PS3 to Macbook (or any other laptop) via bluetooth? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 03-28-2008, 04:40 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
liquidsense's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Is it possible to connect my Macbook Pro or IBM Thinkpad (or any other laptop for that matter) to my PS3 via Bluetooth, such that I can use the keyboard to type messages on the PS3?

I've tried scanning for devices on the PS3, but cannot seem to pick anything up. I am very new to the PS3, so, I'm not sure that I'm doing it right. (I haven't paired anything to the PS3 before).
liquidsense is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 03-28-2008, 05:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
serversurfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 566
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That's a good idea, but I don't think it will work. I don't think there's any technical reason why it couldn't, but laptops just don't advertise themselves as input devices AFAIK.


PSN: serversurfer
serversurfer is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 03-28-2008, 07:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
bobbyslav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I tried pairing my PDA to use as a remote but no luck either
bobbyslav is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 03-28-2008, 10:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
blklightning's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 60
is there a way to hook a ps3 up to the net through a laptop? i hate having to disconnect my laptop when i want to play cod4 online. i know i could buy a router, but if this could be done, it would be cheaper and more convenient. (download a lot of **** on my laptop, that's why it's inconvenient)

500 gigs FTW.
blklightning is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 03-29-2008, 01:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
serversurfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 566
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you have a Mac, just go to SysPrefs->Sharing>Internet Sharing. Tell it to share your Internet from ethernet to computers using AirPort.

If you're using Windows, you might be able to install some software to do it, but I have no idea what that would be.

Edit: I'm assuming your PS3 has a wireless card.

PSN: serversurfer
serversurfer is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 04-01-2008, 01:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
blklightning's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by serversurfer View Post

If you have a Mac, just go to SysPrefs->Sharing>Internet Sharing. Tell it to share your Internet from ethernet to computers using AirPort.

If you're using Windows, you might be able to install some software to do it, but I have no idea what that would be.

Edit: I'm assuming your PS3 has a wireless card.

yep.

500 gigs FTW.
blklightning is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 04-01-2008, 03:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Protopet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,674
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by serversurfer View Post

If you have a Mac, just go to SysPrefs->Sharing>Internet Sharing. Tell it to share your Internet from ethernet to computers using AirPort.

If you're using Windows, you might be able to install some software to do it, but I have no idea what that would be.

Edit: I'm assuming your PS3 has a wireless card.

Would the wifi be secured? (WPA-2)?
Protopet is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 04-01-2008, 03:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
serversurfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 566
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The only security option is WEP, either 40- or 128-bit.

PSN: serversurfer
serversurfer is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 04-01-2008, 03:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Protopet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,674
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
128-bit is best?

I could get this to work with my PS3?

Thanks
Protopet is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 04-01-2008, 03:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
serversurfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 566
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It should work just fine, 128-bit is better, but I don't know if the PS3 supports that. (The online manual doesn't say, and my 20 GB doesn't have wireless, so I can't check it myself.)

So yeah, you can do it, but it will be "reasonably secure," instead of "very secure." IOW, it will keep out casual leechers, but if someone reallywants to get in to your network, and they know what they're doing and have the proper tools, they probably could.

Basically, 40-bit WEP should be fine, assuming you're not trying to safeguard plans for stealth bombers, etc.

PSN: serversurfer
serversurfer is offline  
post #11 of 12 Old 04-02-2008, 12:50 PM
mdv
AVS Special Member
 
mdv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: CA
Posts: 1,016
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by serversurfer View Post

The only security option is WEP, either 40- or 128-bit.

My 40G PS3 is using WPA-2.

Mark
mdv is offline  
post #12 of 12 Old 04-02-2008, 01:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
serversurfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 566
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdv View Post

My 40G PS3 is using WPA-2.

Sorry, I meant when you're setting up Internet Sharing on a Mac.

Macs can connect to WEP/WPA(Personal/Enterprise)/WPA2(Personal/Enterprise), but out of the box, they can only set up a WEP network.

PSN: serversurfer
serversurfer is offline  
Reply PlayStation Area

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off