What type of Optical cable does the Xbox360 Use? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 Old 01-05-2007, 11:53 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Ladic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is it any type of Optical Cable? for example could I use this?

http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...ormat=2&style=
Ladic is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 01-06-2007, 04:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tdogroeder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 2,786
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ladic View Post

Is it any type of Optical Cable? for example could I use this?

http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...ormat=2&style=

That will work. I bought the same ones.

Jesus Christ is the Way, The Truth, and The Life, He is the only Way to God!

Yamaha RXV765

Emotiva LPA-1

Ascend Sierra-2s(LCR), RSS300, Polk R15

SVS PB12 plus

Panasonic S65

Sony S5100

PS4, PS3, XBOX 360

tdogroeder is offline  
post #3 of 16 Old 01-07-2007, 06:08 AM
Senior Member
 
lastplace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Va. Beach, VA
Posts: 474
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
It's the same one I use.

Don't forget the TV-HDTV switch on the plug.

I love this HD stuff!
lastplace is offline  
post #4 of 16 Old 01-07-2007, 09:48 AM
Member
 
The Batman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I bought the same ones, but with the "fancy connector" (it was like $3 more so I figured why not). They worked great - so great I ran out and bought a second set to run the DVR through. Monoprice rules!
The Batman is offline  
post #5 of 16 Old 01-07-2007, 05:13 PM
Member
 
spindoctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Monster cable gold-plated. You get what you pay for.




"When you were born, you cried and the world rejoiced. Live your life so that when you die, the world cries and you rejoice."
- Cherokee Expression
spindoctor is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 01-07-2007, 05:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
SC0TLANDF0REVER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by spindoctor View Post

Monster cable gold-plated. You get what you pay for.




Yeah. Keep telling yourself that. All *you* are doing is OVERpaying for what you're getting.

Ðave -
It was technically a single shenanigan, more like a hijink...

SC0TLANDF0REVER is offline  
post #7 of 16 Old 01-07-2007, 05:36 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
ogbuehi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 4,038
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any optical cable will do.
ogbuehi is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 01-07-2007, 05:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
newfmp3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NFLD, Canada
Posts: 3,881
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 112
I have a koss one, philips one, some generic one, and the monoprice one. The monoprice one is the only one that fits into the 360's nice and snug, so it doesn't fall out.
newfmp3 is online now  
post #9 of 16 Old 01-07-2007, 07:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
TRALFAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 556
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
"Gold plated" fiber optic cable ??
TRALFAZ is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 01-07-2007, 08:51 PM
Member
 
The Batman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by spindoctor View Post

Monster cable gold-plated. You get what you pay for.




Dude, it's a digital connection. Either you hear it or you don't - there's no "loss of signal" like there is for an analog cable. In other words, for the same receiver and same speakers, it would be impossible to "hear the dif" between a monoprice digital optical cable and a Monster digital optical cable.

You paid too much, pal. Sucks for you.
The Batman is offline  
post #11 of 16 Old 01-07-2007, 08:51 PM
Member
 
andreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TRALFAZ View Post

"Gold plated" fiber optic cable ??

Yep, and for an extra 30 bucks Monster will engrave your initials into the ends also. So then you can tell your friends that they were made special just for you.

As for me. I've had the same sets of Radio Shack tos link cables from 8 years ago. I think I paid about 16 bucks for them at the time. It was the lowest price you could pay for optical cables. They still work like a dream.

Xbox Live: CaptCaveman
PSN: Captcaveman
Wii: some long number that I will never remember. Thanks Nintendo!
andreo is offline  
post #12 of 16 Old 01-08-2007, 02:48 AM
Member
 
SilentHylian82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by newfmp3

I have a koss one, philips one, some generic one, and the monoprice one. The monoprice one is the only one that fits into the 360's nice and snug, so it doesn't fall out.

Why is that? I also have a number of optical cables and none of them fit snuggly in the optical connector. As a matter of fact, they all fall out with just the slightest budge. I just thought it was some manufacturing defect or they were specially made just for Microsoft optical cables (if there were any), so apparently I'm not the only one.

Xbox Live ID: SilentHylian82
PSN ID: SilentHylian82
SilentHylian82 is offline  
post #13 of 16 Old 01-08-2007, 06:59 AM
Member
 
spindoctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Batman View Post

Dude, it's a digital connection. Either you hear it or you don't - there's no "loss of signal" like there is for an analog cable. In other words, for the same receiver and same speakers, it would be impossible to "hear the dif" between a monoprice digital optical cable and a Monster digital optical cable.

You paid too much, pal. Sucks for you.


Most people here saw the smiley and got the joke.

"When you were born, you cried and the world rejoiced. Live your life so that when you die, the world cries and you rejoice."
- Cherokee Expression
spindoctor is offline  
post #14 of 16 Old 01-08-2007, 07:13 AM
Member
 
The Batman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by spindoctor View Post

Most people here saw the smiley and got the joke.

Sorry. I misinterpreted the smiley to mean "I'm diesel and my Monster cables are awesome."
The Batman is offline  
post #15 of 16 Old 01-08-2007, 08:48 AM
Member
 
jms493's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there any setting you have to configure on your 360 to get the optical cable to work???

I get no sound through it......
jms493 is offline  
post #16 of 16 Old 01-08-2007, 10:00 AM
Member
 
The Batman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think there is an option in the "console" blade (or whatever the blade to the far right is) on your dashboard. I think there is an option for audio, and then you can teach it to output digital sound or surround sound or something. I would check those settings.

Edit: This link should help:

http://www.xbox.com/en-US/support/sy...gitalaudio.htm
The Batman is offline  
Reply Xbox Area

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off