off