Xbox One S Adds Ultra HD Blu-Ray with HDR - Page 104 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1272Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3091 of 3128 Old 04-19-2017, 11:46 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Hi, I know amazon app can support uhd hdr but for some reason I cannot find uhd category on my app and the only way for me to view such shows is to add them to my list using my Samsung tv app. Very strange. Have anyone seen this?
meduzadg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3092 of 3128 Old 04-20-2017, 12:48 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 20,485
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2811 Post(s)
Liked: 1506
The initial version of the app with its current UI was capable of streaming 4K HDR video (as can be seen in photos in this post); that version was apparently some kind of beta test, since only a subset of people got it. When it went into wide distribution the capability was removed. Though you can see the UHD badge on any items that you've put in your Watchlist or which you've watched recently (in the Watch Next row of Home) you will never receive UHD video when you play them. You also cannot browse them; there are no UHD rows in the UI.

I have no idea why they removed the capability; maybe it will come back some day.
EliFTW likes this.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
post #3093 of 3128 Old 04-20-2017, 07:54 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post
The initial version of the app with its current UI was capable of streaming 4K HDR video (as can be seen in photos in this post); that version was apparently some kind of beta test, since only a subset of people got it. When it went into wide distribution the capability was removed. Though you can see the UHD badge on any items that you've put in your Watchlist or which you've watched recently (in the Watch Next row of Home) you will never receive UHD video when you play them. You also cannot browse them; there are no UHD rows in the UI.

I have no idea why they removed the capability; maybe it will come back some day.
Thank you. At least it is not a system failur.....
meduzadg is offline  
 
post #3094 of 3128 Old 04-21-2017, 05:17 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sjchmura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Posts: 3,785
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1172 Post(s)
Liked: 437
Quote:
Originally Posted by meduzadg View Post
Thank you. At least it is not a system failur.....


It's a YouTube one. It's nuts the only way to get YouTube is Samsung , Roku or ultra chromecast


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

DocACE911 on Steam, XBOX, PS4
"Kill Cancer or Die"
Custom Z9 Game Settings For SDR and HDR
Sony 75" Z9, Denon X4200, Definitive Technologies BP7002 + 9.1 ATMOS, PSV 18" sub
Loving Wife and 4 year old Son who tolerate this expense!
sjchmura is online now  
post #3095 of 3128 Old 04-21-2017, 01:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
Ozymandis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Hagerstown, MD
Posts: 867
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 96
Angry

Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post
The initial version of the app with its current UI was capable of streaming 4K HDR video (as can be seen in photos in this post); that version was apparently some kind of beta test, since only a subset of people got it. When it went into wide distribution the capability was removed. Though you can see the UHD badge on any items that you've put in your Watchlist or which you've watched recently (in the Watch Next row of Home) you will never receive UHD video when you play them. You also cannot browse them; there are no UHD rows in the UI.

I have no idea why they removed the capability; maybe it will come back some day.
It's bizarre, I had the version of the app which supported 4K back in December, and 4K was working without issue. Here we are, 5 months later, and there's no 4K, with an "updated" version of the app removing the higher resolution support. Not cool on Amazon's part to have such a long delay to reintroduce this feature.
EliFTW likes this.
Ozymandis is offline  
post #3096 of 3128 Old 04-26-2017, 02:45 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post
The initial version of the app with its current UI was capable of streaming 4K HDR video (as can be seen in photos in this post); that version was apparently some kind of beta test, since only a subset of people got it. When it went into wide distribution the capability was removed. Though you can see the UHD badge on any items that you've put in your Watchlist or which you've watched recently (in the Watch Next row of Home) you will never receive UHD video when you play them. You also cannot browse them; there are no UHD rows in the UI.

I have no idea why they removed the capability; maybe it will come back some day.
I have one more question, I can no longer see uhd content on amazon. It is only hd 1080p hdr. Any idea any one?
meduzadg is offline  
post #3097 of 3128 Old 04-26-2017, 03:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mboojigga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Little Rock AFB, Arkansas
Posts: 9,059
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 607 Post(s)
Liked: 835
It was never available except when they accidentally put the beta UHD Amazon app up. Amazon still hasn't officially released the app

The 5.0 is here
mboojigga is online now  
post #3098 of 3128 Old 04-26-2017, 03:50 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 20,485
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2811 Post(s)
Liked: 1506
Quote:
Originally Posted by meduzadg View Post
I have one more question, I can no longer see uhd content on amazon. It is only hd 1080p hdr. Any idea any one?

You mean that you no longer see the UHD "badges" on the UHD things you have on your Watchlist?

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
post #3099 of 3128 Old 04-26-2017, 05:03 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post
You mean that you no longer see the UHD "badges" on the UHD things you have on your Watchlist?
Goliath for example has a uhd banner. But when I play it I can only get hd 1080p with hdr. The built-in app on my Samsung provides uhd hdr. Is it the Xbox or the vizio p series I just bought?
meduzadg is offline  
post #3100 of 3128 Old 04-26-2017, 07:16 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 20,485
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2811 Post(s)
Liked: 1506
Quote:
Originally Posted by meduzadg View Post
Goliath for example has a uhd banner. But when I play it I can only get hd 1080p with hdr. The built-in app on my Samsung provides uhd hdr. Is it the Xbox or the vizio p series I just bought?

As we've told you a few times, the current Amazon Video app on Xbone S does not support UHD or HDR. It will display the badges if you have any of those versions of titles in your Watchlist on in the Watch Next row of Home, but when you play them it will not play the UHD version. The badge just indicates that UHD video exists for the title, not that the app on your device can play it. The badges appear in the UI for my first-gen Fire TV Stick, definitely not a 4K-capable device.

AFAICT, only Netflix, Hulu and the BD player app are capable of 4K video on the Xbox One S at this time. (I think that currently only Xbone S and PS4 Pro have 4K Hulu).

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
post #3101 of 3128 Old 04-27-2017, 04:53 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post
As we've told you a few times, the current Amazon Video app on Xbone S does not support UHD or HDR. It will display the badges if you have any of those versions of titles in your Watchlist on in the Watch Next row of Home, but when you play them it will not play the UHD version. The badge just indicates that UHD video exists for the title, not that the app on your device can play it. The badges appear in the UI for my first-gen Fire TV Stick, definitely not a 4K-capable device.

AFAICT, only Netflix, Hulu and the BD player app are capable of 4K video on the Xbox One S at this time. (I think that currently only Xbone S and PS4 Pro have 4K Hulu).
Got it. Thank you.
meduzadg is offline  
post #3102 of 3128 Old 04-28-2017, 01:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PeterTHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,261
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 344 Post(s)
Liked: 258
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post
AFAICT, only Netflix, Hulu and the BD player app are capable of 4K video on the Xbox One S at this time. (I think that currently only Xbone S and PS4 Pro have 4K Hulu).


Don't forget Vudu.

My opinions do not reflect the policies of my company
PeterTHX is offline  
post #3103 of 3128 Old 04-28-2017, 03:47 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 20,485
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2811 Post(s)
Liked: 1506
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterTHX View Post
Don't forget Vudu.

You are correct, sir! I'd forgotten that version was released. So four things--Netflix, Hulu, VUDU and the BD player app.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
post #3104 of 3128 Old 04-30-2017, 07:16 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
BigCoolJesus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3,095
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 780 Post(s)
Liked: 413
For some reason I cannot change my Bit Depth under the Xbox Display Settings...

I have an LG OLED C6 with Ultra HDMI enabled and when using Auto-Detect on the Xbox it says my TV supports everything except 50Hz, including 24Hz and 60Hz @ 10 bits. But when I go to Bit Depth it will only display 24/8 bit as an option. The only way I can select 30/10 bit is if I use manual settings but then I cannot use 4k resolution for some reason (it says 4k is only available if I use Auto-Detect).

Anyone else run into this problem?
BigCoolJesus is offline  
post #3105 of 3128 Old 04-30-2017, 08:46 AM
Senior Member
 
steven_j05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCoolJesus View Post
For some reason I cannot change my Bit Depth under the Xbox Display Settings...

I have an LG OLED C6 with Ultra HDMI enabled and when using Auto-Detect on the Xbox it says my TV supports everything except 50Hz, including 24Hz and 60Hz @ 10 bits. But when I go to Bit Depth it will only display 24/8 bit as an option. The only way I can select 30/10 bit is if I use manual settings but then I cannot use 4k resolution for some reason (it says 4k is only available if I use Auto-Detect).

Anyone else run into this problem?


Do you have deep color mode on lg turned on for the hdmi port your using


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
steven_j05 is online now  
post #3106 of 3128 Old 04-30-2017, 09:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
BigCoolJesus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3,095
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 780 Post(s)
Liked: 413
Quote:
Originally Posted by steven_j05 View Post
Do you have deep color mode on lg turned on for the hdmi port your using


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Yup.

Like I said, if I go to 4k Details the Xbox reports my display is compatible with every single setting including 10bit color. Not sure why it won't let me select 10 bit then...
BigCoolJesus is offline  
post #3107 of 3128 Old 04-30-2017, 10:16 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 1,246
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 208 Post(s)
Liked: 98
I'm watching a Vudu movie which is hdr. Xbox says hdr, but my ef9500 doesn't seem to be in hdr mode (no pop-up and I can change settings). Am I missing something?

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
tcat is online now  
post #3108 of 3128 Old 04-30-2017, 03:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
BigCoolJesus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3,095
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 780 Post(s)
Liked: 413
Fixed my 8 vs. 10 bit issue

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
BigCoolJesus is offline  
post #3109 of 3128 Old 04-30-2017, 03:35 PM
Senior Member
 
steven_j05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCoolJesus View Post
Fixed my 8 vs. 10 bit issue

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk


How


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
steven_j05 is online now  
post #3110 of 3128 Old 04-30-2017, 04:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
BigCoolJesus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3,095
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 780 Post(s)
Liked: 413
Quote:
Originally Posted by steven_j05 View Post
How
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I had been using HDMI Out 2 on my Anthem receiver, which is HDCP 2.2/HDMI 2.0a compliant but lacks ARC capability. So just for the heck of it, I switched to HDMI Out 1 on the receiver and when I started my Xbox back up, the ability to select Bit Depth was available.

The little things make a big difference sometimes.
BigCoolJesus is offline  
post #3111 of 3128 Old 04-30-2017, 04:28 PM
Senior Member
 
steven_j05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCoolJesus View Post
I had been using HDMI Out 2 on my Anthem receiver, which is HDCP 2.2/HDMI 2.0a compliant but lacks ARC capability. So just for the heck of it, I switched to HDMI Out 1 on the receiver and when I started my Xbox back up, the ability to select Bit Depth was available.

The little things make a big difference sometimes.


Yea it's crazy all this 4k stuff is so picky.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
steven_j05 is online now  
post #3112 of 3128 Old 04-30-2017, 04:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
BigCoolJesus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3,095
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 780 Post(s)
Liked: 413
Quote:
Originally Posted by steven_j05 View Post
Yea it's crazy all this 4k stuff is so picky.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
True. But I have yet to have a single HDCP handshake issue so in my mind 4k is going 10000x smoother then when I had the Xbox 360 HD-DVD player back in 2008 lol
BigCoolJesus is offline  
post #3113 of 3128 Old 05-07-2017, 03:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Nickff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Brownsburg, IN
Posts: 1,901
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 326 Post(s)
Liked: 206
Which HDMI cables are you guys using to achieve full 4k/10 bit/60hz (the whole enchilada)? I don't need a long run...10ft tops.

The first set of 18gbps cables I tried (https://www.monoprice.com/product?p_id=13590) didn't work.

Last edited by Nickff; 05-08-2017 at 10:59 AM.
Nickff is online now  
post #3114 of 3128 Old 05-07-2017, 04:03 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 29,955
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5606 Post(s)
Liked: 3399
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nickff View Post
Which HDMI cables are you guys using to achieve full 4k/10 bit/60hz (the whole enchilada)? I don't need a long run...10ft tops.

The first set of 18gbps cables didn't work.
I use Monoprice premium certified cables. I paid around $4 for the ten foot ones on sale.

Sent from my Galaxy S6 using Tapatalk
MALICIOUS ONE likes this.

53TB unRAID2--41TB unRAID3--35TB unRAID1a
Sony 65x850C--Sony UBP-X800--Sony HT-NT3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
post #3115 of 3128 Old 05-07-2017, 04:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mboojigga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Little Rock AFB, Arkansas
Posts: 9,059
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 607 Post(s)
Liked: 835
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nickff View Post
Which HDMI cables are you guys using to achieve full 4k/10 bit/60hz (the whole enchilada)? I don't need a long run...10ft tops.

The first set of 18gbps cables didn't work.
High speed Amazon cables which were a pair for $5. I use with a 2015 65" Vizio M 4k, 980Ti PC, HDMI Bi-Directional Switch and Xbox One S

The 5.0 is here
mboojigga is online now  
post #3116 of 3128 Old 05-07-2017, 05:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sjchmura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Posts: 3,785
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1172 Post(s)
Liked: 437
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nickff View Post
Which HDMI cables are you guys using to achieve full 4k/10 bit/60hz (the whole enchilada)? I don't need a long run...10ft tops.



The first set of 18gbps cables didn't work.


My old non certified 4 and 6' monoprice are working fine also. Must be since they are short


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

DocACE911 on Steam, XBOX, PS4
"Kill Cancer or Die"
Custom Z9 Game Settings For SDR and HDR
Sony 75" Z9, Denon X4200, Definitive Technologies BP7002 + 9.1 ATMOS, PSV 18" sub
Loving Wife and 4 year old Son who tolerate this expense!
sjchmura is online now  
post #3117 of 3128 Old 05-07-2017, 05:58 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 20,485
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2811 Post(s)
Liked: 1506
I'm using old non-certified cables which are all working fine; most are 3- and 6-foot, I think that there's one 10. Of course I do not have an HDR capable television, so 4K@60Hz SDR is the most I've asked of them.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
post #3118 of 3128 Old 05-08-2017, 09:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DaverJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 8,870
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1206 Post(s)
Liked: 3605
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nickff View Post
Which HDMI cables are you guys using to achieve full 4k/10 bit/60hz (the whole enchilada)? I don't need a long run...10ft tops.

The first set of 18gbps cables didn't work.

HDR+4K+60fps pushes the 18GB/s bandwidth to it's limit.

If you can, 6" seems to be the sweet spot for the length HDMI cables were designed for. Many have luck with 10", but that's pushing it... aim for 6" if you can. Also, going direct from the device (game console) to the TV is recommended.

I've used certified Monoprice and this Zeskit cable with good results.

Good luck!

"My advice: don't spend money on therapy. Spend it in a record store." – Wim Wenders
DaverJ is online now  
post #3119 of 3128 Old 05-08-2017, 09:37 AM
Senior Member
 
steven_j05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Xbox One S Adds Ultra HD Blu-Ray with HDR

Any cable premium certified will work. Other than that you'll have to test. I use hdmi cables from DIRECTV all 6ft and no problems. Swapped all my hdmi cables with them.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
steven_j05 is online now  
post #3120 of 3128 Old 05-08-2017, 10:40 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 29,955
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5606 Post(s)
Liked: 3399
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaverJ View Post
HDR+4K+60fps pushes the 18GB/s bandwidth to it's limit.

If you can, 6" seems to be the sweet spot for the length HDMI cables were designed for. Many have luck with 10", but that's pushing it... aim for 6" if you can. Also, going direct from the device (game console) to the TV is recommended.

I've used certified Monoprice and this Zeskit cable with good results.

Good luck!
One of my S boxes uses a 10' cable, an HDMI switch, and then a 3' cable. All HDMI cables in my UHD setup are the Monoprice Premium Certified ones.
steven_j05 likes this.

53TB unRAID2--41TB unRAID3--35TB unRAID1a
Sony 65x850C--Sony UBP-X800--Sony HT-NT3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Xbox Area
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off