Xbox One Kinect Extender - Page 10 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 60Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 774 Old 03-27-2014, 08:04 PM
Member
 
ZaZeeMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looks like we may be able to use an extension, if the power supply for the Windows version is sold separately. Maybe just with an active USB 3.0 extension? Although I only see a 15 footer on Monoprice... frown.gif

http://blogs.msdn.com/b/kinectforwindows/archive/2014/03/27/revealing-kinect-for-windows-v2-hardware.aspx


Gamertag: Big Turk
ZaZeeMan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 774 Old 03-27-2014, 08:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
onlysublime's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Orange County
Posts: 5,303
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 262 Post(s)
Liked: 743
Microsoft is about to release Kinect 2.0 for Windows. And it comes with a power supply and a standard USB connection for the PC... which means you will soon be able to extend the Kinect for Xbox One as well... It looks like a similar setup to the original Kinect for PC. The proprietary cable will plug into the hub. The USB 3.0 cable plugs in on the other end and it's the standard USB 3.0 that you can extend...

onlysublime is online now  
post #273 of 774 Old 03-28-2014, 04:36 AM
Newbie
 
Neocleous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

This seems like the first positive step forward.

 

I think the only way MS are going to sell this separately though is if we put pressure on them because otherwise I can't see why they would sell this separately  

Neocleous is offline  
post #274 of 774 Old 03-28-2014, 06:21 AM
Member
 
Montdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 15

Unless the xbox one will take the sensor input on the usb port and not the dedicated port the box would work other wise one would still have to convert it back from usb to the special kinect usb plug.

 

If all that makes any sense at all. one could use that box to extend it but you would still have a standard usb plug at the xbox end. 


Onkyo 1030 Onkyo M-5010 Samsung 60HU8550 OPPO 103D SVS PB-2000 HTD Level 3 and Polk OWM3 7.1.4
Montdj is offline  
post #275 of 774 Old 03-28-2014, 06:26 AM
Newbie
 
Neocleous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Montdj View Post
 

Unless the xbox one will take the sensor input on the usb port and not the dedicated port the box would work other wise one would still have to convert it back from usb to the special kinect usb plug.

 

If all that makes any sense at all. one could use that box to extend it but you would still have a standard usb plug at the xbox end. 

That's very true but I think because the Kinnect connection is essentially a USB 3 connection with added power it shouldn't be an issue but I stand to be corrected because there is only one way to find out.

Neocleous is offline  
post #276 of 774 Old 03-28-2014, 08:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
onlysublime's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Orange County
Posts: 5,303
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 262 Post(s)
Liked: 743
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neocleous View Post

This seems like the first positive step forward.

I think the only way MS are going to sell this separately though is if we put pressure on them because otherwise I can't see why they would sell this separately  

you wouldn't need the pressure. when the kinect power supply first came out for the 360, it was $39.99 from Microsoft. But once it was on the market, the Chinese companies copied it and you could buy it for $9-19 at places like Amazon. I'm sure the Chinese will do it once again when the new hub is out.
onlysublime is online now  
post #277 of 774 Old 03-28-2014, 08:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
onlysublime's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Orange County
Posts: 5,303
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 262 Post(s)
Liked: 743
Quote:
Originally Posted by Montdj View Post

Unless the xbox one will take the sensor input on the usb port and not the dedicated port the box would work other wise one would still have to convert it back from usb to the special kinect usb plug.

If all that makes any sense at all. one could use that box to extend it but you would still have a standard usb plug at the xbox end. 

the "special" port is not really special. and it'd be like with the 360. If you bought the 360 S, there was no power supply with the kinect and you had to plug it into the dedicated port. However, if you did have the power supply, the Kinect on the 360 worked on the regular USBv2 port as well for the 360 S. you could entirely skip the "special" port on the 360 S and get the Kinect to work.
onlysublime is online now  
post #278 of 774 Old 03-28-2014, 10:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mikeloxlong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Chicagoland aka Wes-Burbs, Illinois
Posts: 6,232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 146
I wonder how much this is going to cost.

I Geez Zeus Me

My life is richer for not knowing what goes on on reality television
mikeloxlong is offline  
post #279 of 774 Old 03-28-2014, 11:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
newfmp3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NFLD, Canada
Posts: 4,262
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 208 Post(s)
Liked: 217
I'd be willing to bet that Monoprices solution is going to be a power brick and usb 3 extender. Nothing new here, but that above kind of confirms its sorta possible.
wkearney99 and Rebel975 like this.
newfmp3 is offline  
post #280 of 774 Old 04-02-2014, 08:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
turls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Central IL
Posts: 4,937
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 242 Post(s)
Liked: 88
So if you need to convert this to ethernet there is still not going to be any option because there are only converters for USB 1 and USB 2, and the USB 2 ones are still super expensive.

EDIT: I missed this post because I haven't been following the thread.

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1498930/xbox-one-kinect-extender/240#post_24503933

So there is a way to extend USB 3.0 without using USB 3.0 cabling--but it requires fiber ?!

I guess the question is does having the Kinect for Window 2.0 and the power hub help make using that very expensive fiber device easier than without it.

How did we get to _serial_ data for a gaming device requiring fiber...nuts.

Matt
turls is offline  
post #281 of 774 Old 04-13-2014, 07:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
newfmp3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NFLD, Canada
Posts: 4,262
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 208 Post(s)
Liked: 217
I am beginning to think this can't be done. Nobody out there has done it yet? Seems odd. I am getting to the point where I am considering selling the Kinect.
newfmp3 is offline  
post #282 of 774 Old 04-14-2014, 03:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
DavidinCT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Someplace in CT
Posts: 646
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by newfmp3 View Post

I am beginning to think this can't be done. Nobody out there has done it yet? Seems odd. I am getting to the point where I am considering selling the Kinect.

What is the point of trying to sell it ? You wont get much for it right now as everyone has one.....

I'm in the same boat, sitting in the box with the plastic still on it....

Has their been any new rumor here ?

-Dave

MCSE 2003
Windows Media Center specialist - MVP and Certified Home Theater specialist

Avid gamer and home theater junkie..
DavidinCT is offline  
post #283 of 774 Old 04-29-2014, 11:08 PM
Newbie
 
lfenske's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I'm looking to make my kinect cord shorter. Will I need both of the fertile cores? Are the shields giving you any problems to work with? From what I can see there are only three shields. 

 

P.S. For anyone looking to extend the cord you have to make sure that four wires that are twisted together stay that way. Your extensions need to be tightly twisted clockwise for each of those two wire pairs. 

lfenske is offline  
post #284 of 774 Old 05-03-2014, 01:12 PM
Member
 
JPHCCFC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I finally succumbed to Microsofts advice and moved my av rack closer to my screen. I got fed up waiting for an extender and I actually prefer my setup now. The Kinect is great had some fun with Xbox fitness and the voice commands are pretty good. I like the auto sign in too.



tampabuc likes this.
JPHCCFC is offline  
post #285 of 774 Old 05-03-2014, 07:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
newfmp3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NFLD, Canada
Posts: 4,262
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 208 Post(s)
Liked: 217
Good for you.

Sadly not an option for me. Even if I did move it from AV room to the room with my tv, darn cable is still too short to run through wall to tv. It is just too damn short.
newfmp3 is offline  
post #286 of 774 Old 05-04-2014, 03:31 PM
Member
 
JPHCCFC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Newfmp3 could you put the Xbox in the TV room and then purchase 2 long hdmi cables? One to your TV and then one to your cable box?
JPHCCFC is offline  
post #287 of 774 Old 05-11-2014, 05:28 AM
Senior Member
 
JustBusiness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 408
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No way to extend over Cat anything right now, must be fiber. Costs big $$$$ but should work IF Xbox one will accept Kinect in normal USB port instead of proprietary port.
JustBusiness is offline  
post #288 of 774 Old 05-11-2014, 06:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wkearney99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
Posts: 1,589
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 176 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Unless you know of a solution, don't just toss out fiber as an alternative. Other than in pretty rare circumstances it's entirely unnecessary. Going between buildings or through harsh environments are about the only reasons to ever bother with the significantly higher costs of fiber. Not to to mention it'd likely be way too fragile for a consumer electronics gaming situation. Sure, SPDIF audio uses it but even then you're dealing with those ridiculously crappy sockets on all the gear. Fiber gets trotted out all the time as some sort of solution... usually by folks not having actually dealt with supporting it.

Sufficient speeds can be attained using the right combination of copper and circuits. As yet, though, no one has delivered a solution.
wkearney99 is offline  
post #289 of 774 Old 05-13-2014, 01:35 PM
Member
 
Craer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Craer is offline  
post #290 of 774 Old 05-13-2014, 06:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BiggAW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 247 Post(s)
Liked: 63
And the Xbox One is available without a Kinect... Guess the Kinect isn't so important after all...
BiggAW is offline  
post #291 of 774 Old 05-14-2014, 12:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
DavidinCT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Someplace in CT
Posts: 646
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Has anyone found any updates on this ? I have had it, I got a Day One Kinect still sitting in the box because the cable is about 15' too short.... this is getting really old, I would like to play with this with out having to re-lay out my room....WTF...

-Dave

MCSE 2003
Windows Media Center specialist - MVP and Certified Home Theater specialist

Avid gamer and home theater junkie..
DavidinCT is offline  
post #292 of 774 Old 05-14-2014, 02:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BiggAW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 247 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidinCT View Post

Has anyone found any updates on this ? I have had it, I got a Day One Kinect still sitting in the box because the cable is about 15' too short.... this is getting really old, I would like to play with this with out having to re-lay out my room....WTF...

There's nothing... other than the fact that it's not really needed anymore, so that basically solves the problem...
BiggAW is offline  
post #293 of 774 Old 05-14-2014, 04:30 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 23,268
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1663 Post(s)
Liked: 1012
Quote:
Originally Posted by BiggAW View Post

There's nothing... other than the fact that it's not really needed anymore, so that basically solves the problem...

Nothing changed. It was never required before.

53TB unRAID2--38TB unRAID3--33TB unRAID1a
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #294 of 774 Old 05-14-2014, 06:38 PM
Senior Member
 
Backlash's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Harpers Ferry, WV
Posts: 490
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Please post a request here: http://forums.xbox.com/xbox_forums/xbox_feedback/f/2606/p/1626988/4716205.aspx#4716205

Per support, this thread is where they look for support updates.

Nunc lento sonitu dicunt, morieris.
Now this bell tolling softly for another, says to me, Thou must die.
-John Donne

My Home Theater (QTVR)
"Thirst is worse than homesickness"
Backlash is offline  
post #295 of 774 Old 05-15-2014, 08:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
DavidinCT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Someplace in CT
Posts: 646
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by BiggAW View Post

There's nothing... other than the fact that it's not really needed anymore, so that basically solves the problem...

Not really, as with the new release of the not included Kinect going to be $399, As I see it, I have a $100 item sitting in the box that I cant use because of a stupid cable. Maybe they should provide customers who ordered it and cant use it a $100 refund for it. That would solve the problem.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Backlash View Post

Please post a request here: http://forums.xbox.com/xbox_forums/xbox_feedback/f/2606/p/1626988/4716205.aspx#4716205

Per support, this thread is where they look for support updates.

Been there, done that, Even hit up #XboxSupport on twitter about every month or 2, just hear that "We're listening to your feedback" but, no news or updates....

Ugh...I just want to be able to use a item I paid for, is that really too much to ask ?

-Dave

MCSE 2003
Windows Media Center specialist - MVP and Certified Home Theater specialist

Avid gamer and home theater junkie..
DavidinCT is offline  
post #296 of 774 Old 05-15-2014, 02:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BiggAW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 247 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidinCT View Post

Not really, as with the new release of the not included Kinect going to be $399, As I see it, I have a $100 item sitting in the box that I cant use because of a stupid cable. Maybe they should provide customers who ordered it and cant use it a $100 refund for it. That would solve the problem.
Been there, done that, Even hit up #XboxSupport on twitter about every month or 2, just hear that "We're listening to your feedback" but, no news or updates....

Ugh...I just want to be able to use a item I paid for, is that really too much to ask ?

True, it sucks to be out $100 on a useless piece of junk. They should have thought about that when they designed the thing in the first place. Seems like a pretty obvious problem that people are going to run into.
BiggAW is offline  
post #297 of 774 Old 05-15-2014, 04:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Anthony1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Posts: 6,375
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 339 Post(s)
Liked: 212
Monoprice doesn't have an extender for this thing yet ?

Man, if that's the case, then I guess no reason for me to pick up one of these cheap Kinect 2.0's on Ebay. They are going for only $55 or so shipped. But I'm only interested in getting an extra one to have it in the theater room, but if there is no Kinect extender cable yet, then that won't work. Damn, are you kidding me ? It's like 6 months later now, right ? How could there be no extender ?
Anthony1 is online now  
post #298 of 774 Old 05-15-2014, 06:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
newfmp3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NFLD, Canada
Posts: 4,262
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 208 Post(s)
Liked: 217
complaining here isn't going to fix it sadly
newfmp3 is offline  
post #299 of 774 Old 05-15-2014, 06:52 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 23,268
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1663 Post(s)
Liked: 1012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anthony1 View Post

Monoprice doesn't have an extender for this thing yet ?

Man, if that's the case, then I guess no reason for me to pick up one of these cheap Kinect 2.0's on Ebay. They are going for only $55 or so shipped. But I'm only interested in getting an extra one to have it in the theater room, but if there is no Kinect extender cable yet, then that won't work. Damn, are you kidding me ? It's like 6 months later now, right ? How could there be no extender ?

Really?!?! Only $55? I wouldn't mind picking up an XBOne Kinect for that price. Then I could have it to leave at my GFs house. But then I would still need to wait for a large price drop on a Kinect-less XBOne before I pick up a third system to use for carrying back and forth to her house.

53TB unRAID2--38TB unRAID3--33TB unRAID1a
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #300 of 774 Old 05-15-2014, 07:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
totalownership's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2,429
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 218
Quote:
Originally Posted by BiggAW View Post

True, it sucks to be out $100 on a useless piece of junk. They should have thought about that when they designed the thing in the first place. Seems like a pretty obvious problem that people are going to run into.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BiggAW View Post

There's nothing... other than the fact that it's not really needed anymore, so that basically solves the problem...

Quote:
Originally Posted by BiggAW View Post

And the Xbox One is available without a Kinect... Guess the Kinect isn't so important after all...

Glad to see you back in the xbox forums since ... never.
So your first time in here just to post these replies. Classy.

AT HAMMOND ROBOTICS WE'RE BRINGING THE FUTURE ... HOME
totalownership is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Xbox Area

Tags
Xbox One Console Standard Edition



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off