The Official Rock Band Discussion Thread - Page 416 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #12451 of 12467 Old 03-06-2015, 04:34 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 18,731
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1559 Post(s)
Liked: 938
Quote:
Originally Posted by tampabuc View Post
This is great news!!!


I want the game and all new gear the moment it is released. I still have all the prior games and stand-alones on disk.


The best part is that all of the Xbox defectors (reasons still TBD) are totally screwed on prior DLC purchases. I mean who the hell ever purchased or did anything on a PS3 besides streaming media or watch Blu-ray? Plus, we all knew our huge prior investments were tied to the prior console. Just needed to call that out.

Why are they screwed? They'll get any DLC that they bought on the PS3; if they jumped from the Xbox to PS3 for RB playing then they lost all of their Xbox DLC anyway. (I did the reverse, but very early in my time playing RB, so I'd only bought a couple of dozen DLC songs on PS3 by that point)

Or are you referring to Xbox 360 RB players who decided to buy PS4s before or instead of Xbox Ones?.

I personally played the Uncharted titles and the Infamous games, and Rockband 2 and The Beatles Rock Band (for about 3 months) on my PS3, though I'll admit that I never did much else with it.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12452 of 12467 Old 03-06-2015, 04:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
tampabuc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 937
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 202 Post(s)
Liked: 183
No one in the history of gaming ever actually bought RockBand and purchased DLC on a PS3. Same rule applies to any other PS game last gen. Instant fact!


In the context of AVS Forum, that would be like choosing a no name DLP front projection 720i TV (not projector) over a Pioneer Kuro Plasma for the past decade or so, price being equal.
tampabuc is offline  
post #12453 of 12467 Old 03-06-2015, 04:52 PM
Bass Enabler
 
Scott Simonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 15,221
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1466 Post(s)
Liked: 1375
Lol @ 720i!

My Dual 18" LLT subs 120dB down to 10hz

 

Plan9Reloaded Co-host

Listen to the Plan9Reloaded Gaming and Technology Podcast (may contain NSFW language)

https://soundcloud.com/plan9reloaded/sets/podcast - direct pod link

http://plan9reloaded.com/site/ - main website

Scott Simonian is offline  
post #12454 of 12467 Old 03-09-2015, 10:37 AM
Senior Member
 
puckhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Amazing news. I don't know if I'm diving in or not, but exciting nonetheless. So, will RBN be coming back?
puckhead is offline  
post #12455 of 12467 Old 03-17-2015, 07:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RafaelSmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando Fl
Posts: 1,379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Curious how they will handle HDMI a/v lag. I know for me it was pretty bad in RB3 & Rocksmith on the 360 but I had the option to go analog which fixed it.
RafaelSmith is offline  
post #12456 of 12467 Old 03-17-2015, 09:28 AM
Senior Member
 
Christopher_H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by RafaelSmith View Post
Curious how they will handle HDMI a/v lag. I know for me it was pretty bad in RB3 & Rocksmith on the 360 but I had the option to go analog which fixed it.
Even when you use the in-game calibration tool? I used HDMI with no problems.

Xbox Live Gamertag: TurdFerguson64
PSN Gamertag: TurdFerguson_64
Christopher_H is online now  
post #12457 of 12467 Old 03-17-2015, 10:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RafaelSmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando Fl
Posts: 1,379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by Christopher_H View Post
Even when you use the in-game calibration tool? I used HDMI with no problems.
Yeah was a pain....calibration helped some but switching the 360 to analog audio got rid of all the problems and was easier.

I have heard of several others not having any issues with HDMI so maybe its something with my AVR and/or TV.
RafaelSmith is offline  
post #12458 of 12467 Old 03-17-2015, 10:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
garciab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Princeton, TX - USA
Posts: 1,127
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 38
I had no calibration issues through HDMI on PS3 or Xbox. Or maybe I did and it explains why I suck at the game? Or maybe I just suck at the game?

bg
garciab is offline  
post #12459 of 12467 Old 03-17-2015, 10:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RafaelSmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando Fl
Posts: 1,379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by garciab View Post
I had no calibration issues through HDMI on PS3 or Xbox. Or maybe I did and it explains why I suck at the game? Or maybe I just suck at the game?

Yeah tried using that excuse as well..........until I switched to analog audio that eliminated the lag.....yet the suckage remained
RafaelSmith is offline  
post #12460 of 12467 Old 03-17-2015, 03:20 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 18,731
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1559 Post(s)
Liked: 938
Quote:
Originally Posted by RafaelSmith View Post
Yeah tried using that excuse as well..........until I switched to analog audio that eliminated the lag.....yet the suckage remained

This isn't Rocksmith--it's Rockband. There's no real guitars and no sound to sync with the running chart. The game just needs to know what you're seeing and hearing when you make the performance gesture (i.e., hit the strumbar); I've never had a problem getting that properly set using auto-calibration with the sensors on one of the plastic Strats.

Even in Rocksmith I didn't have a problem with lag. Some people don't with their set-up (when I stated this in the RS thread someone refused to believe me); in the RS forum someone said that he didn't have a problem with HDMI lag and the RS team rep replied that he didn't in one of his console+AVR+TV set-ups at home, but he did in another.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
post #12461 of 12467 Old 03-18-2015, 07:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RafaelSmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando Fl
Posts: 1,379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post
This isn't Rocksmith--it's Rockband. There's no real guitars and no sound to sync with the running chart. The game just needs to know what you're seeing and hearing when you make the performance gesture (i.e., hit the strumbar); I've never had a problem getting that properly set using auto-calibration with the sensors on one of the plastic Strats.

Even in Rocksmith I didn't have a problem with lag. Some people don't with their set-up (when I stated this in the RS thread someone refused to believe me); in the RS forum someone said that he didn't have a problem with HDMI lag and the RS team rep replied that he didn't in one of his console+AVR+TV set-ups at home, but he did in another.
Yeah for me it was far worse with Rocksmith...with guitar outputting to both the AV system and a amp I could very easily here how off things were. With RB I could just force myself to hit the strummer when I knew it needed to be instead of going by the visual. One way I knew things were off was when I tried to do a song in RB with sound off and just hit the strummer when the visual cue indicated I should.
RafaelSmith is offline  
post #12462 of 12467 Old 03-18-2015, 07:27 AM
Member
 
Jack Rainville's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 26
I have a 360 dedicated to Rock Band connected through RGB and analog stereo. For some odd reason with RB1 and 2 my calibration settings was zero. I never had to touch a thing and it worked perfectly. With RB3 I found I suddenly sucked at playing and I suspected it must be a lag issue since the day before I'd been playing RB2 just fine. I messed around with calibration and then it started to work perfectly again. That was when I first realized the real problem with lag. During the free form parts with the drums the sound was not synching up right and it was awful. I had to turn off the option to hear myself during drum fills.

I play Rocksmith on the same 360 and I've never had any lag issues with that one.
Jack Rainville is offline  
post #12463 of 12467 Old 03-18-2015, 11:09 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 18,731
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1559 Post(s)
Liked: 938
I guess that I should count myself as lucky. I know that in Rocksmith lag can be problematic, but I didn't realize that people had trouble getting it right in Rock Band.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
post #12464 of 12467 Old Yesterday, 08:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CoreyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 2,361
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Lag was always pretty intolerable as a singer. And yet the game is still enjoyable.

XBox: King Nuthin
CoreyM is offline  
post #12465 of 12467 Old Yesterday, 08:54 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
On my old 39" Sanyo I actually got away with a zero-lag calibration, versus a fairly hefty offset on my oldER Vizio. I never thought that TV had particularly low input lag so I wonder what the deal was
R-Dubya is offline  
post #12466 of 12467 Unread Yesterday, 11:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CoreyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 2,361
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Video lag isn't the issue with vocals, audio is. There are ways to minimize it but the USB mic also has some lag, by the time it comes back through the speakers it can be quite off putting. Especially if you are singing to something that already has some lag. 15ms quickly becomes 45. Then throw in the video lag - which is compensated for, but not with the tune meter so wavy notes can be really tricky. It's a large part of why I find the high scoring singers in the game to be downright unlistenable. I can 100% a ton of songs on expert but I still try to sing them as intended. But even then I had to quit playing when I was singing in my regular band because I developed the habit of singing ahead of the beat to compensate for the game.

XBox: King Nuthin
CoreyM is offline  
post #12467 of 12467 Unread Today, 12:47 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 18,731
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1559 Post(s)
Liked: 938
I hadn't considered singing; eliminating lag with that is the same problem as in Rocksmith, with it showing you something on the screen and then listening for your response.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Xbox Area

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off