Xbox One Does Not Pass Surround Sound Through HDMI...Say what? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 46 Old 11-20-2013, 07:23 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Stangs55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Yup, you read that right...the Xbox One will not support surround sound input over HDMI. It will take any surround sound input and output it as stero. Link

So if you were planning on hooking up your cable box, bluray, AppleTV...whatever...I hope you like listening to it in stereo because that's all we're getting.

This is an extraordinary disappointment for me and means that my Xbox One will be hooked up just like my 360 was...as an isolated separate input to my receiver.mad.gifmad.gifmad.gif

UPDATE: looks like it may already be in there as a beta feature? link
DaverJ likes this.

XBOX - Hyperplasia | PS4 - Hyperplasia
Stangs55 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 46 Old 11-20-2013, 07:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jhoff80's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4,031
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Okay, now the outrage over this makes sense to me whereas it didn't before.

XBL/Steam: JHoff80
jhoff80 is offline  
post #3 of 46 Old 11-20-2013, 07:50 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,225
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 521 Post(s)
Liked: 670
And this is not surprising. Just like about every other device that had an HDMI input, they intially didn't have multi-channel output from a multi-channel input.

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is offline  
post #4 of 46 Old 11-20-2013, 07:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
marjen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: CT
Posts: 1,055
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 18
The xbox one is looking worse and worse. How can they push the tv services and not just pass through the audio?? Combine this with no 3d blu ray support and this is looking like nothing more than a gaming box.

Mark-
marjen is online now  
post #5 of 46 Old 11-20-2013, 07:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
number1laing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5,993
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Xbox One OS is definitely undercooked in a way the Xbox 360 one was not. It'll be interesting to see how rapidly Microsoft improves it.
number1laing is offline  
post #6 of 46 Old 11-20-2013, 07:59 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,225
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 521 Post(s)
Liked: 670
My real concern is if the audio is actually in stereo or is it in a 5.1/7.1 wrapper with audio only coming from the FL and FR. Becuase if it the latter(like some apps did on the 360/PS3) then that is very bad since you can't typically apply post processing. If it's actually in stereo, then at least post processing can be applied to bring it back to 5.1/7.1 surround sound. And that is assuming it down mixes the multi-channel audio properly to stereo. Some devices in the past took the multichannel audio and only took the FL/FR audio channels which really borked it since the audio from the rest of the channels was missing in the stereo mix.

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is offline  
post #7 of 46 Old 11-20-2013, 08:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ahartig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Central Coast, CA
Posts: 1,511
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 127
According to a recent mark Witten tweet, the surround pass through option is coming, just in beta right now. He also make at seem like is will be available in day one;

https://mobile.twitter.com/notwen/status/403193927324274688
DaverJ and Stangs55 like this.

XBOX Live ID: HONDEboyMAN
PSN ID: ahartig
ahartig is offline  
post #8 of 46 Old 11-20-2013, 08:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
americangunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,890
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 287
Quote:
Originally Posted by ahartig View Post

According to a recent mark Witten tweet, the surround pass through option is coming, just in beta right now. He also make at seem like is will be available in day one;

https://mobile.twitter.com/notwen/status/403193927324274688
So you're telling me people are overreacting to this news and should just wait for confirmation from MS before they get their panties in a knot?
pcweber111 and RKRocha like this.

XBL: xGunner26x

PSN: AMER1CAN_GUNNER

Steam: xGunner26x

americangunner is offline  
post #9 of 46 Old 11-20-2013, 09:05 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Stangs55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by americangunner View Post

So you're telling me people are overreacting to this news and should just wait for confirmation from MS before they get their panties in a knot?
Quote:
Originally Posted by americangunner View Post

So you're telling me people are overreacting to this news and should just wait for confirmation from MS before they get their panties in a knot?

Glad to hear that it should be coming...but there actually has been official confirmation from MS on this....heck, even the Xbox One support page says it plainly.
DaverJ and freemeat like this.

XBOX - Hyperplasia | PS4 - Hyperplasia
Stangs55 is offline  
post #10 of 46 Old 11-20-2013, 09:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DaverJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 6,642
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 412
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stangs55 View Post

Glad to hear that it should be coming...but there actually has been official confirmation from MS on this....heck, even the Xbox One support page says it plainly.

So on that official page it says Xbox One "doesn’t have pass-through surround sound from the HDMI In port." Has it been confirmed if audio/video passes through in standby mode? If so, is it also stereo only?

Console gamers curious/interested in PC gaming? Click here.
DaverJ is online now  
post #11 of 46 Old 11-20-2013, 09:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jammybastard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: In Transit
Posts: 1,621
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 18
If you are a gamer you better hope your surround headset can handle DTS input (Astro's don't)...

http://kotaku.com/the-xbox-one-the-kotaku-review-1467960010

Quote:
Or take my peculiar AV setup: I like to play games and watch movies with an Astro surround-sound headset, which decodes Dolby 5.1 audio from an optical input cable.

However, the Xbox One is currently only able to output stereo and DTS Digital through its optical output.
My headphone receiver can't read DTS Digital, so I have to output in stereo, and my surround headphones turn into regular old headphones.


I've been asking Microsoft for the last week if they intend to add Dolby output to the optical audio port in the near future (it's an option for HDMI output), but haven't gotten a solid answer on whether a fix is coming.25
jammybastard is offline  
post #12 of 46 Old 11-20-2013, 09:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jhoff80's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4,031
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Just saw this confirmed in the Kotaku review too:
Quote:
Another example: The units we've been testing mess with the audio that comes from the cable box, and are currently only able to output surround sound if you dig into the menus and tick off a "Surround Sound (BETA)" option.
Quote:
a non-beta option for surround audio throughput is coming, but it won't be there at launch.
http://kotaku.com/the-xbox-one-the-kotaku-review-1467960010
DaverJ likes this.

XBL/Steam: JHoff80
jhoff80 is offline  
post #13 of 46 Old 11-20-2013, 09:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ahartig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Central Coast, CA
Posts: 1,511
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaverJ View Post

So on that official page it says Xbox One "doesn’t have pass-through surround sound from the HDMI In port." Has it been confirmed if audio/video passes through in standby mode? If so, is it also stereo only?

I read in one of the multiple reviews that the xb1 needs to be on for the HDMI in source to pass through
DaverJ likes this.

XBOX Live ID: HONDEboyMAN
PSN ID: ahartig
ahartig is offline  
post #14 of 46 Old 11-20-2013, 09:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mbyrnes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Media, PA (outside Philly)
Posts: 3,415
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 161
This blows. I want to use my #&$@ing Astro Mixamp!
beach scrub likes this.

Xbox Live: TheRealMaxPower --- PSN: TheRealMaxPower

 

Panasonic TC-P65VT60    Vienna Acoustic Mozart Grands    Onkyo TX-SR805   Sony BDP-S790

Astro Mixamp 2013   Schiit Modi    AKG K702 65th Anniversary   Antlion ModMic    Sennheiser PC360

Theater- Benq W1070    Elite 120" projection...

mbyrnes is online now  
post #15 of 46 Old 11-20-2013, 09:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DaverJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 6,642
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 412
Quote:
Originally Posted by ahartig View Post

I read in one of the multiple reviews that the xb1 needs to be on for the HDMI in source to pass through

Thanks - looks like I'll need to get an HDMI splitter so I can keep my Tivo setup the same as it is now - directly into the Denon, and also feed it to the XB1's HDMI-IN for those times I want to split screen TV with gaming or whatnot.

Can anyone recommend this guy?

Console gamers curious/interested in PC gaming? Click here.
DaverJ is online now  
post #16 of 46 Old 11-20-2013, 09:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
bucwylde23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Cupertino
Posts: 917
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyrnes View Post

This blows. I want to use my #&$@ing Astro Mixamp!

Same here. I'm hoping it ends up working on release via the patch.

Xbox Live/PSN: bucwylde23

 

Daekwan: What makes a grown man want to be a troll like this?

 

coyote_5: You know who's cool and doesn't know it? Bucwylde. Jus' sayin.

bucwylde23 is offline  
post #17 of 46 Old 11-20-2013, 09:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mbyrnes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Media, PA (outside Philly)
Posts: 3,415
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 161
Some of the reviews said they had the day one patch for a few days. Now whether they were smart enough to check remains to be seen.

Xbox Live: TheRealMaxPower --- PSN: TheRealMaxPower

 

Panasonic TC-P65VT60    Vienna Acoustic Mozart Grands    Onkyo TX-SR805   Sony BDP-S790

Astro Mixamp 2013   Schiit Modi    AKG K702 65th Anniversary   Antlion ModMic    Sennheiser PC360

Theater- Benq W1070    Elite 120" projection...

mbyrnes is online now  
post #18 of 46 Old 11-20-2013, 09:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ahartig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Central Coast, CA
Posts: 1,511
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaverJ View Post

Thanks - looks like I'll need to get an HDMI splitter so I can keep my Tivo setup the same as it is now - directly into the Denon, and also feed it to the XB1's HDMI-IN for those times I want to split screen TV with gaming or whatnot.

Can anyone recommend this guy?

I have used monoprice items quite a few times (HDMI switcher, TV wall mount, HDMI cables, banana plugs) and have always been very satisfied, wonderful customer service too. Recommended.
DaverJ likes this.

XBOX Live ID: HONDEboyMAN
PSN ID: ahartig
ahartig is offline  
post #19 of 46 Old 11-20-2013, 09:49 AM
GCS
AVS Special Member
 
GCS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Mechanicsville, VA
Posts: 1,586
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Not sure I care at this point since for now I will just be using the crappy headset it comes with so I have chat ability as well.

It sucks and we should all be mad at MS but hey its the price I have to pay for a launch day new console. I'm sure there will be a lot more worth bitching about once we get them.

XBL Gamertag - blowfish7494

"Pull up your big boy pants and deal with it" - The Wife!

 

"Put on your man suit and fake it" - The Wife

GCS is offline  
post #20 of 46 Old 11-20-2013, 11:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
BBS G35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 952
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stangs55 View Post


Glad to hear that it should be coming...but there actually has been official confirmation from MS on this....heck, even the Xbox One support page says it plainly.

Looks like that info is getting changed?

DaverJ likes this.
BBS G35 is offline  
post #21 of 46 Old 11-20-2013, 12:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dobieck1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: SoCal, CA
Posts: 3,360
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyrnes View Post

This blows. I want to use my #&$@ing Astro Mixamp!

OK, shouldn't I be able to run XBONE HDMI to my AVR (Onk 805), then assign a digital out to my mixamp for when I play games since I ONLY play with headphones. Plug the optical in to the mixamp and get my DD as the AVR should pass the DD from the HDMI to the mixamp?

The only issue would be if I ever want to game without headphones I would have to unplug the optical out so I get XBONE sound through my surround?

I think this should work....

Here to help and learn. Thanks AVS.
XBL: HoosierInOhio

dobieck1 is offline  
post #22 of 46 Old 11-20-2013, 01:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ahartig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Central Coast, CA
Posts: 1,511
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by dobieck1 View Post

OK, shouldn't I be able to run XBONE HDMI to my AVR (Onk 805), then assign a digital out to my mixamp for when I play games since I ONLY play with headphones. Plug the optical in to the mixamp and get my DD as the AVR should pass the DD from the HDMI to the mixamp?

The only issue would be if I ever want to game without headphones I would have to unplug the optical out so I get XBONE sound through my surround?

I think this should work....

Ya, that should work for everything running on the XB1. Although any source plugged into the HDMI in might not work......

XBOX Live ID: HONDEboyMAN
PSN ID: ahartig
ahartig is offline  
post #23 of 46 Old 11-20-2013, 02:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dobieck1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: SoCal, CA
Posts: 3,360
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by ahartig View Post

Ya, that should work for everything running on the XB1. Although any source plugged into the HDMI in might not work......

Yeah, at this time I see no reason to run my DTV box through the XB one. I either am playing a game or watching TV, not both. My attention span isn't that refined...
centking likes this.

Here to help and learn. Thanks AVS.
XBL: HoosierInOhio

dobieck1 is offline  
post #24 of 46 Old 11-20-2013, 03:17 PM
Member
 
hughvh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Richardson, TX
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
One of the main selling points for me is to Skype with my friends while watching sports. (Football, Hockey, bowling.) I'm disappointed.
hughvh is offline  
post #25 of 46 Old 11-20-2013, 03:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dobieck1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: SoCal, CA
Posts: 3,360
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by hughvh View Post

One of the main selling points for me is to Skype with my friends while watching sports. (Football, Hockey, bowling.) I'm disappointed.

Related question, can we skype with anyone from the XB1 or just any other XB1?

Here to help and learn. Thanks AVS.
XBL: HoosierInOhio

dobieck1 is offline  
post #26 of 46 Old 11-20-2013, 04:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ahartig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Central Coast, CA
Posts: 1,511
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by dobieck1 View Post

Related question, can we skype with anyone from the XB1 or just any other XB1?

You can skype with anyone, one review had a video of someone calling the XB1 skype app via iphone.

XBOX Live ID: HONDEboyMAN
PSN ID: ahartig
ahartig is offline  
post #27 of 46 Old 11-20-2013, 11:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
onlysublime's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4,661
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 493
multiple sources already state that surround sound will come to HDMI passthrough.
onlysublime is offline  
post #28 of 46 Old 11-22-2013, 11:59 AM
Senior Member
 
Chodite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 451
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Found this out the hard way this morning. Bummer. Hoping an update comes soon, because I'm actually enjoying having my Xfinity X1 DVR running through the Xbox One. Voice commands work great. And I always still have the option to pick up the Comcast remote if I don't feel like using the Xbox controller and/or my voice. C'mon MS! We need our true surround.

XBL:  B Klip

PSN:  Chodite

Chodite is offline  
post #29 of 46 Old 11-22-2013, 12:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DaverJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 6,642
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 412
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chodite View Post

Found this out the hard way this morning. Bummer. Hoping an update comes soon, because I'm actually enjoying having my Xfinity X1 DVR running through the Xbox One. Voice commands work great. And I always still have the option to pick up the Comcast remote if I don't feel like using the Xbox controller and/or my voice. C'mon MS! We need our true surround.

The Beta version didn't work for you?


Console gamers curious/interested in PC gaming? Click here.
DaverJ is online now  
post #30 of 46 Old 11-22-2013, 12:22 PM
Senior Member
 
Chodite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 451
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaverJ View Post

The Beta version didn't work for you?


Nope. Enabled it and still no surround.

XBL:  B Klip

PSN:  Chodite

Chodite is offline  
Reply Xbox Area

Tags
Xbox One Console Standard Edition

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off