Can the Xbox 360 Upconvert My Old Xbox Games? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 33 Old 04-19-2007, 05:32 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
SED <--- Rules's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 823
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Does the Xbox 360 upconvert regular Xbox games to 720p, 1080i, and 1080p? I appreciate it. Thanks!
SED <--- Rules is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 33 Old 04-19-2007, 05:37 PM
Member
 
Blacksmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think it only upconverts Halo 1 and 2. But I could be wrong. I still play Xbox games on my xbox.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.




To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Blacksmith is offline  
post #3 of 33 Old 04-19-2007, 05:39 PM
Senior Member
 
Saleen4971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hmmmmm upconverts halo 2 eh??? ill have to lok into this.....

LIVE: SAi33N

PSN: Sai33N

Wii: 3579 5525 9379 7004
Saleen4971 is offline  
post #4 of 33 Old 04-19-2007, 05:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Tenkaipalm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,324
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It upconverts every BC game except for The Thing.
Tenkaipalm is offline  
post #5 of 33 Old 04-19-2007, 06:00 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
SED <--- Rules's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 823
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Thanks for the answers guys!
SED <--- Rules is online now  
post #6 of 33 Old 04-19-2007, 06:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
257Tony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Syracuse
Posts: 2,012
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Some games receive special treatment for graphics, but not all.
257Tony is offline  
post #7 of 33 Old 04-19-2007, 10:09 PM
 
sjp777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Kalifornia Republic
Posts: 445
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There are a few xbox1 games that are 720p native. Warriors, army of darkness and bloodrayne2 off the top of my head.
sjp777 is offline  
post #8 of 33 Old 04-20-2007, 08:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mark_j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: nyc
Posts: 1,303
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'll tell you this, I played Halo 2 on original Xbox (with component) while I was waiting for my 360 to arrive and the next day when I played on Xbox 360 it looked much better.

When your first put in the game, it does some downloads via Xbox Live ("game profile" to run on 360?). The game is definitely unconverted, and it seemed like menus were done in high res backgrounds, and game graphics seemed much smoother (jaggies on Xbox 1) and runs at a higher frame rate, especially noticeable during the 'movie' sequences.

To be honest I feel playing Halo 2 on 360 has justified my purchase of the console, I will try out some other games and try to do some more comparisons also.

XBL : lowgn
mark_j is offline  
post #9 of 33 Old 04-20-2007, 08:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
ctiq21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 908
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
It was my understanding that the majority of games are upconverted to 720p and AA is added. The games i have played look a lot better.
ctiq21 is offline  
post #10 of 33 Old 04-20-2007, 09:51 AM
Senior Member
 
Mark_Likes_Games's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Tehachapi, CA
Posts: 385
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I specifically looked for this when I tested a 360 via component on my HD1000 projector. I did NOT see any AA added to Halo2. Can anyone post screenshots of the difference to really prove it? I do not intend to ditch my Xbox 1 - I believe the emulators introduce flaws sometimes, not improvements - but I don't know for sure how it all works. I am really interested in this - BC emulators do not magically enhance the graphics right? The game engine still produces the exact same images, and the emulate corrects the "instructions" to the newer GPU in the 360. Isn't that how it works?

By the way, scaling and upconverting are the same thing right? If you have a flat panel display with at least 720 horizontal lines, then you get it "upconverted" anyway if it scales the 360 output to fill the screen (or the output of a 480P signal for that matter). You will not get a higher resolution image, it will just be scaled. That's all upconverting is, as far as I know.

How DARE you question my ignorance!?!
Mark_Likes_Games is offline  
post #11 of 33 Old 04-20-2007, 10:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mark_j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: nyc
Posts: 1,303
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark_Likes_Games View Post

I specifically looked for this when I tested a 360 via component on my HD1000 projector. I did NOT see any AA added to Halo2. Can anyone post screenshots of the difference to really prove it? I do not intend to ditch my Xbox 1 - I believe the emulators introduce flaws sometimes, not improvements - but I don't know for sure how it all works. I am really interested in this - BC emulators do not magically enhance the graphics right? The game engine still produces the exact same images, and the emulate corrects the "instructions" to the newer GPU in the 360. Isn't that how it works?

I haven't posted any images yet at all of my TV, so I'll try find my camera to show the differences. It seemed to me very obvious to me from one day to next the differences. In any case, I don't think you can say that the BC is simply an emulator, I think they can optimize the games by pushing framerate/resolution/AA, especially since the architecture/design of original Xbox is 100% open to the team who works on the BC, and in the case of Halo 2 (Bungie), they also have complete access to software code, so I wouldn't rule out anything. I don't know for sure myself, so hopefully someone here can post something more definitive on how exactly it works.

XBL : lowgn
mark_j is offline  
post #12 of 33 Old 04-20-2007, 10:10 AM
Senior Member
 
talyler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Halo 2 is the only original Xbox game I played on my HDTV with the 360. My TV (info) says it's getting 1080p from Halo 2...so I suppose the 360 upconverts it.

btw it still looks like crap lol. Oh noes! I said something bad about a Halo game!

Xbox Live & PSN: talyler
talyler is offline  
post #13 of 33 Old 04-20-2007, 11:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
NoThru22's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 9,243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by sjp777 View Post

There are a few xbox1 games that are 720p native. Warriors, army of darkness and bloodrayne2 off the top of my head.

I don't believe any of the 720p games that are backwards compatible are rendered in 720p. They are probably rendered in 480p and upconverted to 720p and AA'd like all the other BC games. If you play them on the Xbox 1, you actually get a higher resolution.

Your mom is a classy lady!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
 / 
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

NoThru22 is offline  
post #14 of 33 Old 04-20-2007, 12:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ferrisg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Suburbs of Minneapolis
Posts: 2,522
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoThru22 View Post

I don't believe any of the 720p games that are backwards compatible are rendered in 720p. They are probably rendered in 480p and upconverted to 720p and AA'd like all the other BC games. If you play them on the Xbox 1, you actually get a higher resolution.

How would this mesh with Soul Calibur 2? It displays 16:9 at 480p and 4:3 at 720p, just like the original Xbox. If it were setting the game to 480p then upscaling, you'd expect to get 16:9 in both cases.
ferrisg is offline  
post #15 of 33 Old 04-20-2007, 12:43 PM
Member
 
rufo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
From the Xbox.com Q&A with Todd Holmdahl:

Quote:


Xbox: Will there be any benefits to playing original Xbox games on my Xbox 360 console?

Todd: Absolutely. One of the great things about gaming on Xbox 360 is the satisfaction of knowing that every game will be playable in high definition. We are now proud to reveal that this extends to the original Xbox games as well. Every original Xbox game will be upscaled to 720p and 1080i, and will take advantage of Xbox 360's anti-aliasing capabilities, delivering a picture that is clearer and crisper than anything available on Xbox.

rufo is offline  
post #16 of 33 Old 04-20-2007, 12:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mark_j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: nyc
Posts: 1,303
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by rufo View Post

From the Xbox.com Q&A with Todd Holmdahl:

Thanks for posting this Rufo (I knew I wasn't imagining things )

XBL : lowgn
mark_j is offline  
post #17 of 33 Old 04-20-2007, 12:53 PM
Member
 
rufo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark_j View Post

Thanks for posting this Rufo (I knew I wasn't imagining things )

No problem.

I also went back and dug up the post on bungie.net that first announced BC and upsamping/AA, if anyone's interested.
rufo is offline  
post #18 of 33 Old 04-20-2007, 01:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mark_j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: nyc
Posts: 1,303
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The bungie.net link describes (and shows) the differences, thanks again!

XBL : lowgn
mark_j is offline  
post #19 of 33 Old 04-21-2007, 04:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
NoThru22's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 9,243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 91
And it lies too!

Your mom is a classy lady!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
 / 
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

NoThru22 is offline  
post #20 of 33 Old 04-21-2007, 07:23 PM
Member
 
shiznit93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sjp777 View Post

There are a few xbox1 games that are 720p native. Warriors, army of darkness and bloodrayne2 off the top of my head.

you forgot the best one, Ninja Gaiden.
shiznit93 is offline  
post #21 of 33 Old 04-21-2007, 08:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ferrisg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Suburbs of Minneapolis
Posts: 2,522
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by shiznit93 View Post

you forgot the best one, Ninja Gaiden.

Ninja Gaiden is 480p.
ferrisg is offline  
post #22 of 33 Old 04-21-2007, 08:59 PM
Member
 
shiznit93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ferrisg View Post

Ninja Gaiden is 480p.

I'm playing it right now on my xbox 1 in 720p native...
shiznit93 is offline  
post #23 of 33 Old 04-22-2007, 10:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ferrisg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Suburbs of Minneapolis
Posts: 2,522
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by shiznit93 View Post

I'm playing it right now on my xbox 1 in 720p native...

You must've gotten the extra special copy. You're the first (and only) person to ever report this.
ferrisg is offline  
post #24 of 33 Old 04-22-2007, 02:48 PM
Member
 
shiznit93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ninja Gaiden has been 720p native from day one, I'm certainly not the only person that knows this. Set your Xbox to 720p and start the game, you'll see for yourself.
shiznit93 is offline  
post #25 of 33 Old 04-22-2007, 02:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ferrisg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Suburbs of Minneapolis
Posts: 2,522
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by shiznit93 View Post

Ninja Gaiden has been 720p native from day one, I'm certainly not the only person that knows this. Set your Xbox to 720p and start the game, you'll see for yourself.

I don't have an Xbox 1 anymore, but as I remember this was not the case. I can also find no links (let alone reputable ones) anywhere that reference this. I do still have Black, but there's not much way to tell what a game is rendered in with the 360. This was one of the bigs deals when Ninja Gaiden Sigma was announced (and stated to run at 720p60). If the original game were 720p, why would the new resolution matter?

Ninja Gaiden and Ninja Gaiden Black are, and always have been, 480p. If you've got some reputable link showing otherwise, I'd really like to see it.
ferrisg is offline  
post #26 of 33 Old 04-22-2007, 06:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chad473's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Comcast-Lancaster, PA
Posts: 2,269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
xbox.com reports it as 480p. I've never heard any claims that it was 720p.

xbox live/PSN: Chad473
chad473 is offline  
post #27 of 33 Old 04-22-2007, 07:39 PM
Senior Member
 
mngmikes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 350
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i don't know how many others look as bad but Burnout 3 Takedown looks like crap on the 360
mngmikes is offline  
post #28 of 33 Old 04-22-2007, 07:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DaverJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 6,666
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 440
Quote:
Originally Posted by ferrisg View Post

Ninja Gaiden and Ninja Gaiden Black are, and always have been, 480p. If you've got some reputable link showing otherwise, I'd really like to see it.

Correct... Ninja Gaiden and NGBlack are 480p on Xbox1, but on the 360 it is rendered at 480p and outputs at 720p.

There were only a small percentage of 720p games on the original Xbox -- of the biggies: Xmen Legends, the Tony Hawk Games, Freedom Fighters, Soul Caliber 2 (pillerboxed 4:3 at 720p), some sports games, and Enter the Matrix did 1080i... and a few others.

Console gamers curious/interested in PC gaming?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
DaverJ is online now  
post #29 of 33 Old 05-18-2008, 06:45 PM
Member
 
halfasleeps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
guys what does BC and AA mean?
halfasleeps is offline  
post #30 of 33 Old 05-18-2008, 07:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ultracat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,370
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 54
BC = Backwards Compatible
AA = Anti-aliasing

If you don't know what those two things are, I'd hit Wikipedia.

XBOX 360 - KrazeeEyezKeith

PS4 - KrazeeKeith

ultracat is offline  
Reply Xbox Area

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off