Using even a wired connection TVERSITY file copy to local PS3 harddrive SUPER SLOW - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-30-2008, 06:51 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
mendes9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 785
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Anyone have an tips, on what I may be doing wrong? It takes about 2 hours, to copy a 1 gig of data to local PS3 HD using even a 100mps hard wired connection. Copying data from a DVD to local PS3 HD is normal speed. Any suggestions?

Save Your Frequent Flyer Miles !! Barber's jobs are also being exported to China, you will have to fly to China now for a hair cut.
mendes9 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-30-2008, 07:04 AM
Senior Member
 
TXBDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Is it transcoding during the transfer? sounds like it. a lot of transcoding is barely faster than realtime on an average computer. so 2 hours is about right.

set tversity to 'Never transcode' and see what happens.
TXBDan is offline  
Old 06-30-2008, 08:12 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
mendes9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 785
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
aaahhh OK, I will give that a shot. Thanks

Save Your Frequent Flyer Miles !! Barber's jobs are also being exported to China, you will have to fly to China now for a hair cut.
mendes9 is offline  
Old 06-30-2008, 08:08 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
mendes9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 785
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Tried it tonight no go. I was able to copy approx 70meg in aboutg 10 minutes. I then logged on to tversity via my web browser on my laptop, and copied the 276meg file in 2 1/2 minutes, also connected via Wireless G. So... I have to think that's it's something with the PS3 but what?

Save Your Frequent Flyer Miles !! Barber's jobs are also being exported to China, you will have to fly to China now for a hair cut.
mendes9 is offline  
Old 06-30-2008, 10:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
vertigo235's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 953
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I did a copy tonight and it blasted away 1gb in a few mins. I think it was moving at about 70 mbs, which is very fast on my network.

Xbox Live: IamVertigo
PSN: IamVertigo
vertigo235 is online now  
Old 07-01-2008, 09:17 AM
Member
 
Bobington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Transcoding it is.

Really need a fast processor for some files.
Bobington is offline  
Old 07-01-2008, 10:15 AM
Senior Member
 
TXBDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
mendes. start copying a file, and then check the CPU usage on the computer. if its >90% you know its transcoding somehow. Its gotta be to be that slow.
TXBDan is offline  
Old 07-01-2008, 08:33 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
mendes9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 785
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I turned off transcoding. I did also check CPU utilization and its' not breaking a sweat... also checking Network utilization is also below 1% ... I haven't found the cause yet. but will keep working on it.

Save Your Frequent Flyer Miles !! Barber's jobs are also being exported to China, you will have to fly to China now for a hair cut.
mendes9 is offline  
Old 07-28-2008, 05:14 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
mendes9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 785
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Well I loaded latest version...I'm from the status page there is no transcoding going on, I've done speed tests, getting 7.5meg down and 1.3meg up.. which is correct for my ISP connection. Everything else I download from the sony store etc is fast... just anything from tviersity is slow. Now download files to my laptop from same tversity server is fast.. only slow to the PS3. I'm at my wits end... I'm in IT guy so.. checked app logs on my server etc... no go.. any suggestions?

Save Your Frequent Flyer Miles !! Barber's jobs are also being exported to China, you will have to fly to China now for a hair cut.
mendes9 is offline  
Old 07-29-2008, 06:55 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
mendes9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 785
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Well, I setup RED KAWA server, and the speed was normal.. copied a 900meg file in a few minutes... I would use this but it's no longer supported and you can't copy some files.. such as vob it asks you to insert external storage. I may try renaming .vob to say AVI see if that works..

I may try uninstalling tversity and attempt a clean install..

Save Your Frequent Flyer Miles !! Barber's jobs are also being exported to China, you will have to fly to China now for a hair cut.
mendes9 is offline  
Old 07-29-2008, 10:10 AM
Senior Member
 
synovia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Try sharing something with Windows Media Player and see what the speed is.
synovia is offline  
Old 07-29-2008, 11:21 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
mendes9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 785
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I've tried that from a different pc, no issues. Although, I'm not looking to stream.. all I want to do is copy files to my PS3 HDD.

Save Your Frequent Flyer Miles !! Barber's jobs are also being exported to China, you will have to fly to China now for a hair cut.
mendes9 is offline  
Old 07-29-2008, 06:28 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
mendes9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 785
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I uninstalled tversity tonight, even went through the registry and cleaned everthing out.. still no good.. again cpu is very low, status page does not say it's transcoding either.. so I'm at a loss. Reading through the tversity forum site, others have same issue (they are complaing about streaming) but I tried that as well and same issue they are describing, no reall answers.

Save Your Frequent Flyer Miles !! Barber's jobs are also being exported to China, you will have to fly to China now for a hair cut.
mendes9 is offline  
Old 07-29-2008, 06:32 PM
Member
 
tomsteeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Dover, PA
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
try going into the Network Adapter properties (on the PC) and deselect or uninstall the QoS Packet Scheduler entry. In the past I had major problems with slow network browsing until this was disabled.

Just a guess.

Tom
tomsteeper is offline  
Old 07-29-2008, 08:39 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
mendes9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 785
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Thanks Tom, I'll give it a shot.. for now I'm giving up on Tversity. Tversity was setup on my W2K3 server, but from my Winxp pc, I'm using WMP now.. only issue with WMP it doesn't have all the codecs, so not all videos show up when browsing through the folders on the PS3. I installed FFDSHOW from free codecs, but that didnt' seem to apply the codecs to WMP, still wouldn't play it or show up on the PS3. Then I tried renaming .vob files to AVI, and when I do that it shows up on WMP shard folder on the PS3 and I can download at normal speed, plays fine also without renaming the file on the PS3.. I'll just use this work around for now.

Save Your Frequent Flyer Miles !! Barber's jobs are also being exported to China, you will have to fly to China now for a hair cut.
mendes9 is offline  
Old 08-01-2008, 01:40 AM
Newbie
 
travi76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
in my experience copying .avi/divx files takes forever. however, copying .mp4/h264 files is extremely fast on my gigabit wired connection.
travi76 is offline  
Old 08-17-2008, 02:39 PM
Senior Member
 
DenW's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Europe
Posts: 429
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Mendes9,

I have the exact same problem you are describing, and I'm also running TVersity on Win2K3. After trying many things, both in TVersity settings and PS3 settings, I have come no closer to a solution. After reading your posts I'm beginning to think it's the TVersity\\Win2K3\\PS3 combination.

What brand\\model router are you using?

The strange thing is however: streaming TVersity to my SMC EZ-stream (audio only) box is no problem whatsoever.

DenW
"The Black Hole" HT (and other stuff..): http://www.denonline.nl
DenW is offline  
Old 08-17-2008, 05:45 PM
Senior Member
 
t-ray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I also experience excruciatingly slow copy times from tversity(Win2k3) to ps3, performing no transcoding whatsoever. However, the exact same build of tversity on my winxp laptop provides acceptable copy performance to the ps3.
t-ray is offline  
Old 08-18-2008, 12:47 AM
Senior Member
 
DenW's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Europe
Posts: 429
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Have either of you (mendes9, t-ray) run the Windows Media Player setup wizard in Win2K3, before or after installing TVersity?

Last night i decided to install FLUPPES (other freeware DLNA server software) to try and see if this makes any difference. I only did a very short test with photo-JPG's, but the PS3 appears to receive files much quicker now. This would be acceptable performance. Need to do some more testing this evening\ omorrow.

Appears there is a TVersity forum thread about this: http://forums.tversity.com/viewtopic...st=0&sk=t&sd=a

DenW
"The Black Hole" HT (and other stuff..): http://www.denonline.nl
DenW is offline  
Old 08-18-2008, 08:10 AM
Senior Member
 
t-ray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I haven't tried messing around with WMP on Win2k3 for who knows how long. When the DLNA firmware update was released, I tried Tversity, twonky, and WMP. Tversity was the only thing that came anywhere close to working, so I stuck with it. From what I remember, there was no WMP release available for win2k3 at the time. I haven't checked on it again since.
t-ray is offline  
Old 08-18-2008, 11:45 AM
Senior Member
 
DenW's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Europe
Posts: 429
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry for my unclear post earlier. I ment: did you or mendes9 try to run the WMP10 (included with W2K3) setup wizard, which sets the filetypes etc. I did not mean the WMP11 setup.exe.

DenW
"The Black Hole" HT (and other stuff..): http://www.denonline.nl
DenW is offline  
Old 08-18-2008, 12:25 PM
Senior Member
 
t-ray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DenW View Post

Sorry for my unclear post earlier. I ment: did you or mendes9 try to run the WMP10 (included with W2K3) setup wizard, which sets the filetypes etc. I did not mean the WMP11 setup.exe.

I hate not. I wasn't even aware of that. Question though: exactly what does it do? Does WMP10 feature any kind of streaming? If not, how does WMP10 affect Tversity? I'm not doing any transcoding whatsoever(lack the horsepower).
t-ray is offline  
Old 08-19-2008, 01:31 AM
Senior Member
 
DenW's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Europe
Posts: 429
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well... on the TVersity forum it is hinted that TVersity could use some features of WMP. Nothing concrete though.. I've tried running the WMP10 setup wizard last night myself, but did not notice any improvement.

Then I tried placing my PS3 in the DMZ zone of my router. This did make a difference, albeit a small one. Audio streaming was noticeably quicker, video streams started quicker with longer times in between the stutter (5-7 seconds compared to 1-2 seconds earlier). So it seems there is definitely a network component in the TVersity software that is causing this.

FUPPES (from the same server) worked without a problem. Audio is streamed almost instantly. Video too. I even managed to stream HD content to my PS3, which never ever worked with TVersity no matter how long I waited. FUPPES worked beautifully... but it is very basic compared to TVersity.

DenW
"The Black Hole" HT (and other stuff..): http://www.denonline.nl
DenW is offline  
Old 08-19-2008, 01:23 PM
Senior Member
 
t-ray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the feedback. I might have to give FUPPES a try. I'm not looking for something very sophisticated; I've already mentioned I don't have the horsepower to transcode.

You know what we *really* need? A usb wifi adapter that connects to some samba or windows network share, though it looks like it has a local file system. Basically, configure it to look like your nas, plug it into the ps3's usb port, and browse the nas as if it were mounted locally.
t-ray is offline  
Old 08-19-2008, 02:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
Turd Furguson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ashland, KY
Posts: 579
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Tversity was way way way too buggy for me. Twonkymedia did great, Fuppes was decent, but ppl just keep wanting Tversity to be this miracle cure for their streaming needs.

Guys I have been this route. The only free one that is even worth mentioning would be Orb. It eliminated all the problems I had with streaming if you have to have something that is free. Otherwise, cough up some cash and get Twonkymedia. Your grief will pretty much disappear when you do. Yes, it is that stable.
Turd Furguson is offline  
Old 08-19-2008, 11:38 PM
Senior Member
 
DenW's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Europe
Posts: 429
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Don't think that TVersity is a miracle cure, nor did I find it buggy. It should work as advertised however. I'd still prefer TVersity over the Twonky or Fuppes because of its versatiliy and ease of use.

DenW
"The Black Hole" HT (and other stuff..): http://www.denonline.nl
DenW is offline  
Old 08-20-2008, 01:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
Turd Furguson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ashland, KY
Posts: 579
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Twonky takes just a few steps to set up and that is it.
Turd Furguson is offline  
Old 08-20-2008, 02:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
saiga6360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 618
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Just a bit of networking advice, if you are using some kind of switch or router make sure you have it set to full, not autosense if the PS3 is set to full. These kind of mismatches actually cause quite a bit of latency if not outright disconnects.
saiga6360 is offline  
Old 08-20-2008, 02:48 PM
Member
 
C22350Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i have almost the same problem, only mine is with streaming media...no matter what i use.. WMP11, Orb, Tversity ect...i get a 30 second delay between clicking what i want to play and it actually beginning to play

UPnP is not available on my router and the PS3 is set to DMZ...download speeds are 1/3rd of what my laptop gets on speed test sites and all with 100% signal

ive gone up and down trying to find a fix...nothing

anyone have any input?

sorry to hijack your thread
C22350Z is offline  
Old 09-06-2008, 03:23 PM
Member
 
nolt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had the same problem.

streaming to PS3 from Windows Home Server through gigabit router/switch and cat6 cable. gigabit connection on the server and on the PS3 naturally.

initially mp3 playback was fine. songs would start and stop appropriately and ff/rr as well.

then i started monkeying around with video. i noticed that on transcoded video files (XviD avi mostly) that the playback would freeze up periodically. it did not appear to be at a point of high bandwidth usage. it seemed like it would always happen during action..... CGI.... sound.... whatever. i couldnt figure it out.

so i decided to just copy stuff over to the PS3 and see how that worked. i was perplexed that it would take a couple of hours to copy a 800mb file from the server to the PS3.

then i started noticing that the music was actually slower. slower to start and stop, and to react to commands in general.

i checked the WHS console during copying video and/or playback of nontranscoded music. processor was under 10%... TVersity console confirmed no transcoding....

i did everything i could do to try to figure out what it might be. i had read this thread... other threads... spent hours/days/weeks troubleshooting it and got nowhere.

i installed twonkymedia server this am and holy crap its a dream. it works the way i would expect any of them to work for me. i wish i had done it sooner.

i dont mean for this post to be a commercial for twonkymedia. i would just suggest trying other mediaserver programs in general if you are having these problems.

i no longer NEED to try to copy these files to the PS3, but if i want to they copy in about a minute to a minute and half instead of two hours.
nolt is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off