Quick question about the 360 and my vga connection. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-12-2007, 10:26 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Shoji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Mitsubishi WD-52631. I don't have a VGA connection on the back. It says PC-DVI. Now I have DVI connection on my video card on my pc and and I know you can just usually buy a vga to dvi adapter, which I already have, but what worries me is my television. In the manual it says "DO NOT CONNECT A TV VIDEO SOURCE TO THE PC-DVI INPUT."

Does that mean that I cannot connect my 360 to my television via the VGA cable?....even with the adapter? Or is that TV VIDEO SOURCE something else and if so what is a tv video source? A dvd player?

I'm just a little confused. Someone help me out if possible.
Shoji is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-12-2007, 05:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
257Tony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Syracuse
Posts: 2,012
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
They probably mean a cable box or a DVD player. It might work work if your set accepts DVI-I. pop and adapter on it and give it a try, it won't hurt anything. I would be surprised if it worked though...
257Tony is offline  
Old 06-12-2007, 05:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
formulanerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Colorado
Posts: 9,373
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
which version is your port?

you need to find out if the DVI on your set is digital or analog.


No trees were harmed forming this post, though many electrons were inconvenienced.
SERGEANT SERGEANT MASTER SERGEANT SHOOTER PERSON
Then:|A40|AX720|F1|K702|DT880|ES7|MS2i Now:|MS1|AD700|PC360|A30
formulanerd is offline  
Old 06-13-2007, 11:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chrisherbert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 5,863
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Some new TVs actually do have a DVI-I input, but they're still pretty rare. If you have the VGA-DVI adapter, give it a try.

Strange that it has that big warning about not connecting a video source to the DVI input -- maybe it doesn't have HDCP?
chrisherbert is offline  
Old 06-14-2007, 05:25 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Shoji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by formulanerd View Post

which version is your port?

you need to find out if the DVI on your set is digital or analog.

Its the first one, the DVI-I single link.
Shoji is offline  
Old 06-14-2007, 05:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
formulanerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Colorado
Posts: 9,373
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shoji View Post

Its the first one, the DVI-I single link.

ok, and you're not sure if the port accepts digital or analog? do you have the user manual? can you find it online? i'm guessing it accepts analog, because most sets that only want digital are gonna give you a DVI-D, so you cant even try and feed it analog.

No trees were harmed forming this post, though many electrons were inconvenienced.
SERGEANT SERGEANT MASTER SERGEANT SHOOTER PERSON
Then:|A40|AX720|F1|K702|DT880|ES7|MS2i Now:|MS1|AD700|PC360|A30
formulanerd is offline  
Old 06-14-2007, 02:58 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Shoji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by formulanerd View Post

ok, and you're not sure if the port accepts digital or analog? do you have the user manual? can you find it online? i'm guessing it accepts analog, because most sets that only want digital are gonna give you a DVI-D, so you cant even try and feed it analog.

I wasnt confused about analog or digital. I was confused about the manual. It told me not to connect a tv video source to the dvi port. I was asking if the 360 was considered a tv video source. I just wasnt exactly sure what they meant by tv video source.
Shoji is offline  
Old 06-14-2007, 05:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
formulanerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Colorado
Posts: 9,373
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
yea, i know what you meant, i just wasnt sure if by tv video source they meant analog or digital.

No trees were harmed forming this post, though many electrons were inconvenienced.
SERGEANT SERGEANT MASTER SERGEANT SHOOTER PERSON
Then:|A40|AX720|F1|K702|DT880|ES7|MS2i Now:|MS1|AD700|PC360|A30
formulanerd is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off