XBox 360 resolution setting for Sony KDL-40V2500? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 120 Old 11-26-2006, 09:25 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
The Batman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi - I recently purchased the Sony KDL-40V2500 and don't know what to set my XBox 360 on to get the best gaming experience. When choosing between 720p or 1080i most threads advise tuning the XBox to whatever your TV's native resolution is. But the Sony KDL-40V2500 has a native resolution of 1080p. How should I hook up the 360 to get the best picture then? Thanks.
The Batman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 120 Old 11-26-2006, 09:45 AM
Senior Member
 
Artmic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Your tv supports vga input, so i guess you need a VGA cable for the xbox 360.

The problem with 1080p might be that the signal will not be ok, because microsoft messed up their 1080p update. Until they can fix that you will be able to get 720p or 1080i for the HD-DVD , which just sucks when you think about your tv supporting 1080p and microsoft not being able to provide that to you since you have a SONY Tv set.

Call Microsoft xbox support and complain if that is the case for you, if you don't they will just ignore consumers. I call them every single day until they say they will fix this issue or they will not fix this issue, and i mean an official anouncment not some tech person saying they will fix it.
Artmic is offline  
post #3 of 120 Old 11-26-2006, 10:05 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
The Batman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks - so should I set the XBox to output at 720P or 1080i? And should I definitely use VGA over the component hookup?
The Batman is offline  
post #4 of 120 Old 11-26-2006, 11:00 AM
Senior Member
 
Artmic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For gaming 720p is good enough for HD-DVD movies 1080i is the best you will get , i just set the tv at the highest possible resolution that it works and that is all i do, it is the resolutoin just before 1080p.

Oh yeah, don't forget to get the update form microsoft so that you have the option for 1080p and the other resolutions all there, connect the xbox to your internet connection to get the update.
Artmic is offline  
post #5 of 120 Old 11-26-2006, 01:23 PM
Member
 
handiwipe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the 40V2500. Stick with the component cables as VGA on this tv does not go to 1080. The max VGA resolution of this TV is 1440x1050. I am outputting 1080i from the 360 over component cables and all the games I've played on it look and run great.

I hear that for some reason the new HD-DVD add-on WILL support 1080p over the VGA connection, so the 360 seems to be somehow bypassing the VGA resolution limitation.
handiwipe is offline  
post #6 of 120 Old 11-26-2006, 03:59 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
The Batman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Handiwipe - very interesting. Thanks! Have you calibrated your set? Now that I know to output at 1080i via component, are there brightness/contrast/color settings that you use that you have determined are the best?
The Batman is offline  
post #7 of 120 Old 11-30-2006, 12:49 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
The Batman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bump. Anyone else offer some words of wisdom?
The Batman is offline  
post #8 of 120 Old 12-01-2006, 12:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rconn2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 12
1080p VGA _does_ work with the V2500 with the Fall update. All that's needed is the MS VGA cable. However, no one has yet confirmed that it still does with the 11-30 update. On the Euro avforums.com, a couple of W (their counterpart to our V2500) owners just posted that it does still work with the recent update... so it's probably okay. So, I think a V2500 / 360 owner should try this update and let us all know.
rconn2 is offline  
post #9 of 120 Old 12-01-2006, 12:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rconn2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Batman View Post

Handiwipe - very interesting. Thanks! Have you calibrated your set? Now that I know to output at 1080i via component, are there brightness/contrast/color settings that you use that you have determined are the best?

Try setting Brightness down to 28 to 32 and Picture up to 96 to 98 for both VGA and Component and for both DVD and HD-DVD addon. I'm not sure about Color Temp -- I keep switching between Neutral, Warm1 and 2. Adjust backlight as preferred.
rconn2 is offline  
post #10 of 120 Old 12-01-2006, 12:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rconn2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by handiwipe View Post

I hear that for some reason the new HD-DVD add-on WILL support 1080p over the VGA connection, so the 360 seems to be somehow bypassing the VGA resolution limitation.

That's the big question: how? It's even stranger if the 11-30 update that fixes vga for the lcd xbr2 also works w/ the v2500. There's an unsupported way to get 1080p on the v2500's... I hope someone who knows about this stuff and has the equipment tests the 360's vga signal.
rconn2 is offline  
post #11 of 120 Old 12-01-2006, 05:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
YOTR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,530
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
I would also like a confirmed answer regarding 1080p support over vga for this tv. I am considering picking it up but only if I can get 1080p support for my xbox 360. Thanks
YOTR is offline  
post #12 of 120 Old 12-01-2006, 08:40 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
The Batman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
But the thing is, because it only accepts up to 1050 via VGA, and only accepts 1080i over component, won't the TV just be upconverting the signal either way anyway? It can only receive true 1080p input via the HDMI cable.
I'm nervous that because it only accepts up to 1050 via VGA that I'm going to get that awful half-inch black border all around the screen if I hook it up by VGA, which is going to drive me nuts.

Anyway, the TV should be coming in next week, and I already have the MS component cable, so I'll pick up an MS VGA cable and see if there's an appreciable difference in PQ.

In response to the above poster, how can I tell if the picture I'm getting by VGA is 1080p or not? I know for a fact that the VGA jack doesn't accept 1080p input - I just assumed it would get whatever signal came in, deinterlace it or do whatever it will do to it, and then upconvert it to 1080p when the time comes to render a picture. Is that wrong?

In the meantime, though, if anyone else has some thoughts, of course we'd love to hear them.
The Batman is offline  
post #13 of 120 Old 12-01-2006, 09:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Irunnoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,415
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, with regards to how you can tell what type of picture you're getting, the V2500 will automatically display that info in the upper left hand part of the screen. Once you've got the Xbox running over VGA, hit the "display" button on the remote. That will bring up the input info as well as the display. If it's in 1080p, it will say that right below the input (I've got mine currently on Input 4), the name of the input (I named mine Xbox) and then the resolution.

Currently, I've been using the component and getting 1080i and GOW has never looked sweeter! I mean it! This game looks awesome on component @ 1080i. HD-DVD has looked beautiful on this as well. I may buy the VGA cables at BB after work today just to try it out and, if so, I'll post my results and snap some pics.

GT: irunnoft
Irunnoft is offline  
post #14 of 120 Old 12-01-2006, 09:05 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
The Batman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Irunnoft, you would be an all-time hero. I'm anxiously awaiting your results.
The Batman is offline  
post #15 of 120 Old 12-01-2006, 12:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rconn2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Irunnoft: "may buy the VGA cables after work...". May? I think you meant, yes I will, and I'll immediately report my results to this thread.

I have the fall update and 1080p vga is working well, so don't want to do this latest update till I'm sure. But for anyone just getting the vga, they'll only get the latest update. So, you're observations would be very appreciated.

Batman: No, it really does 1920 x 1080 @ 60hz, at least with the fall update. That resolution isn't listed for the v2500's, but somehow it works.
rconn2 is offline  
post #16 of 120 Old 12-01-2006, 12:11 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
The Batman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
rconn2: I've actually already downloaded the latest (11/30) update "by mistake." I just wasn't paying attention and the next thing I knew I had downloaded it. So there's no going back to Fall Update for me.

So yes, I would love to know if VGA works for me now. If so, rock and roll! Otherwise, component it is...
The Batman is offline  
post #17 of 120 Old 12-01-2006, 03:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rconn2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Batman View Post

rconn2: I've actually already downloaded the latest (11/30) update "by mistake." I just wasn't paying attention and the next thing I knew I had downloaded it. So there's no going back to Fall Update for me.

So yes, I would love to know if VGA works for me now. If so, rock and roll! Otherwise, component it is...

I unplugged my lan jack to be safe.

Okay, so are you going to buy the relatively inexpensive and easily obtainable vga cable now that the weekend is here and give it a try and let all of us eagerly anticipating your feedback know?

There's nothing to it. You plug in the vga cable. Go to the 360's console system and select vga and 1920 x 1080 resolution. On the V2500, the screen should come right up, but will say "Unsupported" or somesuch in the lower right corner. Click any button on the remote and that goes away.

I think it'll probably work with the latest fix since it is for the very similar W series used in Europe. It works very well with the Fall update. And if the fix has improved it even more, then it'll be impressive -- esp. since v2500's aren't even supposed to be getting 1080p vga.
rconn2 is offline  
post #18 of 120 Old 12-01-2006, 07:46 PM
Member
 
eortizr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Dallas
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well.. it works ... I have today my HD-DVD hooked up and the VGA cable, with the 11/30 update... and everything works just fine... I'm like a kid on christmas.. the pq is amazing in 1080p in my 40" v2500

here some pictures....




- Panasonic TC-P50ST30
- Yamaha RX-V667
- Polk RM75
- Polk PSW10
- ARRX18G Remote w/ RF extender
- WDTV Live+ (5TB and growing)
eortizr is offline  
post #19 of 120 Old 12-01-2006, 08:19 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
The Batman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Solid. Do you have that half-inch black border because the TV thinks it only accepts 1050 over VGA? Or does the picture go all the way to the edges like true 1080?

Care to share with us your calibrations for such a great picture?

Do you prefer VGA over component for gaming now?
The Batman is offline  
post #20 of 120 Old 12-01-2006, 09:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rconn2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 12
eortizr: I just did the update. And... wow!! I thought 1080p VGA looked very good before but now it's excellent! There's a significant difference in color saturation. I'm not even thinking of using component 1080i anymore. Before the VGA looked just a little drab... not bad and hard to say... but at times it seemed there was a lack of color. Colors pop now and pq appears more contrasty. Thanks for letting us know about the update.

We now have gorgeous 1080p VGA on the V2500 from the Xbox and Xbox HD-DVD. Any other V2500 and Xbox 360 owners out there... you have a green light.
rconn2 is offline  
post #21 of 120 Old 12-01-2006, 09:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rconn2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Batman View Post

Solid. Do you have that half-inch black border because the TV thinks it only accepts 1050 over VGA? Or does the picture go all the way to the edges like true 1080?

Care to share with us your calibrations for such a great picture?

Do you prefer VGA over component for gaming now?

You're looking at the bezel on the sides, and the top and bottom are since the movie is 2.35:1. The screen is showing pixel by pixel at 1920 x 1080.

Component at 1080i is also very good. But the 1080p VGA upscales even regular DVD's and everything else the Xbox displays. And with 1080p, there's no need for de-interlacing. For games, p is better than i even if they're upscaled from 720p.

I posted some calibrations, but that was before this last update. Not calibrated, but I moved Brightness up to around 36 to 38. It probably should be somewhere in the low to mid 30's. Picture should be pushed up to 96 to 98. I don't think that's changed. And make sure to set Mode to Video (not Text).

I think any V2500 and XBR2/3 owners will be very pleased w/ both the 1080p VGA and the HD-DVD add-on.
rconn2 is offline  
post #22 of 120 Old 12-01-2006, 09:45 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
The Batman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You can't see me right now, but The Batman is doing a little dance of joy.

Now to pray the V2500 makes it to my doorstep in one piece...

Buying the VGA cable this weekend. Thanks for the green light and calibrations, rconn...
The Batman is offline  
post #23 of 120 Old 12-01-2006, 10:18 PM
Member
 
eortizr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Dallas
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
like rconn2 said, You're looking at the bezel on the sides, and the top and bottom are since the movie is 2.35:1, the calibration I have right now is

backlight : 6
Picture: 90
Bright :30
Color Temp: Warm1

never going back to component, I'll stick with VGA

- Panasonic TC-P50ST30
- Yamaha RX-V667
- Polk RM75
- Polk PSW10
- ARRX18G Remote w/ RF extender
- WDTV Live+ (5TB and growing)
eortizr is offline  
post #24 of 120 Old 12-04-2006, 01:32 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
The Batman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
bump - anyone else have a V2500 with working 1080p VGA after the update? Do you prefer VGA over component?
The Batman is offline  
post #25 of 120 Old 12-04-2006, 06:29 PM
Member
 
yuzna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well the VGA is working, in 1080p I think, can't really verify this since there is no way of displaying the input. Suficent to say is that is is runing in 1920 x 1080 without any problems (well you have to remove the box saying unsupported signal, but that's about it).
yuzna is offline  
post #26 of 120 Old 12-04-2006, 09:21 PM
Newbie
 
gotgrizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
1080p on xbox 360 with vga output to the sony v2500 is absolutely amazing ... currently just trying to play with the display settings! does anyone have an good set-ups ? I LOVE THIS F-ING TV AND HD XBOX 360!!!


Display mode Video

Backlight 3
Picture 98
Brightness 33
Color temp Neutral
gotgrizzle is offline  
post #27 of 120 Old 12-05-2006, 05:53 AM
Newbie
 
fcxsebs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is awesome.

I was too waiting to make sure that everything was fien with the VGA and the Fall update, now you guys just confirmed that it is all good !

I heard that there's no difference between the Monster cables and the ones from Microsoft, is that true ?
fcxsebs is offline  
post #28 of 120 Old 12-06-2006, 06:30 AM
Newbie
 
fcxsebs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Batman View Post

bump - anyone else have a V2500 with working 1080p VGA after the update? Do you prefer VGA over component?

Well, I just installed mine last night, I was worried at first because the line kept jumping, it's hard to explain, but up close, it was messed up, but I unplugged, put it back, change resolution, put it back to 1920x1080 and then it was fine.

But I have to say that I do not see a huge difference, in fact, I almost like the Xbox dashboard colors better when it's with the component using the Vivid picture mode.

I also played Gears of War on both component and vga and I am still not sure which one I like the best...

I do not remember my setting by heart, but I'm pretty sure it was:

Backlilght: Max
Picture: Max
Brightness: 30
Color Temp: Cool

Other than that, I tried some of you guys setting and the colors look to bleh compare to Vivid on the component...

Also, what setting do you have in the PC mode setting ?
fcxsebs is offline  
post #29 of 120 Old 12-06-2006, 10:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rconn2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The PC Mode needs to be set to Video. I don't understand why you think the colors look "bleh". They were a little drab, maybe a little undersaturated, before the 11/30 update but are not now. The colors pop and if anything, may be very slightly oversaturated... but are really close to the mark. I played the HD-DVD Aeon Flux that I got from Netflix last night (over 1080p VGA0 and the pq was astonishing!! It may be the best pq I've ever seen anywhere on any set.

Your settings look about right... I have Brightness in the 30's (last night it was 40... but I keep experimenting... haven't calibrated w/ the last update); Picture at 96 and Backlight pushed. Also Mode at VIDEO. Rent or buy Aeon Flux... you'll have to agree the pq is incredible. And some have said the VGA was not as sharp... I don't see this either... the titles and text were razor sharp along w/ the video itself.

Vivid is really for displaying at a b&m.... it's way pushed too far for everything... if you like it that way, okay, but few would. Relative to Vivid the VGA is toned down... thankfully.
rconn2 is offline  
post #30 of 120 Old 12-06-2006, 10:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rconn2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by gotgrizzle View Post

I LOVE THIS F-ING TV AND HD XBOX 360!!!
Display mode Video
Backlight 3
Picture 98
Brightness 33
Color temp Neutral

Almost exactly my settings after the fall update... not sure after the 11/30 update... I've increased Brightness a little but I'll calibrate and post on the V2500 calibration thread when I do. Also, stop by the V2500 thread and let people know.
rconn2 is offline  
Reply Xbox Area

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off