Xbox One Kinect Extender - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 3Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 386 Old 11-10-2013, 12:52 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
citsur86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I searched the forum for a discussion on this and came up with nothing. I'm sure a lot of us have home theaters with components setup in back room closets. So, I want to ask if anyone has heard of an extension cable for the Xbox One Kinect 2?

Also, for those who have projection home theaters with Xbox 360s and Kinects now, does the kinder work better positioned above or below the projection screen?
citsur86 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 386 Old 11-10-2013, 02:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
onlysublime's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4,649
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 493
There are no concrete plans revealed about an extender. Only that they're working on it and do not have plans to reveal yet. it is a standard USB 3.0 cable but with a custom connector.

As for the location of the Kinect, it depends on your setup. You want the Kinect at least 3 feet high or below 9 feet. Optimally, you would like 4 - 8 feet. Performance depends on the field of view so the better you can get the Kinect toward the middle, the better. If you want optimal performance, it needs to see from the floor to the top of the person so plan appropriately. People have put the Kinect above the projection screen and below. Again, it really depends on how your setup is.
onlysublime is offline  
post #3 of 386 Old 11-10-2013, 07:40 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 20,882
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 303 Post(s)
Liked: 606
How long is the cable for the Kinect in the XBOne?

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is offline  
post #4 of 386 Old 11-10-2013, 07:42 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
citsur86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by onlysublime View Post

There are no concrete plans revealed about an extender. Only that they're working on it and do not have plans to reveal yet. it is a standard USB 3.0 cable but with a custom connector.

As for the location of the Kinect, it depends on your setup. You want the Kinect at least 3 feet high or below 9 feet. Optimally, you would like 4 - 8 feet. Performance depends on the field of view so the better you can get the Kinect toward the middle, the better. If you want optimal performance, it needs to see from the floor to the top of the person so plan appropriately. People have put the Kinect above the projection screen and below. Again, it really depends on how your setup is.

Thanks for the info.

Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post

How long is the cable for the Kinect in the XBOne?

I believe it comes with a 3 meter long Kinect cable.
citsur86 is offline  
post #5 of 386 Old 11-11-2013, 12:58 PM
Member
 
mcolts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
only sublime, when they say that the kinect is an IR blaster, that means everything it is going to control (through voice, gestures, etc) has be in the same room as the kinect, right?

For example, when you say "xbox turn it to espn," it will only work when the cable box is in the same room as the kinect, correct?

So even if there is an extender that will allow us to hook up kinect to a media closet, we still wont be able to use some of the main features.
mcolts is offline  
post #6 of 386 Old 11-11-2013, 06:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
onlysublime's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4,649
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 493
Yes, if the device is not in the same room as the Kinect, chances are that the Kinect cannot control it. In that situation, the Xbox One has a traditional IR port to plug in a traditional IR blaster. Of course, IR blasters come in all lengths, 5 ft, 25 ft, 50 ft, etc.

But in terms of controlling the Xbox One, that's not done via IR blasting but via the USB 3.0 cable. IR blasting is for your AV devices.
onlysublime is offline  
post #7 of 386 Old 11-12-2013, 12:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
lmychajluk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Northern New Jersey
Posts: 914
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Did anyone hear anything about the max range of the new Kinect? The only thing I've been able to find is that it has a wider FoV and the minimum distance is a bit less, but I'm curious how it's going to work with me sitting on the sofa 15' away, and not standing 5' in front of it. I have the one for the 360, but it doesn't work that great at this range. It would be cool to at least be able to use the head tracking features in games like Battlefield and maybe Forza.

-Lee
XBL GT: S4Lee
(Former) MS MVP - Xbox
lmychajluk is offline  
post #8 of 386 Old 11-13-2013, 05:36 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
citsur86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcolts View Post

only sublime, when they say that the kinect is an IR blaster, that means everything it is going to control (through voice, gestures, etc) has be in the same room as the kinect, right?

For example, when you say "xbox turn it to espn," it will only work when the cable box is in the same room as the kinect, correct?

So even if there is an extender that will allow us to hook up kinect to a media closet, we still wont be able to use some of the main features.

Our setup has an IR repeater In the main room which is linked back to the closet and then split out to all devices. So in my case all the features would work because the IR signal out of the kinect would go into the IR repeater which is routed through to the closet and then blasted out to the cable box.
citsur86 is offline  
post #9 of 386 Old 11-14-2013, 08:31 AM
Senior Member
 
Project H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 312
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I have a projector setup and low-profile media console that houses all my components. Would it be ok for the kinect to sit in the media console about 6-8in high? or do you think i should put it on top of my media console/above my center channel?

my media console is the BDI Avion II - it has tinted IR glass - would the kinect be ok sitting behind this IR glass?
Project H is offline  
post #10 of 386 Old 11-21-2013, 12:31 PM
Member
 
lorilotus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
My media center is located 5 feet directly behind my sofa with the screen around 7 feet in front of the sofa. I've nearly opted for a PS4 to get around this hurdle but Forza looks amazing. It would be cool if the kinect had a mirror mode so you could put the unit behind you and have it invert your movements, though likely not possible. Has anyone discovered a a feasible option for placement yet?
lorilotus is offline  
post #11 of 386 Old 11-22-2013, 08:39 AM
Member
 
kylenewman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I'm trying to cobble something together with usb3 active extenders I'll create a new thread if I'm successful

2h5qqs8.jpg
Sterling and ELMO45 like this.
kylenewman is offline  
post #12 of 386 Old 11-22-2013, 08:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
onlysublime's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4,649
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 493
eek.gif

that's not your Kinect cable is it???
onlysublime is offline  
post #13 of 386 Old 11-22-2013, 10:08 AM
Member
 
kylenewman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Yes it is and as we all suspected its a standard usb3 cable with a few extra goodies.(12 volt power and ground for the kinect) and another wire which I believe is another ground. I'm heading out of town for the night and won't be able to play with it until tomorrow night.
kylenewman is offline  
post #14 of 386 Old 11-22-2013, 12:02 PM
Newbie
 
Mel Parker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

This is exactly what I thought about doing.....

 

However, the only thing stopping me feeding the cable through the trunking in my wall is the large cylinder thing next to the connector, I think its something to do with magnetic shielding?

 

Do you know if it can be removed? It would save me cutting a brand new cable in two!

 

Mel

Mel Parker is offline  
post #15 of 386 Old 11-22-2013, 12:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
lmychajluk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Northern New Jersey
Posts: 914
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Is it a ferite core, like this?



If so, it should be safe to remove it and re-attach it. There may just be a couple of clips or screws holding it clamped onto the cable.

-Lee
XBL GT: S4Lee
(Former) MS MVP - Xbox
lmychajluk is offline  
post #16 of 386 Old 11-22-2013, 12:12 PM
Newbie
 
Mel Parker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

yes just like that, it appears to be moulded on..

Mel Parker is offline  
post #17 of 386 Old 11-22-2013, 07:36 PM
Senior Member
 
jjcritch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Royal Oak, MI
Posts: 235
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Here are some others that feel our pain:

http://www.product-reviews.net/2013/11/22/xbox-one-kinect-2-0-extension-cable/

I am mentally challenging you...so consider yourself mentally challenged

XboxLive Gamertag: SteelDr JJ

My Theater Build
jjcritch is offline  
post #18 of 386 Old 11-22-2013, 07:55 PM
Senior Member
 
Sterling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Saratoga Springs, UT USA
Posts: 230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I just bought the XBone today, and am tempted to tear mine apart too, as I have a component closet about 30 wire feet away from my screen...

There might be a way to hack the port on the XBone and fashion some sort of active USB 3.0 extension for it.

It is USB 3.0 for sure, but the extra two wires shown in kylenewmans photo I'm not sure about.
If they aren't simple power, then it's going to be a game to see if they can be reliably extended.
My hope is that they are extra power which can easily be injected.
If it's data, then I guess we just add wire length and see if it freaks out or not.

Attached is a picture of the Kinect 2.0 connector.

You can see that it has 5 connections in the small 'slot'. That is actually a reflection of the pins which are on the other 'bottom' side as we are looking at it here.
What I can't really show here is that the four connections in the large 'slot' are actually eight (8) connections, four on top and four on bottom.

So that makes a total of 13, or two more than in kylenewman's photo of the inside of the cable...

I can't find anywhere on the internet that shows the actual pinout for it of course.

Again I'm guessing, but at least four of the larger connectors are probably the four data lines for USB 3.0 that allow it to go up to 5Gbps.
Maybe they obfuscated that large slot wire positions intentionally at 8 to confuse hackers, lol!

The size of the larger slot is about the same size of a USB 'slot' MINUS the blue plastic. So inserting a regular USB is a no-go.
It's going to have to be a wire hack job injected in the cable itself between the sensor and the connector until a real extender cable materializes.

I'm no EE so I don't have tools to test the actual signal with either frown.gif

Any further ideas??
Sterling is offline  
post #19 of 386 Old 11-22-2013, 08:17 PM
Senior Member
 
Sterling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Saratoga Springs, UT USA
Posts: 230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lmychajluk View Post

Is it a ferite core, like this?



If so, it should be safe to remove it and re-attach it. There may just be a couple of clips or screws holding it clamped onto the cable.

It is fused together, slightly malleable.

It LOOKS like it could be removed from a distance, but closer inspection shows it is definitely not made to be removed/moved on the cable.

I'm sure it was put on separate from the cable, so a careful cutting down the mold lines would probably allow it to be released from the cable.
Sterling is offline  
post #20 of 386 Old 11-22-2013, 08:33 PM
Newbie
 
jagr200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hopefully something gets worked out. I know monoprice or someone like that will figure it out. But if I have to cut into it to make it work I'll hack and solder. haha

jagr200 is offline  
post #21 of 386 Old 11-22-2013, 10:42 PM
Newbie
 
Mel Parker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

So i've cut away the plastic and its a solid piece around the cable.

 

The only way to get it off would be with a dremel.

 

Sadly i've just tried the cable for size with my trunking and the head of the connector is to large to get through it at he angle the trunking is plastered into my wall.

 

It looks like the only way for me is to cut the end off, feed the cable through and re solder.... this 'should' work right? As I wont be extending the cable at all.

 

Any thoughts?

Mel Parker is offline  
post #22 of 386 Old 11-22-2013, 10:53 PM
Senior Member
 
Sterling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Saratoga Springs, UT USA
Posts: 230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mel Parker View Post

So i've cut away the plastic and its a solid piece around the cable.

The only way to get it off would be with a dremel.

Sadly i've just tried the cable for size with my trunking and the head of the connector is to large to get through it at he angle the trunking is plastered into my wall.

It looks like the only way for me is to cut the end off, feed the cable through and re solder.... this 'should' work right? As I wont be extending the cable at all.

Any thoughts?

Gahh, that sucks.

I would think that careful soldering of the cables back together should be fine.

The scary thing is there is no apparent way to get a replacement Kinect 2.0.
I bought the extended warranty, so maybe if you have that too, you just make it look like the dog ate through it and have them replace it?? Lol!
Then again that's probably not covered in the warranty...
Sterling is offline  
post #23 of 386 Old 11-22-2013, 11:08 PM
Newbie
 
Mel Parker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Yeah thats my worry, if I ruin it completely i'll have no Kinect, although that is thew same position I am in now.

 

Thankfully I have an auto electrician friend who I can bribe to do the soldering for me.

 

Will post back with my results.

Mel Parker is offline  
post #24 of 386 Old 11-23-2013, 09:29 AM
Newbie
 
Mel Parker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Well, it didn't work.

 

After everything, it turns out you can disconnect the cable at the Kinect end (which would have fit through my trunking) 

 

oops

Mel Parker is offline  
post #25 of 386 Old 11-23-2013, 10:47 AM
Member
 
MUPPPP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mel Parker View Post

Well, it didn't work.

After everything, it turns out you can disconnect the cable at the Kinect end (which would have fit through my trunking) 

oops

I feel bad for you, but I got a good chuckle out of this. Something I would definitely do, haha.
MUPPPP is offline  
post #26 of 386 Old 11-23-2013, 11:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Holiday121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,646
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 35
I subscribed and can't wait to see if anyone comes up with a solution. I have not opened my day 1 edition still
webbj24 likes this.
Holiday121 is offline  
post #27 of 386 Old 11-23-2013, 12:01 PM
Member
 
kylenewman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Good news is I got nothing to lose as I can't use the kinect with my current setup, and really don't want to run an hdmi to the front of the screen.

I'm hoping to be able to map the kinect connector to the wire colors and maybe begin trying to put together a pinout. I know the mystery brownish orange wire and grey are 12volt power. The brownish wire is positive the grey is ground. The other smaller white with the stripe is another ground of some sort.

The signal wires are standard usb3 color coded so the only question is extending those reliably and figuring out how to extend the other wires which are kinect specific.
kylenewman is offline  
post #28 of 386 Old 11-23-2013, 12:22 PM
Newbie
 
Mel Parker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm going to give it another go in the morning.

Some of the wires have foil wrapped around them, is this part of a connection?

Does it need to be connected?
Mel Parker is offline  
post #29 of 386 Old 11-23-2013, 12:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Holiday121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,646
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Same situation as you. I don't want to run a hdmi to the front.
Holiday121 is offline  
post #30 of 386 Old 11-23-2013, 12:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Stangs55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mel Parker View Post

Well, it didn't work.

After everything, it turns out you can disconnect the cable at the Kinect end (which would have fit through my trunking) 

oops

I'm sorry...but this is hilarious...

XBOX - Hyperplasia | PS4 - Hyperplasia
Stangs55 is offline  
Reply Xbox Area

Tags
Xbox One Console Standard Edition

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off