Hl-s5087w question regarding 360 ... - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 01-16-2007, 02:08 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
saylor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When I run my xbox 360 in 1080p on VGA it looks not so good, jaggy ... On componet 1080p it looks AMAZING, why ?? When I run my 360 at 720p on VGA it looks AMAZING but bad on 1080p, does anyone know why ??

I read that 1080i, sometimes look better ... Is this true ?? When my VGA setting is set at 720p my TV upscales great, but 1080p is like it is down-scaling.

Sorry for all the confusion and questions.
saylor is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 01-16-2007, 05:53 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
saylor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bump
saylor is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 01-16-2007, 06:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
modiGTI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 782
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the same set. I've been using VGA for a few months now, but imo, it has less jaggies compared to component for me. What kind of settings are you using?

Live/PS3: NovembersChopin
modiGTI is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 01-16-2007, 07:11 PM
Member
 
andreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the 61" version of your TV. I've been running VGA since October and I've seen no difference in resolution between VGA and component for games.

When you use the VGA connection and hit "info" on the Samsung what does it display? Does it say that it's receiving a 1080p signal @ 60 Hz or something else?

Xbox Live: CaptCaveman
PSN: Captcaveman
Wii: some long number that I will never remember. Thanks Nintendo!
andreo is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 01-16-2007, 07:56 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
saylor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by andreo View Post

I have the 61" version of your TV. I've been running VGA since October and I've seen no difference in resolution between VGA and component for games.

When you use the VGA connection and hit "info" on the Samsung what does it display? Does it say that it's receiving a 1080p signal @ 60 Hz or something else?

Yes it says 1080p @ 60hz ... But like reflections and stuff don't look as good in 1080p, than they do in 720p with the TV upconverting.
saylor is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 01-17-2007, 07:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
teckademic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: san jose, ca
Posts: 1,820
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 45
can you confirm that it does accept 1080p through component? I am interested in buying this set soon.
teckademic is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 01-17-2007, 07:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
jhferry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have this set, how are DVDs on VGA because out of the box I think DVDs look like crap over component with the 360 on this set.
jhferry is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 01-17-2007, 07:38 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
saylor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhferry View Post

I have this set, how are DVDs on VGA because out of the box I think DVDs look like crap over component with the 360 on this set.

DVDs look Awesome, via VGA ... It upconverts them beautifuly.
saylor is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 01-18-2007, 08:50 AM
Senior Member
 
F355FTS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 270
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the HLS6187 yes dvd's over vga look almost like HD dvd's you have to get a VGA cable for this set.


Sounds to me like you might have a bad VGA cable. Mine looks much better with games on VGA set to 1080p vs component. Not a hugh diffrence but noticable.
F355FTS is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 01-18-2007, 09:36 AM
Member
 
andreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by teckademic View Post

can you confirm that it does accept 1080p through component? I am interested in buying this set soon.

The HL-Sxx87 series will accept 1080p through HDMI, VGA, and Component just fine.

Xbox Live: CaptCaveman
PSN: Captcaveman
Wii: some long number that I will never remember. Thanks Nintendo!
andreo is offline  
Reply Xbox Area

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off