Xbox360 AV Pinout - VGA & Component - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 12-05-2006, 05:30 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
KrisRoberts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Sunny San Diego
Posts: 547
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would like to re-wire my VGA cable to appear as a component cable to the xbox.

MY av system is all setup for routing RGBHV from my source devices to my displays. So far I've been using the Xbox with the VGA adapter and all has been well. But recently I've been using it in 1080i and sending the component signal through my RGBHV cabling.

It works fine, but currently I'm using the component cable, gender changers, a VGA/RGBHV breakout cable just to get it to the right connector to go into my system.

I suspect that the cable tells the xbox what kind it is by grounding a combination of leads. I also kind of suspect that the RGBHV and Component signals run through the same pins. So my hunch is that if I know how to modify my VGA cable to tell the xbox to send component that it might just work with a minimum of re-soldering.

Does anyone know or have pointers to the pinouts for the Xbox360 AV connectors?

Searching around I find tons of guides on how to build a VGA cable from the standard composite cable. But I havent found any pinout info for the component connector.
KrisRoberts is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 12-05-2006, 05:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
EricM407's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 634
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
http://dwl.xbox-scene.com/tutorial/X...HandC-V1_4.pdf
EricM407 is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 12-05-2006, 06:25 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
KrisRoberts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Sunny San Diego
Posts: 547
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Awesome! It looks like the cable identifies itself by shorting two pins. The vga cable shorts 18&20 and the component shorts 26&28. The rest of the connections match up as I had hoped.

Warming up the soldering iron and we'll see...
:-)

----

Yep, works great. Thanks!!!
KrisRoberts is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 12-06-2006, 09:40 AM
Member
 
Signia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: St. Louis, MO(Eureka)
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wouldnt the opposite hold true for this? Take the component cable and short out the VGA pins so it will send a VGA signal? Wouldnt this allow upscaling of regular DVD's over component?

aka GadgetboySTL - Thom & Jeff Show - St. Louis, MO
Signia is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 12-06-2006, 01:15 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
KrisRoberts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Sunny San Diego
Posts: 547
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No. If it thinks its sending VGA or Component that's what its sending. If you have it send vga through the component cable it might be convenient for a RGBHV display that takes BNC connectors rather than the VGA plug. But it would still be VGA. If your monitor expects component and you're giving it VGA instead its not going to work.
KrisRoberts is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 12-06-2006, 03:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
Bertil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: St. Petersburg, FL, USA
Posts: 633
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah, and you would be missing the H and the V portion of RGBHV... unless you can re-route the sound cables for that...
Bertil is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 12-06-2006, 03:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
EricM407's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 634
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm thinking this would be useful for people who have their cabling going through walls who want to switch 360 outputs without running new cable or going through a bunch of adapters. Assuming their display or receiver knows how to handle either signal on the same input, they could just buy a spare 360 AV cable and mod it.
EricM407 is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 12-06-2006, 10:15 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
KrisRoberts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Sunny San Diego
Posts: 547
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That's exactly why I wanted to do it. My projector takes either RGBHV or Component on BNC connectors. All my wiring and distribution amplifiers/swithers are setup for five signal RGBHV. Just running the three component component signals through what would normally be the RGB lines works great - I tell the projector to use that input as component instead of VGA and all is well.

The other monitors in the system cant switch between VGA and component on the same input, but its not that big a deal. To use it on those displays I either switch back to the real VGA cable at the xbox or get a break out vga to bnc cable at that end and run it into their component inputs.

It doesnt work as well the other way, to go from component to vga as was pointed out above. The component cable doesnt have anything wired to the H and V sync lines that you need for VGA.
KrisRoberts is offline  
Closed Thread Xbox Area

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off