General XBox 360 problem Thread: - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 1628 Old 02-19-2006, 05:58 PM
Newbie
 
zenzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am getting a shimmer/waver in the bottom and top of my TV when setting the 360 to output in 1080i. I DO NOT get the shimmer/waver if the 360 is set to output 480p.

I have the 360 hooked up via component input to a Panasonic SA-HE100 receiver which then outputs component to a direct view Samsung TSL2793HF 27 inch HDTV.

If I plug the 360 directly into the TV then the shimmer doesn't appear. This leads me to believe one of the following...

1. The receiver is messing up the 1080i signal
2. The component cable from the receiver to the TV doesn't like the 1080i signal
3. There is electrical interference on the component cable from the receiver to the TV as all my cables (speaker wire, power, component) pass through a two inch hole in the back of my AV cabinet.

Does anyone have any suggestions or experience with this type of distortion?
zenzer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 1628 Old 02-20-2006, 11:13 PM
Member
 
seifer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
as so many of you are having trouble with your 360,s i just wonder if it is model/MFG date related you should post the birth date of the consoles that are havin freezing issues or any non-end user related problems and just see if the new wave of consoles are still causing trouble

add me to you xbox live friends list: SIR KUMALOT
seifer is offline  
post #183 of 1628 Old 02-24-2006, 12:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
oleus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
i've started to get occasional "this disc is dirty or damage" messages when i play Madden 2006 or NBA2K6.

With Madden, it's an error message from the dashboard. with NBA 2k6, it's a very low-res PS1-looking message screen that seems to be originating from the disc.

Neither disc looks scratched or dirty, not even close.

PS - the freeze that happens before these "dirty disc" messages always seem to be right after a big tackle/slam dunk, etc, like it's a processor freezeup.
oleus is offline  
post #184 of 1628 Old 02-24-2006, 06:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
patrickpiteo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Middle Village
Posts: 1,568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by oleus View Post

i've started to get occasional "this disc is dirty or damage" messages when i play Madden 2006 or NBA2K6.

With Madden, it's an error message from the dashboard. with NBA 2k6, it's a very low-res PS1-looking message screen that seems to be originating from the disc.

Neither disc looks scratched or dirty, not even close.

PS - the freeze that happens before these "dirty disc" messages always seem to be right after a big tackle/slam dunk, etc, like it's a processor freezeup.

What is the BOD? Seems to me you should be calling for the old MS coffin to send it back and get a replacement unit.
patrickpiteo is offline  
post #185 of 1628 Old 02-25-2006, 03:29 PM
Newbie
 
devsop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ive got an interesting problem.

First off I have the Sony KV30HS420.
Monster Component Cables.

When playing the xbox 360 I noticed that at the bottom of the screen it kinda curves left, and is sorta blurry. It is totally normal when playing DVDs, no screen curve or anything.

Has anyone else seen this? I notice it alot in COD2.

It is kinda like this:

|
|
|
|
/

id say the little blurry curve is about 1/2"

even on the dashboard, the blades on there look like that. But like I said, tv looks normal, dvds playing on the 360 look normal. Whats the deal?
devsop is offline  
post #186 of 1628 Old 03-03-2006, 07:07 AM
Member
 
{BOHICA}Sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have my 360 hooked up to my H/K 635, component to component in and optical out to optical in on the H/K.

Everything works well. Except for surround sound. On playing a DVD, surround works great and hits DTS and whatnot. However, when playing FIFA 06 or even SACD 5.1, it seems sub and rear isn't coming through.
{BOHICA}Sparky is offline  
post #187 of 1628 Old 03-05-2006, 06:44 AM
Newbie
 
superkboxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi i am new to this site so apologies if i have done anything wrong anyway i got a problem i dont think my 360 is saveing proper i have the version with 20gb hard drive and i am finding when playing quake 4 over the last few days it appears to not save my game data i have even saved manually as well and thru the game if i pause game my save details are there but when i have to finish the game or get killed etc i go to load game and my saves are gone i tried quake 2 last night same sort of prob got quite far into the game turned it off saved data lost but the achievements of the game were still on the HD but when i started the game it starts from the beginning any help would be appreciated thanks
superkboxer is offline  
post #188 of 1628 Old 03-05-2006, 07:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
teckademic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: san jose, ca
Posts: 1,819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by devsop View Post

Ive got an interesting problem.

First off I have the Sony KV30HS420.
Monster Component Cables.

When playing the xbox 360 I noticed that at the bottom of the screen it kinda curves left, and is sorta blurry. It is totally normal when playing DVDs, no screen curve or anything.

Has anyone else seen this? I notice it alot in COD2.

It is kinda like this:

|
|
|
|
/

id say the little blurry curve is about 1/2"

even on the dashboard, the blades on there look like that. But like I said, tv looks normal, dvds playing on the 360 look normal. Whats the deal?

sounds like you have a common geometry issue most crts experience. You can fix that yourself in the service menu, but would not recommend doing so until you know what you are doing. If you are interested in doing so then I would post in the direct view display section and ask about how you would go about doing this.Unless it is really distracting then I would just leave alone and deal with it, just so you can save yourself the trouble of trying to fix it.
teckademic is online now  
post #189 of 1628 Old 03-10-2006, 09:53 AM
Member
 
Sinastar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Superior Wi.
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Foil Foils Xbox 360

http://www.kotaku.com/gaming/xbox-36...360-159612.php

Apologies in advance if this has been posted already. Haven't read your entire thread.

http://forums.xbox-scene.com/index.php?showtopic=496524
Sinastar is offline  
post #190 of 1628 Old 03-13-2006, 05:55 PM
Member
 
prpolo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I know this is late but your problem is that only one of the component inputs is 480p and up. The other is just 480i.
prpolo is offline  
post #191 of 1628 Old 03-15-2006, 04:33 AM
Member
 
dukealexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
well it happen to me yesterday morn'n, out of no where the screen got screwy and she froze, turned it off and back on and 3 flashing red lights. Tried all sorts of things and got it to work for 3 minutes before it crapped out again after letting it sit for a while. Called MS and awaiting my return box. I just picked up The outfit too!

MFR date Nov 3 2005

I've had this box since day one, so i guess my 90 day warranty is up, good thing i picked up the extented.

The next day box came 3/16, I packed it and dropped it off for a 5:30 pickup, it's prepaid next day to Texas thru UPS.

As of 3/17 1PM delievered in Texas.

Got an email from MS with track'n # it's do in today.

Now which game to play I have The Outfit, Elder Scrolls and Blazing Angels.
Think I need a vaction or better yet call in sick !

UPS man just came, MS gave me a new box to save time, didn't say anything of what was wrong with old one.

June 23 2006, my replacement 360 bytes it ! RED lights !

I call MS, they can't find my extented warranty, takes time and they say ok your covered, we'll mail out the box to return it.

June 27 I call MS, they give me tracking # but the shipping box hasn't been sent yet, only tracking info, they say it will go out soon.

7/12 just got my 2nd box back, they just sent me a replacement BOD 11/03/2005, who knows could be my original box fixed.
dukealexan is offline  
post #192 of 1628 Old 03-15-2006, 04:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
teckademic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: san jose, ca
Posts: 1,819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by dukealexan View Post

well it happen to me yesterday morn'n, out of no where the screen got screwy and she froze, turned it off and back on and 3 flashing red lights. Tried all sorts of things and got it to work for 3 minutes before it crapped out again after letting it sit for a while. Called MS and awaiting my return box. I just picked up The outfit too!

what was the born date?
teckademic is online now  
post #193 of 1628 Old 03-18-2006, 02:00 PM
Newbie
 
qtwre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, this is my first post!

I have a problem concerning audio. I have my 360 connected to my receiver through the optical connection, but I don't seem to be getting a signal for my subwoofer. I have a Sony STR-DE845 receiver that lets me know its using the subwoofer with a little "subwoofer" light.

Whether I'm playing a game or listening to music with the 360, this light is never on, and no sound is coming from the subwoofer. With any other signal input it works just fine. I've looked through the 360s settings and I can't find anything that would affect this.

Any ideas? Thanks!

edit
False alarm! I found a couple other threads on Sony receivers. I reset my crossovers and changed my speaker sizes from large to small, and although the subwoofer light still wasn't on, the sub worked because LFE was on.
qtwre is offline  
post #194 of 1628 Old 03-21-2006, 03:06 PM
Newbie
 
bala8oo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have just bought a new TV (Samsung LCD) and it supports 720p and 1080i and until I got the the 360 was a bit disappointed due to lack of hd support.
One question what is best 720p or 1080i, it seems there is a big debate between the two, I just wanna play games such as PGR3 at it's best and currently use 720. Thanx.
bala8oo is offline  
post #195 of 1628 Old 03-22-2006, 08:52 PM
Newbie
 
Crono7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Panasonic TX-76PW300A CRT HD TV and I watch HD TV in 1080i all the time with a problem but with the XBOX 360, (which I just got today worldwide launch my arse) the screen overlaps and is almost completely black and white. I have a photo but I haven't made 5 posts. My TV doesn't support 720p so when I set the 360 on 720p, I see nothing on the screen. Any help would be much appreciated.
Crono7 is offline  
post #196 of 1628 Old 03-22-2006, 09:02 PM
Newbie
 
Crono7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimerey View Post

Hi guys =) great forum idea...anywho

When i enable the HDTV settings on my xbox (from the cable switch) i get a really weird image. It has a black bar down the middle, and on both the left and right side is the same image, but its discolored, and scrambled. It also seems to get darker as you move down the screen. It doesnt matter what setting my xbox is on (480, 720 etc...) it does this no matter what. My tv is a protron 32" LCD tv. No clue what the problem is, and i've tried countless things just to try and get it to work, beginning to think that my xbox could be bad =( Thanks in advance for the help

I have the same problem when setting the system to 1080i. It's fine with 480p. 720p isn't supported by my TV therefore shows nothing on the screen when set to it.
Crono7 is offline  
post #197 of 1628 Old 03-22-2006, 09:08 PM
Newbie
 
Crono7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just set it to TV ( it was on HD before) the same problem when going to 1080i. It's like the XBOX 360 doesn't think my TV is HD. Like I said before, I watch HD TV in 1080i all the time. Also, when set to 1080i my original XBOX was fine too.
Crono7 is offline  
post #198 of 1628 Old 03-23-2006, 12:13 AM
Newbie
 
Crono7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've now played 3 games and they look awesome. Is it possible the 360 regardless of being set to 480p is actually displaying 1080i? Doesn't the 360 automatically show whichever resolution the TV can handle? It sure doesn't look like 480p.
Crono7 is offline  
post #199 of 1628 Old 03-23-2006, 07:00 AM
Newbie
 
Crono7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just tried my 360 with a friends TV and 1080i was supported. I better not have to be stuck playing in 480p.
Crono7 is offline  
post #200 of 1628 Old 03-23-2006, 07:09 AM
Newbie
 
Crono7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is what I get when I set my XBOX 360 to 1080i. XBOX and HD set top box are fine.
Crono7 is offline  
post #201 of 1628 Old 03-26-2006, 08:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,950
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 222 Post(s)
Liked: 270
Here's my problem. I'm running my Xbox 360 w/ component video cables into a Dell 24" widescreen monitor (I'm away from home for a while so it's the best I can do). When the Xbox outputs a 1080i signal, I can see faint horizontal bands in the picture on dark scenes -- they're easier to see when the brightness is turned up. When I set the 360 to output 720p, the bands disappear. This seems to me like it's probably some sort of video noise, but I can't figure out the source. Any ideas? I run the 360's component video cables straight into the monitor so I doubt cables are the issue. I've also tried other 1080i source material on the monitor and I don't see bands, so I don't think the monitor is the culprit.
Schwa is offline  
post #202 of 1628 Old 03-26-2006, 08:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,950
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 222 Post(s)
Liked: 270
Oops, disregard my post...I tried another 1080i source w/ my monitor and I see the banding on that too...I guess the culprit is the monitor after all.
Schwa is offline  
post #203 of 1628 Old 03-27-2006, 03:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
newfmp3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NFLD, Canada
Posts: 3,903
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 116
well, my hdtv cables freaked out today. The Blue one just wouldn't work at all for the longest time which meant most of my colors were this nice shade of pink and green. called MS and a replacement is on the way.

All of a sudden, darn thing is ok again now.
newfmp3 is offline  
post #204 of 1628 Old 03-28-2006, 05:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
JoeBloggz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Southeast, MA
Posts: 757
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I am having trouble getting Media center to work on my 360. I went through the media center setup wizard and everything checked out. It stated that my pc recognized the 360 but when I went to load the Media Center in the Xbox dashboard it cannot connect. It says another user or application has interfered with media center and terminates the session. I'm not sure what else to troubleshoot ? I tried searching on xbox.com but did not find anything !

Denon AVR-X2000------>Def Tech PM1000's------>Def Tech PC2000------->Sub(TBD)
Pioneer Pro111FD viewed from 7'------>Picture mode, ISF Day(calibrated by umr)
Sony PS3

JoeBloggz is offline  
post #205 of 1628 Old 03-28-2006, 07:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
newfmp3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NFLD, Canada
Posts: 3,903
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 116
turn off your xp firewall, and turn off anything like a firewall or antivirus. Remember, Norton Internet security is EVIL. If you have it, kill it.

Does it work with all that off?
newfmp3 is offline  
post #206 of 1628 Old 04-02-2006, 10:30 PM
Newbie
 
BenC82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rotelryu View Post

Sorry for the confusion: dvdr (recorded on a dvdr machine) played on 360 seems to be artefact free. And that's also the reason why I was thinking about Macrovision: in general, it's a copy protect system incorporated in the signal of regular dvd's. If the system "suspects"that a recording machine is connected tot the other end of the signal, several artefacts are being introduced to the picture, resulting in a unwatchable picture (therefore making a copy virtually impossible). To my knowledge home made dvd's don't incorporate this system.


Yep im having the same problem with my Panasonic AE900e projector and Xbox360. Games work fine in HD mode but DVDs have these horizontal lines through the picture, so I need to change the switch on the cable to "TV" when watching DVDs.

Its annoying but I dont know any other way around it!
BenC82 is offline  
post #207 of 1628 Old 04-03-2006, 01:32 AM
Senior Member
 
krlock2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 483
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
had my 360 since launch day. it died this weekend. looks like another microsoft coffin will shortly be winging its way to someone.

krlock2

That's some bad hat, Harry.
krlock2 is offline  
post #208 of 1628 Old 04-03-2006, 11:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
danieloneil01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Dickinson, Tx
Posts: 3,381
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
LOL, I went to Wally World to buy some printer ink and walked down the console area and seen the bottom right light on the 360 and it was red and blinking.. And on the scrren it said (i think) e65 or something... And to contact M$.. Guess being in that glass case with no room for ventilation finally met it's fate... On a side note they had Oblivion for sell for 69.82 WTF!!!!!!!!!!!!

D.I.N.K

Double
Income
No
Kids
danieloneil01 is offline  
post #209 of 1628 Old 04-05-2006, 07:16 AM
Senior Member
 
krlock2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 483
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
called ms to report the death of my machine.

i live in switzerland. anyhow, they no longer send a box here, just a label, which you attach to a box which you must find yourself. then you call a courier guy and he comes to pick it up. apparently in some countries, they can email you the label and you just print it out, but not in switzerland.

oh well, seems like its time for me to take a little break from 360 gaming for the next week or two.
__________________
krlock2

That's some bad hat, Harry.
krlock2 is offline  
post #210 of 1628 Old 04-06-2006, 09:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jasman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,021
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Had mine since launch, and she died a day or so ago. She hasn't been feeling well lately and finally it won't get any splash or load screen on any game.

I barely knew ya.

I was kicking myself for buying the EBGames $60 replacement, buy now I'll just walk in and swap it out (hopefully).

Jasman
Jasman is offline  
Reply Xbox Area

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off