The Official Xbox One thread... - Page 693 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 1372Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #20761 of 20788 Old 02-06-2016, 02:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Arutha_conDoin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 2,860
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 388 Post(s)
Liked: 375
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post
I paid $5 to join EA Access for a month just to play the Unravel trial for a few days before its release on Tuesday. Though there were doubters when we discussed the trailer in this thread (back here in mid-December) I think that its just as beautiful on Xbone as it is in that demo clip. The gorgeous backgrounds are obvious pre-renders. I pre-ordered it back then (it's only $20) and look forward to playing it through.
The trial is only two levels unless you purchased the game. Once I get paid I will be picking up this game. The game is truly beautiful with the graphics, soundtrack, and story.

Xbox Live: DaBeavers
PSN- Arutha_conDoin
Steam- An0mander
"Too much knowledge never makes for simple decisions."
-Ghanima Atreides
Arutha_conDoin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #20762 of 20788 Old 02-06-2016, 08:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
emartins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 5,459
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1146 Post(s)
Liked: 940
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arutha_conDoin View Post
The trial is only two levels unless you purchased the game. Once I get paid I will be picking up this game. The game is truly beautiful with the graphics, soundtrack, and story.

Still a trial even after purchasing it. I finished the two levels, made my purchase and it still tells me it's a trial and that the game gets released on the 9th. I know usually the games on ea access unlock early if you purchase them but I'm guessing they chose not to with this game. Kind of odd and was hoping to play more of it today.
Arutha_conDoin likes this.

One of the greatest posts I have read

benjamin-benjami - http://www.avsforum.com/forum/142-pl...l#post24609271
emartins is offline  
post #20763 of 20788 Old 02-06-2016, 08:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Arutha_conDoin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 2,860
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 388 Post(s)
Liked: 375
Quote:
Originally Posted by emartins View Post
Still a trial even after purchasing it. I finished the two levels, made my purchase and it still tells me it's a trial and that the game gets released on the 9th. I know usually the games on ea access unlock early if you purchase them but I'm guessing they chose not to with this game. Kind of odd and was hoping to play more of it today.
Hmmm makes me wonder if the 10 hour time limit is close to the completion time of the game. I am fairly sure I got through the first two levels in less than 2 hours. I also did not find all the secrets in each level. Dragon's Age Inquisition sure didn't have a stop point. Heck after 10 hours you barely scratched the surface of that game. I was still in the first area at 10 hours!
Nayan likes this.

Xbox Live: DaBeavers
PSN- Arutha_conDoin
Steam- An0mander
"Too much knowledge never makes for simple decisions."
-Ghanima Atreides
Arutha_conDoin is offline  
post #20764 of 20788 Old 02-06-2016, 11:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
emartins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 5,459
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1146 Post(s)
Liked: 940
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arutha_conDoin View Post
Hmmm makes me wonder if the 10 hour time limit is close to the completion time of the game. I am fairly sure I got through the first two levels in less than 2 hours. I also did not find all the secrets in each level. Dragon's Age Inquisition sure didn't have a stop point. Heck after 10 hours you barely scratched the surface of that game. I was still in the first area at 10 hours!

Most likely it's a 8-10 hour game so I can see it being only the first 2 levels. Looking forward to Tuesday. Maybe I'll use the remainder of my trial time to find the rest of the secrets.
Arutha_conDoin likes this.

One of the greatest posts I have read

benjamin-benjami - http://www.avsforum.com/forum/142-pl...l#post24609271
emartins is offline  
post #20765 of 20788 Old 02-06-2016, 12:01 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 25,451
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2754 Post(s)
Liked: 1471
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post
I paid $5 to join EA Access for a month just to play the Unravel trial for a few days before its release on Tuesday. Though there were doubters when we discussed the trailer in this thread (back here in mid-December) I think that its just as beautiful on Xbone as it is in that demo clip. The gorgeous backgrounds are obvious pre-renders. I pre-ordered it back then (it's only $20) and look forward to playing it through.
I saw that title listed on the EA Access hub and selected it to download and try it out. It looked beautiful. So I guess when it's released next week I'll be able to try it?

53TB unRAID2--41TB unRAID3--35TB unRAID1a
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
post #20766 of 20788 Old 02-06-2016, 12:02 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 25,451
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2754 Post(s)
Liked: 1471
Quote:
Originally Posted by emartins View Post
Still a trial even after purchasing it. I finished the two levels, made my purchase and it still tells me it's a trial and that the game gets released on the 9th. I know usually the games on ea access unlock early if you purchase them but I'm guessing they chose not to with this game. Kind of odd and was hoping to play more of it today.
So I can actually try it out now!!! That sounds great.

53TB unRAID2--41TB unRAID3--35TB unRAID1a
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
post #20767 of 20788 Old 02-06-2016, 04:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jhoff80's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4,499
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 274 Post(s)
Liked: 276
If you own the Games on Demand version of Red Dead Redemption you can now play that on the Xbox One.

Search for f4hey, view his profile, go to following, and you'll see it in the list.

http://kotaku.com/how-to-get-red-dea...one-1757542185

Edit: Actually, if you view RockoHoward you can see a few different games that aren't officially out yet, though I don't own them myself to try it.

XBL/Steam: JHoff80

Last edited by jhoff80; 02-06-2016 at 04:45 PM.
jhoff80 is online now  
post #20768 of 20788 Old 02-06-2016, 05:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
emartins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 5,459
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1146 Post(s)
Liked: 940
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
So I can actually try it out now!!! That sounds great.

You can play the first 2 missions right now. Great game.

One of the greatest posts I have read

benjamin-benjami - http://www.avsforum.com/forum/142-pl...l#post24609271
emartins is offline  
post #20769 of 20788 Old 02-06-2016, 05:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rightintel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 388 Post(s)
Liked: 116
I just upped my ISP speed to 330/30 w/ Cox, and the Xbox's speedtest result was 358 down and 34 up!

Xbox Live: General PATT0N
rightintel is offline  
post #20770 of 20788 Old 02-06-2016, 07:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
onlysublime's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Orange County
Posts: 5,760
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 447 Post(s)
Liked: 939
330 down but only 30 up????
onlysublime is online now  
post #20771 of 20788 Old 02-06-2016, 08:06 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 21,668
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2204 Post(s)
Liked: 1179
Most people don't need much speed outbound. 30 Mbps is quite a bit faster than the average download speed that most Americans get.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
post #20772 of 20788 Old 02-06-2016, 08:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mboojigga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Little Rock AFB, Arkansas
Posts: 8,962
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 460 Post(s)
Liked: 716
Quote:
Originally Posted by rightintel View Post
I just upped my ISP speed to 330/30 w/ Cox, and the Xbox's speedtest result was 358 down and 34 up!
Curious how close the nearest Azure Farm is in your area.

The 5.0 is here
mboojigga is online now  
post #20773 of 20788 Old Yesterday, 01:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Arutha_conDoin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 2,860
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 388 Post(s)
Liked: 375
Quote:
Originally Posted by mboojigga View Post
Curious how close the nearest Azure Farm is in your area.
I'm one state away from Washington and I rarely get to max out my Up and Down speeds from MS. I have a Gigabyte connection down and up. Steam on the other hand is nice to download from and I get to push my limits on it.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Mad Max.PNG
Views:	31
Size:	50.6 KB
ID:	1235665  
mboojigga and dmarqueset like this.

Xbox Live: DaBeavers
PSN- Arutha_conDoin
Steam- An0mander
"Too much knowledge never makes for simple decisions."
-Ghanima Atreides
Arutha_conDoin is offline  
post #20774 of 20788 Old Yesterday, 10:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rightintel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 388 Post(s)
Liked: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by mboojigga View Post
Curious how close the nearest Azure Farm is in your area.
I'm in Phoenix. The One's speed test has always been 98% identical to Cox's internal speed test and speedtest.net for me. I've never had anything higher than 230 down on my MacBook Pro/iPhone 6s, but those aren't hard-wired like the One. Interestingly enough, my uploads speeds on the One are showing a little slower now. The 30 upload does seem low, but for some reason Cox's upload speeds have always been way lower than the download. I also test on testmy.net and speedof.me to get a fully rounded view of the speed I'm paying for.
DaverJ and mboojigga like this.

Xbox Live: General PATT0N
rightintel is offline  
post #20775 of 20788 Old Yesterday, 10:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mboojigga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Little Rock AFB, Arkansas
Posts: 8,962
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 460 Post(s)
Liked: 716
Quote:
Originally Posted by rightintel View Post
I'm in Phoenix. The One's speed test has always been 98% identical to Cox's internal speed test and speedtest.net for me. I've never had anything higher than 230 down on my MacBook Pro/iPhone 6s, but those aren't hard-wired like the One. Interestingly enough, my uploads speeds on the One are showing a little slower now. The 30 upload does seem low, but for some reason Cox's upload speeds have always been way lower than the download. I also test on testmy.net and speedof.me to get a fully rounded view of the speed I'm paying for.
I think that has always been normal. Like for Comcast the Blast is 75 Meg down and 10 up. The extreme is 125 down and 20 up.

The 5.0 is here
mboojigga is online now  
post #20776 of 20788 Old Yesterday, 10:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rightintel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 388 Post(s)
Liked: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by mboojigga View Post
I think that has always been normal. Like for Comcast the Blast is 75 Meg down and 10 up. The extreme is 125 down and 20 up.
I figured, but I thought I saw someone w/ a 100meg up once. Maybe it was Verizon or something.

Xbox Live: General PATT0N
rightintel is offline  
post #20777 of 20788 Old Yesterday, 12:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
onlysublime's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Orange County
Posts: 5,760
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 447 Post(s)
Liked: 939
My friend has Verizon Fios 75/75. Though it's a business account so 75 up is important.
onlysublime is online now  
post #20778 of 20788 Old Yesterday, 01:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Arutha_conDoin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 2,860
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 388 Post(s)
Liked: 375
Quote:
Originally Posted by rightintel View Post
I figured, but I thought I saw someone w/ a 100meg up once. Maybe it was Verizon or something.
Just ran this test on the Comcast server on OOKla from speedtest.net.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	speedtest2.JPG
Views:	39
Size:	20.3 KB
ID:	1236921  
onlysublime likes this.

Xbox Live: DaBeavers
PSN- Arutha_conDoin
Steam- An0mander
"Too much knowledge never makes for simple decisions."
-Ghanima Atreides
Arutha_conDoin is offline  
post #20779 of 20788 Old Yesterday, 01:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
onlysublime's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Orange County
Posts: 5,760
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 447 Post(s)
Liked: 939
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arutha_conDoin View Post
Just ran this test on the Comcast server on OOKla from speedtest.net.
sooo jelly...
onlysublime is online now  
post #20780 of 20788 Old Yesterday, 01:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Arutha_conDoin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 2,860
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 388 Post(s)
Liked: 375
Quote:
Originally Posted by onlysublime View Post
sooo jelly...
It's the only 1% club I'll ever be in

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk
onlysublime likes this.

Xbox Live: DaBeavers
PSN- Arutha_conDoin
Steam- An0mander
"Too much knowledge never makes for simple decisions."
-Ghanima Atreides
Arutha_conDoin is offline  
post #20781 of 20788 Old Yesterday, 02:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DaverJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 7,693
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 400 Post(s)
Liked: 2561
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arutha_conDoin View Post
Just ran this test on the Comcast server on OOKla from speedtest.net.


Is that internet speed equivalent to a 7200 rpm hard drive?

"My advice: don't spend money on therapy. Spend it in a record store." – Wim Wenders
DaverJ is offline  
post #20782 of 20788 Old Yesterday, 02:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Arutha_conDoin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 2,860
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 388 Post(s)
Liked: 375
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaverJ View Post


Is that internet speed equivalent to a 7200 rpm hard drive?
I use my SSD drive as my OS drive so it handles a majority of the downloads. Even my Data drive seems to keep up with the writing part on downloads

Xbox Live: DaBeavers
PSN- Arutha_conDoin
Steam- An0mander
"Too much knowledge never makes for simple decisions."
-Ghanima Atreides

Last edited by Arutha_conDoin; Yesterday at 04:02 PM.
Arutha_conDoin is offline  
post #20783 of 20788 Old Yesterday, 04:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rightintel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 388 Post(s)
Liked: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arutha_conDoin View Post
Just ran this test on the Comcast server on OOKla from speedtest.net.
Good god man! What service is that-the galactic universal platinum package or something?
centking likes this.

Xbox Live: General PATT0N
rightintel is offline  
post #20784 of 20788 Old Yesterday, 04:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Arutha_conDoin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 2,860
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 388 Post(s)
Liked: 375
Quote:
Originally Posted by rightintel View Post
Good god man! What service is that-the galactic universal platinum package or something?
Fiber optic through the city I live in. It's a Hell of deal. No data caps or throttles. No contract either, though if prices go up I won't be surprised they are very reasonably priced as it is.

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk

Xbox Live: DaBeavers
PSN- Arutha_conDoin
Steam- An0mander
"Too much knowledge never makes for simple decisions."
-Ghanima Atreides
Arutha_conDoin is offline  
post #20785 of 20788 Old Yesterday, 11:10 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 21,668
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2204 Post(s)
Liked: 1179
Cox in my area keeps advertising "Gigablast", a gigabit/sec data plan, but thus far it hasn't become available to me. The best that I can get from them right now is 300/30 Mbps with a 2TB cap. Right now I have 100/10 Mbps with a 700GB cap.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
post #20786 of 20788 Old Today, 01:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
onlysublime's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Orange County
Posts: 5,760
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 447 Post(s)
Liked: 939
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arutha_conDoin View Post
It's the only 1% club I'll ever be in

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk
I'd like to be in the 1% club of something someday...
Arutha_conDoin likes this.
onlysublime is online now  
post #20787 of 20788 Old Today, 06:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rightintel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 388 Post(s)
Liked: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post
Cox in my area keeps advertising "Gigablast", a gigabit/sec data plan, but thus far it hasn't become available to me. The best that I can get from them right now is 300/30 Mbps with a 2TB cap. Right now I have 100/10 Mbps with a 700GB cap.
Same exact deal here. I thought at first the free 300/30 upgrade was the Gigablast. Cox's site said it's available in February so go figure. I wasn't able to discern any speeds about it either...

Xbox Live: General PATT0N
rightintel is offline  
post #20788 of 20788 Old Today, 09:34 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 21,668
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2204 Post(s)
Liked: 1179
Quote:
Originally Posted by rightintel View Post
Same exact deal here. I thought at first the free 300/30 upgrade was the Gigablast. Cox's site said it's available in February so go figure. I wasn't able to discern any speeds about it either...

If I look at this page under "Compare Internet Packages", Gigablast is listed as being 1Gbps/1Gbps for the same price as Ultimate. I'm assuming that it requires FTTP, though I suppose that it could be achieved by binding channels in a DOCSIS modem. It would require a 32/32 modem; I don't think that anyone's making one though I could be wrong. Motorola/Arris' SB6190 is 32/16.

So you were subscribed to Ultimate when they doubled it to 300/30? I've considered trying it out, though I'd have to upgrade to a 16/8 modem; I have an SB6121 8/4 modem. I just signed up for another 1 year promotional triple-play package because my old one ran out, increasing my bill by $54/month. The new one is all the same, but $6/month less with Showtime added to HBO that I already had. (I don't need and won't use the phone; the modem's been in my closet this past year. If I drop it the package price goes up $20/month ). I don't know what they'd want for the upgrade to Ultimate; presumably the $23/month difference between the stand-alone Premiere and Ultimate package prices.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Xbox Area

Tags
Monoprice , Xbox One Console Day One Edition



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off