The Official Xbox One thread... - Page 553 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 157Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #16561 of 16793 Old 08-05-2014, 05:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nickff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Brownsburg, IN
Posts: 1,529
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arutha_conDoin View Post
I did not have an issue with my Xbox 1, but had the same problem with my PS4 on my Denon 3808. I was plugging the PS4 into the HDMI input 2 (it worked for the PS3) but it would not show the picture. I tried straight to TV and it worked. For kicks I put it on the HDMI input 1 where I had the Xbox one plugged in and it worked there. I then put the Xbox 1 on HDMI 2 and it had no issues whatsoever with that input. Long story short try plugging the Xbox 1 in the working PS4 HDMI input and see if it works. To this day I have no idea why the PS4 would work on the HDMI Input 2, but my guess is it had to be #1 .
Quote:
Originally Posted by ParityBit View Post
This is an interesting idea. I will give this a try when I get home after work.

So I have 4 inputs. FIOS, Xbox One, PS4 and 360 (unless I have to get rid of one). Are there certain inputs you should plug these into?
I believe both of those AVRs allow you to customize the sources...it sounds like you have the assignments different than what you would like. For example, on the 3808 say you turn the source select knob to "DVD" (or whatever you have changed the name to in the menu) it will use whatever video and audio connection you tell it to in the menu. You could have DVD use the HDMI 2 connection and nothing else...or you could have DVD use the component 1 for video and optical 2 for audio...it is up to you.

Mathematics is the reason for the season.

 

http://www.teacherspayteachers.com/Store/Ogive

Nickff is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #16562 of 16793 Old 08-05-2014, 05:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
spid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 353
There will be a Resident Evil 1 remake released next year.

http://www.polygon.com/2014/8/5/5970...c-release-date
spid is offline  
post #16563 of 16793 Old 08-05-2014, 05:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Arutha_conDoin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 2,038
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nickff View Post
I believe both of those AVRs allow you to customize the sources...it sounds like you have the assignments different than what you would like. For example, on the 3808 say you turn the source select knob to "DVD" (or whatever you have changed the name to in the menu) it will use whatever video and audio connection you tell it to in the menu. You could have DVD use the HDMI 2 connection and nothing else...or you could have DVD use the component 1 for video and optical 2 for audio...it is up to you.
That is correct in that they can be customized. I know with mine I did not change any of my settings just unplugged one set of cables from game system and put the new one into the existing cables. In theory it should have been fine, but that was not the case. I am not sure if @ParityBit went into the settings and changed anything or not.

Xbox Live: DaBeavers
PSN- Arutha_conDoin
Steam- An0mander
"Too much knowledge never makes for simple decisions."
-Ghanima Atreides
Arutha_conDoin is offline  
post #16564 of 16793 Old 08-05-2014, 05:44 AM
Member
 
ParityBit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arutha_conDoin View Post
That is correct in that they can be customized. I know with mine I did not change any of my settings just unplugged one set of cables from game system and put the new one into the existing cables. In theory it should have been fine, but that was not the case. I am not sure if @ParityBit went into the settings and changed anything or not.

I did not change anything. I kind of assumed I could ignore what the said was "game", vs DVD etc and just plug whatever component into that HDMI slot. I figure it has to be a configuration issue because I see the image from my Xbox flash on the screen before loosing signal. It also works fine with only one HDMI out to the TV, and if I plug the system directly into the TV.

One thing I did try was set the Xbox to not auto detect. I set it to HDMI, 1080p and 30 bit color. I was able to see the Xbox fine! But once I flipped to FIOS and back to the Xbox, it was doing the same thing (saw the signal for a second and then lost it).
ParityBit is offline  
post #16565 of 16793 Old 08-05-2014, 06:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nickff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Brownsburg, IN
Posts: 1,529
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by ParityBit View Post
I did not change anything. I kind of assumed I could ignore what the said was "game", vs DVD etc and just plug whatever component into that HDMI slot. I figure it has to be a configuration issue because I see the image from my Xbox flash on the screen before loosing signal. It also works fine with only one HDMI out to the TV, and if I plug the system directly into the TV.

One thing I did try was set the Xbox to not auto detect. I set it to HDMI, 1080p and 30 bit color. I was able to see the Xbox fine! But once I flipped to FIOS and back to the Xbox, it was doing the same thing (saw the signal for a second and then lost it).
Try swapping out the HDMI cable...maybe it is a handshake issue.

Mathematics is the reason for the season.

 

http://www.teacherspayteachers.com/Store/Ogive

Nickff is online now  
post #16566 of 16793 Old 08-05-2014, 06:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
vinodk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Camarillo, California
Posts: 2,226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Was waiting on the sideline to see which console will do 3D & 4k. Struggling to decide between XB1 & PS4. Now that 3D is enabled on both I am wondering which will enable 4k video in future. Does XB1 have any issues with HD audio with 3D bluray playback? Also does XB1 have video playback through USB?

Vinod
vinodk is offline  
post #16567 of 16793 Old 08-05-2014, 06:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nickff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Brownsburg, IN
Posts: 1,529
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 102
White xbox one coming?

http://www.technobuffalo.com/2014/08...set-overdrive/

Mathematics is the reason for the season.

 

http://www.teacherspayteachers.com/Store/Ogive

Nickff is online now  
post #16568 of 16793 Old 08-05-2014, 06:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nickff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Brownsburg, IN
Posts: 1,529
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by vinodk View Post
Was waiting on the sideline to see which console will do 3D & 4k. Struggling to decide between XB1 & PS4. Now that 3D is enabled on both I am wondering which will enable 4k video in future. Does XB1 have any issues with HD audio with 3D bluray playback? Also does XB1 have video playback through USB?
The Xbox One decodes the HD audio contained on BD-ROMs just fine and sends it to the AVR for playback. It will not bit-stream the HD audio to your AVR for decoding, but you get the same audio when the Xbox One decodes so no big deal (that is... if you trust the X1 to decode it correctly). Personally, I would rather use a unit designed for BD-ROMs and since blu-ray players are relatively inexpensive...I just use that for my shiny discs.

Mathematics is the reason for the season.

 

http://www.teacherspayteachers.com/Store/Ogive

Nickff is online now  
post #16569 of 16793 Old 08-05-2014, 07:01 AM
Member
 
ParityBit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nickff View Post
Try swapping out the HDMI cable...maybe it is a handshake issue.
This is something I was actually wondering. I have 6 mix matched cables, one from each component to the AVR and two from the AVR to the TV. One of which has the network cable for the ARC.

I read the cables should not matter at all .... but could they? I do not know.
ParityBit is offline  
post #16570 of 16793 Old 08-05-2014, 07:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
slyderulz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: The Armpit of Civilization
Posts: 890
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nickff View Post
The Xbox One decodes the HD audio contained on BD-ROMs just fine and sends it to the AVR for playback. It will not bit-stream the HD audio to your AVR for decoding, but you get the same audio when the Xbox One decodes so no big deal (that is... if you trust the X1 to decode it correctly). Personally, I would rather use a unit designed for BD-ROMs and since blu-ray players are relatively inexpensive...I just use that for my shiny discs.
I used to completely agree with that idea when it game to game console drives. Last gen especially, no way would I risk killing the DD playing media. Both consoles were also mediocre DVD players at best.

My stance is changing with this generation though. Both consoles offer playback on par with a lower mid-tier BR player, so I don't really feel I get any A/V advantage going the dedicated hardware route versus what I would likely buy as a standalone unit. I also hate clutter in the AV rack as I mentioned before so a dedicated BR player would really have to justify it's existence in my HT space.

The other thing that has me switching my stance is I find myself buying most of my games digitally now. In fact, all of the games I have for XB1 so far are digital. So if I don't use or need the BR drive to play games, why wouldn't I use it for playing movies?

XBOX LIVE ID: JeepR kReapR
PSN ID: JeepR_kReapR

 

Originally Posted by emartins

Instead of the usual 2 minutes, give her 5 minutes of nothing but that Jeep ecstasy. She will be exhausted and fall right to sleep. You are now free to play.


Thats what I do.


Last edited by slyderulz; 08-06-2014 at 05:39 AM.
slyderulz is offline  
post #16571 of 16793 Old 08-05-2014, 07:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
vinodk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Camarillo, California
Posts: 2,226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I am trying to avoid too many units in the rack therefore looking at a game console that will also serve as BD player including 3D playback with proper HD audio bitstream output in 3D mode as well as be futureproof with 4k streaming.

Vinod
vinodk is offline  
post #16572 of 16793 Old 08-05-2014, 07:59 AM
Senior Member
 
rdethloff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Katy, TX
Posts: 414
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Another consideration is heat and noise. The XB1 is very cool and quiet...especially compared to the competing platform.
rdethloff is offline  
post #16573 of 16793 Old 08-05-2014, 08:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
slyderulz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: The Armpit of Civilization
Posts: 890
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by vinodk View Post
I am trying to avoid too many units in the rack therefore looking at a game console that will also serve as BD player including 3D playback with proper HD audio bitstream output in 3D mode as well as be futureproof with 4k streaming.
I'll check if my PS4 bitstreams while playing 3D. Not sure if either console is going to give you 4k streaming though :/

I think both manufacturers have claimed '4k support', but whether or not that is anything beyond displaying a 4K res photo or static image is speculation at this point. Given the hardware specs on both units, native 4k support for games and/or media is not likely.

XBOX LIVE ID: JeepR kReapR
PSN ID: JeepR_kReapR

 

Originally Posted by emartins

Instead of the usual 2 minutes, give her 5 minutes of nothing but that Jeep ecstasy. She will be exhausted and fall right to sleep. You are now free to play.


Thats what I do.

slyderulz is offline  
post #16574 of 16793 Old 08-05-2014, 10:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
totalownership's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2,244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 171
Quote:
Originally Posted by spid View Post
Polygon has nice writeup of the upcoming changes to Xbox One NFL App.

http://www.polygon.com/2014/8/3/5960...-sunday-ticket
Honestly I'll pass on the white electronics. Looks great in pics and when you first crack it open but after a while once it starts yellowing then not so nice.

AT HAMMOND ROBOTICS WE'RE BRINGING THE FUTURE ... HOME
totalownership is offline  
post #16575 of 16793 Old 08-05-2014, 01:18 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 16,604
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 280 Post(s)
Liked: 502
White console enclosures don't look good to me at all. I want the things in my AV cabinet to be dark and more or less invisible in a dark room.
jhoff80 likes this.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
post #16576 of 16793 Old 08-05-2014, 03:04 PM
Senior Member
 
Yuss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by ParityBit View Post
This is something I was actually wondering. I have 6 mix matched cables, one from each component to the AVR and two from the AVR to the TV. One of which has the network cable for the ARC.

I read the cables should not matter at all .... but could they? I do not know.
The different HDMI port on the Receiver used to impact the 360 as well. As for the cables, I have my DVR going into the XB1. Initially I had a lot of handshake issues, TV not playing etc. I moved the cables around, i.e. took the one that originally went into the XB1 and swapped it with the one that went into my receiver. I haven't had an issue since. Fickle things these cables.
Yuss is offline  
post #16577 of 16793 Old 08-05-2014, 03:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
spid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 353
The Starz Play app was released for Xbox One.

http://news.xbox.com/2014/08/ent-sta...linkId=9156047
mboojigga likes this.
spid is offline  
post #16578 of 16793 Old 08-05-2014, 05:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mboojigga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Little Rock AFB, Arkansas
Posts: 7,957
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 434
Quote:
Originally Posted by spid View Post
The Starz Play app was released for Xbox One.

http://news.xbox.com/2014/08/ent-sta...linkId=9156047

Damn I just started watching Power on the Xbox 360 on Starz. Thanks for the update.

The 5.0 is here
mboojigga is offline  
post #16579 of 16793 Old 08-05-2014, 10:43 PM
Senior Member
 
Artman22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 52
The Official Xbox One thread...

Quote:
Originally Posted by totalownership View Post
Honestly I'll pass on the white electronics. Looks great in pics and when you first crack it open but after a while once it starts yellowing then not so nice.

I agree that I'm not into the white electronics, but I'm not sure about the yellowing. I had my 360 for many years and it never turned yellow. Even my controllers never turned yellow. Unless you smoke like a chimney at home then I see it turning yellow lol.

PSN: Artman22
Xbox live: Artman22

Last edited by Artman22; 08-05-2014 at 10:47 PM.
Artman22 is offline  
post #16580 of 16793 Old 08-05-2014, 11:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
totalownership's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2,244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 171
Quote:
Originally Posted by Artman22 View Post
I agree that I'm not into the white electronics, but I'm not sure about the yellowing. I had my 360 for many years and it never turned yellow. Even my controllers never turned yellow. Unless you smoke like a chimney at home then I see it turning yellow lol.
I've seen white electronics discolor over time in non-smoking homes as well as smoking. It's just what they do. One may not observe it as it would be gradual not just one day you wake up and bam. But the more observant person will. All you would need to do is put it next to a brand new unit and the difference will be obvious.
totalownership is offline  
post #16581 of 16793 Old 08-06-2014, 05:46 PM
Member
 
MAGHUNTER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by vinodk View Post
Was waiting on the sideline to see which console will do 3D & 4k. Struggling to decide between XB1 & PS4. Now that 3D is enabled on both I am wondering which will enable 4k video in future. Does XB1 have any issues with HD audio with 3D bluray playback? Also does XB1 have video playback through USB?
Not sure about USB video playback but I just tried a 3D bluray and no joy? I don't see an app update or system update available? When can I watch the Kaiju rise from the sea in 3D?
MAGHUNTER is offline  
post #16582 of 16793 Old 08-06-2014, 06:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
metalsaber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Western, Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,515
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 90
What is more intensive for 4k(or video in general): video playback or recording?
metalsaber is offline  
post #16583 of 16793 Old 08-06-2014, 06:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Nickff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Brownsburg, IN
Posts: 1,529
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by MAGHUNTER View Post
Not sure about USB video playback but I just tried a 3D bluray and no joy? I don't see an app update or system update available? When can I watch the Kaiju rise from the sea in 3D?
I don't think the official August update enabling 3D blu-ray playback has landed yet. Only those in the preview program have the ability to watch such movies.
Nickff is online now  
post #16584 of 16793 Old 08-06-2014, 06:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
metalsaber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Western, Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,515
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nickff View Post
I don't think the official August update enabling 3D blu-ray playback has landed yet. Only those in the preview program have the ability to watch such movies.
Yup. Only preview members at the moment.
metalsaber is offline  
post #16585 of 16793 Old 08-07-2014, 06:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
spid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 353
Xbox digital tuner will be for sale for Europe only

http://news.xbox.com/2014/08/xbox-on...medium=twitter
spid is offline  
post #16586 of 16793 Old 08-07-2014, 06:30 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,104
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 435 Post(s)
Liked: 641
Quote:
Originally Posted by spid View Post
Xbox digital tuner will be for sale for Europe only

http://news.xbox.com/2014/08/xbox-on...medium=twitter
I wonder if they will eventually release a USB tuner in the US?

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is offline  
post #16587 of 16793 Old 08-07-2014, 07:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jhoff80's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4,003
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
I wonder if they will eventually release a USB tuner in the US?

Hopefully CableCard too. Or at the very least, enable an update to work with network based CableCard tuners such as the HDHomerun.

XBL/Steam: JHoff80
jhoff80 is offline  
post #16588 of 16793 Old 08-07-2014, 07:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pcweber111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: In a van, down by the river.
Posts: 3,567
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 264
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhoff80 View Post
Hopefully CableCard too. Or at the very least, enable an update to work with network based CableCard tuners such as the HDHomerun.
To be honest since I had set up my Uverse to work with the Xbox I found out it was more limiting than I cared for. Too many of the actual features of the Uverse box were not available through the Xbox controller and frankly I like the menu on my Uverse box better. It was a cool idea but unless they can have you actually gain access to each and every feature of the service you are piping through it isn't worth it to me. For those that just want to gain access to the channels and keep it simple it's a pretty neat solution.
pcweber111 is offline  
post #16589 of 16793 Old 08-07-2014, 08:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jhoff80's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4,003
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by pcweber111 View Post
To be honest since I had set up my Uverse to work with the Xbox I found out it was more limiting than I cared for. Too many of the actual features of the Uverse box were not available through the Xbox controller and frankly I like the menu on my Uverse box better. It was a cool idea but unless they can have you actually gain access to each and every feature of the service you are piping through it isn't worth it to me. For those that just want to gain access to the channels and keep it simple it's a pretty neat solution.

Well, I think those of us who are already using CableCard might be completely okay with that. The only issue might be lack of DVR compared to (for example) a Windows 8 PC running Media Center. Honestly, I still feel like the Xbox should've been planned out for this sort of stuff from the start, but obviously they had so many other issues to deal with before launch anyway.

XBL/Steam: JHoff80
jhoff80 is offline  
post #16590 of 16793 Old 08-07-2014, 08:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pcweber111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: In a van, down by the river.
Posts: 3,567
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 264
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhoff80 View Post
Well, I think those of us who are already using CableCard might be completely okay with that. The only issue might be lack of DVR compared to (for example) a Windows 8 PC running Media Center. Honestly, I still feel like the Xbox should've been planned out for this sort of stuff from the start, but obviously they had so many other issues to deal with before launch anyway.
Yeah you're right. I guess if I was using just cable with no box then it'd be a pretty decent alternative although like you point out the lack of DVR functionality is an oversight. Maybe a future update will add it?
pcweber111 is offline  
Reply Xbox Area

Tags
Monoprice , Xbox One Console Day One Edition

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off