xbox and DTS HD? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-23-2007, 02:42 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
IsunderI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
can the xbox 360 output DTS HD high resolution audio? Either through HDMI or Toslink? Or does it just downmixes it to DTS core?
IsunderI is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-23-2007, 06:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ileff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Yuba City, CA
Posts: 1,983
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I think DTS-HD and DTS-MA include a 1500 kb/sec core. So thats what the 360 will send to your receiver.

PS3 can't decode those formats yet either, but it might be able to with a firmware upgrade.

xbl/gamecenter: leff4
psn/twitter: ileff
my app: video poker clock
ileff is offline  
Old 09-23-2007, 08:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Marc Alexander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 5,790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by IsunderI View Post

can the xbox 360 output DTS HD high resolution audio? Either through HDMI or Toslink? Or does it just downmixes it to DTS core?

No HDMI audio on the the 360. Toslink doesn't support DTS HD extensions. You will only get the DTS core via Toslink.
Marc Alexander is offline  
Old 01-20-2013, 01:07 PM
Newbie
 
joe_belfiore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So... does that mean that if you have a video file with DTS-HD, and are connected via HDMI cable, that you'll only get Stereo on your receiver? THat's what I seem to be seeing. If I connect an additional Toslink digital audio cable, will it work?

thx
joe_belfiore is offline  
Old 01-20-2013, 01:13 PM
Newbie
 
joe_belfiore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
To be clear -- my xbox is recognized as a multi-channel device just fine by my receiver... I see all 5 channels being used. However, I'm backing up some BD discs using handbrake, and the default settings for ipad/appleTV will include DTS-HD AAC and DTS-HD AC3 audio streams. When I play these files, I just get stereo on the xbox. That's what I'm trying to fix.

thx
joe_belfiore is offline  
Old 01-20-2013, 01:15 PM
Newbie
 
joe_belfiore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Actually -- I may have misspoke. It looks like Handbrake is mixing a DTS-HD track down to Dolby Pro Logic II in both AAC and AC3 audio streams. Seems like Dolby Pro Logic II should sure work, doesn't it?

thanks for any help!
joe_belfiore is offline  
Old 01-20-2013, 01:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
onlysublime's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Orange County
Posts: 4,905
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 582
it's pretty bad taste to take the name of someone else unless you actually are Joe Belfiore.
onlysublime is offline  
Old 01-23-2013, 07:47 PM
Newbie
 
joe_belfiore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am. smile.gif
joe_belfiore is offline  
Old 01-23-2013, 08:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pcweber111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: In a van, down by the river.
Posts: 3,568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 265
pcweber111 is offline  
Old 01-24-2013, 06:25 AM
Senior Member
 
RandomNinjaAtk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Maryland
Posts: 373
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by onlysublime View Post

it's pretty bad taste to take the name of someone else unless you actually are Joe Belfiore.

Quote:
Originally Posted by joe_belfiore View Post

I am. smile.gif

Quote:
Originally Posted by pcweber111 View Post

Mmhmm, suuuuuuuuure. tongue.gif

lolz biggrin.gif

"Live to Win!"
XBL: RandomNinjaAtk
www.stevenohare.com - Personal Blog
www.oharesites.com - Domain Names, Web Hosting, Email Hosting and more
RandomNinjaAtk is offline  
Old 01-26-2013, 12:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
almostinsane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 4,027
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by pcweber111 View Post

Mmhmm, suuuuuuuuure. tongue.gif

It says join date of 2004. Who had heard of Joe B then?

However, If the person really was Joe B he could have just pinged one of the internal MS DL's and got an answer a lot quicker.
almostinsane is offline  
Old 01-26-2013, 04:07 PM
Newbie
 
joe_belfiore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It never even occurred to me that signing in and asking a quesiton would generate a question! I just want to get my BD backups playing on my Xbox. smile.gif The 2004 join date is a good point. I was working on media center back in 2004, AVSforum was a natural place to hang out.

Honestly, I think AVSForum is more likely to give me a good answer than me trying to hunt down the right person at MS. Yes of course people at MS will know, but I was betting there's "crowd wisdom" here where somebody could just say "yeah, the latest dashboards never fixed this, so it still doesn't work" or "you need to encode to and you'll be fine" or "just don't try do it over the HDMI cable".

thanks again if anyone has info on this. (But I'm guessing maybe you folks don't since nobody has answered.)
joe_belfiore is offline  
Old 01-26-2013, 04:10 PM
Newbie
 
joe_belfiore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
PS - I have the shark codec pack installed on a Media Center PC... and when I tried playing the same video files through that (HDMI connection, same receiver), they also play in stereo. I was going to try the K-Lite codecs to see if that's any different. Not sure if this fact is helpful, but I thought I'd add a little extra info. Happy to run some tool that tells exactly what the audio stream(s) are.
joe_belfiore is offline  
Old 01-26-2013, 04:19 PM
Newbie
 
joe_belfiore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I ran MediaInfo on one of the files and it says the audio streams are as shown below. I would expect both Xbox and the PC (Shark codecs) to play the Audio #2 stream in 5.1 ... AC-3 should be fine, yes? Perhaps it's because it's 6-channel AC-3 and neither device knows what to do with the 6 channels? Any ideas?

thanks again for the help!


EXAMPLE 1
Audio #1
ID : 2
Format : AAC
Format/Info : Advanced Audio Codec
Format profile : LC
Codec ID : 40
Duration : 2h 18mn
Bit rate mode : Variable
Bit rate : 160 Kbps
Maximum bit rate : 269 Kbps
Channel(s) : 2 channels
Channel positions : Front: L R
Sampling rate : 48.0 KHz
Compression mode : Lossy
Delay relative to video : 83ms
Stream size : 158 MiB (3%)
Language : English
Encoded date : UTC 2013-01-05 15:03:49
Tagged date : UTC 2013-01-05 20:13:56

Audio #2
ID : 3
Format : AC-3
Format/Info : Audio Coding 3
Mode extension : CM (complete main)
Format settings, Endianness : Big
Codec ID : ac-3
Duration : 2h 18mn
Bit rate mode : Constant
Bit rate : 640 Kbps
Channel(s) : 6 channels
Channel positions : Front: L C R, Side: L R, LFE
Sampling rate : 48.0 KHz
Bit depth : 16 bits
Compression mode : Lossy
Delay relative to video : 83ms
Stream size : 633 MiB (13%)
Language : English
Encoded date : UTC 2013-01-05 15:03:49
Tagged date : UTC 2013-01-05 20:13:56


EXAMPLE 2



Audio #1
ID : 2
Format : AAC
Format/Info : Advanced Audio Codec
Format profile : LC
Codec ID : 40
Duration : 2h 32mn
Bit rate mode : Variable
Bit rate : 160 Kbps
Maximum bit rate : 259 Kbps
Channel(s) : 2 channels
Channel positions : Front: L R
Sampling rate : 48.0 KHz
Compression mode : Lossy
Delay relative to video : 22ms
Stream size : 174 MiB (3%)
Encoded date : UTC 2013-01-23 02:10:35
Tagged date : UTC 2013-01-23 08:43:07

Audio #2
ID : 3
Format : AC-3
Format/Info : Audio Coding 3
Mode extension : CM (complete main)
Format settings, Endianness : Big
Codec ID : ac-3
Duration : 2h 32mn
Bit rate mode : Constant
Bit rate : 192 Kbps
Channel(s) : 6 channels
Channel positions : Front: L C R, Side: L R, LFE
Sampling rate : 48.0 KHz
Bit depth : 16 bits
Compression mode : Lossy
Delay relative to video : 22ms
Stream size : 209 MiB (3%)
Encoded date : UTC 2013-01-23 02:10:35
Tagged date : UTC 2013-01-23 08:43:07
joe_belfiore is offline  
Old 01-26-2013, 04:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
almostinsane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 4,027
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I don't have the answer but if this was posted in the HTPC forum you may have a better chance of getting the correct answer.

Or ping the 'htpc' DL @ MS and keeping making Windows Phone awesome (err, more awesome)!
almostinsane is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off