The Official Xbox One thread... - Page 565 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 196Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #16921 of 16933 Old Yesterday, 01:18 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,277
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 553 Post(s)
Liked: 684
Does the XBOne show the Netflix streaming info in the upper left?

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme


Last edited by aaronwt; Yesterday at 01:23 PM.
aaronwt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #16922 of 16933 Old Yesterday, 03:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jhoff80's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4,036
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Probably what happened with Below is that they pushed it back to get Super Time Force out on consoles; both are the same indie developer.

XBL/Steam: JHoff80
jhoff80 is online now  
post #16923 of 16933 Old Yesterday, 03:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jhoff80's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4,036
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post
Cool--I like conformity . Now my Xbox 360, Xbox One, PS3, TiVo Roamio, TiVo Premiere and Roku 3 all have the same interface. "Metro-ization" of Netflix never made much sense. There's Kinect voice control on both Xboxes but no gestural control, which is fine by me.

I get wanting consistency, but I kind of would rather they centered around the previous Metro-like interface on all devices. The new Xbox One Netflix interface is terrible and cluttered. I've hated it on Roku, on Xbox 360, and on the web, and now I consistently hate it on my Xbox One as well.

XBL/Steam: JHoff80
jhoff80 is online now  
post #16924 of 16933 Old Yesterday, 04:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
metalsaber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Western, Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,530
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Does the XBOne show the Netflix streaming info in the upper left?


Yes. Thank god they added that. Just press the right thumb stick.
aaronwt likes this.
metalsaber is offline  
post #16925 of 16933 Old Yesterday, 04:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mboojigga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Little Rock AFB, Arkansas
Posts: 7,973
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 440
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Does the XBOne show the Netflix streaming info in the upper left?
Yes by pushing down the right thumbstick.
michaeltscott and aaronwt like this.

The 5.0 is here
mboojigga is offline  
post #16926 of 16933 Old Yesterday, 04:06 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 16,691
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 333 Post(s)
Liked: 522
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhoff80 View Post
...on the web...

It's not on the web. The Metro-ized UI was not an improvement--it wasn't even rational AFAICS. And talk about cluttered ! This somehow seemed less cluttered to you than this???

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
post #16927 of 16933 Old Yesterday, 04:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mboojigga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Little Rock AFB, Arkansas
Posts: 7,973
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 440
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post
It's not on the web. The Metro-ized UI was not an improvement--it wasn't even rational AFAICS. And talk about cluttered ! This somehow seemed less cluttered to you than this???
Actually yes. Didn't have a problem with the metro style. Had my recently watched and my list right off the bat. But the new one does load movies faster.

The 5.0 is here
mboojigga is offline  
post #16928 of 16933 Old Yesterday, 04:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jhoff80's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4,036
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 154
In 8.1 IE at least, the Netflix site is very similar to the Roku and Xbox One apps except without a header image.


And yeah, I'll take one scrolling list with larger boxes and a '...' button over 38 tiny sideways scrolling lists (only visible two at a time due to an obnoxiously wasteful header, with no negative space to make the individual items pop out more, and of which you can only see 5 1/2 items at a time anyway) in a heartbeat. Oh well, at least there's still Bing Search to find content.

XBL/Steam: JHoff80
jhoff80 is online now  
post #16929 of 16933 Old Yesterday, 05:43 PM
Member
 
chmorgan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Webster, Mn
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 38
I can get behind the "new" Netflix layout. I like that it's the same as to what I use on other devices. Great detail in this layout. The only thing that I would like to see added and I know this is not unique to the One, is a count next to each show within a category. It would make it easier to know when I've scrolled thru all of the listings.

Now, if they could fix the atrocity that is the vudu app...

XBL: octavarium1/PSN:octavarium1970
chmorgan is offline  
post #16930 of 16933 Old Yesterday, 06:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rightintel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,386
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by chmorgan View Post
I can get behind the "new" Netflix layout. I like that it's the same as to what I use on other devices. Great detail in this layout. The only thing that I would like to see added and I know this is not unique to the One, is a count next to each show within a category. It would make it easier to know when I've scrolled thru all of the listings.

Now, if they could fix the atrocity that is the vudu app...
No kidding. It sez "retry" or "VUDU app is unavailable" whenever a significant amount of time passes on pause/inactivity. You have to exit and reboot. Really annoying lately.

Xbox Live: General PATT0N
rightintel is offline  
post #16931 of 16933 Old Yesterday, 09:35 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 16,691
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 333 Post(s)
Liked: 522
Quote:
Originally Posted by mboojigga View Post
Yes by pushing down the right thumbstick.

Thank you very much! I'd tried getting that little info overlay up by punching every controller button and trigger that I could think of, but I guess I never thought of clicking on the sticks. It works on Xbox 360 as well. Of course, I never use my game consoles for streaming video, but it's nice to know .

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
post #16932 of 16933 Old Yesterday, 09:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Arutha_conDoin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 2,075
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Minecraft to Xbox One on 9/5!
https://twitter.com/Xbox/status/5070...047426/photo/1

Xbox Live: DaBeavers
PSN- Arutha_conDoin
Steam- An0mander
"Too much knowledge never makes for simple decisions."
-Ghanima Atreides
Arutha_conDoin is offline  
post #16933 of 16933 Old Yesterday, 10:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
onlysublime's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4,666
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 493
Hey, for those that haven't bought stuff through the Microsoft Store website recently, it appears they changed how they do things now. Last time when you bought a preorder game or something and got $10 store credit, it was a code only usable through the website for the Microsoft Store.

I had preordered Metro Redux and was expecting the same $10 credit (to be applied toward another preorder). But now, it's an Xbox code that you enter on Xbox.com or your console to be used for those kind of purchases. Now my Microsoft account has $10 additional bucks. Can you use Microsoft account money at the Microsoft Store website?
onlysublime is online now  
Reply Xbox Area

Tags
Monoprice , Xbox One Console Day One Edition

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off