My Xbox 360 Elite no longer sends 5.1 audio over HDMI - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 113 Old 02-23-2009, 10:45 AM
Newbie
 
digzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a : Sony STR-DG910 And Sony KDL-V32A12U And Xbox 360 Elite

I've been tring to figer out for a long time why I can't get dolby digital from my xbox to my Sony amp.

I turned my tv by off chance to see what would happen, and I got dolby digital. This is so messed up for microsoft to not fix a small thing like this......I get no problems with My Ps3 Thou......not at all....

Has anybody else had this same problem?
digzz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 113 Old 02-23-2009, 11:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ripeer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Diggzz since it works when you turn your tv it maybe a passthrough setting somewhere.

They tried fixing it and didn't work. I don't understand what the big problem is to someone to run an opitical Cable.
Yes it should work on HDMI
No you shouldn't have to run an opitical cable
Yes the PS3 (as mine, and I've heard) has few issues with HDMI audio.
But is it such a big deal to head over to www.monoprice.com and spend $12 and not worry about the issue anymore?
Ripeer is offline  
post #63 of 113 Old 02-23-2009, 01:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
257Tony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Syracuse
Posts: 2,012
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Try turning on your devices in different orders, that may help with the HDMI handshake issues. Typically the best way is AVR>TV>XBOX 360.
257Tony is offline  
post #64 of 113 Old 02-23-2009, 02:26 PM
Member
 
genstruktur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Göteborg - Sweden
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well it solves the problem for me examlpe but i think in year 2009 you should be able to get this working without doing so.
genstruktur is offline  
post #65 of 113 Old 03-05-2009, 06:24 AM
Newbie
 
jumboshrimp1837's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Since downloading the latest update, I havn't had any issues over hdmi detecting 5.1. So if you've changed your config to using an optical cable for your sound, and youve downloaded the update. You may just want to check your hdmi. Mine works great... Now if only I could get rid of the red flashes. hmmmm
jumboshrimp1837 is offline  
post #66 of 113 Old 03-27-2009, 10:56 AM
Newbie
 
heard006's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ripeer View Post

Diggzz since it works when you turn your tv it maybe a passthrough setting somewhere.

They tried fixing it and didn't work. I don't understand what the big problem is to someone to run an opitical Cable.
Yes it should work on HDMI
No you shouldn't have to run an opitical cable
Yes the PS3 (as mine, and I've heard) has few issues with HDMI audio.
But is it such a big deal to head over to www.monoprice.com and spend $12 and not worry about the issue anymore?

I have this exact same issue. However, I am not using HDMI---I use the VGA connector and an optical cable. My 360 will not play any 5.1 at all. It almost seems like this happened with the new interface. It used to always be in 5.1, but if I leave the settings for Dolby Digital, everything is silent.

Any ideas?
heard006 is offline  
post #67 of 113 Old 03-27-2009, 11:01 AM
Senior Member
 
amb7247's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 485
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
rockband by default will do stereo unless you specify in the options to do 5.1

Xbox Live: ShadyFusion23

PSN: Nukleard1sa5t0r

amb7247 is offline  
post #68 of 113 Old 03-27-2009, 11:09 AM
Senior Member
 
amb7247's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 485
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
problem with HDMI is there isn't a set standard for it. Yet it continues to change and evolve. See 1.3b. I blame tv manufactuers to push for high def content and with a cable that is not ready as a standard. But yet it is forced on us to use it because of the equipment we buy to make it all work.

Xbox Live: ShadyFusion23

PSN: Nukleard1sa5t0r

amb7247 is offline  
post #69 of 113 Old 08-08-2009, 08:26 AM
Member
 
minimalist1969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is definitely still an issue as of August 2009. I just got my first surround system and I noticed Halo 3 was in all channel stereo mode and dolby digital was not even an option when I toggled through the surround modes. Strange.

I have a regular Xbox 360 (fully updated) connected with HDMI to my Onkyo 706 and then HDMI on to my TV. The first time I exited the game and fiddled with the sound setting in the dashboard digital surround seemed to take but then switched back to stereo as soon as I restarted Halo. The second time I fiddled with the settings the digital 5.1 mode remained even after the game started.

Very weird indeed. Given my Xbox is almost 2 years old and this is still happening after a gazillion updates seems like a major oversight on MS's part.
minimalist1969 is offline  
post #70 of 113 Old 08-26-2009, 02:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Doug Schiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Add me to the list.
I just bought a new LED TV with plenty of HDMI inputs.
I use a HDMI Sony receiver, one input is the PS3, the other is a HD DVD player.
I used to use the Xbox with the PC input and optical.
Now I am hooking the HD DVD's HDMI into my new (few months old) Red Res Evil Elite Xbox.
No matter what setting I change on the dashboard, my Sony receiver is only showing a stereo signal.
The PS3 works 100%, not only doing 5.1 but all the hi def audio as well.
Using the included dongle for optical is not preferable option because if I switch of the HDMI 2 on the receiver, I lose the video part.
My very workable work around is to go back to the PC input, I still get 1080p and optical works as advertised but I would have thought the HDMI 5.1 was a slam dunk.
Doug Schiller is offline  
post #71 of 113 Old 09-12-2009, 02:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sundull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: GA
Posts: 1,027
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think I finally figured out why I can't get 5.1 Dolby Digital. I have an Xbox 360 connected to an Onkyo TX-SR805 receiver via HDMI for both audio and video. The receiver is connected to a JVC DLA-RS1 projector via HDMI. I found out if I just have the receiver and the 360 on, I can get full 5.1 Dolby Digital surround sound. However, once I turn the projector on, only the front two speakers produce sound. Which would be the culprit: the projector or the receiver?

Feel free to ask any questions. Thanks in advance.

EDIT: I figured it out. There is an option in the receiver setup menu under "Hardware Setup" where HDMI Audio Output was set to "On." I set it to Off and now the receiver shows Dolby Digital.
Sundull is offline  
post #72 of 113 Old 09-13-2009, 06:55 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 22,060
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 984 Post(s)
Liked: 834
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sundull View Post

I think I finally figured out why I can't get 5.1 Dolby Digital. I have an Xbox 360 connected to an Onkyo TX-SR805 receiver via HDMI for both audio and video. The receiver is connected to a JVC DLA-RS1 projector via HDMI. I found out if I just have the receiver and the 360 on, I can get full 5.1 Dolby Digital surround sound. However, once I turn the projector on, only the front two speakers produce sound. Which would be the culprit: the projector or the receiver?

Feel free to ask any questions. Thanks in advance.

EDIT: I figured it out. There is an option in the receiver setup menu under "Hardware Setup" where HDMI Audio Output was set to "On." I set it to Off and now the receiver shows Dolby Digital.

That would do it. That should be the first thing that people check when having this problem.

40TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #73 of 113 Old 09-13-2009, 03:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ripeer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 46
I spare the story but found after the last update and NOT having xbox hooked up the reciver when I reconnected I have gotten HDMI audio ever since.
It seemed to have change some number deep in the menu to another number.
Ripeer is offline  
post #74 of 113 Old 09-26-2009, 09:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
Raptor007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Seattle, WA, USA
Posts: 647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Just chiming in with the same problem. I have yet another set of completely different equipment... this is definitely the Xbox's fault.

In my old setup, the Xbox 360's HDMI went to a Samsung LCD TV and its audio was connected via optical to a Denon AVR-3300. Now I have everything going to a Denon AVR-3808CI via HDMI, and the 5.1 audio is hit-and-miss. Fortunately it does seem to output Pro Logic II when it's stuck in stereo mode, so I still get surround sound, but I'd rather fix the Dolby Digital 5.1 problem.

Going to the Digital Output setting and changing it to Stereo, then back to Dolby Digital does seem to fix the problem temporarily. Has anyone found a permanent fix?

I'm thinking if there's no other way, I may just run my audio separately to the receiver via optical. With the newer Denon receivers, you can assign both an HDMI input and an SPDIF digital input to the same label.

Samsung BD-UP5000 (1.3), Samsung 4671 (1013.1), Denon AVR-3808CI, HTD Level 3 5.1
Denon AVR-3300, Denon PMA-700V, Advent Loudspeakers
Raptor007 is offline  
post #75 of 113 Old 09-26-2009, 09:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ripeer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Raptor007 can you run the HDMI to the reciver, and then a HDMI to your TV?
Ripeer is offline  
post #76 of 113 Old 09-27-2009, 01:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
Raptor007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Seattle, WA, USA
Posts: 647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ripeer View Post

Raptor007 can you run the HDMI to the reciver, and then a HDMI to your TV?

Sorry, maybe I wasn't clear enough; that's exactly what I'm doing.

Old setup:
Xbox 360 --HDMI--> Samsung HDTV
Xbox 360 --optical--> Denon AVR-3300

Current setup:
Xbox 360 --HDMI--> Denon AVR-3808CI --HDMI--> Samsung HDTV

What I'm considering doing:
Xbox 360 --HDMI--> Denon AVR-3808CI --HDMI--> Samsung HDTV
Xbox 360 --optical--> Denon AVR-3808CI

Also, I don't understand why HDMI Xboxes can't just send uncompressed multi-channel audio instead of compressing to Dolby Digital first. But that's a totally different discussion.

Samsung BD-UP5000 (1.3), Samsung 4671 (1013.1), Denon AVR-3808CI, HTD Level 3 5.1
Denon AVR-3300, Denon PMA-700V, Advent Loudspeakers
Raptor007 is offline  
post #77 of 113 Old 09-27-2009, 08:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ripeer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 46
I had a similar problem and found deep in my reciver some HDMI audio opitions. Changed one and its worked fine ever since.... Maybe you can have the same luck?
Or go to back to running HDMI+optical like you suggested yourself.


As for DD vs LPCM....Alot of people think the sound files stored on the disc are mp3 or something comparible, so the DD would probaly sound the same as LPCM.

I know most games at 640kbs DD don't sound nearly as good as DVD in DD (Music is easist to compare I find)
Ripeer is offline  
post #78 of 113 Old 09-28-2009, 12:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
Raptor007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Seattle, WA, USA
Posts: 647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ripeer View Post

I had a similar problem and found deep in my reciver some HDMI audio opitions. Changed one and its worked fine ever since.... Maybe you can have the same luck?
Or go to back to running HDMI+optical like you suggested yourself.

I suppose that's possible, but I doubt it. I have no problems with HDMI audio from my Blu-ray player or cable box. Also, setting the Xbox to stereo and then back to DD fixes the problem.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ripeer View Post

As for DD vs LPCM....Alot of people think the sound files stored on the disc are mp3 or something comparible, so the DD would probaly sound the same as LPCM.

I know most games at 640kbs DD don't sound nearly as good as DVD in DD (Music is easist to compare I find)

That's a good point. But rhythm-based games like Rock Band warn that using DD increases the audio latency (because it has to encode on the Xbox and then decode on the receiver). Multi-channel PCM shouldn't have any increased latency (vs stereo PCM).

Samsung BD-UP5000 (1.3), Samsung 4671 (1013.1), Denon AVR-3808CI, HTD Level 3 5.1
Denon AVR-3300, Denon PMA-700V, Advent Loudspeakers
Raptor007 is offline  
post #79 of 113 Old 09-29-2009, 11:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ripeer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raptor007 View Post

I suppose that's possible, but I doubt it. I have no problems with HDMI audio from my Blu-ray player or cable box. Also, setting the Xbox to stereo and then back to DD fixes the problem.

I had the same problem when running strictly HDMI. My PS3 and PVR both worked fine on HDMI. They passed all sorts of differemt codecs and LPCM


Quote:
Originally Posted by Raptor007 View Post

That's a good point. But rhythm-based games like Rock Band warn that using DD increases the audio latency (because it has to encode on the Xbox and then decode on the receiver). Multi-channel PCM shouldn't have any increased latency (vs stereo PCM).

That's interesting.... I've never noticed audio to be slightly off with DD. But then it doesn't get much more important then rock band/GH
Ripeer is offline  
post #80 of 113 Old 11-23-2009, 01:53 AM
Newbie
 
bobs31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had success with hdmi dd 5.1 by going into console settings and disabling 'auto' display discovery, then following the xbox's on screen instructions.
bobs31 is offline  
post #81 of 113 Old 11-25-2009, 09:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
bigbrain28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Land O' Lakes, FL
Posts: 605
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
http://unclevic.com/a136/pd/193-1-0-...-audio-adapter

HDMI Cable and the Dongle for using S/PDIF at the same time- $7.99
bigbrain28 is offline  
post #82 of 113 Old 11-26-2009, 02:01 PM
Member
 
scb1712's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm not sure what you mean by "auto" display recovery?? Where on the xbox menu is this setting?
scb1712 is offline  
post #83 of 113 Old 12-01-2009, 04:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RY35AN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 1,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm not getting 5.1 either, here is my set up:

Xbox 360 to TV - HDMI
Xbox 360 to Pioneer HTS-GS1 Xbox 360 5.1 surround - Optical cable.

I ordered the optical dongle off of E-bay (not sure if it's MS licensed or not, says it is but it came from Hong Kong so I doubt it).

Can someone tell me the solution? Should I use the component cables instead?

XBOX 360-RY35AN
PS3-RY35AN
RY35AN is offline  
post #84 of 113 Old 12-02-2009, 12:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
Raptor007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Seattle, WA, USA
Posts: 647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by RY35AN View Post

I'm not getting 5.1 either, here is my set up:

Xbox 360 to TV - HDMI
Xbox 360 to Pioneer HTS-GS1 Xbox 360 5.1 surround - Optical cable.

I ordered the optical dongle off of E-bay (not sure if it's MS licensed or not, says it is but it came from Hong Kong so I doubt it).

Can someone tell me the solution? Should I use the component cables instead?

Huh... it sounds like this problem may not be related to HDMI at all.

Try going to your audio settings, set the output to Stereo, then set it back to Dolby Digital. That's what fixed it for me.

Samsung BD-UP5000 (1.3), Samsung 4671 (1013.1), Denon AVR-3808CI, HTD Level 3 5.1
Denon AVR-3300, Denon PMA-700V, Advent Loudspeakers
Raptor007 is offline  
post #85 of 113 Old 12-02-2009, 01:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RY35AN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 1,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raptor007 View Post

Huh... it sounds like this problem may not be related to HDMI at all.

Try going to your audio settings, set the output to Stereo, then set it back to Dolby Digital. That's what fixed it for me.

That did it! Duh, I feel stupid.

XBOX 360-RY35AN
PS3-RY35AN
RY35AN is offline  
post #86 of 113 Old 05-23-2010, 05:18 AM
Newbie
 
Ekhangel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

I have the same problem as most of you, with my H/K AVR 255 not picking the DD 5.1 after the boot (however it does after selecting Stereo and back to DD). This thread helped me a lot, assuring me that I'm not the only person facing this issue. I also needed a confirmation that switching to Optical connection would work. So, I ordered the horribly overpriced Audio Adapter, and in the meantime wrote a mail to Xbox Support. What they did? Put the blame on "third-party devices", as always.

Quote:


I would be pleased to help you however; we do not have the information that could help you with your issue since you are using a third party product. It would be best that you contact their support to ask for assistance.

Ekhangel is offline  
post #87 of 113 Old 08-08-2010, 08:39 AM
Senior Member
 
jmdajr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: houston, tx
Posts: 403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had this problem when I set my Sony receiver set to TV+AMP

If it's just AMP there is no issue. I hope this helps someone out there.
jmdajr is offline  
post #88 of 113 Old 02-09-2011, 10:04 PM
Member
 
Sucitta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobs31 View Post

I had success with hdmi dd 5.1 by going into console settings and disabling 'auto' display discovery, then following the xbox's on screen instructions.


THIS WORKS OMFG !! Ive been trying FOREVER to get my 360 to output 5.1 via HDMI with both my Philips 7403 and my Vizio xvt551 and OMFG i cant believe this works !!!

Go into settings on the xbox and turn OFF Display Discovery !!! You will have to reset your console and re-select your video and audio settings but then it really works !!

Im so so so happy lol.
Sucitta is offline  
post #89 of 113 Old 02-11-2011, 03:35 PM
Newbie
 
bbbl67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobs31 View Post

I had success with hdmi dd 5.1 by going into console settings and disabling 'auto' display discovery, then following the xbox's on screen instructions.

Perfect! This was the solution for me! Turning off the auto display discovery fixed it, I only had to go into the display settings afterwards to manually set it to 1080p, and away I went.
bbbl67 is offline  
post #90 of 113 Old 08-18-2011, 04:33 PM
Newbie
 
exCIA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looks like this issue has been around for a long time -- and I just discovered it.

Recently moved. In old home, had XBOX360 Elite connected to an old Samsung DLP HDTV via HDMI with optical audio to a non-AV receiver. 5.1 worked great -- a requirement for Call of Duty.

In new home, have the XBOX360 connected via HDMI to a Harmon Kardon AVR and then on to a brand new 60" Sharp HDTV, with audio to 5.1 speakers, all calibrated. However, the HK AVR only sees 2-channel stereo from the XBOX360.

Tried everything suggested here, including manually selecting the display. Audio on XBOX360 is set to 5.1. Still, no rear channel sound coming.

Can anyone recommend a new AVR that works reliably with a 360 to render 5.1 audio?
exCIA is offline  
Reply Xbox Area

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off