External HD vs Flash Drive - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 12-21-2008, 08:11 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
rr330i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: LI, NY
Posts: 1,002
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Really just for music/photo storage and the occasional small home vid.
I was thinking of a 16g flash or a bigger USB HD.
Which would be better, quicker... or am i better just using the internal HD?
rr330i is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 12-21-2008, 09:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
steven975's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,574
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any one would be fine, really. The drive would hold more. Speed is a non-issue.
steven975 is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 12-21-2008, 12:07 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
rr330i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: LI, NY
Posts: 1,002
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks...
i just checked and i have 60g of memory left on the internal.
i have 2g of pictures, and 10g of music to move over... so i'd have plenty of extra space on the hd. I'll check out external pricing this week.
Do any of these external sources need special formatting?
rr330i is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 12-21-2008, 01:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
steven975's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,574
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
They need to be formatted FAT32.

You have to jump through some hoops to format a disk that way in XP and Vista, but most externals come pre-formatted as FAT32, though.
steven975 is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 12-21-2008, 05:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
KingShorty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 5,764
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
for small files and movies, a flash drive would do just fine.

I have a 4gb flash drive that I use to move my TV shows from my pc to the ps3 and it works just nicely. I copy them over to the ps3 and delete them from the flash drive. I also delete the files of the ps3 when I'm done watching them.
KingShorty is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 12-21-2008, 07:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Martez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ohio
Posts: 5,917
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by KingShorty View Post

I have a 4gb flash drive that I use to move my TV shows from my pc to the ps3 and it works just nicely. I copy them over to the ps3 and delete them from the flash drive. I also delete the files of the ps3 when I'm done watching them.

Wouldn't it just be simpler to stream the files from your PC with TVersity (or something similar)?

PSN: Tezasaurus
Martez is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 12-21-2008, 08:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
glum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Pale Blue Dot
Posts: 612
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
i have a 60gig external drive and an 8gig usb flash drive and use both with the ps3. i find the usb drive a little easier given that some external hard drives (like mine) need to have external power to work with the ps3.
glum is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 12-21-2008, 08:47 PM
Senior Member
 
Stryf3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 304
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a 750GB external WD that I use to store HD content on. It's way cool having all of the HD movies on there to watch without ever inserting a disk!

I just made you up to hurt myself....
Stryf3 is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 12-22-2008, 01:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
KingShorty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 5,764
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Martez View Post

Wouldn't it just be simpler to stream the files from your PC with TVersity (or something similar)?

It probably would be, but I'd still have to move around the files on the PC... so it really comes up to the same thing for me.

Don't want to add anymore clutter to my router.
KingShorty is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 12-22-2008, 09:04 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
rr330i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: LI, NY
Posts: 1,002
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have null river and streaming, but i've been having issues with the network dropping out. Very annoying and embarassing.
Would be nice to have it all at the PS3.
I'm not liking the way the PS3 stores the music, unless i'm not doing it right.
I want it sorted via Artist > Album > Songs.
I should be able to do this w/ the external. It seems the PS3 just has separate albums.
rr330i is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 12-22-2008, 11:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
KingShorty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 5,764
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rr330i View Post

I have null river and streaming, but i've been having issues with the network dropping out. Very annoying and embarassing.
Would be nice to have it all at the PS3.
I'm not liking the way the PS3 stores the music, unless i'm not doing it right.
I want it sorted via Artist > Album > Songs.
I should be able to do this w/ the external. It seems the PS3 just has separate albums.

The PS3's way of sorting music is horrendous. You can get it to sort via Artist, then it'll show all the songs by album but you won't get to see them in your nice folders.
KingShorty is offline  
Reply PlayStation Area

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off