Xbox 360 Elite (HDMI) Thread! - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 2409 Old 03-22-2007, 07:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BrandonJF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wilson10 View Post

I am getting by just fine I think with the 20gb HDD. Microsoft told all of us when the 360 was announced that 20gb was PLENTY. Now they are adding 100gb? What the hell?? So why is my main question. I think the new chip and the color are awesome but why the other stuff with no HD DVD? Just makes no sense to me and really has me baffled.

They are pushing the 360-as-media-center. With them delivering movies and tv shows via Live now, 20GB may not cut it for those who wish to start going that route.
BrandonJF is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 2409 Old 03-22-2007, 07:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
talbain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 5,015
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wilson10 View Post

Microsoft told all of us when the 360 was announced that 20gb was PLENTY.


http://www.anvari.org/fortune/Famous_Last_Words/20.html

and you believed them?

---Mr. Met---

J-E-T-S-JETS JETS JETS!!!!!!! --- LETS GO DE-VILS!!!!!!! --- LETS GO METS!!!!!!! --- LETS GO NETS!!!!!!!
talbain is offline  
post #93 of 2409 Old 03-22-2007, 08:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fjtorres's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2,474
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wilson10 View Post

I do not have a tv capable of 1080p (720p only) so component (haven't tried vga) is just fine by me. So, HDMI would benefit me how?

Is it literally 720p or nominally 720p? (As is 1024x768 or1366x768 native resolution)?
If it is *exactly* 720p, you could upscale DVDs via HDMI and get pretty good quality. If the overscan doesn't fuzz it up too badly.
If is is not literally 720p then you ought to look into the VGA cable instead; it'll let the 360 match your set's *native* resolution (with no overscan or scaling) instead of feeding it 720 and having the set overscan and scale it.

HDMI benefits mostly those with 1080p displays that have zero overscan modes. And those are few and far between.
But the masses wanted a 360 with HDMI and MS complied.
Can't say they don't respond... ;-)
fjtorres is offline  
post #94 of 2409 Old 03-22-2007, 10:17 PM
Senior Member
 
Rastor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Supposedly these are leaked publicity images:
http://www.consolas.com/noticias/937/galeria/
Rastor is offline  
post #95 of 2409 Old 03-22-2007, 11:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lacombo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sportman's Paradise
Posts: 1,036
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
this will be so funny if false, especially the way its been rumored (almost since the launch) then ripe for APRIL comes a mag and everyone jumps. they just forgot to ask how high LMAOD... if ya waited this long, might as well wait til christmas for the price drops and package deals.

its even funnier they stickied this from so many threads being made...

Cichlids are my HD
Technology is my hobby
PSN/LIVE: LaCoMBo78
lacombo is offline  
post #96 of 2409 Old 03-23-2007, 12:12 AM
Member
 
Drakaal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There are pictures of the Gloss Black Xbox 360 Here
Drakaal is offline  
post #97 of 2409 Old 03-23-2007, 12:56 AM
Senior Member
 
Badgerst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well- I asked this in a previously deleted thread. Does this finally mean those of us with sxrd's will be able to output games at 1080p?

I have the 50a2000 and so far sony has not played nice with ms products. Even vga. I just want the option to use my sets native resolution- till then 1080i still looks damn good over component.
Badgerst is offline  
post #98 of 2409 Old 03-23-2007, 04:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
thejokell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 2,950
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So what's the deal with the processor? 65nm? If so I may upgrade, if not I'm sticking with my current system...

Steam/XBL/PSN: thejokell
thejokell is offline  
post #99 of 2409 Old 03-23-2007, 05:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
properbostonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Newton, MA
Posts: 1,230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rastor View Post

Supposedly these are leaked publicity images:
http://www.consolas.com/noticias/937/galeria/

Thanks. I realize you can do just about anything these days with Photoshop but those pics are the most compelling yet. Especially the photo of the Elite box.

properbostonian is offline  
post #100 of 2409 Old 03-23-2007, 05:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
WilliamR's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 7,873
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by dabilee01 View Post

Since no one's come out and asked, I'll do the honors.

PQ of Component VS PQ of HDMI.

...GO!

I just can't seem to be able to imagine the pq getting better than it already is on my hdtv. Is HDMI really going to break down any huge walls as far as graphics go?

On a lot of TVs the HDMI input allows for more features to be enabled, more controls, etc. For example, one thing the HDMI port does on my TV that no other port does is to automatically size the picture. Also, and more importantly, a lot of Plasma TVs out there, mine included, only accept the 1080P signal via HDMI. So even though picture quality might be the same, its more important to have the HDMI to accept signals and features.

WilliamR is offline  
post #101 of 2409 Old 03-23-2007, 06:58 AM
 
assasyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Spring Texas
Posts: 2,993
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drakaal View Post

There are pictures of the Gloss Black Xbox 360 Here

Those are the best pictures so far. It's kinda hard to see the ports on the back.
assasyn is offline  
post #102 of 2409 Old 03-23-2007, 11:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
OnlookerDelay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rock Hill, SC
Posts: 1,153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drakaal View Post

There are pictures of the Gloss Black Xbox 360 Here

I liked the cabinet this guy has his equipment in... anybody have any idea who makes it?

I thought the pictures looked authentic, but who really knows what we're looking at here? And you have to wonder what someone who looks like your ordinary Joe Six-Pack is doing with one of these in his home!?

"If the amount of views was how we judged the quality of a thread, then all we would have is a bunch of trolling fanboy threads."... Kysersose
OnlookerDelay is offline  
post #103 of 2409 Old 03-23-2007, 12:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ultracat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,363
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Interesting story, but I won't be buying one. I may pick up one of the white ones near the end of the year if it is in fact quieter than the current ones. I don't care about HDMI and I don't care about a $200 120gb HD. I know it's AVS forum and all, but the PQ using VGA or component with the 360 looks great as far as I'm concerned.

XBOX 360 - KrazeeEyezKeith

PS4 - KrazeeKeith

ultracat is offline  
post #104 of 2409 Old 03-23-2007, 01:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
Shizelbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Washington State
Posts: 692
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I will be purchasing one.

XBox - Shizelbs

Shizelbs is offline  
post #105 of 2409 Old 03-23-2007, 01:10 PM
Member
 
Drakaal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
[quote=OnlookerDelay]I liked the cabinet this guy has his equipment in... anybody have any idea who makes it?
QUOTE]

it is Ikea, we sanded off the finish and refinished it. Technically it is a Coffee Table... Only thing I could find at the time that would hold a 61 inch tv.
Drakaal is offline  
post #106 of 2409 Old 03-23-2007, 01:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
OnlookerDelay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rock Hill, SC
Posts: 1,153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drakaal View Post

it is Ikea, we sanded off the finish and refinished it. Technically it is a Coffee Table... Only thing I could find at the time that would hold a 61 inch tv.

Cool! I really like the looks of it. I have an Ikea Markor, which I bought for my 42" Vizio plasma last year. I really liked it, but when I upgraded to a JVC HD-56FC97 it proved to be too tall. What you have there looks like the height I need. The finish looks great... you did a great job with that!

BTW, I couldn't see the HDMI port on your black XBox 360; could you zoom in a little tighter so we can see it? Seriously though, seeing those pix does tell me that the XBox 360 wouldn't look bad in black.

"If the amount of views was how we judged the quality of a thread, then all we would have is a bunch of trolling fanboy threads."... Kysersose
OnlookerDelay is offline  
post #107 of 2409 Old 03-23-2007, 01:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
thejokell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 2,950
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Pretty sure that's just a regular 360 that's been painted in a glossy black. When did he say it was the Elite?

Steam/XBL/PSN: thejokell
thejokell is offline  
post #108 of 2409 Old 03-23-2007, 02:17 PM
Member
 
Chubzilla06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ill be purchasing one
Chubzilla06 is offline  
post #109 of 2409 Old 03-23-2007, 03:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
OnlookerDelay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rock Hill, SC
Posts: 1,153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by thejokell View Post

Pretty sure that's just a regular 360 that's been painted in a glossy black. When did he say it was the Elite?

He didn't. I think he was showing off a Development model, and suggesting that the pics being shown (that aren't obvious Photoshop creations) thus far are of one of these. I hope he'll correct this if I'm wrong, because I'm not totally certain.

"If the amount of views was how we judged the quality of a thread, then all we would have is a bunch of trolling fanboy threads."... Kysersose
OnlookerDelay is offline  
post #110 of 2409 Old 03-23-2007, 04:56 PM
Member
 
Drakaal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I hve no HDMI Port... This is just a regular Xbox with a Black Case. I got mine from a place in Korea that is now out of busness, but You can get one just as good from Decal Girl
Drakaal is offline  
post #111 of 2409 Old 03-23-2007, 05:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
OnlookerDelay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rock Hill, SC
Posts: 1,153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drakaal View Post

So I hve no HDMI Port... This is just a regular Xbox with a Black Case. I got mine from a place in Korea that is now out of busness, but You can get one just as good from Decal Girl

Thanks for setting the record straight. It looks like a neat package, based on the screens you posted. Honestly though, in my case, it wouldn't make any difference about color the XBox 360. I have a Tech Craft CR60HW TV stand and it has a black fabric covered center (it passes plenty of air for circulation) bay door. You can't see the XBox 360 through the fabric, other than a faint glow of the LEDs.
IN order of preference, I'm interested in the Elite for:

1.) HDMI (need it for 1080p on my JVC HD-56FC97)
2.) 65nm processor architecture for cooler operation and higher reliability
3.) 120GB hard drive - I see larger blocks of downloadable content in the future

If this limited edition, black "Elite" doesn't use the 65nm architecture, I'll simply hold off and wait until the alleged new "Premium" package arrives which will use it.

"If the amount of views was how we judged the quality of a thread, then all we would have is a bunch of trolling fanboy threads."... Kysersose
OnlookerDelay is offline  
post #112 of 2409 Old 03-23-2007, 07:26 PM
Senior Member
 
Mark_Likes_Games's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Tehachapi, CA
Posts: 385
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do we really know if the 65nm processor version will be more reliable? I'm concerned that any changes will bring new problems. Once manufacturing gets into a stable groove, new changes tend to introduce problems - quality and design issues. At least at first. It sounds good on paper, but if the failure rate of the original design is going down, then it is probably what I'll go with... just pondering...

How DARE you question my ignorance!?!
Mark_Likes_Games is offline  
post #113 of 2409 Old 03-23-2007, 08:16 PM
Senior Member
 
steve68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There is no guarantee that it will fix all of the problems however a die shrink will produce less heat. As far as I know the chip architecture will be exactly the same just smaller so it would require less power which means it will produce less heat. I would venture a guess that most 360 failures are heat related, but that would be just a guess. I have my original December 2005 360 and it still runs like a champ. The first mod I did was put some little rubber feet under it to give it a little more breathing room from the bottom. I would probably buy a second 360 with the HDMI port, but I will wait for the 65nm chip version.
steve68 is offline  
post #114 of 2409 Old 03-24-2007, 01:50 AM
Member
 
dauthum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't know if this means anything, but the 2 Walmarts nearest to me have not restocked the premiums and both have been out for at least a few weeks now. Interpret it however you like, I'm hoping this is a sign that the rumors are true.
dauthum is offline  
post #115 of 2409 Old 03-24-2007, 06:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BrandonJF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dauthum View Post

I don't know if this means anything, but the 2 Walmarts nearest to me have not restocked the premiums and both have been out for at least a few weeks now. Interpret it however you like, I'm hoping this is a sign that the rumors are true.

Since this rumored Elite isn't even rumored to be a "replacement" for the Premium, I'm interpreting that as meaning that those 2 Walmarts just haven't re-stocked the premiums or they are sitting in the back.

There is no way the premiums would be phased out for this supposed "elite".
BrandonJF is offline  
post #116 of 2409 Old 03-24-2007, 06:50 AM
Senior Member
 
Furious Knight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 337
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Since this new model is sooooo "ELITE", will the problem of 1080p compatibility be fixed?
Furious Knight is offline  
post #117 of 2409 Old 03-24-2007, 07:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
OnlookerDelay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rock Hill, SC
Posts: 1,153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Furious Knight View Post

Since this new model is sooooo "ELITE", will the problem of 1080p compatibility be fixed?

If it's got an HDMI port, it will cure my 1080p compatibility problem. I take you're meaning VGA though? My set doesn't even have a VGA port.

"If the amount of views was how we judged the quality of a thread, then all we would have is a bunch of trolling fanboy threads."... Kysersose
OnlookerDelay is offline  
post #118 of 2409 Old 03-24-2007, 07:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
stevenmh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was planning on getting this. Until I heard (1) 65nm may not be in it, and (2) black is a limited run.

Let's say I buy it, then after the 'elite' runs its course and becomes the new white premium, my controller dies. I guess I have to buy a white controller for my black 360?

Better yet, let's say my BLACK 360 dies under warranty. It'll be hard for them to replace it when they're not making them anymore. So you spend $80 on black paint, then are forced to go back to white eventually if something breaks.

Seems better to wait for the white version at $400, after confirmed switch to 65nm, and put that $80 towards a game, a battery pack, and a can of black spray paint. I'm betting the 'elite' will become 'premium' by Halo 3 launch, so I can live without a little longer.
stevenmh is offline  
post #119 of 2409 Old 03-24-2007, 07:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
EricM407's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 634
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevenmh View Post

I was planning on getting this. Until I heard (1) 65nm may not be in it,

May not. But I bet it will. The switchover to 65nm would be the easiest time to add HDMI.

Quote:


and (2) black is a limited run.

Let's say I buy it, then after the 'elite' runs its course and becomes the new white premium, my controller dies. I guess I have to buy a white controller for my black 360?

Maybe they'll just sell controllers in your choice of white or black from now on. I think a lot of people would love to have a controller in another color.

Quote:


Better yet, let's say my BLACK 360 dies under warranty. It'll be hard for them to replace it when they're not making them anymore. So you spend $80 on black paint, then are forced to go back to white eventually if something breaks.

I'm pretty sure they can easily swap cases. In fact, I know they're doing this now (at least sometimes) with dead 360s swapped for refurb/new ones.
EricM407 is offline  
post #120 of 2409 Old 03-24-2007, 08:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
thejokell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 2,950
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by EricM407 View Post

May not. But I bet it will. The switchover to 65nm would be the easiest time to add HDMI.

What does one have to do with the other???

Steam/XBL/PSN: thejokell
thejokell is offline  
Reply Xbox Area

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off