Xbox 360 Elite (HDMI) Thread! - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 2409 Old 03-22-2007, 05:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
OnlookerDelay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rock Hill, SC
Posts: 1,179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 21
You've got to parse Microsoft's response to Eurogamer.com's inquiry about this carefully to decide whether Microsoft has confirmed or denied anything. Here's the response they got from Microsoft:

"We're aware of the rumours circulating on the Internet regarding a new version of Xbox 360, but we have made no official announcements and do not comment on rumours or speculation," Microsoft told Eurogamer this afternoon."

I think it's interesting that they say that they have "made no official announcements". To me that's almost a tacit admission that an announcement is forthcoming, they just havent' officially made it yet. It's not the firm refutation I would have expected from them if they had nothing brewing. I'm sure others see this differently.

"If the amount of views was how we judged the quality of a thread, then all we would have is a bunch of trolling fanboy threads."... Kysersose
OnlookerDelay is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 2409 Old 03-22-2007, 05:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
FrankJ.Cone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 7,993
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by spinksjinx View Post

This problem is already getting taken care of and you dont even have to get a new console...A patch will slow down the speed of the drive...Bad news is longer load times...Id rather turn my volume up a few notches.

IMO the fans are a little noisy. The new CPU should run cooler allowing the fans to be running slower as well. We stream all of our TV through the 360 and when its silent on the show there is the subtle sound of the fans going. Not a big deal but its there.

Frank J. Cone

XBox Live / Steam: FCONE

Please do not form any opinion of the content of this post, it is still in BETA.

FrankJ.Cone is offline  
post #63 of 2409 Old 03-22-2007, 06:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
properbostonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Newton, MA
Posts: 1,256
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I hope this isn't a repost. I just found this photograph.


properbostonian is offline  
post #64 of 2409 Old 03-22-2007, 08:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
TV Casualty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 665
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It would be foolish not to deny this if it were not true. This is the type of news that slows down sales because people are waiting for the new one. It's coming, they just can't tell us "officially" because they at least have to try to keep moving what's on the shelves right now.

I'm kind of torn on this. I'm not one of those "WHAT A RIPOFF FOR EARLY ADOPTERS!!!" people, but I'm disappointed that apparently Microsoft just out-and-out lied about the current XBox 360 being able to do HDMI, and I'm certainly not going to upgrade to something even more expensive than their high-end model when it looks great over VGA and I'm not begging for more hard drive room. Maybe once a deal shows up when the white elites (aka new premiums) come out I'll consider upgrading.

If they magically do come out with an HDMI adapter/dongle for the current 360, I'll gladly retract my statement. I don't see it happening though.

We do not train to be merciful here.
TV Casualty is offline  
post #65 of 2409 Old 03-22-2007, 08:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
timick1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Albany (area), NY
Posts: 644
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrankJ.Cone View Post

IMO the fans are a little noisy. The new CPU should run cooler allowing the fans to be running slower as well. We stream all of our TV through the 360 and when its silent on the show there is the subtle sound of the fans going. Not a big deal but its there.


Frank,

This is off-topic, but, how do you (and why) stream your TV shows through your 360? Just curious.

Thanks
timick1 is offline  
post #66 of 2409 Old 03-22-2007, 08:37 AM
 
assasyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Spring Texas
Posts: 2,993
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is good news.

Quote:
Originally Posted by teamxbox View Post


Ars Technica's Opposable Thumbs has the scoop on a data transfer cable that will ship with the new Xbox 360 Elite Edition (codenamed Zephyr) that will let you transfer data from your Xbox 360 Premium hard drive to the new one. An insider told Ars Technica:

I work for a large game distributor. MS disclosed this SKU to us a few weeks agodefinitely not a fake story. Price, features, color are all correct. MS has told us that the data will be transferred via some sort of cable that will be included with the unit. The cable will also be included w/ the 120GB drive that will be sold separately (price TBD).

assasyn is offline  
post #67 of 2409 Old 03-22-2007, 08:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
warcrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 794
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 17
If anyone is interested, we discuss the Elite in this episode:
http://www.playedpodcast.com/2007-03...ed-episode-23/
warcrow is offline  
post #68 of 2409 Old 03-22-2007, 08:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
257Tony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Syracuse
Posts: 2,012
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I think this is great news, now the people with those few sets that wont do 1080p over VGA are all set, I personally want one just for the black case. The bigger HDD and HDMI are just icing
257Tony is offline  
post #69 of 2409 Old 03-22-2007, 09:04 AM
Member
 
snudley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I've not finding any info about moving my old games off my old HDD to the Elite.

Does anyone know if it is possible?
snudley is offline  
post #70 of 2409 Old 03-22-2007, 09:12 AM
 
assasyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Spring Texas
Posts: 2,993
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by snudley View Post

I've not finding any info about moving my old games off my old HDD to the Elite.

Does anyone know if it is possible?

Dude are you serious? Look 3 posts up.
assasyn is offline  
post #71 of 2409 Old 03-22-2007, 09:27 AM
Member
 
Loserland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by otdl View Post

I think everyone here has a great point. The new 360 is geared towards the diehard fanboys who want the latest and greatest only, regardless of cost.


Some of us actually have TV's that are 1080P and only except 1080P via HDMI.....

Sony Pearl in my case...

So it is a little more than Fan Boys....

When you got $20,000 into a HT Room $500 isn't sheettt

I was just about to drop $1200 on a HD-DVd player.... now I don't have to.

Loserland
Loserland is offline  
post #72 of 2409 Old 03-22-2007, 09:33 AM
 
assasyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Spring Texas
Posts: 2,993
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Loserland View Post

Some of us actually have TV's that are 1080P and only except 1080P via HDMI.....

Sony Pearl in my case...

So it is a little more than Fan Boys....

When you got $20,000 into a HT Room $500 isn't sheettt

I was just about to drop $1200 on a HD-DVd player.... now I don't have to.

+ Eleventy bajillion.

SXRD owner here.
assasyn is offline  
post #73 of 2409 Old 03-22-2007, 09:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Anthony1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Posts: 6,079
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by Loserland View Post


I was just about to drop $1200 on a HD-DVd player.... now I don't have to.


So the fact that this has a HDMI output guarantees us lossless sound via the HD-DVD add on now? This does actually interest me, but I want this absolutely confirmed before I really get interested in getting one. I'll probably wait for the 65nm white one later this year anyways.
Anthony1 is offline  
post #74 of 2409 Old 03-22-2007, 10:19 AM
sb1
AVS Special Member
 
sb1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 7,328
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 152
Some of us would like to move our current 360 to a second room, and move the new and improved model into the main room. I was about to buy a second one, but if a new one might be coming, then I'm waiting around to see.

Stephen.

Chances are very good that I was drinking when I posted the above.

sb1 is offline  
post #75 of 2409 Old 03-22-2007, 10:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
EricM407's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 634
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TV Casualty View Post

I'm kind of torn on this. I'm not one of those "WHAT A RIPOFF FOR EARLY ADOPTERS!!!" people, but I'm disappointed that apparently Microsoft just out-and-out lied about the current XBox 360 being able to do HDMI,

They didn't outright lie though. Go back and read the various interviews where HDMI came up. I know that with every vague statement they made about HDMI there were people here and on other forums pointing out that they were avoiding giving a straight answer to a simple yes or no question for a reason.
EricM407 is offline  
post #76 of 2409 Old 03-22-2007, 10:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
isaidme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Waco,Texas
Posts: 982
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Great limited quantities! Now we all have to camp so that we can beat out all the low life scalpers.
isaidme is offline  
post #77 of 2409 Old 03-22-2007, 10:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
FrankJ.Cone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 7,993
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by timick1 View Post

Frank,

This is off-topic, but, how do you (and why) stream your TV shows through your 360? Just curious.

Thanks


All of our local channels are available in HD OTA. I got tired of keeping up with the 250G DVR the cable company provided and just put in a MCE PC a few years ago. So now I record OTA HD. I used to have the PC connected to the TV but now I just stream to the Projector, Plasma or my Sons HD CRT through 360's. Works very well.

Frank J. Cone

XBox Live / Steam: FCONE

Please do not form any opinion of the content of this post, it is still in BETA.

FrankJ.Cone is offline  
post #78 of 2409 Old 03-22-2007, 11:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
plasmalover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 529
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
To be honest, this is a real stupid move. It seems like a half-ass response to Sony's PS3. It wants to be next gen with HDMI and a bigger Hard Drive but it's missing one thing: HD-DVD! Now imagine you get the BLACK Xbox360 and the Add-on, but the Add-on is WHITE! It just doesn't make any sense.

They should either give up the HD-DVD idea or go all the way and support it 100% like Sony. Imagine you can get the Xbox360 Elite package with HDMI and 120GB for $480 or get the PS3 with blu-ray drive for $20, of course unless you are a diehard, the PS3 will get chosen. Really dumb move, IMO.

PSN ID: IamBuzzed, accepting all requests!
PS3 60GB on 42Px500U
Christmas wishlist: 58PX700U 1080P!
plasmalover is offline  
post #79 of 2409 Old 03-22-2007, 11:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
nicholc2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TV Casualty View Post

If they magically do come out with an HDMI adapter/dongle for the current 360, I'll gladly retract my statement. I don't see it happening though.

The current 360's video chip is not capable of outputting a digital signal (according to several reports I've seen on the subject). That's why they cannot simply come out with an HDMI adapter. The new 360 has a newer video chip that's capable of outputting a pure digital signal that can be sent to the HDMI port. (It actually has both so they will still be able to output over component and vga as well.)
nicholc2 is offline  
post #80 of 2409 Old 03-22-2007, 11:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
nicholc2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anthony1 View Post

So the fact that this has a HDMI output guarantees us lossless sound via the HD-DVD add on now? This does actually interest me, but I want this absolutely confirmed before I really get interested in getting one. I'll probably wait for the 65nm white one later this year anyways.

Actually, there are no reports on whether the HDMI that is in the new 360 will be ver 1.2 or 1.3. If it's 1.2, then it won't be lossless, but they should still be able to send 8 channel PCM via HDMI if they enable that feature. We'll have to wait til an "official" announcement that includes final specs to come out before we'll know that for sure.
nicholc2 is offline  
post #81 of 2409 Old 03-22-2007, 11:33 AM
Member
 
godsantagonist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
this is not for fanboys really...

this is for IPTV
godsantagonist is offline  
post #82 of 2409 Old 03-22-2007, 12:54 PM
 
briankmonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 13,959
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


So the fact that this has a HDMI output guarantees us lossless sound via the HD-DVD add on now?

This is what I'd lilke to know as well (if the system is indeed coming). Also, will they have matching HD-DVD add-on's then? Still would be an expensive combo, but if you need 120GB HDD and want HD-DVD's this would be a good route to take. I really was hoping for a $499 unit that integrated the HD-DVD and HDMI in one unit.
briankmonkey is offline  
post #83 of 2409 Old 03-22-2007, 01:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dbburns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 1,811
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by assasyn View Post

+ Eleventy bajillion.

SXRD owner here.

Me, too. Damn Sony's crippled VGA input!

Xbox/PS/WiiU gamertag: GoNats
Apple Game Center: iGoNats

dbburns is offline  
post #84 of 2409 Old 03-22-2007, 01:14 PM
Newbie
 
cntli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I, for one, would welcome and purchase an Elite 360.

My current 360 could go to my work for some down times between the long hours.

The 120GB hard drive would be appreciated and the HDMI would be great for my HP MD5880N DLP. Currently the max resolution I can get with the component cables on my display is 720p. With HDMI I would be able to get the full 1080p.

I hope it's true!
cntli is offline  
post #85 of 2409 Old 03-22-2007, 03:17 PM
 
IloveCircuitCity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sounds like M$ fanboys are wanting a all-in-one solution like the ps3. Enjoy your white add-ons with your black "Zephyr" LOL
IloveCircuitCity is offline  
post #86 of 2409 Old 03-22-2007, 03:28 PM
Member
 
dabilee01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Since no one's come out and asked, I'll do the honors.

PQ of Component VS PQ of HDMI.

...GO!

I just can't seem to be able to imagine the pq getting better than it already is on my hdtv. Is HDMI really going to break down any huge walls as far as graphics go?
dabilee01 is offline  
post #87 of 2409 Old 03-22-2007, 04:34 PM
Member
 
Loserland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dabilee01 View Post

Since no one's come out and asked, I'll do the honors.

PQ of Component VS PQ of HDMI.

...GO!

I just can't seem to be able to imagine the pq getting better than it already is on my hdtv. Is HDMI really going to break down any huge walls as far as graphics go?

Depends on the TV....

I have a 1080P TV that only excepts a 1080P signal via HDMI... So yes it will make a huge differance on HD-DVD.. I am not aware of any games in 1080P yet....so no real change there.....

But you should always supply your TV with it's native resolution and HDMI is my only option to do that in a progressive picture....

Loserland
Loserland is offline  
post #88 of 2409 Old 03-22-2007, 05:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BrandonJF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Loserland View Post

Depends on the TV....

I have a 1080P TV that only excepts a 1080P signal via HDMI... So yes it will make a huge differance on HD-DVD.. I am not aware of any games in 1080P yet....so no real change there.....

But you should always supply your TV with it's native resolution and HDMI is my only option to do that in a progressive picture....

I doubt it would make a "huge" difference on your tv unless your tv is terrible at deinterlacing a 1080i signal.

Pretty sure NBA Homecourt and Virtua Tennis 3 are both 1080p.
BrandonJF is offline  
post #89 of 2409 Old 03-22-2007, 05:14 PM
Newbie
 
troysm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm personally waiting one of these two things:
1)A price drop on the premium system
2) the 65nm processor to come out which supposedly will make the xbox run cooler and be more reliable

a 480$ xbox360 with hdmi doesn't interest me just because I don't have a good enough TV for it to even matter, plus a 120 gb harddrive would be absolutely useless to me. so hopefully one of these two things happen.
troysm is offline  
post #90 of 2409 Old 03-22-2007, 06:51 PM
Senior Member
 
wilson10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: OHIO
Posts: 209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't post too much in the game forums as I haven't been around here a lot, but this makes me a little upset. I purchased my 360 in January and now this. I had a 360 at launch and sold it last summer when the games out were pretty dull IMO. So I have missed out on a few titles that I am now loving, so in no way am I regretting it. BUT I have dropped a nice chunk of change on this thing and recently bought a HD DVD add-on. The thought of buying another Xbox had crossed my mind so we could have one in the living room and one in the basement or a bedroom. With the current state of the next gen dvd war it would be VERY tempting to purchase a 20gb PS3 JUST for Blu-ray. There are a lot of great movies being released on BR and since seeing King Kong I am hooked on high definition dvds.

I do not have a tv capable of 1080p (720p only) so component (haven't tried vga) is just fine by me. So, HDMI would benefit me how?

I am getting by just fine I think with the 20gb HDD. Microsoft told all of us when the 360 was announced that 20gb was PLENTY. Now they are adding 100gb? What the hell?? So why is my main question. I think the new chip and the color are awesome but why the other stuff with no HD DVD? Just makes no sense to me and really has me baffled.

Live: Nozzleman 216
PSN: Nozzleman_216
Fire Fighter IAFF Local 216 Ohio
Union Proud!
wilson10 is offline  
Reply Xbox Area

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off