PS2 only black+white on new HDTV? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 11-29-2008, 02:29 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
themastah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Took delivery today of our Samsung LN46A550 HDTV (and I know there is a forum for those; should I be posting this there instead?); hooked up the PS2 and it's only displaying black and white.

Output to S-video, as with previous CRT TV, which had no problems.

Looked at all the settings and no love. Pulled and replaced the cables and no love.

I see this happens when people are playing NTSC DVDs on PAL systems, but that's not at all what's going on here; every screen is black and white only.

Thanks for any help
themastah is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 11-29-2008, 02:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tokerblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 4,718
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 19
If you are using S-Video, make sure that no pins are bent or broken. I once had a S-Video cable with a broken pin and all I saw was black and white.
tokerblue is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 11-29-2008, 02:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
SlaughterX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Alsip, IL
Posts: 839
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Why are you using s-video on an HDTV? Get a set of component cables!
SlaughterX is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 11-29-2008, 03:33 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
themastah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SlaughterX View Post

Why are you using s-video on an HDTV? Get a set of component cables!

I don't see that the pins are bent, and I did need to upgrade a bunch of cables so I also ordered a PS2 component cable with the hope/expectation that will fix it.

I wonder, at that point, if the audio portion should go into the TV or directly into the amp? I'm trying to route as much audio into the amp rather than into the TV and then out the "tv audio out" into the amp.

I realize this is drifting the topic and I'll update here when the cables arrive and the problem is fixed
themastah is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 11-30-2008, 10:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
SlaughterX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Alsip, IL
Posts: 839
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There aren't many games that take advantage of Dolby Digital or DTS on the PS2, but if you watch DVDs on it then it would be worth it to get a optical cable.
SlaughterX is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 11-30-2008, 02:53 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaGamePimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: WA State
Posts: 15,543
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 163
It's the S-Video cable , this is a common issue with S-Video cables .

- Jason

My Twitch Game Stream [PS4/Xone/PC]...
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
DaGamePimp is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 11-30-2008, 03:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
steven975's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,574
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SlaughterX View Post

There aren't many games that take advantage of Dolby Digital or DTS on the PS2, but if you watch DVDs on it then it would be worth it to get a optical cable.

other than cutscenes, I haven't seen DD or DTS in use on a game for PS2. The xbox used it because a DD encoder was built into its chipset; the PS2 had no such capability.

Native DD/DTS only works when the material is scripted...like a movie or cutscene.
steven975 is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 12-19-2008, 11:41 AM
Newbie
 
lawnjart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am having this exact same problem with a new Samsung LN46A500. It works in the AUX/Component 1, but displays in black and white in Component 2 (same with original XBOX).

Do we know if the component cables solved the problem?
lawnjart is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 12-19-2008, 12:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
funsocaltiger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 793
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaGamePimp View Post

It's the S-Video cable , this is a common issue with S-Video cables .

- Jason

The OP said he already tried new cables. I suppose both might be faulty but at that point I was worry about the connection points. TV's S-video input might be bad.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lawnjart View Post

I am having this exact same problem with a new Samsung LN46A500. It works in the AUX/Component 1, but displays in black and white in Component 2 (same with original XBOX).

Do we know if the component cables solved the problem?

If Component 1 works but Component 2 doesn't then it sounds to me like a faulty input on the TV. Report it under warranty (if it still is).
funsocaltiger is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 12-19-2008, 01:28 PM
Newbie
 
lawnjart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nevermind...from Samsung's webpage....

The Component 2 input cannot accept a composite signal. You must connect the composite cables to Component 1 for your picture to come in properly.

Mystery solved!
lawnjart is offline  
Reply PlayStation Area

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off