Can you upgrade Wireless card in PS3? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 03-25-2008, 08:15 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
NJ3118's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Northern New Jersey
Posts: 1,223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was wondering, I am running 802.11n on my current home network and laptop(s).

I know PS3 doesnt have the capability to accept that but any plans or availability in replacing or upgrading the internal wireless air card? OR is it built into the main board?

I have a fever and the only cure is more Blu-Ray....
NJ3118 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 03-25-2008, 08:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ajamils's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Richmond, Tx
Posts: 1,674
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As far as I know, the Wifi card is built-in the motherboard so the only way to "upgrade" it would be disable it (Linux ??) and install a USB card (Linux again ??)

[color=Blue]
psn id: hunter4life
Live Gamertag: huntre4life (notice "re" not "er" in hunter)
ajamils is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 03-25-2008, 08:48 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
NJ3118's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Northern New Jersey
Posts: 1,223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajamils View Post

As far as I know, the Wifi card is built-in the motherboard so the only way to "upgrade" it would be disable it (Linux ??) and install a USB card (Linux again ??)

Hmm, thanks for the feedback. I dont think its worth the extra boost especially the way these online gaming servers have been acting in lately...

But from a Dl;ding standpoint. Sitting 3 rooms away from my router using wireless N, i was downloading at 3.4MBs per second. YES THATS Megabytes...

I guess im spoiled used to downloading at like 20 percent of that....lol

I have a fever and the only cure is more Blu-Ray....
NJ3118 is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 03-25-2008, 09:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ajamils's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Richmond, Tx
Posts: 1,674
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by NJ3118 View Post

Hmm, thanks for the feedback. I dont think its worth the extra boost especially the way these online gaming servers have been acting in lately...

But from a Dl;ding standpoint. Sitting 3 rooms away from my router using wireless N, i was downloading at 3.4MBs per second. YES THATS Megabytes...

I guess im spoiled used to downloading at like 20 percent of that....lol

what were you downloading and more importantly from WHERE ??

[color=Blue]
psn id: hunter4life
Live Gamertag: huntre4life (notice "re" not "er" in hunter)
ajamils is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 03-25-2008, 09:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PJ_Rage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 4,388
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do you have FIOS?

SXRD/Oppo/Yamaha/Klipsch
PS3/PSN: pj_rage
360/Live: pjrage82

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daekwan
Dude please, your list of toys is so long its like Santa is your dad lol.
PJ_Rage is offline  
Reply PlayStation Area

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off