KA-POW!!! DC Universe Online for free on the PS3 and PS4 - Page 11 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-02-2011, 10:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Vortex3D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,057
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Finally downloaded the game. Final size is 17GB. I think it took 6-7 hours for me. The opening cutscene looks cool but Sony should have made the opening cutscene optional download since it's several minutes long at high details.

Question, first thing it asked to create a new character is PvsE or PvsP. Which one works better?

Since Free to Play allows only one character, is there a way I can copy the character to be backup locally especially I'm just trying out different character designs. I wonder if the character creation allows the player to create a character that is very close to Marvel heroes look alike and powers.
Vortex3D is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-02-2011, 10:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mikepaul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 1,847
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I found out that if you don't get off the ship in one shot, like my crash, you start it over. No loss of XP and found items, though, so the setback wasn't painful.

What IS painful is when my character falls through the floor into another level, where the animation just smears around for a bit until some reset happens and I get dragged back to the area I had been in. Except that one time a door that opened after a fight was over never opened, and I had to quit and try again, from the start. At least I'm off the ship now, but I'm not sure what will go wrong elsewhere.

This all seems engine-related, but I hadn't seen issues like this in any other Unreal game I've played. Anyone else seeing this stuff?...

LIVE: mikepaul
mikepaul is offline  
Old 11-02-2011, 10:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Vortex3D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,057
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikepaul View Post

I found out that if you don't get off the ship in one shot, like my crash, you start it over. No loss of XP and found items, though, so the setback wasn't painful.

What IS painful is when my character falls through the floor into another level, where the animation just smears around for a bit until some reset happens and I get dragged back to the area I had been in. Except that one time a door that opened after a fight was over never opened, and I had to quit and try again, from the start. At least I'm off the ship now, but I'm not sure what will go wrong elsewhere.

This all seems engine-related, but I hadn't seen issues like this in any other Unreal game I've played. Anyone else seeing this stuff?...

Still that buggy?
Vortex3D is offline  
Old 11-02-2011, 11:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tfoltz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: CA
Posts: 3,533
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Yes. DC Universe Online is still known for having many bugs. Get ready for a lot worse! The bugs aren't as bad as in the beta, but you will encounter some wild things every once in a while. Regardless, the game is still a lot of fun.
tfoltz is offline  
Old 11-03-2011, 07:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ThisOneKidMongo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 2,655
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 64
I played through escaping the ship, but I've never really tried an MMO so I have NO idea what's going on in this game. My character has flight, and I in fact spent my first five minutes of this game accidentally flying all the way up the ceiling and utterly failing to figure out how to get back down. Been a while since I felt like I really need to consult an instruction manual.
ThisOneKidMongo is offline  
Old 11-03-2011, 08:19 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 17,184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThisOneKidMongo View Post

I played through escaping the ship, but I've never really tried an MMO so I have NO idea what's going on in this game. My character has flight, and I in fact spent my first five minutes of this game accidentally flying all the way up the ceiling and utterly failing to figure out how to get back down. Been a while since I felt like I really need to consult an instruction manual.

I saw this in Willy Wonka & the Chocolate Factory. Solution: Pull my finger.

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
Old 11-03-2011, 10:31 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
joeblow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 12,211
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 217
^^^ I smiled.

To answer the flight question, I had a flyer in the beta and if I recall correctly you have a descend button besides the ascend button. This allows you to aim with the right stick freely.

And for the record, not even after 30+ hours in the beta with four different characters did I have any of the crazy environmental glitches described above. No doubt it is even rarer today. If that kind of stiuff keeps happening, perhaps the files glitched up during the download and may have to be re-installed (something to do while you're asleep if your internet speed takes awhile).

Los Angeles Lakers - 16 NBA Championships!

joeblow is offline  
Old 11-03-2011, 11:12 AM
Senior Member
 
kamouflage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 369
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Anybody want to start up a group? I keep seeing it mentioned while playing the game but haven't taken the time out to figure it all out.

PSN ID: javant86

kamouflage is offline  
Old 11-03-2011, 11:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ThisOneKidMongo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 2,655
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Ha, yeah, the Willy Wonka comparison came to mind. Well that and a bunch of swear words.
Quote:
Originally Posted by joeblow View Post

To answer the flight question, I had a flyer in the beta and if I recall correctly you have a descend button besides the ascend button. This allows you to aim with the right stick freely.

Yeah, later on in the ship they do explain that clicking in L3 activates/deactivates "movement" mode, but that didn't really help me in the very first room as I was pressing all the buttons to see what they do!
ThisOneKidMongo is offline  
Old 11-03-2011, 10:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Vortex3D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,057
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
When I loaded DCUO just now, it sat at a random wallpaper with the hard drive quite active and minimal network activity. After waiting for 3+ min, it gets error being disconnected from the server. If I press X to continue after the error, it goes into the loop. Is this how DCUO behaves when the server is down? Quite a stupid error recovery when the network or server is down.

Reading from the most recent replies, I can see why Sony gives limited free to play option with DCOU because even the game has been out as retail for a while, it's still only beta quality. At least my expectation is now way down with DCUO. With free to play option, more players will join online to be the free beta testers. Not a bad thing to help improve the quality of the product.
Vortex3D is offline  
Old 11-03-2011, 10:54 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
joeblow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 12,211
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 217
Sony Online has reported that the overwhelming demand has tied up servers, and they are working on fixes. Your experience isn't typical under normal circumstances at all; no, it isn't beta (which was pretty stable itself based on my hours of play). It's just massively popular right now.

Quote:
As folks have seen we have had some major issues today keeping our US Servers up and running. We are working very hard to correct the problem and we will be keeping the servers down until we can deploy new software to help us fix the issues.

The response to our new Free to Play model has been overwhelming (literally) and we are very excited about all the new players in the game. We are working hard to make sure DC Universe Online is the best experience possible.

I will continue to post to the Announcements forums with updates. Thank you for you patience.


Lorin Jameson
Executive Producer, DC Universe Online.


Los Angeles Lakers - 16 NBA Championships!

joeblow is offline  
Old 11-03-2011, 11:03 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
joeblow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 12,211
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 217
Speaking of popular, the game will get even more notice once the new TV ad campaign goes out soon:



Quote:
PC Gamer reports that servers are having "stability issues" even during non-peak hours. The site estimates that thousands of players are waiting to get in and play via login queues, a consequence of DCUO's "super servers" that allow all players to play on the same realm.

The issues will, hopefully, be ironed out as Smedley promises a "big TV and online campaign" later this month, promoting the F2P switch. Given the appeal of the DC Universe, a free-to-play MMO is likely to have quite the casual appeal.


Los Angeles Lakers - 16 NBA Championships!

joeblow is offline  
Old 11-04-2011, 08:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ThisOneKidMongo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 2,655
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Yeah, I ran into the same "Picture of Powergirl Loading Screen of Death" problem myself last night. I did get on slightly earlier in the day though, only to be utterly confounded when picking a name: every single one I came up with was deemed "invalid," which I assume means already taken by someone else. I guess I wasn't the first one to think of a giant luchador with fire powers and dual pistols named "Dr. Powerbomb/Doctor Powerbomb/Powerbomb MD/Dr. Suplex/Dr. Hurricanrana.
ThisOneKidMongo is offline  
Old 11-04-2011, 09:53 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 17,184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 26
I hate to say it but the game is kind of boring. I played the beta and after a while I tired of it. Saved me money at any rate.

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
Old 11-04-2011, 12:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mikepaul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 1,847
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked: 24
If I had the guide book, I'd probably find out how to set a marker for the selected quest. I was supposed to find the sewers in Gotham, so I wandered around but never saw anything that indicated where they are. I Googled for help and found out that a LOT of people think actually answering a question is boring. Then I noticed that the first quest had a second part, and I need to get back to Metropolis and now I'm back at the Watchtower trying to find the right teleporter for that job. Maybe THAT one will be easier to find, unless a Level 5 quest requires that you be Level 5 to find it?

ARE there maps online?...

LIVE: mikepaul
mikepaul is offline  
Old 11-04-2011, 12:09 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
joeblow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 12,211
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 217
Server issues continue into the foreseeable future, but progress is being made:

Quote:


We are tracking down a server bug that’s cropped up on our US servers under insane load. Sorry for the up and down servers. We are on it.


Los Angeles Lakers - 16 NBA Championships!

joeblow is offline  
Old 11-04-2011, 11:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mikepaul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 1,847
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked: 24
They *really* need a faster way for users to determine of the game can be played. I'd wait several minutes and get a lame "Disconnected Broken protocol You must be signed into your PSN account and connected to the online network to play", and all that was already in-place and ready to go.

If it isn't up, something should say that within a few seconds so I can move on to games that work. However, nothing else on the PS3 strikes my interest right now...

LIVE: mikepaul
mikepaul is offline  
Old 11-05-2011, 01:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mikepaul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 1,847
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Today was a better day. Got in with no failures. Learned that the *active* quest often does provide a directional guide, but not when it's "Find the university".

Moved up 5 levels to 9, despite numerous beatdowns when goons ganged up on me despite my efforts to pull them one at a time. When I think of how I'd like to spend the $5 to get Premium access, gear that I can use now that's also better than what's available 20 levels up would be OK. If I find a way to do that I may play a lot longer...

LIVE: mikepaul
mikepaul is offline  
Old 11-06-2011, 04:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ThisOneKidMongo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 2,655
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 64
I've decided that Bane is F-ing impossible. No matter how well I do, by the time I get him to his last phase, he's capable of one-shotting me from full health. Bleah.
ThisOneKidMongo is offline  
Old 11-06-2011, 06:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mikepaul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 1,847
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I was like Level 11 doing Bane. I'm a Healer with strange plant powers and managed to get through the fight without getting knocked out. The guys before that, not so much, requiring at least three tries until throwing everything at them at once worked. Lessons that helped with Bane.

Maybe do the Booster Gold tours, then anything less strenuous until you collect enough trinkets to do better. Although the Level 12 tours put me in some BAD neighborhoods. I kinda wish they had a way to share character specs with a picture, although I've slapped on a gas mask and spiked helmet because they boosted my specs but look lame compared to my original hooded cyborg...

Almost a 5-digit number of people in the queue to login at 8:45PM. Nearly 9, and still waiting...

LIVE: mikepaul
mikepaul is offline  
Old 11-06-2011, 08:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ThisOneKidMongo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 2,655
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 64
I'm trying to take Bane at Level 10, as mentalist/dual pistols. It's annoying because I keep failing, which damages my equipment, so after a few deaths I have to go all the way back to a vendor to get repairs and then all the way back to the lighthouse. Guess I'll try putting on a few levels first.
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikepaul View Post

although I've slapped on a gas mask and spiked helmet because they boosted my specs but look lame compared to my original hooded cyborg...

On the second tab on the pause menu, the one that looks like a little mask, you can individually lock each part to look like any piece of equipment you've ever tried on. There's also a "lock all" button, so you can get all the stat benefits of new equipment without ever altering your look.
ThisOneKidMongo is offline  
Old 11-06-2011, 09:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mikepaul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 1,847
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThisOneKidMongo View Post

On the second tab on the pause menu, the one that looks like a little mask, you can individually lock each part to look like any piece of equipment you've ever tried on. There's also a "lock all" button, so you can get all the stat benefits of new equipment without ever altering your look.

Oooooooooooh, thanks! I saw that, but didn't think it'd be a permanent fix to changing equipment.

I got kicked out a little while ago, and I hope THIS time it doesn't roll back the clock like 10 minutes so I have to do stuff again. Earlier today (like 3AM) they did a quick countdown before shutting everything down, but this time it was wham and gone so maybe things will be different and BETTER...

LIVE: mikepaul
mikepaul is offline  
Old 11-07-2011, 05:09 AM
Senior Member
 
kamouflage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 369
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 57
The best way to defeat Bane is to fight him with at least another person. I got close by myself a couple of times but beat him pretty easy with the help of another player.

PSN ID: javant86

kamouflage is offline  
Old 11-07-2011, 08:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ThisOneKidMongo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 2,655
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 64
I didn't even know you could do that mission together with other people. How do you do that?
ThisOneKidMongo is offline  
Old 11-07-2011, 11:09 AM
Senior Member
 
Dagg21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 381
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
do a
/shout can anyone help with bane mission

then if a guy named Doug says sure do a

/invite Doug

then you will be grouped and zone in to the same instance, i would offer my help[ but i cant seem to get on in prime time and its not worth the effort until they fix it. Last night i got on for 5 min and froze after a 30 minute wait, not gunna do it again.

Also use health barrels whenever you can they are a big help in soloing and leveling up, the other choice is do a few more (different)missions get a few more levels and he will be much easier.
Dagg21 is offline  
Old 11-07-2011, 12:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mikepaul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 1,847
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vortex3D View Post

I wonder if the character creation allows the player to create a character that is very close to Marvel heroes look alike and powers.

Close VISUAL copies of Hulk and Ghost Rider are apparently easy. Saw them yesterday...

LIVE: mikepaul
mikepaul is offline  
Old 11-07-2011, 01:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ThisOneKidMongo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 2,655
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Yeah, I saw a pretty impressively accurate Magneto yesterday.

By the way, I'm not sure how much time I'll be able to regularly commit to this game, but if anyone's looking for a partner when they're logged on, my character's named "Bulletmind." Because every other name was taken.
ThisOneKidMongo is offline  
Old 11-07-2011, 04:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
deveng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 1,609
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikepaul View Post

If I had the guide book, I'd probably find out how to set a marker for the selected quest. I was supposed to find the sewers in Gotham, so I wandered around but never saw anything that indicated where they are. I Googled for help and found out that a LOT of people think actually answering a question is boring. Then I noticed that the first quest had a second part, and I need to get back to Metropolis and now I'm back at the Watchtower trying to find the right teleporter for that job. Maybe THAT one will be easier to find, unless a Level 5 quest requires that you be Level 5 to find it?

ARE there maps online?...

I assume you are talking about the Spootackular mission that started on Halloween and ends today? Ya that one took me a while to figure out. What you have to click on is the 'Events' tab in the journal, and it brings up that mission. You have to do it 4 oter players, so click to join group. The 1st time I did it, Scarecrow was glitched. The second time i did it, we took about 30 minutes to finish, he is really hard. We were all low level (5-7) but managed at the end with team work (the 1st several times we died rather quickly).

Apparently there is a Scarecrow mission that is part of the main storyline when Batman is the mentor. That one should not be missable. I have found most people not helpful when texting messages. Too bad really.

Xbox and PS3 Gamertag = Xerostomia
Wii = I'm too lazy to get the number
deveng is offline  
Old 11-07-2011, 04:57 PM
Senior Member
 
kamouflage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 369
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 57
I'll try and add you mongo.

PSN ID: javant86

kamouflage is offline  
Old 11-07-2011, 08:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ThisOneKidMongo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 2,655
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 64
So here's something to try for anyone frustrated by long queues (so, anyone playing this game). It seems queue times are based on the population of the map location you're loading from. So if you last logged out at say a safehouse, where tons of people are starting up their game, you'll have a long wait time. But if you ended your previous game at a relatively remote location, the queue will be dramatically shorter.

I was skeptical, but tried ending my previous session on top of a very tall building in a random area of Metropolis. The next time I logged on, around 8PM, which I assume is a pretty high-traffic time (and even got a notification telling me so before I logged in), my game started up almost immediately, with no "You are XXXX in the queue" notification. Maybe I just got lucky, but it's worth a shot.
ThisOneKidMongo is offline  
 

Tags
Playstation 4 Console
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off