Will you re-buy the X360 for HDMI? - AVS Forum
View Poll Results: Will you re-buy for HDMI?
Yes! 195 39.08%
No! 304 60.92%
Voters: 499. You may not vote on this poll

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 94 Old 01-07-2007, 04:30 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Cynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta GA.
Posts: 1,572
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm curious whom of you that own a unit now, will be getting another X360 when the HDMI version comes out. If so, what are you doing with your existing unit?

(IF this actually exists)

I for one will be getting the new unit. I already own multiple X360 hardware since I run a tournament company, but my personal X360 in use now will likely be traded in or given to my brother's family.

I need the 120 HDD for marketplace content and the cooler chip should make these last a while. Plus I own a Samsung 1080p DLP and I have MANY more options for image tweaks via HDMI than VGA. And finally, owning the HD DVD player, I'd rather play 1080p over HDMI than VGA. I hate the VGA color profile.

So, how about you guys?

twitter.com/Cynnthetic
I own X360 - Wii - PS3
I see @ 1080p
I'm BROKE!
Cynn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 94 Old 01-07-2007, 05:31 AM
Senior Member
 
FootballDen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 369
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Now there is an option, i could sell it to my dad for 300 and pay for the new xbox with hdmi
FootballDen is offline  
post #3 of 94 Old 01-07-2007, 06:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dub273's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,451
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'll buy a separate 120GB hard drive (assuming MS releases one), but I have no use for HDMI in my home theater at present. This may change if I ever get a new receiver, but I'm in no great hurry to replace my H/K AVR 430.

==\dub/==
dub273 is offline  
post #4 of 94 Old 01-07-2007, 06:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Andrew67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 2,261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Only if it's cooler and quieter.
Andrew67 is offline  
post #5 of 94 Old 01-07-2007, 07:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Villanman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Memphis Tennessee
Posts: 1,871
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I planned on buying a second one for my household anyway so my 15 year old son could have is own 360. We already have 2 live accounts 2 PS2's and 2 original Xbox's. If it wasn't for getting a PS3 and a Wii this christmas, I probably would have already purchased a second 360. So I'm not going to rebuy....I'll just be buying one as a second 360.
There is no choice for that, so I didn't vote.
Villanman is offline  
post #6 of 94 Old 01-07-2007, 07:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
nith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 638
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by FootballDen View Post

Now there is an option, i could sell it to my dad for 300 and pay for the new xbox with hdmi

Hmmm It's like ripping off your own dad and giving him the dinosaur!
nith is offline  
post #7 of 94 Old 01-07-2007, 07:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AHDTVDiet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,640
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
I need a Maybe option because I havent made up my mind. Depends on a lot of things. Also depends on if I can get a good trade in. But I guess I could give my current 360 as a gift to someone or sell it cheap to them. I have a friend who is currently borrowing my old Xbox. There will be a market of people who dont need the latest and greatest but would still like better then they have.
AHDTVDiet is offline  
post #8 of 94 Old 01-07-2007, 07:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
liltalkm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Coral Springs,FL, USA
Posts: 550
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by AHDTVDiet View Post

I need a Maybe option because I havent made up my mind. Depends on a lot of things. Also depends on if I can get a good trade in. But I guess I could give my current 360 as a gift to someone or sell it cheap to them. I have a friend who is currently borrowing my old Xbox. There will be a market of people who dont need the latest and greatest but would still like better then they have.

I will purchase the extra console. That will be 3 in the house.

btw; my launch console got the three lights of death last night. MS is sending me the box.

Later

Speakers: Martin Logan Montis, EM C2, Dual Depth I Subs, JBL S38 surround (upgrading soon) | Processor: Yamaha CX-A5000 | Amp: Sunfire TGA-5400 | Sources: DirecTV HR34, HTPC, Mac Mini, Oppo BDP-103, PS4, PS3, Xbox One, Wii U | Television: Panasonic 65VT50 | Remote: Logitech Harmony Ultimate
liltalkm is offline  
post #9 of 94 Old 01-07-2007, 09:14 AM
Senior Member
 
NOFX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 462
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If I have a 1080p tv, I would defintely get it!
NOFX is offline  
post #10 of 94 Old 01-07-2007, 09:35 AM
Member
 
That Other Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I still have a 720p tv, so not now. I would like to get the 120gig hard drive.
That Other Guy is offline  
post #11 of 94 Old 01-07-2007, 09:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
karlw2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Santa Clara, California
Posts: 1,309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've got 3 HD TVs/monitors (5 if you include 2 20" widescreen computer monitors) and 2 xbox360's. I would gladly buy another one for my plasma which has 2 HDMI inputs. I haven't connected the VGA because it is a pain in the A to get to the back of my plasma with both the VGA cable and audio cables. A simple HDMI cable would be perfect.
karlw2000 is offline  
post #12 of 94 Old 01-07-2007, 09:45 AM
Member
 
markenglert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
With my current setup my HDMI port is taken by the PS3, my TV doesn't do 1080p or handle upscaled DVDs very well (Panny Plasma) so I'm fine where I am.

Since I got my 360 very recently and got the Best Buy 2-year replacement plan, I suppose I could trade the thing in for the new model if it comes out in the next 2 years... or trade it in and get a new one with a NEW 2-year replacement plan if it doesn't. I'd have to get a new receiver with two HDMI inputs though...

Gotta use those in-store warranties for SOMETHING.
markenglert is offline  
post #13 of 94 Old 01-07-2007, 10:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
Chief Ediri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 714
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Who needs to rebuy when you can return yours with a product replacement plan?
Chief Ediri is offline  
post #14 of 94 Old 01-07-2007, 10:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
cdub998's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Raleigh,nc
Posts: 974
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Only the HD for me. Don't care that much about hdmi.

Xbox 360 gamertag: Cdub998
PSN: cdub998
cdub998 is offline  
post #15 of 94 Old 01-07-2007, 10:26 AM
Member
 
chbak014's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by FootballDen View Post

Now there is an option, i could sell it to my dad for 300 and pay for the new xbox with hdmi

i hope my kids aren't like you.
chbak014 is offline  
post #16 of 94 Old 01-07-2007, 10:36 AM
Senior Member
 
Egret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Mason, MI
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cdub998 View Post

Only the HD for me. Don't care that much about hdmi.

Same for me. I'll pay for that. If my 360 craps out next December when my 2yr warranty runs out, I'll get another one then... and I'll get it from Costco.
Egret is offline  
post #17 of 94 Old 01-07-2007, 10:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
homerx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: ramsey, MN
Posts: 4,718
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Don't need HDMI on the xbox 360 at this point, I've got a stand alone HD-DVD player, dvd player that use HDMI already, mu TV would see no overall improvment using HDMI over commponet.
homerx is offline  
post #18 of 94 Old 01-07-2007, 11:21 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
ogbuehi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 4,038
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'll be buying it for the bigger HDD. The HDMI just adds options but I don't really need it at this point. You know though, something just occurred to me. Will you be able to upconvert DVD's via the digital output? That will really sway me to get one for that reason also.
ogbuehi is offline  
post #19 of 94 Old 01-07-2007, 11:30 AM
Member
 
r3plica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Sac CA
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Even though i just got my 360 in October, i will gladly buy the new hardware and delegate the old one to be a media center extender in either the computer room or the bedroom.
r3plica is offline  
post #20 of 94 Old 01-07-2007, 11:37 AM
Member
 
jw68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My TV only accepts 1080P through HDMI, I don't mind donating my current 360 to a family member. Besides, isn't HDMI the only way to pass DD+ and TrueHD audio to a receiver?
jw68 is offline  
post #21 of 94 Old 01-07-2007, 11:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
GR1MM's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 712
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I will trade in my 360 I have now towards the new one,I have a 1080P set so I need HDMI.When I trade in my original 360 how will I be able to transfer all my game saves and other data on the old hard drive to the new one???? I don`t have the money to buy a new 360 so the old 360 is gonna pay for part of it.

XBOX: xxx GR1MM xxx
PS3: GR1MM
GR1MM is offline  
post #22 of 94 Old 01-07-2007, 11:44 AM
Senior Member
 
randy5554's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew67 View Post

Only if it's cooler and quieter.

Seconded.
randy5554 is offline  
post #23 of 94 Old 01-07-2007, 11:45 AM
Member
 
Truckondo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Fountain Valley, CA
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a replacement plan on mine so I had to vote NO. Mine has minor issues at the moment but I can wait for the 2nd revision to replace it.
Truckondo is offline  
post #24 of 94 Old 01-07-2007, 12:13 PM
Senior Member
 
Kruly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The question should have been: "Will you rebuy the new xbox revision each year just like you would if you had a PC?"
Kruly is offline  
post #25 of 94 Old 01-07-2007, 12:15 PM
Member
 
Antiochus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Yes. Because I wanted a second one anyway for full screen co-op gaming.
Antiochus is offline  
post #26 of 94 Old 01-07-2007, 01:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
metalsaber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Western, Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,446
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Not for awhile. My current one works just fine.
metalsaber is offline  
post #27 of 94 Old 01-07-2007, 01:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
deez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Sacramento, Ca.
Posts: 2,271
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
But will it have a HD DVD drive as well?

XBOX Gamertag:deezusmusic
deez is offline  
post #28 of 94 Old 01-07-2007, 01:34 PM
Member
 
Naveed148's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I will be buying my first unit for this reason. One of the main reasons I held out so long. This, and a pricedrop, could go a far way in making me go over to the MS side
Naveed148 is offline  
post #29 of 94 Old 01-07-2007, 01:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
whityfrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,574
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
well microsoft screwed up in the long run intitially by not having built in hd movie playback capabilities. now theyve screwed up by not initially adding an hdmi output on their console. I have no need for hdmi or 1080p at the moment so i wont be getting this one. if my console ever dies again and needs a replacement, theyd better send me a new one for free with hdmi.
whityfrd is offline  
post #30 of 94 Old 01-07-2007, 01:46 PM
Member
 
Azn Tr14dZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'll only get it if Microsoft has an Upgrade Option for current owners. I just got my Xbox 360 a month ago, and I don't think it sucks (that they're releasing a new Xbox 360), but if I had known I would've waited.
Azn Tr14dZ is offline  
Reply Xbox Area

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off