Optical cable jack loose on 360? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 Old 01-09-2008, 08:54 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
xtremesniper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I wasn't sure if this is because of my cable or the jack itself since I only have one cable to try. It seems that the optical jack on the 360 is fairly loose. It clicks in as if to lock, but if I put any pressure on the cable in an outward direction, it pops right out.

On the other hand, the jack going into my receiver clicks and locks in completely solid. Has anyone else experienced something similar?
xtremesniper is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 Old 01-09-2008, 08:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
Replicant Nexus6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Woonsocket,RI
Posts: 549
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, I have. Same issue. Fits snugly on the receiver, but loosely on the Component cable interface. If you're not careful, you'll drop audio sometimes if you've jiggled it around without knowing. I have first generation(not even sure if they come in "generations") Xbox component cables. Maybe the later generation ones are better, but someone else would have to confirm.

Gamertag= Nexus976lives
PS3= Nexus976
Wii= Be serious, now....
Replicant Nexus6 is offline  
post #3 of 15 Old 01-09-2008, 09:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mproper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Palmyra, PA
Posts: 7,043
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I'll have to check mine when I get home because I do get audio dropouts once in awhile. Maybe that's what's wrong.
mproper is offline  
post #4 of 15 Old 01-09-2008, 09:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
maximuslcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,934
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a premium system but with HDMI so I opted to purchase the MS hdmi cable with optical dongle as opposed to the component cable hack. I havent had any issues and have had no sound dropout. Also my x box or cables really never get moved but it is firmly locked in place.

xbox live GT: xXmaximus prime
PSN: maximus_rr
I have to go, I have a meeting with the bobs, uhhh I wasnt aware of any meeting......yeah they called me at home
maximuslcd is offline  
post #5 of 15 Old 01-09-2008, 09:32 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
xtremesniper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hmm interesting that I'm not the only one. Well for the time being I haven't noticed any drop-outs, but I'll keep an ear out.
xtremesniper is offline  
post #6 of 15 Old 01-09-2008, 10:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Morkeleb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Unknown
Posts: 1,066
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Also make sure the rubber boot is removed from the end of the cable. It has been know to get left on which can cause a loose fit and audio dropouts.

Disclaimer:
The words above are based on loose facts mixed with my opinion, the latter of which is subject to change.

Gamertag Morkaleb
PSN Archathema
Morkeleb is offline  
post #7 of 15 Old 01-09-2008, 10:26 AM
Member
 
OpenMindGamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This has been a problem since launch, if you google it you will definately find you are not alone with this problem! Seems some cable brands fit better than others too.
OpenMindGamer is offline  
post #8 of 15 Old 01-09-2008, 11:34 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
xtremesniper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ah alright. Well I'm definitely sure the rubber boot is off, as it was very obvious that it was attached when I unpacked it. I guess I'll just have to live with it.
xtremesniper is offline  
post #9 of 15 Old 01-10-2008, 05:21 AM
Senior Member
 
Yuss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by xtremesniper View Post

I wasn't sure if this is because of my cable or the jack itself since I only have one cable to try. It seems that the optical jack on the 360 is fairly loose. It clicks in as if to lock, but if I put any pressure on the cable in an outward direction, it pops right out.

On the other hand, the jack going into my receiver clicks and locks in completely solid. Has anyone else experienced something similar?

I have the MS cables with my elite, and I have the same issue. The toslink cable will easily pop out when I move the Xbox.
Yuss is offline  
post #10 of 15 Old 01-10-2008, 05:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
sethhobrin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 861
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got my elite yesturday. Same issue. I had a toslink cable laying around and it wouldn't even click in. It wanted to but then would pop out. I went to best buy and got a new cable and that one at least snaps in but if I jerk it around or move the xbox it pops out very easily. I am buying a new one from monoprice and returning the best buy one(becuase they raped me on price).

Best advice. Don't move your xbox once it is in.

| XBOX360 - headshotwi | PS3 - headshotwi |
| Klipsch RF-82, RS-62, RC-64 | HSU ULS-15 DualDrive | Onkyo PR-SC5507P| Panasonic TC-P65V10 | Emotiva XPA-5 & UPA-2 |
sethhobrin is online now  
post #11 of 15 Old 01-10-2008, 06:03 AM
 
darklordjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 7,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Welcome to the wonderful world of Toslink. Loose connection isn't an issue with the Xbox, but with the Toslink jack-type in general. Rather dumb too, since digital coax provides the exact same functionality with a far simpler and more secure connection type.
darklordjames is offline  
post #12 of 15 Old 01-10-2008, 07:36 AM
Senior Member
 
govschmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 462
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There were some threads on toslink that fit well on the 360. Accoustic research and madcatz fit snug, as well as some othres I don't recall. Many others had a loose fit, for some reason. I use AR and and it has been fine.
govschmo is offline  
post #13 of 15 Old 01-10-2008, 08:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mproper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Palmyra, PA
Posts: 7,043
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Mine was loose. I just grabbed some duct tape rather than mess around with buying a new cable. Duct tape...truly one of God's masterpieces.
mproper is offline  
post #14 of 15 Old 01-10-2008, 08:36 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
xtremesniper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Haha well mine does a slight "click" that pretends it went in, but yeah once I move it too much it will pop out. This is enough for me for the time being since the only time I move my TV is when I need to get to the back, and that doesn't tend to happen unless I'm putting something new in or taking something out.

The toslink design doesn't seem to be terrible. At least on the receiver side it has a solid click and lock connection.
xtremesniper is offline  
post #15 of 15 Old 01-10-2008, 09:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
Skippman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: St. Louis MO USA
Posts: 618
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Using a monster cable with mine, doesn't hold. One of my main reasons for going Elite.

Please comment on my home theater and bedroom theater projects!
Skippman is offline  
Reply Xbox Area



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off