The Official Xbox One thread... - Page 537 - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Gaming & Content Streaming > Home Theater Gaming > Xbox Area > The Official Xbox One thread...

Xbox Area

WilliamR's Avatar WilliamR
11:15 AM Liked: 261
post #16081 of 18097
06-26-2014 | Posts: 8,184
Joined: May 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by scubasteve2365 View Post
I picked up an Xbox One off of craigslist earlier this week and finally got around to playing it (and Titanfall) last night. The kids were still awake and playing outside but I knew that the game needed to "install" first so I threw the disc in and walked away. When I finally got the kids to bed and wanted to play the install had an "error", and asked me to try again. I ejected the disc and popped it back in. Same thing. I eventually Googled the problem and landed on a Microsoft support page that said the install failed because there was an update available for the game and that I needed to disconnect from the internet in order to install. It then proceeded to tell me that the only way I could disconnect from the internet is to pull the ethernet cable, which was a pain because I have my media rack cut into the wall and I have to access it from behind, remove panels, ect.

I have Ryse coming in from Gamefly, am I going to have this problem with every game that isn't a fresh release and that has a "update" available for it?
Why do you have to remove panels to remove it from the Internet? You have to remove panels every time you want to put a game in? If you can access the Xbox to insert a disc then you can access the internet cable behind it to remove it from the Xbox. If the space is that tight that you can't put your hand over top the xbox to unplug it then you will have a serious heating/cooling issue, plus you should have enough slack in your cables to pull the xbox out some to reach the cable plugged into the back. If you are using wireless, you can go into the Xbox dashboard and turn off wireless. Easy.
scubasteve2365's Avatar scubasteve2365
12:33 PM Liked: 254
post #16082 of 18097
06-26-2014 | Posts: 1,235
Joined: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by WilliamR View Post
Why do you have to remove panels to remove it from the Internet? You have to remove panels every time you want to put a game in? If you can access the Xbox to insert a disc then you can access the internet cable behind it to remove it from the Xbox. If the space is that tight that you can't put your hand over top the xbox to unplug it then you will have a serious heating/cooling issue, plus you should have enough slack in your cables to pull the xbox out some to reach the cable plugged into the back. If you are using wireless, you can go into the Xbox dashboard and turn off wireless. Easy.
I can access the front of the console but the way the rack is framed and buttoned up it's not easy to access the ethernet port.

I have not had any issues with Xbox360, Wii-U, PS3, or the PS4 from a cooling perspective, nor any amplifier or AV reciever.

There is ample cooling. Cooling doesn't require enough hand space for unplugging cables that need not be regularly unplugged.

I don't need cable slack and my cable management is tidy, access is from the rear if taking out or adding new equipment. It's sort of ridiculous that I'd need to unplug the ethernet cable everytime I install a game, if that is what you're getting at.
mboojigga's Avatar mboojigga
01:18 PM Liked: 468
post #16083 of 18097
06-26-2014 | Posts: 8,070
Joined: Mar 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by scubasteve2365 View Post
I can access the front of the console but the way the rack is framed and buttoned up it's not easy to access the ethernet port.

I have not had any issues with Xbox360, Wii-U, PS3, or the PS4 from a cooling perspective, nor any amplifier or AV reciever.

There is ample cooling. Cooling doesn't require enough hand space for unplugging cables that need not be regularly unplugged.

I don't need cable slack and my cable management is tidy, access is from the rear if taking out or adding new equipment. It's sort of ridiculous that I'd need to unplug the ethernet cable everytime I install a game, if that is what you're getting at.
Not sure what is going on with your Xbox but that isn't how it is supposed to update.
scubasteve2365's Avatar scubasteve2365
01:29 PM Liked: 254
post #16084 of 18097
06-26-2014 | Posts: 1,235
Joined: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by mboojigga View Post
Not sure what is going on with your Xbox but that isn't how it is supposed to update.
The update was fine, it's the installation that is the issue. It seems since because I was installing Titanfall for the very first time and because there was an update/patch on the server that blocked the install. Unplugging the Ethernet (or disconnecting wifi had I been on wifi) means the console can't check for patches/updates and lets the installation proceed. There is a bug in the OS that locked out the installation of the game otherwise.

http://support.xbox.com/en-US/xbox-o...-process-stops
------------------------------------------------------
When you try to install an Xbox One game from a disc, the installation process stops at or near 0%. No matter how long you wait, the installation process remains at or near 0%.
Note This issue can occur if you are connected to Xbox Live.

Solution

To resolve this issue, disconnect from Xbox Live, install the game, and then reconnect to Xbox Live. Here’s how:
  1. Disconnect your Xbox One console from Xbox Live. To disconnect your console from Xbox Live:
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Pretty wonky problem and an even wonkier solution.
mboojigga's Avatar mboojigga
01:32 PM Liked: 468
post #16085 of 18097
06-26-2014 | Posts: 8,070
Joined: Mar 2006
Are you talking about the intital update that you have to do before anything else?
scubasteve2365's Avatar scubasteve2365
01:53 PM Liked: 254
post #16086 of 18097
06-26-2014 | Posts: 1,235
Joined: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by mboojigga View Post
Are you talking about the intital update that you have to do before anything else?
It's not an issue with any update. It's in issue with a game install to the harddrive.

I put Titanfall disc in for the first time. Installation failed. Googled problem. Problem is that there is a patch for Titanfall and something in the OS prevents the game from installing if you're connected to XBL and a patch is detected. The solution is to disconnect from the internet, then install the game, then reconnect to the internet and apply the game patch. Afterwards I didn't have any problems.

Not having heard of this issue before, I wondered if I'm going to have the same problem with future game discs (i.e., Ryse that is currently on it's way to me via Gamefly).

I don't want to have to keep unplugging my ethernet cable everytime I stick a game-disc in for the first time.
bd2003's Avatar bd2003
02:39 PM Liked: 1486
post #16087 of 18097
06-26-2014 | Posts: 10,950
Joined: Jun 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by scubasteve2365 View Post
It's not an issue with any update. It's in issue with a game install to the harddrive.

I put Titanfall disc in for the first time. Installation failed. Googled problem. Problem is that there is a patch for Titanfall and something in the OS prevents the game from installing if you're connected to XBL and a patch is detected. The solution is to disconnect from the internet, then install the game, then reconnect to the internet and apply the game patch. Afterwards I didn't have any problems.

Not having heard of this issue before, I wondered if I'm going to have the same problem with future game discs (i.e., Ryse that is currently on it's way to me via Gamefly).

I don't want to have to keep unplugging my ethernet cable everytime I stick a game-disc in for the first time.

That can't be how it normally works. There's just no way.
scubasteve2365's Avatar scubasteve2365
02:44 PM Liked: 254
post #16088 of 18097
06-26-2014 | Posts: 1,235
Joined: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by bd2003 View Post
That can't be how it normally works. There's just no way.
I hope it's not, tis why I asked. If so, I'm just going to move on over to wifi, at least then I can disconnect it via the OS.

MS has the support page with the "Solution" nevertheless....
bd2003's Avatar bd2003
02:50 PM Liked: 1486
post #16089 of 18097
06-26-2014 | Posts: 10,950
Joined: Jun 2004
Can't you just sign out of live?
michaeltscott's Avatar michaeltscott
03:25 PM Liked: 832
post #16090 of 18097
06-26-2014 | Posts: 18,130
Joined: Aug 2001
Seems like a design flaw which needs to be addressed to support people who buy their games on disc.
johnbe's Avatar johnbe
03:41 PM Liked: 44
post #16091 of 18097
06-26-2014 | Posts: 1,389
Joined: Sep 2001
Turn your power off to your modem, router, or switch. Whatever you use. Should be easier than worrying about unplugging the cable. Unless that is the requirement, which seems strange indeed.
spid's Avatar spid
06:34 PM Liked: 419
post #16092 of 18097
06-26-2014 | Posts: 3,397
Joined: May 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by bd2003 View Post
So much for that launch parity clause then?
A non-issue that gets overblown on the internet...news at 11.
mboojigga's Avatar mboojigga
06:59 PM Liked: 468
post #16093 of 18097
06-26-2014 | Posts: 8,070
Joined: Mar 2006
https://mobile.twitter.com/YTCreator...22459413053442


60 FPS: Motion-intense videos will look even better on @you Tube when we launch support for 48 and even 60 frames per second, coming soon.
Artman22's Avatar Artman22
02:01 AM Liked: 62
post #16094 of 18097
06-27-2014 | Posts: 258
Joined: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by scubasteve2365 View Post
I picked up an Xbox One off of craigslist earlier this week and finally got around to playing it (and Titanfall) last night. The kids were still awake and playing outside but I knew that the game needed to "install" first so I threw the disc in and walked away. When I finally got the kids to bed and wanted to play the install had an "error", and asked me to try again. I ejected the disc and popped it back in. Same thing. I eventually Googled the problem and landed on a Microsoft support page that said the install failed because there was an update available for the game and that I needed to disconnect from the internet in order to install. It then proceeded to tell me that the only way I could disconnect from the internet is to pull the ethernet cable, which was a pain because I have my media rack cut into the wall and I have to access it from behind, remove panels, ect.

I have Ryse coming in from Gamefly, am I going to have this problem with every game that isn't a fresh release and that has a "update" available for it?
Surprised you bought an Xbox one lol. What's your overall impression so far?
scubasteve2365's Avatar scubasteve2365
06:27 AM Liked: 254
post #16095 of 18097
06-27-2014 | Posts: 1,235
Joined: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Artman22 View Post
Surprised you bought an Xbox one lol. What's your overall impression so far?
Why are you surprised?

There is a lot to like about it, and quite a bit to dislike.

I think the OS is meh as a whole, there are some great ideas in there for sure, but I can't tell if it's good ideas naturally or just good ideas of trying to cram metro into the living room. I like pinning things, which works great for the left page and everything on the center page is ok for the most part, the store is mess.

The controller is fine, I've never been one to pick at a controller though. The DS3 worked for me, the DS4 is better than the DS3 for sure, and the XboxOne controller is fine as well. I do dislike the left and right bumpers though, always have.

My biggest complaints right now:

1) No way to extend Kinect, I don't have equipment at the front of the room in the theater.
2) Some apps stall for a long time when launched and some even just crash on a black screen. Makes it feel very Windows but not in a good way. Feel like I need to hit Ctrl-Alt-Del to bring up the task manager

I don't have much love for Microsoft as a company and the decisions they make, but I am a game consumer and there are studios that for whatever reasons partner with Microsoft because it's good for them and their business and I want to play their games (i.e., Sunset Overdrive, Quantum Break, ect). I don't see myself playing any multi-platform titles on the machine outside of maybe a shooter like COD where I might have more shooter friends playing on XBL than PSN.

To be clear, I paid $300 for the console with Kinect. Picked up Titanfall for $25. Ended up getting lucky in a promo yesterday that landed me $60 in my microsoft account and I think the store had a glitch last night that gave me Battlefield 4 for free. (I think). I plan to do that same promo in the up coming weeks and If I walk away with $60 each time, the value proposition propelling me back into the Xbox ecosystem is pretty hard to ignore. At retail, not so much.
scubasteve2365's Avatar scubasteve2365
06:36 AM Liked: 254
post #16096 of 18097
06-27-2014 | Posts: 1,235
Joined: Jan 2005
I mentioned this in my previous post, I think I got Battlefield 4 last night for free on the Xbox store, however I'm new to the Xbox store on Xbox One (and it's been a long time since I was active on my 360) so I might just be wrong. When I clicked on various games every game had a price, most were $59.99. Ryse showed a discounted price for a sale at $49.99 I think. For some reason, Battlefield 4 showed as "Free", the same as all of the apps like ESPN, Netflix, ect. I don't think Battlefield 4 is one of the games with gold deals. This happened at about 11:30 last night so I was heading to bed and I wasn't going to wait for the 30+ gigs to download to see if it works, I guess I'll know today.

Is there a way to check your "download list", I've been to Xbox.com but I don't seem to be finding it.
dbburns's Avatar dbburns
07:19 AM Liked: 40
post #16097 of 18097
06-27-2014 | Posts: 1,811
Joined: Aug 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by bd2003 View Post
Can't you just sign out of live?
This is what I am wondering as well. Is this not an option on the One? It is on the 360.
scubasteve2365's Avatar scubasteve2365
07:36 AM Liked: 254
post #16098 of 18097
06-27-2014 | Posts: 1,235
Joined: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by bd2003 View Post
Can't you just sign out of live?
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbburns View Post
This is what I am wondering as well. Is this not an option on the One? It is on the 360.
Nope, tried that. Even when you're signed out of live with your account the console is still connected to the internet. I'm assuming Ryse will get here today so I shall know soon enough if it's an ongoing problem. I'm also assuming that there has been at least one game update since the disc was stamped.
spid's Avatar spid
08:17 AM Liked: 419
post #16099 of 18097
06-27-2014 | Posts: 3,397
Joined: May 2005
The developers of Contrast did a Q & A on Reddit. Here are a couple highlights

When asked about the parity clause..

Quote:
Hah, this had to be the first question, didn't it?
So, I'll preface the answer by saying that we have been asking Microsoft for years to allow developers to self publish. We had been talking about self publishing Contrast since at least early 2012, to anyone at MS who would listen. When self publishing was announced for MS, it took us by surprise - we had no idea it was coming, which is a bit of a bugger because we had just signed a publishing deal for the 360. So, when they announced it, we were already committed to four platforms on launch, and for an 8 person team, that's pretty crazy already.
However, we still asked for dev kits from the middle of last year. Unfortunately, it took some time (as you guys know) for the ID program to get up and running, and we didn't get kits until after release. I think that's pretty reasonable - Microsoft was creating a new program, and priority probably should have gone to other devs who were not launching on other platforms, who wanted kits. But, obviously it meant that we couldn't have launched on Xbox One even if we tried.
I think that's the gist of why we "got around" the parity clause. But Microsoft's reasoning is their own. They are pretty flexible in unique situations, which I think is a good thing.


On the inclusion in Playstation Plus

Quote:
We got asked We have a pretty good relationship with Sony, and when it looked like we were going to make the launch date, we started talking about it. We had hoped that the marketing support would mean we'd reach way more people.
The PS+ and GwG programs are great for visibility. There is a substantial number of people who would never have known who we are, except for PS+.
It'll be really interesting to see how GwG grows over the next year, I think.
There is more in the link below





http://www.reddit.com/r/xboxone/comm...contrast_ausa/
bd2003's Avatar bd2003
08:39 AM Liked: 1486
post #16100 of 18097
06-27-2014 | Posts: 10,950
Joined: Jun 2004
So there is a parity clause, but they'll waive it if you ask really nicely?
pcweber111's Avatar pcweber111
10:16 AM Liked: 265
post #16101 of 18097
06-27-2014 | Posts: 3,568
Joined: Dec 2001
I think they'll realize they're gonna have to drop the parity clause. Too much competition, devs don't really need to launch on XBL right away, they can wait and still make money since there will be Xbox-only fans who will buy the game. MS seems to be on a good roll changing the bad policies and actually trying to compete now; this seems like the last vestige of that old way of thinking.
bd2003's Avatar bd2003
10:50 AM Liked: 1486
post #16102 of 18097
06-27-2014 | Posts: 10,950
Joined: Jun 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by pcweber111 View Post
I think they'll realize they're gonna have to drop the parity clause. Too much competition, devs don't really need to launch on XBL right away, they can wait and still make money since there will be Xbox-only fans who will buy the game. MS seems to be on a good roll changing the bad policies and actually trying to compete now; this seems like the last vestige of that old way of thinking.

Yeah...they're slowly realizing they need devs more than devs need them. It's such an arrogant stance to take. If they want launch parity, they need to earn it, not demand it.

I wonder how deep that clause goes though? Just parity with ps4, or also other platforms like PC, android, etc?
scubasteve2365's Avatar scubasteve2365
11:40 AM Liked: 254
post #16103 of 18097
06-27-2014 | Posts: 1,235
Joined: Jan 2005
I popped the Ryse disc in the console while home for lunch. Install started and told me there was a update, I had to confirm the update, and then installation proceeded. I did not need to unplug the Ethernet cable or any of the other nonsense.

I also checked Battlefield 4 and the game launches and let me get into a match. I quit after that point, so it looks like I did indeed land a free copy of the game courtesy of a momentary store glitch. Game looks like arse though, but the price was right. I played the campaign on PS4, and didn't have a chance to get into the multi, I guess now I'll get that chance.
aaronwt's Avatar aaronwt
11:41 AM Liked: 853
post #16104 of 18097
06-27-2014 | Posts: 22,175
Joined: Aug 2001
I still wonder how much they get from MS/Sony when the title is given out with Games with Gold/PS+
scubasteve2365's Avatar scubasteve2365
11:44 AM Liked: 254
post #16105 of 18097
06-27-2014 | Posts: 1,235
Joined: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
I still wonder how much they get from MS/Sony when the title is given out with Games with Gold/PS+
My guess is it varies. Probably depends on the developer, the game, when the game released, ect. I'd think Sony paid more for Resogun, a new game not on any other platform from a more established but small developer, than they paid for something that was rehashed from PC and over a year old.
bd2003's Avatar bd2003
11:54 AM Liked: 1486
post #16106 of 18097
06-27-2014 | Posts: 10,950
Joined: Jun 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by scubasteve2365 View Post
My guess is it varies. Probably depends on the developer, the game, when the game released, ect. I'd think Sony paid more for Resogun, a new game not on any other platform from a more established but small developer, than they paid for something that was rehashed from PC and over a year old.

Yeah, the contrast dev said in the AMA that every deal is different. Could be lump sum, per unit etc....whatever you can negotiate.
Arutha_conDoin's Avatar Arutha_conDoin
12:48 PM Liked: 202
post #16107 of 18097
06-27-2014 | Posts: 2,303
Joined: Mar 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by scubasteve2365 View Post
I picked up an Xbox One off of craigslist earlier this week and finally got around to playing it (and Titanfall) last night. The kids were still awake and playing outside but I knew that the game needed to "install" first so I threw the disc in and walked away. When I finally got the kids to bed and wanted to play the install had an "error", and asked me to try again. I ejected the disc and popped it back in. Same thing. I eventually Googled the problem and landed on a Microsoft support page that said the install failed because there was an update available for the game and that I needed to disconnect from the internet in order to install. It then proceeded to tell me that the only way I could disconnect from the internet is to pull the ethernet cable, which was a pain because I have my media rack cut into the wall and I have to access it from behind, remove panels, ect.

I have Ryse coming in from Gamefly, am I going to have this problem with every game that isn't a fresh release and that has a "update" available for it?
I'm assuming your Xbox One is hardwired? Any chance you can just slide it forward a little and unplug the ethernet cable from the Xbox One instead? I have never head of needing to be disconnected from the internet for any updates to install. All of my games that I have installed have been online and that is both DD and disc based installs. I did have one problem with Killer Instinct classic where it would get to 99% and not finish. I ended up deleted it and reinstalling and that resolved my issue.

Were you able to play anything else or was Titanfall the only game you had tried at that point?
spid's Avatar spid
04:38 PM Liked: 419
post #16108 of 18097
06-27-2014 | Posts: 3,397
Joined: May 2005
Xbox.com will be updated next week to show Xbox One profiles


http://www.polygon.com/2014/6/27/585...clips-xbox-one
michaeltscott's Avatar michaeltscott
05:01 PM Liked: 832
post #16109 of 18097
06-27-2014 | Posts: 18,130
Joined: Aug 2001
Support of Xbox One on the xbox.com site is horrible. It needs to do everything for Xbox One that it does for Xbox 360, preferably in the same way.
rightintel's Avatar rightintel
06:28 PM Liked: 58
post #16110 of 18097
06-27-2014 | Posts: 1,586
Joined: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post
Support of Xbox One on the xbox.com site is horrible. It needs to do everything for Xbox One that it does for Xbox 360, preferably in the same way.
You said a mouthful there. I found it to be pretty worthless(and frustrating).
Tags: Monoprice , Xbox One Console Day One Edition

Reply Xbox Area

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3