The Official Xbox One thread... - Page 558 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 729Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #16711 of 18861 Old 08-15-2014, 11:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jhoff80's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4,327
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 181 Post(s)
Liked: 226
DLNA is not present in the Media Player yet. At first, it's just going to be USB support.


To download it though, as I mentioned last night, just plug in a USB drive with media on it, and activate the notification. It'll then bring you to the hidden Store page for "Media Player Preview". You might also be able to try Bing to find it as well, but I have no idea on that.

XBL/Steam: JHoff80
jhoff80 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #16712 of 18861 Old 08-15-2014, 11:27 AM
Senior Member
 
chmorgan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Webster, Mn
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Please forgive as I haven't had time to read up on this. Will the media player be able to play in the background, or does it have to be snapped to be used?

XBL: octavarium1/PSN:octavarium1970
chmorgan is online now  
post #16713 of 18861 Old 08-15-2014, 11:32 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 22,581
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1286 Post(s)
Liked: 908
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhoff80 View Post
DLNA is not present in the Media Player yet. At first, it's just going to be USB support.


To download it though, as I mentioned last night, just plug in a USB drive with media on it, and activate the notification. It'll then bring you to the hidden Store page for "Media Player Preview". You might also be able to try Bing to find it as well, but I have no idea on that.
I'll need to load some things up on a USB flash drive to try out. Then I can hear if the surround audio is also borked with the media player.

53TB unRAID2--38TB unRAID3--33TB unRAID1a
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #16714 of 18861 Old 08-15-2014, 11:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jhoff80's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4,327
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 181 Post(s)
Liked: 226
Apparently though, it's worth noting that there are some people in the Preview who are still on the 1408+Friends preview, and those people didn't get last night's 1409 preview.

XBL/Steam: JHoff80
jhoff80 is online now  
post #16715 of 18861 Old 08-15-2014, 11:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
spid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,507
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 473
Quote:
Originally Posted by chmorgan View Post
Please forgive as I haven't had time to read up on this. Will the media player be able to play in the background, or does it have to be snapped to be used?
I know it does not play in the background, but I am not sure if it can be snapped or not at this time.
spid is offline  
post #16716 of 18861 Old 08-15-2014, 12:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
emartins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 4,650
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 767 Post(s)
Liked: 686
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhoff80 View Post
Apparently though, it's worth noting that there are some people in the Preview who are still on the 1408+Friends preview, and those people didn't get last night's 1409 preview.

Sadly I am one of these

One of the greatest posts I have read

benjamin-benjami - http://www.avsforum.com/forum/142-pl...l#post24609271
emartins is online now  
post #16717 of 18861 Old 08-15-2014, 12:27 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 22,581
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1286 Post(s)
Liked: 908
1409 added the boot to Tv didn't it? This is what I had on the update that was downloaded last night.

53TB unRAID2--38TB unRAID3--33TB unRAID1a
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #16718 of 18861 Old 08-15-2014, 12:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jhoff80's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4,327
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 181 Post(s)
Liked: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
1409 added the boot to Tv didn't it? This is what I had on the update that was downloaded last night.
Yes, that's the one with Media Player support.

XBL/Steam: JHoff80
jhoff80 is online now  
post #16719 of 18861 Old 08-15-2014, 02:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
metalsaber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Western, Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,841
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 200 Post(s)
Liked: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
1409 added the boot to Tv didn't it? This is what I had on the update that was downloaded last night.
Correct
metalsaber is offline  
post #16720 of 18861 Old 08-15-2014, 02:39 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 18,765
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1581 Post(s)
Liked: 945
I got 1409; is there supposed to be that Friends panel on the dashboard? I don't see it.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
post #16721 of 18861 Old 08-15-2014, 03:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
spid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,507
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 473
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post
I got 1409; is there supposed to be that Friends panel on the dashboard? I don't see it.
The Friends tab has separate roll out plan from the dashboard previews.
spid is offline  
post #16722 of 18861 Old 08-15-2014, 03:20 PM
Senior Member
 
joseph10704's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 312
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Can some one please tell me when the the freaken hell will xbox one get 3D bluray support i still have not gotten a update for the thing yet and i know there was a thing from ms stateing there bringing it in this months update but when is the date .I feel like a waiting duck.It's like there already talking about september's update but we still have not even gotten this month's update.really makeing me mad and sad at the same time.When ps4 owner's have what i been wanting for a long time now 3D bluray support.
joseph10704 is offline  
post #16723 of 18861 Old 08-15-2014, 03:32 PM
Senior Member
 
Yuss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by joseph10704 View Post
Can some one please tell me when the the freaken hell will xbox one get 3D bluray support i still have not gotten a update for the thing yet and i know there was a thing from ms stateing there bringing it in this months update but when is the date .I feel like a waiting duck.It's like there already talking about september's update but we still have not even gotten this month's update.really makeing me mad and sad at the same time.When ps4 owner's have what i been wanting for a long time now 3D bluray support.
Might be a silly question, but did you go into Settings - Display and check if you have the 3D option there? I kept looking for it under the Blu-Ray setting area.
Yuss is offline  
post #16724 of 18861 Old 08-15-2014, 04:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
spid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,507
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 473
Quote:
Originally Posted by joseph10704 View Post
Can some one please tell me when the the freaken hell will xbox one get 3D bluray support i still have not gotten a update for the thing yet and i know there was a thing from ms stateing there bringing it in this months update but when is the date

There is no date for general release, and there are still two full weeks left in August. There is a lot of content they are pushing out over the next couple of months so it takes time to test those features.
spid is offline  
post #16725 of 18861 Old 08-15-2014, 04:37 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 22,581
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1286 Post(s)
Liked: 908
But not an audio update. I just checked the Netflix app and the audio is still screwed up in a 7.1 setup whether you have it set for 7.1 or 5.1 output. Either way the surround audio erroneously comes out of the rear surrounds. I checked my PS4 just to compare and the PS4 does it right. The PS4 even dynamically changes the audio output with Netflix to switch between 2.0 or 5.1. It has to be done manually with the XBOne. But of course in a 7.1 setup it doesn't matter anyway since the surround audio comes out of the wrong channels.

53TB unRAID2--38TB unRAID3--33TB unRAID1a
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #16726 of 18861 Old 08-15-2014, 05:01 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 18,765
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1581 Post(s)
Liked: 945
Major Nelson posted a formal declaration of the coming of digital download codes, here.
Arutha_conDoin likes this.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
post #16727 of 18861 Old 08-15-2014, 05:14 PM
Senior Member
 
joseph10704's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 312
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yuss View Post
Might be a silly question, but did you go into Settings - Display and check if you have the 3D option there? I kept looking for it under the Blu-Ray setting area.
I keep looking but it's not there so yeah tho i did have a update on bluray a few week's back it was 32 mbs but idk what it was for for bluray maybefor 3D support.do you know what it was for.
joseph10704 is offline  
post #16728 of 18861 Old 08-15-2014, 07:50 PM
Member
 
MWD1001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
But not an audio update. I just checked the Netflix app and the audio is still screwed up in a 7.1 setup whether you have it set for 7.1 or 5.1 output. Either way the surround audio erroneously comes out of the rear surrounds. I checked my PS4 just to compare and the PS4 does it right. The PS4 even dynamically changes the audio output with Netflix to switch between 2.0 or 5.1. It has to be done manually with the XBOne. But of course in a 7.1 setup it doesn't matter anyway since the surround audio comes out of the wrong channels.
Broken audio out of the box and still almost 1-year later is a joke. The MLB.TV app only plays 1.0 audio out of the center channel. And the box can't properly bitstream, even after a feable attempt to provide bitstream a few months ago (I've never seen any hardware actually "bitstream" HD audio codecs by re-encoding them into lossy DD/DTS. How can they even call that "bitstream"????). I guess the average user, and therefore the developers, don't care about proper hi-def audio. Instead they'd rather have Party App reorganized, or Smart Glass updates, a New Friends section, double-tap to Snap, and a boatload of other silly, trivial and mostly useless "nice-to-haves" for the 10-20 year-old crowd, which is fine since I suppose that's Microsoft's target market. But until this box can play proper audio for the audio and video enthusiast, my stand-alone BD player isn't going anywhere.
MWD1001 is offline  
post #16729 of 18861 Old 08-16-2014, 06:17 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 22,581
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1286 Post(s)
Liked: 908
Quote:
Originally Posted by MWD1001 View Post
Broken audio out of the box and still almost 1-year later is a joke. The MLB.TV app only plays 1.0 audio out of the center channel. And the box can't properly bitstream, even after a feable attempt to provide bitstream a few months ago (I've never seen any hardware actually "bitstream" HD audio codecs by re-encoding them into lossy DD/DTS. How can they even call that "bitstream"????). I guess the average user, and therefore the developers, don't care about proper hi-def audio. Instead they'd rather have Party App reorganized, or Smart Glass updates, a New Friends section, double-tap to Snap, and a boatload of other silly, trivial and mostly useless "nice-to-haves" for the 10-20 year-old crowd, which is fine since I suppose that's Microsoft's target market. But until this box can play proper audio for the audio and video enthusiast, my stand-alone BD player isn't going anywhere.
I have no problem with not being able to bitstream since the decoded pcm should be the same. I've only noticed that the XBOne does not apply dial norm when decoding so the pcm output can be little louder than a bitstreamed signal in those situations when there is supposed to be dial norm decreasing the volume.. I only send pcm output from my PS4 too and am fine with that. And in 2006/2007 I also sent pcm out from my BD and HD DVD players.

Last edited by aaronwt; 08-16-2014 at 06:20 AM.
aaronwt is offline  
post #16730 of 18861 Old 08-16-2014, 10:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jhoff80's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4,327
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 181 Post(s)
Liked: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by MWD1001 View Post
The MLB.TV app only plays 1.0 audio out of the center channel.

To be fair to MS, I don't think they have anything to do with the development of this. The app is garbage, agreed, but that's not on Microsoft.

XBL/Steam: JHoff80
jhoff80 is online now  
post #16731 of 18861 Old 08-16-2014, 11:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
spid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,507
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 473
I know the digital Tuner does not hit the US now, but here is an article that shows you a picture of the tuner, and describes some of the features. The tuner will use 4 GB of hard drive space and allow for 30 minutes of pausing live television.

http://www.pocket-lint.com/news/1303...than-you-think
spid is offline  
post #16732 of 18861 Old 08-16-2014, 03:24 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 22,581
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1286 Post(s)
Liked: 908
Quote:
Originally Posted by spid View Post
I know the digital Tuner does not hit the US now, but here is an article that shows you a picture of the tuner, and describes some of the features. The tuner will use 4 GB of hard drive space and allow for 30 minutes of pausing live television.

http://www.pocket-lint.com/news/1303...than-you-think
They use H.264 for OTA broadcasts over there. You would think 4GB of space would get them more than a 30 minute buffer. 4GB would make more sense here in the US for a 30 minute buffer with the inefficient MPEG2 that is used for OTA.

53TB unRAID2--38TB unRAID3--33TB unRAID1a
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #16733 of 18861 Old 08-16-2014, 04:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
cadett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Houma, La.
Posts: 823
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Does anyone have an early preview code they can share?
cadett is offline  
post #16734 of 18861 Old 08-16-2014, 04:53 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 18,765
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1581 Post(s)
Liked: 945
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
They use H.264 for OTA broadcasts over there. You would think 4GB of space would get them more than a 30 minute buffer. 4GB would make more sense here in the US for a 30 minute buffer with the inefficient MPEG2 that is used for OTA.

Yeah; 4GB is good for half an hour at about 18 Mpbs, the highest average you'll ever see for a US broadcast stream. TiVo strangely sticks to half hour trick-play buffers whereas most of the leased cable DVRs half 1 hour buffers.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
post #16735 of 18861 Old 08-16-2014, 06:56 PM
Newbie
 
korsjs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If xbox still has a refer a friend for the OS preview program, would someone submit me please. Gamertag: fios
let me know if more info is needed.

Or if someone has a code or QR code they do not need, it would be much appreciated. Thanks.
korsjs is online now  
post #16736 of 18861 Old 08-16-2014, 07:46 PM
Newbie
 
starchild_13417's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone had any issues since the preveiw update with the TV app audio skipping and popping. It only happens when using the TV App all other apps and games sound fine. It was fine before it recieved the update yesterday, rebooted system and cable box , changed the HDMI cable from Cable set up box to xbox one HDMI input , still an issue
Thanks
starchild_13417 is offline  
post #16737 of 18861 Old 08-16-2014, 10:05 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 22,581
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1286 Post(s)
Liked: 908
Quote:
Originally Posted by starchild_13417 View Post
Has anyone had any issues since the preveiw update with the TV app audio skipping and popping. It only happens when using the TV App all other apps and games sound fine. It was fine before it recieved the update yesterday, rebooted system and cable box , changed the HDMI cable from Cable set up box to xbox one HDMI input , still an issue
Thanks
I've not had that issue, but since the update I have had both my XBOnes freeze for around 10 to 20 seconds. And then all the commands that were said while it was frozen are done in quick succession. I've had it happen a couple of times with each of my XBOnes since the update. I probably should do a full power down for each one.

53TB unRAID2--38TB unRAID3--33TB unRAID1a
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #16738 of 18861 Old 08-17-2014, 05:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
metalsaber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Western, Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,841
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 200 Post(s)
Liked: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by starchild_13417 View Post
Has anyone had any issues since the preveiw update with the TV app audio skipping and popping. It only happens when using the TV App all other apps and games sound fine. It was fine before it recieved the update yesterday, rebooted system and cable box , changed the HDMI cable from Cable set up box to xbox one HDMI input , still an issue
Thanks
Yes. It's been acknowledged.
http://forums.xbox.com/xbox_early_ac...t/1812515.aspx
metalsaber is offline  
post #16739 of 18861 Old 08-17-2014, 07:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
cadett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Houma, La.
Posts: 823
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by cadett View Post
Does anyone have an early preview code they can share?
If no codes, if someone could send me an invite, I'd appreciate it. Gamer Tag: Yeasty Fiscus
cadett is offline  
post #16740 of 18861 Old 08-17-2014, 09:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
onlysublime's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Orange County
Posts: 5,074
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 185 Post(s)
Liked: 636
sorry about being late to the game... installing a new 4 TB HDD tonight and going through the settings (my internal drive is finally full). saw that they have a new controller update... so updated all 3 of my controllers.

anyone know what this controller update is for? I know that there are system updates (enrolled in the dashboard preview program). but I didn't know any of them required the controllers to be updated.

the controllers were manually updated. so if I never went into the system settings, I would have never known to update them...


also, the white One looks sick! still debating on whether to get it since it doesn't come with a Kinect... and I don't really need a second console. but the white beckons! And I do want to get Sunset Overdrive.
onlysublime is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Xbox Area

Tags
Monoprice , Xbox One Console Day One Edition

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off