How do I upgrade XBOX 360 Hard drive? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 06-29-2013, 09:02 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
gonzo90017's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I'm about to purchase the new redesigned XBOX 360 4gb version. I would like to install my own drive so I don't have to pay the inflated amount microsoft wants. So my question is can someone give me a step by step? Can I use any drive? What's the max size? etc. etc...
gonzo90017 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 06-29-2013, 09:05 PM
Senior Member
 
yaomizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 414
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Life doesn't work that way


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
freemeat likes this.

yaomizzle is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 06-29-2013, 09:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
freemeat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,723
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 554
Quote:
Originally Posted by gonzo90017 View Post

I'm about to purchase the new redesigned XBOX 360 4gb version. I would like to install my own drive so I don't have to pay the inflated amount microsoft wants. So my question is can someone give me a step by step? Can I use any drive? What's the max size? etc. etc...

You only have that flexibility with a PS3 and PC.
freemeat is offline  
post #4 of 14 Old 06-29-2013, 09:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
onlysublime's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4,700
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 502
Quote:
Originally Posted by gonzo90017 View Post

I'm about to purchase the new redesigned XBOX 360 4gb version. I would like to install my own drive so I don't have to pay the inflated amount microsoft wants. So my question is can someone give me a step by step? Can I use any drive? What's the max size? etc. etc...

you have to get a western digital scorpio drive. only that brand can work for 360 drives. lots of easy guides out there. just google.

really, the cheapest way to go about it is get a Xbox 360 HDD Chinese knockoff from Amazon or Ebay. of course, it won't be authentic but you'll most likely be able to get away with it.

or you can wait for one of Gamestop's regular 50% hardware sales. I got a 250GB refurbished drive for $30 that way. Got a 120GB refub for $20 that way too.

you can use any 360 drive on any 360 console which means you can use an old drive on the latest 360 E system or the 360 E HDD on the original 360 drive. it's just a matter of swapping the external case.
onlysublime is online now  
post #5 of 14 Old 06-29-2013, 10:04 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
gonzo90017's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Thanks for the helpful reply. The reason I didn't want to go with the chinese knock off drives was that I heard they used refurbished drives. Might as well go with a new drive because of the warranty.

I assume the biggest drive I can use is 250gb?
gonzo90017 is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 06-29-2013, 10:07 PM
Senior Member
 
yaomizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 414
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
It's $100 difference between the 4gb and the 250gb models. Between the time invested into researched and then ordering a hdd and then the time to install it and hope it works. Isn't it cheaper to just spend the extra 100 bucks?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
Ripeer likes this.

yaomizzle is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 06-29-2013, 10:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
onlysublime's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4,700
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 502
you could get a 320GB drive.

price shop and see if you can get a new WD scorpio drive cheap. check the xbox hacker sites. they'd be able to give more info. we're straying into a gray area here...

i've been more than happy with my refurbs from gamestop. working for years now without a problem.
onlysublime is online now  
post #8 of 14 Old 06-30-2013, 07:20 AM
Senior Member
 
rmalbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 440
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by onlysublime View Post

you have to get a western digital scorpio drive. only that brand can work for 360 drives. lots of easy guides out there. just google.

really, the cheapest way to go about it is get a Xbox 360 HDD Chinese knockoff from Amazon or Ebay. of course, it won't be authentic but you'll most likely be able to get away with it.

or you can wait for one of Gamestop's regular 50% hardware sales. I got a 250GB refurbished drive for $30 that way. Got a 120GB refub for $20 that way too.

you can use any 360 drive on any 360 console which means you can use an old drive on the latest 360 E system or the 360 E HDD on the original 360 drive. it's just a matter of swapping the external case.

Thanks for that about being able do use the hard drive from my old white dead 360, I've been thinking about getting a 4 gb 360 E. I figured I would have to just sell the old a get a new drive. BTW: That old 360 drive is a Gamestop refurb and it worked fine until the old 360 quit! I've seen new hard drive cases for cheap somewhere.
rmalbers is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 06-30-2013, 10:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ripeer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by yaomizzle View Post

It's $100 difference between the 4gb and the 250gb models. Between the time invested into researched and then ordering a hdd and then the time to install it and hope it works. Isn't it cheaper to just spend the extra 100 bucks?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

I would have to second that. Really wouldn't it be easier to put in some overtime at work and buy a 250/320gb xbox 360?

Isn't there also the risk of getting your 360 banned?
Ripeer is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 06-30-2013, 04:43 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,537
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 697 Post(s)
Liked: 732
I got an OEM 320 GB drive close to a year ago for only $40. I see they are only around $50 right now from Amazon. Much cheaper than paying an extra $100 to have it included with the system. I have not had any problems with this OEM drive. It works just as well as the drives that came with my other 360 systems

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is offline  
post #11 of 14 Old 07-01-2013, 09:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
americangunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,890
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 287
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post

I got an OEM 320 GB drive close to a year ago for only $40. I see they are only around $50 right now from Amazon. Much cheaper than paying an extra $100 to have it included with the system. I have not had any problems with this OEM drive. It works just as well as the drives that came with my other 360 systems
I also use this kind. The only thing you can't do is play original Xbox games, but it works for everything else.

XBL: xGunner26x

PSN: AMER1CAN_GUNNER

Steam: xGunner26x

americangunner is offline  
post #12 of 14 Old 07-01-2013, 10:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
onlysublime's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4,700
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 502
Quote:
Originally Posted by americangunner View Post

I also use this kind. The only thing you can't do is play original Xbox games, but it works for everything else.

you can play original Xbox games if you install the missing partition (that contains the profiles for the emulator) that the Chinese fakers didn't put on. the guide is at same places that tell you how to make your own drive.
onlysublime is online now  
post #13 of 14 Old 07-02-2013, 08:46 AM
Senior Member
 
splatee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bay Area/San Diego/now DFW area Texas
Posts: 344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I used my 250 gig drive from the original 360 on my slim 4g. It is easy to do there are some guides out there on how to do it. All you do is take the the hard drive out of the case and you can slide it into the slim. You don't need slim type case for it. You can pick up the hard drive at game stop for cheap when they run one of there sales, or get one off eBay. Also by doing it this way the Xbox slim recognizes it with no problem because it is a microsoft drive.
splatee is offline  
post #14 of 14 Old 04-25-2014, 01:55 PM
Newbie
 
Stewie67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a 360 live 4 gb with a 250 black scorpion hd installed. I put that in my self. I have another xbox 360 and I want to install another hd. Can't remember if I hdcracked my first one, but I don't think I did. I thought i just installed it and then formatted it from my xbox.
My question is, I bought a 750 gb blue scorpion hd and installed that one, but the xbox didn't read it. Does anyone know if only blacks work or can i use a blue, but has to be small? I am sure I just installed it and then formatted it though xbox. No connecting it to computer and doing a crack. Hoping someone can help me out. Thanks.
Stewie67 is offline  
Reply Xbox Area

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off