Is this a good wireless adpater? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 Old 12-31-2006, 08:21 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
tdogroeder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 2,786
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
http://shop3.outpost.com/product/4352635
If not can somebody lead me to one that is $50 or less.

Thanks

Jesus Christ is the Way, The Truth, and The Life, He is the only Way to God!

Yamaha RXV765

Emotiva LPA-1

Ascend Sierra-2s(LCR), RSS300, Polk R15

SVS PB12 plus

Panasonic S65

Sony S5100

PS4, PS3, XBOX 360

tdogroeder is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 Old 12-31-2006, 08:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dogmanky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Spring Hill, TN
Posts: 1,129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Should work ok. I'm using the Microsoft MN-740 from my original xbox and it works fine.

just search mn-740 on eb*y.
dogmanky is offline  
post #3 of 15 Old 12-31-2006, 11:34 AM
Member
 
OC 335i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's fine.
OC 335i is offline  
post #4 of 15 Old 01-05-2007, 07:11 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
tdogroeder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 2,786
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
anybody else have an opinion on good wireless adapters?

Jesus Christ is the Way, The Truth, and The Life, He is the only Way to God!

Yamaha RXV765

Emotiva LPA-1

Ascend Sierra-2s(LCR), RSS300, Polk R15

SVS PB12 plus

Panasonic S65

Sony S5100

PS4, PS3, XBOX 360

tdogroeder is offline  
post #5 of 15 Old 01-05-2007, 09:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Iteki's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 3,724
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by tdogroeder View Post

anybody else have an opinion on good wireless adapters?

I use that same bridge, works fine.

I'm no expert....so your mileage may vary
XboxLiveID: archie68
Iteki is offline  
post #6 of 15 Old 01-05-2007, 09:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
SixkillerNYC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
An inexpensive bridge will work fine. The MS adapter is also great, but very expensive at $100.
SixkillerNYC is offline  
post #7 of 15 Old 01-05-2007, 08:14 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
tdogroeder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 2,786
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by SixkillerNYC View Post

An inexpensive bridge will work fine. The MS adapter is also great, but very expensive at $100.

Are there other inexpensive bridges that work good less than $50?

Jesus Christ is the Way, The Truth, and The Life, He is the only Way to God!

Yamaha RXV765

Emotiva LPA-1

Ascend Sierra-2s(LCR), RSS300, Polk R15

SVS PB12 plus

Panasonic S65

Sony S5100

PS4, PS3, XBOX 360

tdogroeder is offline  
post #8 of 15 Old 01-05-2007, 09:40 PM
Senior Member
 
xlurkr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: San Mateo, CA
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got the Linksys WGA54AG a+g adapter for 45 clams on sale at Best Buy. It seems to work OK. It connects to the ethernet port. It can be used with any other ethernet-equipped device if you configure it with their software, so I figured it'd be handy to have around.

I might get the MS one someday because it's so much neater - no wall wart, short usb cable, clips onto either the Xox or the HD-DVD drive.

-Tom
xlurkr is offline  
post #9 of 15 Old 01-06-2007, 08:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JonDotCom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 1,285
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I use the linksys WET11 on my 360. I've used it on pcs, original xbox, and now on the 360....it's great.

search for linksys wet11 on ebay... usually well under $50.

1080p, where marketing genius and science fiction collide!
JonDotCom is offline  
post #10 of 15 Old 01-07-2007, 12:55 PM
Newbie
 
bogiebritt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I cannot get my old Microsoft MN-740 to work with my XBOX 360. For some reason I cannot get it to be recognized. It workled with my old XBOX. It fails on the second sheck in the XBOX live check. It would be nice to get iot to work so that I can return the overpriced Microsoft USB dongle.
bogiebritt is offline  
post #11 of 15 Old 01-07-2007, 09:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
Hellraiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 532
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thats a steal on that adapter. Its better than the MN740 because it has more security options (wpa) and wireless A access. The MN740 was also made by dlink and thats why they look alike...but the dlink branded one is better just b/c of those features i meantioned.

I've even flashed my MN740 with that dlinks bios in order to get the wpa security...didnt work unfortunately so I just might pic one of these up as well. at least i didnt brick the mn740..still works fine but now my system thinks it the dlink adapter.
Hellraiser is offline  
post #12 of 15 Old 01-07-2007, 10:35 PM
Member
 
snobgoblin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thats the one I just recently bought from fry's.. That is the best price your gonna find on that adapter.. It works great with the 4300
snobgoblin is offline  
post #13 of 15 Old 08-30-2008, 09:35 AM
Senior Member
 
UMass03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone still usuing this bridge? I just picked one up new for $25. I get a notice that I am getting interference and should switch to 802.11a to rectify

Suggestions? Seems that switiching to a would be a step back from b/g? Then again I'm not a network expert

Xbox Live GamerTag: SpectreOne3
UMass03 is offline  
post #14 of 15 Old 08-30-2008, 10:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Shape's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: MA
Posts: 4,210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 72
802.11a is a lot like 802.11g, but it runs at 5GHz instead of 2.4GHz, like everything else. It has slightly higher typical throughput than g does.

But you would need a router that supports a.

Wireless n also supports 5GHz, but not all devices actually use it. A lot of them use 2.4GHz.

Josh - GamerTag: ShapeGSX PSN: ShapeGSX
'97 Eclipse GSX - 11.825@117.55mph in the 1/4
Shape is online now  
post #15 of 15 Old 08-30-2008, 11:10 AM
Senior Member
 
UMass03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shape View Post

802.11a is a lot like 802.11g, but it runs at 5GHz instead of 2.4GHz, like everything else. It has slightly higher typical throughput than g does.

But you would need a router that supports a.

Wireless n also supports 5GHz, but not all devices actually use it. A lot of them use 2.4GHz.

Thanks. How would I check my router for this/change it? I have Verizon DSL with the wireless router they supplied made by Westell

Xbox Live GamerTag: SpectreOne3
UMass03 is offline  
Reply Xbox Area

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off