Xbox not allowing amp to convert 2.0 signal - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 07-18-2014, 10:53 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
bonscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Carmichael,Ca
Posts: 309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Xbox not allowing amp to convert 2.0 signal

Anyone know if there will be a fix to the xbox not allowing your amp to convert 2 channel audio to 5.1 like DD pro logic. In TV app when a station sends out 5.1 signal it works fine. The only way to get around this is to go to settings on xbox and change audio to stereo uncompressed. But changing audio settings every time you change the channel is not realistic.
bonscott is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 07-21-2014, 07:46 AM
EVT
AVS Special Member
 
EVT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 21
I haven't heard of a fix coming. This is a significant problem, I own many non 5.1/7.1 blu-ray's that my AVR convincingly converts into 7.1 with DPLIIx. However, my guess is this isn't an easy fix for MS, otherwise I can't imagine that more people care about 3D than this issue (3D is coming next month).

MS is doing a good job adding a variety of channels to the X1 but if they can't playback the audio properly they aren't much use. Hopefully this gets fixed.
EVT is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old Yesterday, 09:45 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
bonscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Carmichael,Ca
Posts: 309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by EVT View Post
I haven't heard of a fix coming. This is a significant problem, I own many non 5.1/7.1 blu-ray's that my AVR convincingly converts into 7.1 with DPLIIx. However, my guess is this isn't an easy fix for MS, otherwise I can't imagine that more people care about 3D than this issue (3D is coming next month).

MS is doing a good job adding a variety of channels to the X1 but if they can't playback the audio properly they aren't much use. Hopefully this gets fixed.
Yea you would think MS at least would address this on there support page. For those of us that spent a lot of money on Home Theatre gear Xbox not allowing the AVR to convert the audio correctly is a huge problem.
bonscott is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old Yesterday, 09:36 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 20,828
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 278 Post(s)
Liked: 596
AT least the XBOne has an option to manually select 2.0 output. This is not the case with the PS4. But the PS4 has updated their Netflix app to dynamically change the output channels to match the source channels. Unfortunately it isn't the case with the other apps. But that is still one app more than the XBOne that sends out the audio properly and dynamically changes the output channels to match the source channels.

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is offline  
Reply Xbox Area

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off