The Official Xbox One thread... - Page 604 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 508Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #18091 of 18099 Old Yesterday, 10:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JuiceRocket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Manhattan Beach, California
Posts: 4,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Oh man, it turns out every single one of my games require me to be online. That includes games I've downloaded and never even played before. Color me confused. I'm thinking I must have had some sort of "only play online" setting enabled in my Xbox or something?

Either way, the entire device and all the games on it are useless until Xbox Live is up.

I feel for those poor employees having to work on a day they should be home enjoying time with family.

-JR

Last edited by JuiceRocket; Yesterday at 10:39 PM.
JuiceRocket is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #18092 of 18099 Old Yesterday, 11:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DaverJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 6,816
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 689
Quote:
Originally Posted by JuiceRocket View Post
Oh man, it turns out every single one of my games require me to be online. That includes games I've downloaded and never even played before. Color me confused. I'm thinking I must have had some sort of "only play online" setting enabled in my Xbox or something?

Either way, the entire device and all the games on it are useless until Xbox Live is up.

I feel for those poor employees having to work on a day they should be home enjoying time with family.

-JR
Did you try playing the games while switching the console to Offline (Menu button>Settings>Network>Go offline)?
DaverJ is offline  
post #18093 of 18099 Old Yesterday, 11:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
vertigo235's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 966
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 25
You can only play offline on your "Home Xbox", do you have more than one xbox or have you had yours replaced at some point or something?

Xbox Live: IamVertigo
PSN: IamVertigo
vertigo235 is offline  
post #18094 of 18099 Old Yesterday, 11:08 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bd2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 10,950
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 516 Post(s)
Liked: 1486
Is it seriously still hosed?

Steam/PSN/Xbox Live: Darius510
bd2003 is online now  
post #18095 of 18099 Old Yesterday, 11:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JuiceRocket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Manhattan Beach, California
Posts: 4,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaverJ View Post
Did you try playing the games while switching the console to Offline (Menu button>Settings>Network>Go offline)?
I did, at first I couldn't find the setting, but once I did I set it to offline. I "log in" as myself, but offline.

Quote:
Originally Posted by vertigo235 View Post
You can only play offline on your "Home Xbox", do you have more than one xbox or have you had yours replaced at some point or something?
Both - I have an Xbox 360 that I play on sometimes, and I've had my Xbox One replaced. When I sent in my Xbox One to get repaired, I wound up buying a new one that I've used ever since. I've never booted up the replacement that came back.

It looks like I'll have to set this Xbox as the "home" one once the system is up and running? It looks fairly straightforward on the Xbox site. Odd that the licenses would switch over, since the games never existed on whatever the "home" Xbox currently is...

-JR
JuiceRocket is offline  
post #18096 of 18099 Old Yesterday, 11:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
vertigo235's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 966
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Yeah you can only have one home xbox, sounds like your original one is probably set up as that. So you can either hook that one up or change it to your newer xbox.

Xbox Live: IamVertigo
PSN: IamVertigo
vertigo235 is offline  
post #18097 of 18099 Old Yesterday, 11:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JuiceRocket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Manhattan Beach, California
Posts: 4,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by vertigo235 View Post
Yeah you can only have one home xbox, sounds like your original one is probably set up as that. So you can either hook that one up or change it to your newer xbox.
Thanks, I had no idea! Hopefully the connection will be up soon, but either way, I'll eventually need to swap it over.

-JR
JuiceRocket is offline  
post #18098 of 18099 Old Today, 06:40 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Well, xbox needs to drop their prices or improve their customer service, either or)
MMMScott is online now  
post #18099 of 18099 Old Today, 07:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mboojigga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Little Rock AFB, Arkansas
Posts: 8,071
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 468
http://theeccentricgamer.co.za/sony-...cks-explained/

For anyone who doesn't understand the difference between DDOS and a hack

The 5.0 is here
mboojigga is online now  
Reply Xbox Area

Tags
Monoprice , Xbox One Console Day One Edition

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off