XBOX 360 TV settings thread - Page 10 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 299 Old 09-08-2007, 09:24 PM
Newbie
 
killahoekru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by KoRn View Post

Try this.

Movie mode:

Detailed Settings
Dynamic contrast: low
Color space: wide
Sharpness: 0 or at 20 like the way it is

Without calibrating mine yet. Just those settings give me an amazing picture. Movie mode is pretty damn good out of the factory as it is with the exception of those 2 tweaks.

thanks korn, is that with the 360 hooked up with hdmi? cuz thats what mine is, and i heard its best to leave sharpness at 0 when gaming or watching dvds, is that true?
killahoekru is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 299 Old 09-08-2007, 09:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
KoRn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,785
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Component. But I dont see why you wouldnt get pretty much the same results with hdmi. Setting it to 0 is your choice. I prefer 20.

Quote:
Originally Posted by killahoekru View Post

thanks korn, is that with the 360 hooked up with hdmi? cuz thats what mine is, and i heard its best to leave sharpness at 0 when gaming or watching dvds, is that true?

KoRn is offline  
post #273 of 299 Old 09-21-2007, 02:45 PM
Member
 
reign80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any nice setting for a Samsung LNT4671F tv set?
I'm going to be hooking up the Xbox360 to it using the component cable.

Thanks again.
reign80 is offline  
post #274 of 299 Old 09-28-2007, 06:44 PM
Member
 
HailTheHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone have setting for a XBOX 360 Elite hooked up via HDMI to a Sony flatscreen XBR2/3 and the reference level you use for your XBOX 360? Thanks.
HailTheHD is offline  
post #275 of 299 Old 06-20-2008, 01:24 PM
Senior Member
 
manupooja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: india
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hello evry1

does it rue that evry xbox 360 game has diffrent brightness setting whether ur lcd tv is properly calibrated

pls pls reply i'm waitin

manu

i luv hsu uls 15 deep bass........ have fun brothers
manupooja is offline  
post #276 of 299 Old 06-20-2008, 10:44 PM
Member
 
jonny1127's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone have settings for a Sharp 32D62U using component?
jonny1127 is offline  
post #277 of 299 Old 06-21-2008, 06:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
FIVE ONE SIX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 2,779
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
why does this thread even exist? considering you could go to the Display Devices section in these forums, and do a search for your set, and almost every time find settings recommendations...

i mean really, it works 60% of the time, EVERY TIME....

Xbox Live: KoNtRoL MaNiAk
FIVE ONE SIX is offline  
post #278 of 299 Old 11-22-2008, 01:04 AM
Member
 
asaintwithastone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, here are the details.

Panny - TH-42PZ80U
Dark Level: Light
Picture 52
Brightness41
Color:37(warm) 34(normal)
Tint:-7(normal) +4(warm)
Sharpness:17

All of wich are out of 100 tint is a 50/50 scale for folks who don't own this set

XBOX 360 W/ NXE
Extended Reference Levels
Color Spectrum: RGB

Fallout 3, GOW 2 (any game) appears extremely dark, really just reflections and shadows with the in game brightness at default, turning this up a reasonable amount doesn't seem to do much good.

These screen settings were very appropriate before these new color options but it seems my TV should be capable of displaying the full 0-255, what gives?

On the brightness bar in Fallout it seems there are 2 rectangles wich stay black no matter what, setting the next one near those 2 results in an extremely dark picture
asaintwithastone is offline  
post #279 of 299 Old 11-22-2008, 01:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cybersoga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 1,542
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Here's a tip for you guys - if you are using HDMI or VGA and the picture is washed out or too dark, try either selecting YCbCr colour space (with HDMI), or use the YPbPr analogue component cable. Calibrate your screen with a calibration DVD, paying particular attention to the brightness setting, black should start at level 16 and anything below black should be crushed.

Then start playing with the brightness setting within the game. If your game still looks too bright or too dark then there's something wrong with the game. Eurogamer has done comparisons with Fallout 3 xbox 360 vs PS3 and the xbox 360 version is darker and has crushed blacks.
cybersoga is offline  
post #280 of 299 Old 11-22-2008, 03:26 AM
Member
 
asaintwithastone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
360 now has the option to output extended refrence levels. Wouldn't we want our black level set to 0 in this case? , i have a Panny 80U with 2 darkness settings, Light and Dark. I have been told that going with the extended setting on 360 means 0-255 and the light setting on my tv corresponds to that. Am i missing something?
asaintwithastone is offline  
post #281 of 299 Old 11-22-2008, 03:31 AM
Member
 
asaintwithastone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
To achieve 0-255 or the highest setting do you think i will have to crank my (plasma) tv way up? this seems to be the case pic and brightness settings going up about 20 points each in order to get a proper picture but still the settings bar for brightness looks off. Are the 2 blackest squares supposed to be an unchanging black or is the black square just larger than the other tiles or something, currently it seems 2 out of ten or whatever portions on the darkest side will not change no matter what, is this normal?
asaintwithastone is offline  
post #282 of 299 Old 11-22-2008, 09:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
bodean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 546
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 22
-Plugged 360 into HDMI 1
-Set the reference level on the purple tab to "Expanded"

ON YOUR SAMSUNG LCD:
-Labeled HDMI 1 "PC" on the "inputs" tab along the left side of your TV menu


Picture mode: MOVIE
Contrast: 90
Brightness: 44
Sharpness: greyed out
Color: greyed out
Tint: 50/50 (may be greyed out)
Backlight: 5
HDMI Black Level: greyed out (normal)
Black Adjust: off
Dynamic Contrast: low or medium
Gamma: 0
Color Gamut: Auto
Home Theatre PC mode: On (this tells the TV to look for true RGB)
DNIE: On (I think it is greyed out)
DNR: off
White levels: default, all 15
color levels: default, all 15


ANY Comments on this setup?

Sony KDL65W850A 65" LED HDTV 
Denon AVR-2113CI
Polk Monitor 65T (Fronts)
Polk Monitor 50's (Rears)
Polk CS2 (Center)
Acoustech PL-200
bodean is offline  
post #283 of 299 Old 11-25-2008, 01:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
bodean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 546
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 22
bump

Sony KDL65W850A 65" LED HDTV 
Denon AVR-2113CI
Polk Monitor 65T (Fronts)
Polk Monitor 50's (Rears)
Polk CS2 (Center)
Acoustech PL-200
bodean is offline  
post #284 of 299 Old 11-25-2008, 02:43 PM
Senior Member
 
jangaboo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
TV = Sony Bravia KDL 32L4000

Xbox 360 Pro Falcon

Issues

I own both a PS3 and Xbox 360 and this tv takes a few more seconds to turn the picture on for the xbox 360 HDMI feed and the Xbox 360 has a very dark image and a hazy foggy look to it and the colors seem wrong to me for some reason, I've tried the exact same settings as ps3 on the TV and they don't work so I've tried playing around with settings but for some reason it still looks off on the colors

Settings:

Xbox set to RGB and Intermediate (or standard)

picture mode - custom
backlight - max
picture - 96
brightness - 58
color - 68
hue - middle
color temp - cool
sharpness - 15

jangaboo is offline  
post #285 of 299 Old 11-26-2008, 02:21 PM
Member
 
Burrens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HailTheHD View Post

Anyone have setting for a XBOX 360 Elite hooked up via HDMI to a Sony flatscreen XBR2/3 and the reference level you use for your XBOX 360? Thanks.

I want to know the answer to this too please. Also the HDMI color setting would be helpful too.
Burrens is offline  
post #286 of 299 Old 11-26-2008, 03:47 PM
Member
 
excitedguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well I've been reading on several threads that if you aren't connecting your xbox 360 through a VGA connection, then you won't be getting a true 0-255 RGB signal no matter what TV you have since the Xbox 360 cannot output a true 0-255 range over HDMI, all it does is expand the 16-235 one to it.

So bottom line, if your using HDMI, set the xbox 360 to standard and the tv's hdmi black level to low.

If your using a vga or dvi connection, then set the xbox 360 to expanded and that's the only setting you change since your not using hdmi.
excitedguy is offline  
post #287 of 299 Old 11-27-2008, 06:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Shin CZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 3,734
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
All HDMI Low is doing to me is crushing my blacks. I can set my XBox to Expanded, and HDMI to Normal with better results. The blacks on the 360 still match the black bars in 4:3 mode (4:3's bars are the blackest my TV gets).

To be honest, setting the HDMI to Low with XBox as Standard does basically the same thing as HDMI Normal, XBox Expanded. You just have to tweak the brightness of the TV to achieve similar results.
Shin CZ is offline  
post #288 of 299 Old 12-02-2008, 03:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
bodean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 546
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shin CZ View Post

All HDMI Low is doing to me is crushing my blacks. I can set my XBox to Expanded, and HDMI to Normal with better results. The blacks on the 360 still match the black bars in 4:3 mode (4:3's bars are the blackest my TV gets).

To be honest, setting the HDMI to Low with XBox as Standard does basically the same thing as HDMI Normal, XBox Expanded. You just have to tweak the brightness of the TV to achieve similar results.

You're probably right.

Sony KDL65W850A 65" LED HDTV 
Denon AVR-2113CI
Polk Monitor 65T (Fronts)
Polk Monitor 50's (Rears)
Polk CS2 (Center)
Acoustech PL-200
bodean is offline  
post #289 of 299 Old 01-04-2009, 04:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
bodean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 546
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 22
This thread die? Would like to see what other Samsung owners have their settings at

Sony KDL65W850A 65" LED HDTV 
Denon AVR-2113CI
Polk Monitor 65T (Fronts)
Polk Monitor 50's (Rears)
Polk CS2 (Center)
Acoustech PL-200
bodean is offline  
post #290 of 299 Old 01-18-2009, 12:47 AM
Newbie
 
KidVulcan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have taken so much from this forum since I signed up that I decided it was time to give a little something back.
Samsung LN-S3241D
hooked up with VGA
Xbox set to Expended
Cont#80
Bright#50
Color#Norm
Game Mode# Off
Those are the only picture settings available to me over VGA it seems.
By the way, Microsoft fixed the old "washed out color problem that some people were getting with vga hookup. Check out this [Apparently, I had to take the link out, sorry] for more.
This is the best my 360 has been since I got it, I am so happy with these settings
KidVulcan is offline  
post #291 of 299 Old 01-19-2009, 01:11 PM
Member
 
Cainlord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
can someone explain what the various HD specific settings means for the 360? Just got a 52" LCD 120hz TV, and when using my elite with it I noticed in settings a variety of options that could be set, but not sure what they mean and what improvements if any I could see?
Cainlord is offline  
post #292 of 299 Old 01-19-2009, 05:14 PM
Newbie
 
KidVulcan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cainlord View Post

can someone explain what the various HD specific settings means for the 360? Just got a 52" LCD 120hz TV, and when using my elite with it I noticed in settings a variety of options that could be set, but not sure what they mean and what improvements if any I could see?

I don't have the Elite, I have the first gen. core, thus why I set up a vga as apposed to just using HDMI Anyways, so I'm not sure what settings your looking at, if you lit me know then I will do my best to help a fellow 360er out
KidVulcan is offline  
post #293 of 299 Old 01-19-2009, 05:23 PM
Member
 
Cainlord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
basically the folloowing:

Reference levels
HDMI color space-

I am using Expanded and Ycbcr709 on a 52" 120hz LCD . so far it works great for gaming and videos. I just want to know more what exactly they mean
Cainlord is offline  
post #294 of 299 Old 01-19-2009, 06:41 PM
Newbie
 
KidVulcan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you can, lit me know what kind of tv you've got, like I have a Samsung, and what make, but I don't need that last one, it would just help. Also, is "HDMI color space" found on your TV's menu settings or options or is it in the xbox?
KidVulcan is offline  
post #295 of 299 Old 01-20-2009, 05:57 AM
Member
 
Cainlord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a 52" Philips 120Hz TV, the same one they sell at sam's club. Its light on the available settings, but excellent on the picture for gaming.

the settings I am looking at are what the 360 is saying in its settings options.
Cainlord is offline  
post #296 of 299 Old 01-30-2009, 08:04 AM
Newbie
 
scubanevins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Battle Creek, MI
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
X-box has HDMI color space settings (auto,source,RGB, YCbCr709, YCbCr601)
What do these mean
scubanevins is offline  
post #297 of 299 Old 05-15-2009, 03:20 PM
Member
 
DirtyDozen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is anyone using a Samsung HL-R5688W (pedestal model) with their 360? If so, are you connecting with RGB or HDMI? What are your settings?

For anyone with similar tvs (this one is a DLP), do you have any suggestions? Currently I'm connecting via HDMI and outputting both my 360 and PS3 at 720p. The reason is that even though this is a 1080p display (1920x1080 native), it only accepts up to 1080i over the HDMI connection (1080p over RGB). I used to connect the 360 via RGB, but it looked washed out to me. I think the colors look more vibrant over HDMI, but I'm losing resolution. Would the (in)famous Post 1499 (1500) settings work on this model tv to improve my color levels over RGB so I can switch back to that for 1920x1080?

Incidentally, I chose 720p for my consoles because I heard that 1080i is capped at 30 fps, whereas 720 can go beyond that - and also that 720p would be smoother for sports and other fast action games, whereas 1080i might be choppy. Is this accurate, or should I be using 1080i over HDMI instead and letting my tv upscale to 1080p? Is there an advantage to outputting at 720p vs 1080i and letting my tv upscale to 1080p, or should I go with the highest available (1080i)?

Thanks in advance for any input you can offer.
DirtyDozen is offline  
post #298 of 299 Old 05-16-2009, 01:12 PM
Senior Member
 
bradman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 386
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by DirtyDozen View Post

Is anyone using a Samsung HL-R5688W (pedestal model) with their 360? If so, are you connecting with RGB or HDMI? What are your settings?

For anyone with similar tvs (this one is a DLP), do you have any suggestions? Currently I'm connecting via HDMI and outputting both my 360 and PS3 at 720p. The reason is that even though this is a 1080p display (1920x1080 native), it only accepts up to 1080i over the HDMI connection (1080p over RGB). I used to connect the 360 via RGB, but it looked washed out to me. I think the colors look more vibrant over HDMI, but I'm losing resolution. Would the (in)famous Post 1499 (1500) settings work on this model tv to improve my color levels over RGB so I can switch back to that for 1920x1080?

Incidentally, I chose 720p for my consoles because I heard that 1080i is capped at 30 fps, whereas 720 can go beyond that - and also that 720p would be smoother for sports and other fast action games, whereas 1080i might be choppy. Is this accurate, or should I be using 1080i over HDMI instead and letting my tv upscale to 1080p? Is there an advantage to outputting at 720p vs 1080i and letting my tv upscale to 1080p, or should I go with the highest available (1080i)?

Thanks in advance for any input you can offer.

1080i is not capped at 30fps,that is determined by the coding of the game.
1080i vs. 720p;in theory the 720p should perhaps be smoother,but in actual practice there usually isn't a discernable difference.
A very general rule of thumb is to select the output that closest matches your panels' native resolution.
As usual,try both and see what works best for your particular setup.
bradman is offline  
post #299 of 299 Old 05-18-2009, 05:03 PM
Member
 
DirtyDozen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradman View Post

1080i is not capped at 30fps,that is determined by the coding of the game.
1080i vs. 720p;in theory the 720p should perhaps be smoother,but in actual practice there usually isn't a discernable difference.
A very general rule of thumb is to select the output that closest matches your panels' native resolution.
As usual,try both and see what works best for your particular setup.

Great, thanks for the reply. 1080i would be the closest to my native resolution, so I'll try it and see if I notice a difference between that and 720p output.

What media works best to determine the difference between the two so I can choose my preference? When I switch back and forth between the two on my 360's dashboard I don't see enough difference to decide.
DirtyDozen is offline  
Reply Xbox Area

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off