SOCOM U.S. Navy SEALs Confrontation Discussion - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 1927 Old 10-14-2008, 05:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
KingShorty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 5,764
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cygnus311 View Post

The headset definitely fits me better than the Warhawk Jabra headset, even though it's a little heavier. The Jabra was extremely light but still fell off. The rubber ear clip on the Sony is shaped better and the in-ear nub is not as large so it fits in the ear canal better. It also has a little ribber ring around the edge that helps it stay more snug. Now, I need to figure out if I'm going to open this game or throw it up on ebay.

Does it have some sort of training mode or do you have to jump straight into a multiplayer game?

No training, straight game.

Jump in the unranked rooms, that can be your training.
KingShorty is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 1927 Old 10-14-2008, 05:31 PM
Member
 
dasmooth1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: NYC
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone in the tri-state area score this game yet? i've called everywhere and no one seems to have it, everyone says the shipment didn't come in or the release date is tomorrow....
dasmooth1 is offline  
post #93 of 1927 Old 10-14-2008, 05:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bdoyledimou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Markham, Ont
Posts: 1,148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
In my local mall, there is a Walmart, an EB, a Best Buy, and a TRU.

EB had the game for $59.99 vs $65.00 in each of the other stores plus the beta invite, so i purchased from there.

I ended up not getting the beta invite due to some stupid town by-law making enticement to purchase illegal.

But hell, i get it for $5.00 cheaper... and at the end of the wait..

Walmart, Best Buy AND TRU have the Bundle in stock and on the shelf, and EB doesn't.

Lesson learned.

PSN: Wrassle
360: Burnt of Wrassl
bdoyledimou is offline  
post #94 of 1927 Old 10-14-2008, 06:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
joe_six_pack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,334
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by x43x View Post

So I've been playing a few games and customizing my guys. Is there a trick to getting the headset to work? I've paired it with the PS3 and it's recognized in the Blue Tooth area, but when I get into a game, I never get the icon and have to listen to folks with my speakers.

headset is ptt IIRC. I think you can set to output other people's mics to speaokers or to headset.

Sony pay me 10 beeeelion dollars to plant blu-ray seeeeds.
joe_six_pack is offline  
post #95 of 1927 Old 10-14-2008, 06:21 PM
Senior Member
 
Ravenous112's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 410
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't know if it's already been discussed, but Costco should have it available tomorrow for 53.99 for the game and headset.

Ravenous112 is offline  
post #96 of 1927 Old 10-14-2008, 06:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
KingShorty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 5,764
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
x43x

You have to press L2 to talk. If you're hearing it through the speakers it's because you're hearing the proximity chat.
KingShorty is offline  
post #97 of 1927 Old 10-14-2008, 06:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Stangs55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Still no reviews out....that's pretty much never been a good sign. (Yes, I'm aware it's a mp only game)

Looking like I'll still pick it up for the headset...but that's one expensive headset now...

XBOX - Hyperplasia | PS4 - Hyperplasia
Stangs55 is offline  
post #98 of 1927 Old 10-14-2008, 07:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
KingShorty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 5,764
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stangs55 View Post

Still no reviews out....that's pretty much never been a good sign. (Yes, I'm aware it's a mp only game)

Looking like I'll still pick it up for the headset...but that's one expensive headset now...

I don't think many have been able to get online because of the maintenance issues (journalists included).

I haven't seen/heard of when any reviews will be coming out though.
KingShorty is offline  
post #99 of 1927 Old 10-14-2008, 07:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
drudiggs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 755
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by KingShorty View Post

I don't think many have been able to get online because of the maintenance issues (journalists included).

I haven't seen/heard of when any reviews will be coming out though.

I've been online for about the last hour, and before that was able to log on at around 6:30 EST this evening. So far, so good. Minimal lag, minimal waiting to get into servers and matches. No issues using the headset. My stats not recording seems to be the only hiccup right now for me. Fingers crossed that it stays this way!

XBL: GutterSnipeR   PSN: Guttahhh
drudiggs is online now  
post #100 of 1927 Old 10-14-2008, 07:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
KingShorty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 5,764
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by drudiggs View Post

I've been online for about the last hour, and before that was able to log on at around 6:30 EST this evening. So far, so good. Minimal lag, minimal waiting to get into servers and matches. No issues using the headset. My stats not recording seems to be the only hiccup right now for me. Fingers crossed that it stays this way!

The stats not recording is normal for SOCOM games. They take a while to catch up with the back log. At least that is what was normal when SOCOMII and SOCOM3 were released.
KingShorty is offline  
post #101 of 1927 Old 10-14-2008, 07:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
drudiggs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 755
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by KingShorty View Post

The stats not recording is normal for SOCOM games. They take a while to catch up with the back log. At least that is what was normal when SOCOMII and SOCOM3 were released.

Yeah, I'm used to the stats issues with past SOCOM's - I can live with that.

XBL: GutterSnipeR   PSN: Guttahhh
drudiggs is online now  
post #102 of 1927 Old 10-14-2008, 07:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mobius_570's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Bloomsburg, PA
Posts: 1,423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I must say I was very skeptical of the game and after playing a few rounds tonight it made me change my mind. It did take me about an hour to downloadfthe 1.1 patch but installed semi-quickly. I did however have some of the same problems that occured buring the beta. I created our clan sent out an invite, but once I accessed my friends list again it froze my PS3. I had to hard reset the machine. My first game in was a 32 man room in Crossroads. People could see me, but I didn't know I was playing as I could spectate others. So in body I was in game but through my eyes I was watching everyone play.

The next game was very laggy and again it was a 32 man room. Some people skipping around in front of me and the mild hiccups would happen. After dropping that room we played an 16 man room on Frostfire and it ran so smooth, only a quick lockup when someone would join the game, mid-game. We played 14 rounds and had a blast, it took me back to the old SOCOM days. Only problem I had was that it doesn't remember your hot swap loadout sometimes. One game I switch my secondary weapon to frags and it stayed all game then another game I would set it, then it would resort back to my handgun. Not a big deal, you just have to check the swap a couple of times after you load it.

Wish I had more time tonight to see other maps, but off to bed. I scheduled a site survey for tomorrow for work instead of going into the office, so I should be home by 1 PM to play my little heart out.

I'm very happy with it, but would hope they will fix the little bugs soon. They are annoying but not game breaking. Also I forgot to add, I averaged about 45-60 seconds to load a game which is about normal for SOCOM throughout the years.

PSN: Mobius570
XBL: Mobius570
Wii: Some silly number I can't locate
TWW
My Gaming Rig
Mobius_570 is offline  
post #103 of 1927 Old 10-14-2008, 07:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
KingShorty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 5,764
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Awesome Mobius... I'm freaking jealous, just hours more to go... ugh!
KingShorty is offline  
post #104 of 1927 Old 10-14-2008, 07:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mobius_570's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Bloomsburg, PA
Posts: 1,423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by drudiggs View Post

I've been online for about the last hour, and before that was able to log on at around 6:30 EST this evening. So far, so good. Minimal lag, minimal waiting to get into servers and matches. No issues using the headset. My stats not recording seems to be the only hiccup right now for me. Fingers crossed that it stays this way!

Were you in ranked rooms? I played most of the night and was putting up great numbers (9-2, 12-5, etc.) and went to check my stats and nothing. Found out it was an unranked room.

PSN: Mobius570
XBL: Mobius570
Wii: Some silly number I can't locate
TWW
My Gaming Rig
Mobius_570 is offline  
post #105 of 1927 Old 10-14-2008, 07:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mobius_570's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Bloomsburg, PA
Posts: 1,423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by x43x View Post

So I've been playing a few games and customizing my guys. Is there a trick to getting the headset to work? I've paired it with the PS3 and it's recognized in the Blue Tooth area, but when I get into a game, I never get the icon and have to listen to folks with my speakers.

Forgot to mention that in my mini review. I had problems with it at first, but once in the game I had to hold the ON button for about 3 seconds for it to come on.

PSN: Mobius570
XBL: Mobius570
Wii: Some silly number I can't locate
TWW
My Gaming Rig
Mobius_570 is offline  
post #106 of 1927 Old 10-14-2008, 07:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
kaotikr1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Scottsbluff, NE
Posts: 849
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 31
I haven't had really any issues so far. I have only played a few rounds but the lag has been minimal. I expected worse from all the comments, but so far so good. I know its still early but I am liking it. It feels good to be playing a SOCOM game again.
kaotikr1 is offline  
post #107 of 1927 Old 10-14-2008, 08:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
drudiggs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 755
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mobius_570 View Post

Were you in ranked rooms? I played most of the night and was putting up great numbers (9-2, 12-5, etc.) and went to check my stats and nothing. Found out it was an unranked room.

D'oh! No, it was unranked. I'm in a ranked room right now, so I'll follow up in a few and let you know if they save.

XBL: GutterSnipeR   PSN: Guttahhh
drudiggs is online now  
post #108 of 1927 Old 10-14-2008, 08:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mobius_570's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Bloomsburg, PA
Posts: 1,423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by KingShorty View Post

Awesome Mobius... I'm freaking jealous, just hours more to go... ugh!

The only thing that has me a little nervous is friday night. That will be the stress test for the servers. I remember when COD4 was out we played all week, then friday came and crashed the servers. All of us in the clan went back to Rainbow Six Vegas for the night. I have faith that the beta gave them time to react to get their servers up to par and will be able to handle the load.

PSN: Mobius570
XBL: Mobius570
Wii: Some silly number I can't locate
TWW
My Gaming Rig
Mobius_570 is offline  
post #109 of 1927 Old 10-14-2008, 08:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
joe_six_pack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,334
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
if the same bugs that were present in the beta are still in the final game, I think there will be trouble come this weekend. Only advantage over COD4 that I see is the servers are dedicated versus the crap COD4 p2p matching servers.

.02

Sony pay me 10 beeeelion dollars to plant blu-ray seeeeds.
joe_six_pack is offline  
post #110 of 1927 Old 10-14-2008, 08:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
drudiggs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 755
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Yep, stats saved in the ranked room. A bunch of people in there are already getting the higher insignia.

XBL: GutterSnipeR   PSN: Guttahhh
drudiggs is online now  
post #111 of 1927 Old 10-15-2008, 03:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
beach scrub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Jensen Beach Florida
Posts: 1,005
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 37
TWW is a clan that came from AVS.

PSN/XBL scrub175
beach scrub is offline  
post #112 of 1927 Old 10-15-2008, 05:37 AM
Member
 
focker240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by beach scrub View Post

TWW is a clan that came from AVS.

There anyway I could get an invite for the TWW clan. I am already a member of the site.

As far as gameplay goes, I played a little bit last night and I have to say, while there were still a few bugs from the beta, the game played smooth with very minimal lag. Load time to get into a game had to have been 30 secs. Overall, Confrontation is bringing me back to the SOCOM days of old...

______________________
PSN: ShengLongDong
Xbox Live: ShengLongDong
focker240 is offline  
post #113 of 1927 Old 10-15-2008, 05:58 AM
Senior Member
 
SK3_OWENS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Bloomsburg, PA
Posts: 361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by focker240 View Post

There anyway I could get an invite for the TWW clan. I am already a member of the site.

As far as gameplay goes, I played a little bit last night and I have to say, while there were still a few bugs from the beta, the game played smooth with very minimal lag. Load time to get into a game had to have been 30 secs. Overall, Confrontation is bringing me back to the SOCOM days of old...

If your a member of the site your good to go. I'd PM mobius570 to remind him to send you a invite in SOCOM to add your tag. I'll see you tonight after I pic up the copy.

PSN: SK3_OWENS

www .t wwclan.com
The Weekend Warriors
"We're sort of a clan"
SK3_OWENS is offline  
post #114 of 1927 Old 10-15-2008, 06:45 AM
Member
 
focker240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SK3_OWENS View Post

If your a member of the site your good to go. I'd PM mobius570 to remind him to send you a invite in SOCOM to add your tag. I'll see you tonight after I pic up the copy.

Thanks for the info. I will do that immediately! See you tonight!

______________________
PSN: ShengLongDong
Xbox Live: ShengLongDong
focker240 is offline  
post #115 of 1927 Old 10-15-2008, 07:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jasnmb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,441
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
For those who haven't picked up either game yet, if you buy the Socom bundle you can get 50% off Warhawk at Amazon:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/feature.htm...cId=1000288111
jasnmb is offline  
post #116 of 1927 Old 10-15-2008, 08:54 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Hatcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 619
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Well I ran to EBgames during lunch and picked up Confrontation, now I can't wait to get home and play. Maybe I can sneak out a couple hours early.

PSN = Hatcher14
Hatcher is offline  
post #117 of 1927 Old 10-15-2008, 09:03 AM
Member
 
rwings01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Montreal, Qc
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi All,

Is the head set a MUST buy for the use of this game? I'm currently using a Motorola H700 BT head set which works very well. is it worth it to buy the game with headset aside from the mute button?

Thanks in Advance

____________________

XBOX360 GT: RuthLessAgressN

PS3 GT: rwings01
rwings01 is offline  
post #118 of 1927 Old 10-15-2008, 09:09 AM
Senior Member
 
Column's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 367
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What does this game compare to if you never played any of the other socoms? is it strictly a 3rd person view game
Column is offline  
post #119 of 1927 Old 10-15-2008, 09:14 AM
Senior Member
 
SK3_OWENS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Bloomsburg, PA
Posts: 361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwings01 View Post

Hi All,

Is the head set a MUST buy for the use of this game? I'm currently using a Motorola H700 BT head set which works very well. is it worth it to buy the game with headset aside from the mute button?

Thanks in Advance

Haven't picked up the game yet but people from our clan have said it has really good sound quality. People that were hearing their voice said it was very clear. The only negative point was that the mic was a little uncomfortable. When I first started using my bluetooth (not SOCOM mic) I thought it was uncomfortable, now I hardly notice it. Maybe it's something you have to get use to.

PSN: SK3_OWENS

www .t wwclan.com
The Weekend Warriors
"We're sort of a clan"
SK3_OWENS is offline  
post #120 of 1927 Old 10-15-2008, 09:24 AM
Member
 
dasmooth1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: NYC
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just picked up the game but don't want to play until i can use the headset, can someone tell me how long this thing takes to charge, hopefully it's 1-2 hours and not 3-4
dasmooth1 is offline  
Reply PlayStation Area

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off