XBOX ONE VIDEO SETTINGS (bit depth) - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 70 Old 11-21-2013, 06:05 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
sfumat0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16

I didnt see a thread for "picture" settings yet, thought I would start one.

I went to support page to get ready for tonight.

I saw a setting for BIT DEPTH, options are 24, 30, 36.

I have a Samsung F8500, should be one of the more capable TV's but cant find what it is capable of bit wise, not sure what setting to use?  Ive looked everywhere for that spec.
 

Any ideas?  Will setting it to high mess up picture?


What about TV specific settings, Im new to forum, and that 8500 thread is really long and they seem to get tired of gamer questions.. ;)

 

http://support.xbox.com/en-US/xbox-one/system/improve-video-quality

 

sfumat0 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 70 Old 11-21-2013, 06:23 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
sfumat0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16

Here is link to the settings Im talking about,

http://support.xbox.com/en-US/xbox-one/system/improve-video-quality

sfumat0 is offline  
post #3 of 70 Old 11-21-2013, 06:50 PM
Senior Member
 
matrix123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Wondering same thing. I have the Samsung f7100. I'm thinking our sets can handle 30 or 36. Settings are way different than 360.
matrix123 is offline  
post #4 of 70 Old 11-21-2013, 08:09 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,665
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 756 Post(s)
Liked: 752
Even my Tvs from several years ago handle 36 bit input.

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is offline  
post #5 of 70 Old 11-22-2013, 04:11 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bd2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 10,615
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 315 Post(s)
Liked: 1429

Even if it supports it, I don't think there's any point to enabling it.  Games are all 24-bit and movies with rare exception are all 24-bit.  


Steam/PSN/Xbox Live: Darius510
bd2003 is online now  
post #6 of 70 Old 11-22-2013, 04:34 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,665
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 756 Post(s)
Liked: 752
No different than BD players. There is no 36 bit content but I still have all my players set for 36 bit output. I've not had any issues with my setups and cables, but all my cables from Monoprice can handle 36 bit. If the HDMI cable is not capable then there can be issues. If in doubt 24 bit is fine.

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is offline  
post #7 of 70 Old 11-22-2013, 04:54 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bd2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 10,615
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 315 Post(s)
Liked: 1429
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post

No different than BD players. There is no 36 bit content but I still have all my players set for 36 bit output. I've not had any issues with my setups and cables, but all my cables from Monoprice can handle 36 bit. If the HDMI cable is not capable then there can be issues. If in doubt 24 bit is fine.

Yeah, the image should look exactly the same either way if the conversion is done correctly. I suppose there is some potential for a tiny bit of lag for that conversion to happen, or for that conversion to be done incorrectly, so I still recommend leaving it off.

Steam/PSN/Xbox Live: Darius510
bd2003 is online now  
post #8 of 70 Old 11-22-2013, 07:24 AM
Senior Member
 
matrix123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 17
So leaving it on 24 bit will reduce lag?
matrix123 is offline  
post #9 of 70 Old 11-22-2013, 09:15 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,665
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 756 Post(s)
Liked: 752
Quote:
Originally Posted by matrix123 View Post

So leaving it on 24 bit will reduce lag?

In my setups with other devices there is no lag difference between 24 bit and 36 bit. Or at least if there is it is certainly not perceptible.

In my main setup I run everything through my DVDO DUO and output it to the TV in 36 bit. I've never noticed any lag difference between outputting 24 bit and 36 bit. For gaming I have always used Game mode though, but that doesn't affect the bit depth of the output.

I am getting anxious for my XBOne delivery, but I am also home sick today which really sucks. Since I can't really mess with 3D movies or FPS games when I feel like this since it will make me feel even worse. So I'm hoping I will feel better by tonight, but so far I feel just as bad as when I woke up this morning.

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is offline  
post #10 of 70 Old 11-22-2013, 09:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
Rage Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 501
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Is there any setting to adjust or correct for overscan? I have an older Sony that still has a beautiful picture, but the overscan is a bit much...
Rage Guy is offline  
post #11 of 70 Old 11-22-2013, 10:17 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bd2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 10,615
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 315 Post(s)
Liked: 1429
Quote:
Originally Posted by matrix123 View Post

So leaving it on 24 bit will reduce lag?

 

Theoretically, but I bet it's so tiny you'd need instruments to measure it.  But you're getting zero benefit from 36-bit as far as I can tell, so there's no good reason to enable it.


Steam/PSN/Xbox Live: Darius510
bd2003 is online now  
post #12 of 70 Old 11-22-2013, 10:27 AM
Senior Member
 
matrix123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Ok. I'll check it out on 24. Any ideas on the surround sound side? 5.1 pcm vs DTS?
jak1209 likes this.
matrix123 is offline  
post #13 of 70 Old 11-22-2013, 11:38 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bd2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 10,615
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 315 Post(s)
Liked: 1429
Quote:
Originally Posted by matrix123 View Post

Ok. I'll check it out on 24. Any ideas on the surround sound side? 5.1 pcm vs DTS?

 

Use PCM, DTS is lossy.

matrix123 likes this.

Steam/PSN/Xbox Live: Darius510
bd2003 is online now  
post #14 of 70 Old 11-22-2013, 01:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
helvetica bold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 550
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 64
I love that it supports deep color! PS3 does but currently the PS4 doesn't.
helvetica bold is offline  
post #15 of 70 Old 11-23-2013, 08:02 PM
Member
 
Birchwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Traralgon Vic Australia
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That's true, however I recommend trying the two modes to see which one you like better (provided the game supports DTS). Personally I have never heard a PCM feed that I liked better than DTS or Dolby Digital. I really like the sound of DTS. Try both out and stick with the one you like.

Birchwood.
Birchwood is offline  
post #16 of 70 Old 11-23-2013, 10:37 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,665
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 756 Post(s)
Liked: 752
I ended up setting my XBOne output for 24 bit. Since I have a TiVo connected to it which sends 24 bit too, I just left it so my video processor would just take it to 36 bit. If I have a device connected to the XBOne that sends 36 bit, like my media player, then I will switch the XBOne output to 36 bit.

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is offline  
post #17 of 70 Old 11-24-2013, 09:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
smithfarmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Palm Beach, Fl
Posts: 2,249
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rage Guy View Post

Is there any setting to adjust or correct for overscan? I have an older Sony that still has a beautiful picture, but the overscan is a bit much...

Does your Sony have a PC input mode?
smithfarmer is offline  
post #18 of 70 Old 11-24-2013, 09:34 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bd2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 10,615
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 315 Post(s)
Liked: 1429
Quote:
Originally Posted by Birchwood View Post

That's true, however I recommend trying the two modes to see which one you like better (provided the game supports DTS). Personally I have never heard a PCM feed that I liked better than DTS or Dolby Digital. I really like the sound of DTS. Try both out and stick with the one you like.

There should be no reason DTS should ever sound better, it's just a lossy compressed version of the same uncompressed PCM output. I'm sure it'll still sound great, but there's no reason to use DTS if your gear supports PCM.

Steam/PSN/Xbox Live: Darius510
bd2003 is online now  
post #19 of 70 Old 11-25-2013, 12:07 AM
Member
 
Birchwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Traralgon Vic Australia
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry, don't know how to quote:
bd2003

"There should be no reason DTS should ever sound better, it's just a lossy compressed version of the same uncompressed PCM output. I'm sure it'll still sound great, but there's no reason to use DTS if your gear supports PCM."

I understand what you are saying and I don't know how DTS is equalized/encodeded or otherwise; however, when ever I am experimenting in my dedicated home cinema with a blu ray and my Pioneer SC-79 THX Ultra 2 Plus, I have never been satisfied with how uncompressed PCM sounds. I always end up going back to DTS HD Master audio. Likewise I like the DTS sound over the Dolby HD implementation. I'm not a fanboy or anything like that, it just sounds better to me. I know your refering to DTS compressed vs uncompressed PCM, but I still advise listening. Maybe DTS use a different method to encode that flavours the audio in a way that is appealing to me - or at least in some way modifiys the sound. What ever is going on, I prefer it.

That is why I suggested trying the different modes to see which one he likes and not get too hung up on the specs.

Regards,

JR

Birchwood.
Birchwood is offline  
post #20 of 70 Old 11-25-2013, 12:13 AM
Member
 
Birchwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Traralgon Vic Australia
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anybody know what range games for the Xbox One are developed in? I have a Sony Bravia that can do all 3 modes the Xbox provides. I know because info reports "1080P" for 24 bit, "1080P 10 bit" for 30 bit and "1080P 12 bit" when 36 bit is engaged.

It occurs to me we should be matching what the games are outputting (video etc aside) to avoid any scaling of the color space - maybe the errors introduces are undetectable? If there is no lag, then wouldn't leaving the Bone at 36 bit be OK?

Regards,

John

Birchwood.
Birchwood is offline  
post #21 of 70 Old 11-25-2013, 03:14 AM
Member
 
bym051d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone noticed the bone being way too dark when deep color is selected?

When it's set to deep color, I can't change my contrast/brightness enough to see the closed eye or sun on the ms images with my PN59D8000.
bym051d is offline  
post #22 of 70 Old 11-25-2013, 03:44 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bd2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 10,615
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 315 Post(s)
Liked: 1429
Quote:
Originally Posted by Birchwood View Post

Does anybody know what range games for the Xbox One are developed in? I have a Sony Bravia that can do all 3 modes the Xbox provides. I know because info reports "1080P" for 24 bit, "1080P 10 bit" for 30 bit and "1080P 12 bit" when 36 bit is engaged.

It occurs to me we should be matching what the games are outputting (video etc aside) to avoid any scaling of the color space - maybe the errors introduces are undetectable? If there is no lag, then wouldn't leaving the Bone at 36 bit be OK?

Regards,

John

 

Games are 24-bit.


Steam/PSN/Xbox Live: Darius510
bd2003 is online now  
post #23 of 70 Old 11-25-2013, 06:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BFJ 96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,607
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 31
My understanding is the XB-1 Audio chip is made for DTS mixing.

Here's and article about it. Or am I redding this wrong?

http://www.highdefdigest.com/news/show/Xbox_One/PS4/DTS/The_PS4_and_Xbox_One_Utilize_DTS_to_Carry_New_Sound_Formats/13172


Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk
BFJ 96 is online now  
post #24 of 70 Old 11-25-2013, 06:42 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bd2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 10,615
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 315 Post(s)
Liked: 1429
Quote:
Originally Posted by BFJ 96 View Post

My understanding is the XB-1 Audio chip is made for DTS mixing.

Here's and article about it. Or am I redding this wrong?

http://www.highdefdigest.com/news/show/Xbox_One/PS4/DTS/The_PS4_and_Xbox_One_Utilize_DTS_to_Carry_New_Sound_Formats/13172


Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk

It's good to know that they're pushing the boundaries of what optical/DTS is capable of, but it's still just compressing what the Xbox can just send uncompressed in PCM. It's an unnecessary extra step that serves no purpose and can only potentially degrade the sound.

Steam/PSN/Xbox Live: Darius510
bd2003 is online now  
post #25 of 70 Old 11-30-2013, 07:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
helvetica bold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 550
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 64
According to that article you should select bitstream DTS over LPCM right? So my receiver will decode the DTS-HD signal?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
helvetica bold is offline  
post #26 of 70 Old 11-30-2013, 07:57 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,665
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 756 Post(s)
Liked: 752
There is no option to bitstream lossless DTS, only lossy DTS. For lossless audio it will send either 5.1 or 7.1 pcm.

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is offline  
post #27 of 70 Old 12-01-2013, 04:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
helvetica bold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 550
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 64
So what would be the best audio output setting for the Xbox one going into a 5.1 system?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
helvetica bold is offline  
post #28 of 70 Old 12-01-2013, 08:32 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,665
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 756 Post(s)
Liked: 752
5.1 pcm

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is offline  
post #29 of 70 Old 12-02-2013, 05:54 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,665
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 756 Post(s)
Liked: 752
Quote:
Originally Posted by bd2003 View Post

It's good to know that they're pushing the boundaries of what optical/DTS is capable of, but it's still just compressing what the Xbox can just send uncompressed in PCM. It's an unnecessary extra step that serves no purpose and can only potentially degrade the sound.

DTS-HD is an HD audio format. It is the equivalent of DD+. You need HDMI for HD audio. Optical can only handle legacy dd and DTS. I tried the DTS once on the XBOne HDMI output but didn't notice it being DTS-HD. I guess I should check it out again. But still lossless pcm should be better than lossy DTS-HD.

EDIT: I re-read that article and for some reason it seems to imply that DTS-HD can be sent over optical. I never heard of that before. It should be beyond the spec of SPDIF.

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is offline  
post #30 of 70 Old 12-02-2013, 09:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
helvetica bold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 550
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 64
I've read several articles that state lossless PCM is as good as DTS-HD. It just depends where you want the audio decoded. I'll stick to PCM but try out DTS as well. I own Sonys new 1040 receiver so it should get the job done either way. smile.gif
Good article
http://reviews.cnet.com/4520-13817_7-6462511-4.html


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
helvetica bold is offline  
Reply Xbox Area

Tags
Xbox One Console Standard Edition

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off