Easiest Hack to use HDMI cable & optical output on your 360 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-07-2008, 01:07 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Jason Merrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Woodland Hills, CA
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
http://www.chadledford.com/?p=50

Found the link through Google. Took me 30 seconds to pry apart the component video cable connector that came with my 360. Once the plastic housing is gone, the two cable coexist very nicely.

Jason Merrick is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-07-2008, 01:10 AM
 
bkchurch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,879
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yea we've known about this for a good half year at least. Still always nice to post again for all the new HDMI 360 owners looking for a way to get out of buying MS's rip-off $50 cable and dongle.
bkchurch is offline  
Old 02-07-2008, 01:59 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Jason Merrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Woodland Hills, CA
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I kind of figured that might be the case, but when I saw the Monoprice VGA thread and people were still talking in that thread about buying thinner cables so they could use both the HDMI and the optical, I figured I'd post my google-find.
Jason Merrick is offline  
 
Old 02-07-2008, 02:40 PM
 
bkchurch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,879
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Merrick View Post

I kind of figured that might be the case, but when I saw the Monoprice VGA thread and people were still talking in that thread about buying thinner cables so they could use both the HDMI and the optical, I figured I'd post my google-find.

Yea, it's always helpful. I noticed when I did this though the metal housing was still applying pressure on the HDMI cable which bothered me immensely considering how easily HDMI ports like to break. A few of us have found you can tear the top of the metal housing off and bend the connector up and all will be well.
bkchurch is offline  
Old 02-08-2008, 07:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
maximuslcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Trying to get to FL
Posts: 2,072
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 83
I'm not sure why but my 360 looks better going through component at 1080p rather than hdmi, I added an hd-dvd player at christmas and I have a premium with hdmi. I noticed the difference immed that things weren't as clear as they were, but if I wanna watch my hd-dvd's in 1080p I have to stay hdmi. BTW I play on a 52" sharp aquos 1080p lcd

I work to live and live for the beach.
Amateur HT enthusiast.
Samsung 65KS8500/Onkyo 656 AVR, Dolby 5.1, Samsung UBD 8500 4K blu Ray player
Sharp Quatron 3D 60" Onkyo 705 Bonus room
Sharp Quatron 60" Bedroom
maximuslcd is offline  
Old 02-08-2008, 07:06 AM
Senior Member
 
juggy4805's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Lexington Park MD
Posts: 209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm also going to modify a component cable to allow me to use HDMI. My question is can I cut off the unused portion of the cable(component video and rca audio) and only have the optical audio cable and HDMI coming from my X360. The big cable hanging on there for no reason irks me.
juggy4805 is offline  
Old 02-08-2008, 10:26 AM
Senior Member
 
Caswell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 312
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bkchurch View Post

Yea we've known about this for a good half year at least. Still always nice to post again for all the new HDMI 360 owners looking for a way to get out of buying MS's rip-off $50 cable and dongle.

The sad thing is that your average consumer probably thinks a $50 HDMI cable w/ dongle is a great deal considering the prices in the big box stores. Best Buy has a $100 Psyclone "premium" HDMI cable sitting on the next peg in my Best Buy.
Caswell is offline  
Old 02-08-2008, 02:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JonDotCom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 1,315
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by juggy4805 View Post

I'm also going to modify a component cable to allow me to use HDMI. My question is can I cut off the unused portion of the cable(component video and rca audio) and only have the optical audio cable and HDMI coming from my X360. The big cable hanging on there for no reason irks me.

Yes, you simply follow the wires and pull the wire/pins out, so you're left with just the metal assy and attached optical jack.

1080p, where marketing genius and science fiction collide!
JonDotCom is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off