Xbox One Kinect Extender - Page 13 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 8Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #361 of 442 Old 07-07-2014, 08:23 PM
Member
 
ELMO45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Microsoft just updated their pre-order ship date for the PC version of Kinect to July 15th. I wonder if once the PC version launches it might provide us a solution?

http://www.engadget.com/2014/07/07/k...-v2-july-15th/

ELMO45 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #362 of 442 Old 07-08-2014, 06:45 AM
Senior Member
 
DavidinCT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Someplace in CT
Posts: 387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by ELMO45 View Post
Microsoft just updated their pre-order ship date for the PC version of Kinect to July 15th. I wonder if once the PC version launches it might provide us a solution?

http://www.engadget.com/2014/07/07/k...-v2-july-15th/


The question that no one 100% will seem to answer for me (even talked to the Kinect for Windows team on Twitter and facebook) is.... Will the Xbox One accept the Kinect plugged in to the Xbox one via USB 3.0 ? I am hearing no but, would love someone to find out for sure.


This thing has a adapter that converts the Special adapter on the Kinect to USB 3.0 (needs to be 3.0) and you can use long USB cable to connect to the PC.


So, that will be the question here...

-Dave

MCSE 2003
Windows Media Center specialist

Avid gamer and home theater junkie..
DavidinCT is offline  
post #363 of 442 Old 07-08-2014, 08:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kevin g.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,347
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidinCT View Post
The question that no one 100% will seem to answer for me (even talked to the Kinect for Windows team on Twitter and facebook) is.... Will the Xbox One accept the Kinect plugged in to the Xbox one via USB 3.0 ? I am hearing no but, would love someone to find out for sure.


This thing has a adapter that converts the Special adapter on the Kinect to USB 3.0 (needs to be 3.0) and you can use long USB cable to connect to the PC.


So, that will be the question here...
Following the logic, here...then the adapter will be all you need. (And a 3.0 extension from Monoprice). I bet it would take a mountain to get MS to release the adapter retail....

"Once you learn good English...Can't nobody take it away!"

Xbox LIVE Gamertag: KEVIN G 40

kevin g. is online now  
post #364 of 442 Old 07-08-2014, 08:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
turls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Central IL
Posts: 4,616
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Ok, so why is this going to be on Microsoft's radar now when they are basically dumping Kinect? I guess it could still happen from the PC side. I'm going to put off buying a One as long as possible and enjoy my 360/Kinect combo until then or longer.

Matt
turls is offline  
post #365 of 442 Old 07-08-2014, 08:32 AM
Senior Member
 
DavidinCT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Someplace in CT
Posts: 387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevin g. View Post
Following the logic, here...then the adapter will be all you need. (And a 3.0 extension from Monoprice). I bet it would take a mountain to get MS to release the adapter retail....

Right but, as I said, The Kinect for Windows uses the same connector as the Xbox one, This plugs into a adapter (with power and a little box), then the output is USB 3.0 to plug into your PC. I did research the HELL out of this setup and device for our needs here.


There is nothing showing or confirming that the Xbox one will take a USB 3.0 cable for the Kinect. This is the possible major problem here, as the Xbox one is expecting a Kinect via the special cable, NOT USB.


Unless Monoprice creates an adapter that will take USB 3.0 and turn it back into the special cable, this might not work AT ALL.


This is something SOMEONE is going to need to test but, still it's a $200 option, never mind the USB 3.0 cables, even if it does work... I don't foresee Microsoft releasing the "adapter" as a separate piece so your only option would to be to buy it and trash the Kinect for Windows...


Sounds like if it does work, your wasting a lot of money on something you don't need.


Kind of feels like paying $30K on a car because you only want/need the wheels/rims on it...

-Dave

MCSE 2003
Windows Media Center specialist

Avid gamer and home theater junkie..

Last edited by DavidinCT; 07-08-2014 at 08:40 AM.
DavidinCT is offline  
post #366 of 442 Old 07-08-2014, 11:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kevin g.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,347
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidinCT View Post
Right but, as I said, The Kinect for Windows uses the same connector as the Xbox one, This plugs into a adapter (with power and a little box), then the output is USB 3.0 to plug into your PC. I did research the HELL out of this setup and device for our needs here.


There is nothing showing or confirming that the Xbox one will take a USB 3.0 cable for the Kinect. This is the possible major problem here, as the Xbox one is expecting a Kinect via the special cable, NOT USB.


Unless Monoprice creates an adapter that will take USB 3.0 and turn it back into the special cable, this might not work AT ALL.


This is something SOMEONE is going to need to test but, still it's a $200 option, never mind the USB 3.0 cables, even if it does work... I don't foresee Microsoft releasing the "adapter" as a separate piece so your only option would to be to buy it and trash the Kinect for Windows...


Sounds like if it does work, your wasting a lot of money on something you don't need.


Kind of feels like paying $30K on a car because you only want/need the wheels/rims on it...
Right...I didn't think about that. You would need an adapter at both ends for it to work on the One. Ugh ...what a poorly thought out debacle.
The other problem is the Hugh Jass connector... could pose some cable pulling issues.

"Once you learn good English...Can't nobody take it away!"

Xbox LIVE Gamertag: KEVIN G 40


Last edited by kevin g.; 07-08-2014 at 11:27 AM.
kevin g. is online now  
post #367 of 442 Old 07-08-2014, 11:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wkearney99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
Posts: 1,331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Tons of stuff uses adapters on both ends. HDMI over CAT5/6 wiring is but one example. That and the initial attempts required using two CAT5 cables and were also quite expensive. Now HDBase-T only requires a single cable and the adapters (on both ends) are more reasonably priced.

It's a shame better info or a product hasn't emerged. But wild speculation is just stupid.
wkearney99 is offline  
post #368 of 442 Old 07-08-2014, 11:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
turls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Central IL
Posts: 4,616
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by wkearney99 View Post
Tons of stuff uses adapters on both ends. HDMI over CAT5/6 wiring is but one example. That and the initial attempts required using two CAT5 cables and were also quite expensive. Now HDBase-T only requires a single cable and the adapters (on both ends) are more reasonably priced.

It's a shame better info or a product hasn't emerged. But wild speculation is just stupid.
That's fine, but even Kinect for 360 requires USB 2.0 and those adapters are sky high still if you run over Cat5. This is USB 3.0 and those aren't even available yet if you want to go over ethernet. Even if everything else falls into place...

Matt
turls is offline  
post #369 of 442 Old 07-08-2014, 12:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kevin g.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,347
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by wkearney99 View Post
Tons of stuff uses adapters on both ends. HDMI over CAT5/6 wiring is but one example. That and the initial attempts required using two CAT5 cables and were also quite expensive. Now HDBase-T only requires a single cable and the adapters (on both ends) are more reasonably priced.

It's a shame better info or a product hasn't emerged. But wild speculation is just stupid.
Where has there been any "wild speculation"? David and I were merely stating that if the PC version has an adapter, then it is possible. (Speculative, maybe, but certainly not wild...) And "IF" possible, then the 3.0 connection would need another adapter, OR the cable would have to be the same as the Kinect's existing cable at the One's end.
Name calling wasn't really warranted.
Thanks for your input anyway.

"Once you learn good English...Can't nobody take it away!"

Xbox LIVE Gamertag: KEVIN G 40

kevin g. is online now  
post #370 of 442 Old 07-08-2014, 02:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wkearney99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
Posts: 1,331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Depends on the distance needed. Full 300m usb-over-ethernet adapters are indeed more expensive than shorter active extender cables.

There's at least one 3.0 extension out there at a somewhat reasonable price:
http://www.usbgear.com/computer_cabl...02%2C120%2C137

And in the speculation department, little's been published regarding what speed is actually required for Kinect functionality.

So until actual facts are presented, or someone actually TRIES something, it's all just rather useless speculation.
wkearney99 is offline  
post #371 of 442 Old 07-08-2014, 04:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
newfmp3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NFLD, Canada
Posts: 3,903
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by turls View Post
Ok, so why is this going to be on Microsoft's radar now when they are basically dumping Kinect? I guess it could still happen from the PC side. I'm going to put off buying a One as long as possible and enjoy my 360/Kinect combo until then or longer.

It is amazing how the internet spreads nonsense. MS is not giving up on the kinect. They are just giving customers a choice between two sku's and a cheaper starting point which is what people were screaming for. You will continue to see Kinect games, Kinect features and so on.
wkearney99 likes this.
newfmp3 is offline  
post #372 of 442 Old 07-08-2014, 06:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wkearney99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
Posts: 1,331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by newfmp3 View Post
It is amazing how the internet spreads nonsense.
Especially, it seems, when video games are involved. Yeesh, it's pathetic.
DavidinCT likes this.
wkearney99 is offline  
post #373 of 442 Old 07-09-2014, 04:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
turls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Central IL
Posts: 4,616
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by newfmp3 View Post
It is amazing how the internet spreads nonsense. MS is not giving up on the kinect. They are just giving customers a choice between two sku's and a cheaper starting point which is what people were screaming for. You will continue to see Kinect games, Kinect features and so on.
Quote:
Originally Posted by wkearney99 View Post
Especially, it seems, when video games are involved. Yeesh, it's pathetic.
You guys are too much. Explain to me how developers are going to worry about Kinect now that whatever small percentage of future purchases will bother to add a Kinect? They were not happy about the decision because they live in real world, not fantasy world like you guys. You sound like spin doctors for Microsoft.

Please point me to the list of mind blowing Kinect titles in development, and any that have been added after this sku change.

Matt

Last edited by turls; 07-09-2014 at 04:29 AM.
turls is offline  
post #374 of 442 Old 07-09-2014, 09:01 AM
Senior Member
 
DavidinCT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Someplace in CT
Posts: 387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by newfmp3 View Post
It is amazing how the internet spreads nonsense. MS is not giving up on the kinect. They are just giving customers a choice between two sku's and a cheaper starting point which is what people were screaming for. You will continue to see Kinect games, Kinect features and so on.
Microsoft has CLEARLY said this. Never mind if you use the Kinect and you have the right setup (HDMI CEC compatible gear) and use the TV features, From what I read, even not playing games with the Kinect, it's a impressive device. Microsoft has 0 plans on not supporting it....

The only FLAW with this new pricing point with out the Kinect is not everyone will have the Kinect, meaning Devs will take the shortcut route and not support the Kinect features in every game. Yea, some games it would suck but, if it worked REALLY well, it might be impressive.

Let's keep this on topic here, this is not a discussions on If Microsoft is going to support the Kinect, it's about finding away to extend this cable for the Kinect so we can use it in our home theaters/ A/V /Game rooms...

Just wish MS would allow companies like Monoprice sell cables, It's not a tech problem, it's a license problem..


Quote:
Originally Posted by kevin g. View Post
Right...I didn't think about that. You would need an adapter at both ends for it to work on the One. Ugh ...what a poorly thought out debacle.
The other problem is the Hugh Jass connector... could pose some cable pulling issues.

We never know, MAYBE (someone with extra money burning a hole in their pocket could grab one for testing) it will work but, till someone tests, we don't know...as Microsoft will not say anything on this, I have TRIED many times already.


I looked over my Kinect 2.0 cable, besides the ends, it's not much bigger than a good HDMI cable for thickness.

-Dave

MCSE 2003
Windows Media Center specialist

Avid gamer and home theater junkie..

Last edited by DavidinCT; 07-09-2014 at 09:10 AM.
DavidinCT is offline  
post #375 of 442 Old 07-09-2014, 09:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kevin g.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,347
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidinCT View Post
Microsoft has CLEARLY said this. Never mind if you use the Kinect and you have the right setup (HDMI CEC compatible gear) and use the TV features, From what I read, even not playing games with the Kinect, it's a impressive device. Microsoft has 0 plans on not supporting it....

The only FLAW with this new pricing point with out the Kinect is not everyone will have the Kinect, meaning Devs will take the shortcut route and not support the Kinect features in every game. Yea, some games it would suck but, if it worked REALLY well, it might be impressive.

Let's keep this on topic here, this is not a discussions on If Microsoft is going to support the Kinect, it's about finding away to extend this cable for the Kinect so we can use it in our home theaters/ A/V /Game rooms...

Just wish MS would allow companies like Monoprice sell cables, It's not a tech problem, it's a license problem..





We never know, MAYBE (someone with extra money burning a hole in their pocket could grab one for testing) it will work but, till someone tests, we don't know...as Microsoft will not say anything on this, I have TRIED many times already.


I looked over my Kinect 2.0 cable, besides the ends, it's not much bigger than a good HDMI cable for thickness.
Well said.
Yes I agree about the cable...I meant the end only.

"Once you learn good English...Can't nobody take it away!"

Xbox LIVE Gamertag: KEVIN G 40

kevin g. is online now  
post #376 of 442 Old 07-09-2014, 10:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
turls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Central IL
Posts: 4,616
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 41
If it sold with every One for the entire lifespan of the unit that makes it more likely different connection options would appear, at better price points. Not off topic at all, but it was just an observation as part of the speculation of why it is taking so long for a solution.

If dev support is the only "flaw" it is a HUGE one. I am a Kinect fan--I am not happy about it, but I wasn't happy about a new underpowered console generation before true 4K took off also. I expect too much which is why I still invest in HTPC and PC gaming.

Typical Microsoft change of direction, nothing new. Another in a long line of dumb Xbox decisions to offset the many good decisions. And no use for Microsoft apologists in a thread like this (not you, but the previous responses).

Matt

Last edited by turls; 07-09-2014 at 10:05 AM.
turls is offline  
post #377 of 442 Old 07-09-2014, 11:12 PM
Newbie
 
stucazzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Could not wait any longer

well I also jumped the moving the Xbox One in order to use the kinect. I haven't used it since day one. It doesn't look bad but it is sorely missed in the cabinet to the left of the room. So much so that I may even move it back and scrap the kinect all together until the extension cable (i only need about 6-9 more feet) is cheap enough. these are the reasons why

1. I usually game with 4 or more people (FIFA, NHL, HALO etc). The facial recognition isnt as good as I thought it messes up every time it tries to log the right person in.
2. The throw distance is not good enough. My room is small, but people sitting in the second row arent recognized. Also the camera seems to sit too high.

Personally I am not impressed with it. I think i am going to leave the kinect hanging there and wait for the extension. like everyone said, they definitely dropped the ball on this one.




Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	photo 1.JPG
Views:	88
Size:	158.2 KB
ID:	155241   Click image for larger version

Name:	photo 4.JPG
Views:	87
Size:	157.0 KB
ID:	155249  
stucazzo is offline  
post #378 of 442 Old 07-18-2014, 06:58 AM
Member
 
makan01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
hyperkin hacked XBOne Kinect

I just wrote to these guys: http://hyperkin.com to see if they are able to build this cable after I read this article from Engadget: http://www.engadget.com/2014/07/18/h...-work-on-a-pc/


Let's hope they have an idea of how to do it.
DavidinCT likes this.

Toe-Knee
makan01 is offline  
post #379 of 442 Old 07-18-2014, 04:00 PM
Senior Member
 
DavidinCT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Someplace in CT
Posts: 387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by makan01 View Post
I just wrote to these guys: http://hyperkin.com to see if they are able to build this cable after I read this article from Engadget: http://www.engadget.com/2014/07/18/h...-work-on-a-pc/


Let's hope they have an idea of how to do it.

Everyone who watches this thread should do the same thing...


http://hyperkin.com/contact-us


If one or 2 come in, they normally dismiss it but, if 50 or more come, they can see the demand and might actually make one. If they figured this part out, I am sure they can extend the cable by 15-20 feet....(for my case at least).


The whole question is licensing on it, it's known that Monoprice can create one but, was unable to sell it because of Microsoft not licensing the product.

-Dave

MCSE 2003
Windows Media Center specialist

Avid gamer and home theater junkie..
DavidinCT is offline  
post #380 of 442 Old 07-18-2014, 04:09 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
There is someone making the cable at last! I have been waiting ages for the cable I don't know what has taken so long. £15.99 available for pre-order.

http://www.harmanit.co.uk/blog/2014/...xtension-cable
Terry-UK is offline  
post #381 of 442 Old 07-19-2014, 07:14 AM
Senior Member
 
DavidinCT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Someplace in CT
Posts: 387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Terry-UK View Post
There is someone making the cable at last! I have been waiting ages for the cable I don't know what has taken so long. £15.99 available for pre-order.

http://www.harmanit.co.uk/blog/2014/...xtension-cable

That link just shows "finally a cable", it shows no info on how to pre-order it or how long the cable is to extend it.


As it's a pre-order, how long before release ? I've seen a few references to UK sites claiming they have or will release one. I guess if their selling it with out a license from Microsoft and wont get in any legal trouble for it....


All I know, is when they are available, I need to order one (and get it) before Microsoft shuts them down..


I would just like to know how it's done, if it can be done with $20 in parts, I would love to try it myself...

-Dave

MCSE 2003
Windows Media Center specialist

Avid gamer and home theater junkie..
DavidinCT is offline  
post #382 of 442 Old 07-19-2014, 08:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Kilgore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Huntsville Ontario
Posts: 3,011
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidinCT View Post
That link just shows "finally a cable", it shows no info on how to pre-order it or how long the cable is to extend it.
Yes, but if you click the Amazon link in the article within that link you get this:


http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00JFX1JOO


Apparently, the cable is only 2 meters long.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Kilgore is offline  
post #383 of 442 Old 07-19-2014, 11:50 AM
Member
 
thatwilsonguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm in contact with one of the developers at hyperkin to see about custom cable lengths / extensions, limitations, cost ,and feasibility. Hopefully we at least get a definitive answer about some of the technical limitations.
thatwilsonguy is offline  
post #384 of 442 Old 07-20-2014, 09:13 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Generally speaking USB's max length is 5m. Anything above that and it can cause problems.
Terry-UK is offline  
post #385 of 442 Old 07-21-2014, 09:14 AM
Senior Member
 
DavidinCT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Someplace in CT
Posts: 387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Terry-UK View Post
Generally speaking USB's max length is 5m. Anything above that and it can cause problems.

I've seen longer with amplifiers. This was with USB 2.0. It was pretty crazy, I actually was able to sync and charge a cell phone with a 100' active USB cable...


The Xbox One Kinect is not just USB 3.0 as I understand, so there is a extra dynamic added to just extending it...

Will be interesting if we will actually get something to do this, going 3-4m is one thing but, I know people here want to go longer, cant wait to see something.

-Dave

MCSE 2003
Windows Media Center specialist

Avid gamer and home theater junkie..
DavidinCT is offline  
post #386 of 442 Old 07-25-2014, 02:02 AM
Member
 
makan01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by thatwilsonguy View Post
I'm in contact with one of the developers at hyperkin to see about custom cable lengths / extensions, limitations, cost ,and feasibility. Hopefully we at least get a definitive answer about some of the technical limitations.

Hyperlink is the most promising avenue so far. Let us know, please, what you find out. I looked at the comment section of the UK site mentioned in previous discussions and they will not do anything over 5m.

Toe-Knee
makan01 is offline  
post #387 of 442 Old 08-01-2014, 05:00 AM
Newbie
 
Neocleous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I extended my original kinect with two 5m active repeater USB 2 cables (10m total) and a PS move camera with another 2 5m active repeater cables joined together and both worked absolutely fine.

You can absolutely do the same with USB 3 as long as the signal is regenerated before it degrades there wont be a problem.
Neocleous is offline  
post #388 of 442 Old 08-01-2014, 04:27 PM
Senior Member
 
Backlash's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Harpers Ferry, WV
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Angry

--Edit: Julie at Hyperkin responded via e-mail almost immediately. Everyone fee free to contact them. This is the only feedback I've ever received. None from Xbox none from Monoprice.--

I just wrote hyperkin and linked Xbox Uservoice, and this page as proof of demand. I did forget the monoprice page though. Hopefully someone makes it.

I would buy the 2m one from amazon.uk, but they do not ship to the U.S.

Nunc lento sonitu dicunt, morieris.
Now this bell tolling softly for another, says to me, Thou must die.
-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

"Thirst is worse than homesickness"

Last edited by Backlash; 08-01-2014 at 04:55 PM.
Backlash is online now  
post #389 of 442 Old 08-04-2014, 05:48 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
So I read through this entire thread, and I was hoping someone could help me understanding something.

I get that extending the cable is problematic for a number of different reasons, but why didn't Mel Parker's re-soldering job work? If he didn't extend it at all, and the same wires are just re-existing as they once were, what's the issue? In my case, the distance isn't an issue, but the trunking is. I don't want to go through the same process only to fail in the same manner though.

EDIT: I found his follow-up posts about it eventually working after someone re-soldered it. Has anyone done the same thing successfully?

Last edited by foogama; 08-04-2014 at 07:02 AM.
foogama is offline  
post #390 of 442 Old 08-07-2014, 01:36 PM
Senior Member
 
Backlash's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Harpers Ferry, WV
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Only 495 votes over at Xbox feedback to have this done. There are more people who want the kinect to recognize their dog. I'm not surprised they haven't acted on it.

http://xbox.uservoice.com/forums/251...xtension-cable

Nunc lento sonitu dicunt, morieris.
Now this bell tolling softly for another, says to me, Thou must die.
-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

"Thirst is worse than homesickness"
Backlash is online now  
Reply Xbox Area

Tags
Xbox One Console Standard Edition

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off