My PS3 won't download game updates... - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 31 Old 02-26-2009, 01:27 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
MacDaddy29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This has been happening for over a month now. I don't think it's my internet connection because everything else works fine. I can log into PS3 network fine, surf the internet, play any up-to-date multiplayer game for hours, download themes and large demos with no problem.

When I try to update a game that needs it, after a few minutes I get error #8002AD23 which signs me out of the PS3 network. Then a minute later I get error #80710723 which stops the download operation.

I've had the first PS3 network error a couple of other times in the past but the game download would always just continue on. This time the progress bar stays at 0% and never goes up before I'm booted from the game update screen. Any suggestions?
MacDaddy29 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 31 Old 02-26-2009, 01:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
KingShorty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 5,764
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What games are you having trouble with?
KingShorty is offline  
post #3 of 31 Old 02-26-2009, 02:06 PM
Senior Member
 
MIAaron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 378
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Disable media streaming/media servers
Nasir Free likes this.
MIAaron is offline  
post #4 of 31 Old 02-26-2009, 03:07 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
MacDaddy29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MIAaron View Post

Disable media streaming/media servers

That seems to have done it, thanks.
MacDaddy29 is offline  
post #5 of 31 Old 03-27-2010, 03:38 AM
Newbie
 
Jamesx101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hello people i need help badly.
What it is i am having probelms wiv my ps3 i have had this probelm for least about 2 years.
I was connected wireless to our router downstairs and our sercruity was under WEP so i had to go on that option, somehow my stepdad turned off the router but before then we changed our house number so cause he turned it off by accident we had to phone up our internet people and put the internet under our new phone number.
Sted of it being under WEP it is nw under WPA/PSK so i go on that on my ps3 i type in the right password and it says all the time, " A connection to the access point could not be established. check the sercurity settings for the wireless lan".
but the thing is it is under WPA/PSK cause all our pc is under that for our internet and i have typed in the right password.
another thing is that if i go under WEP sted of WPA/PSK and i type in my old password, it suceeded the IP adress but the internet connection failed all the time and i have just given up 2 years of trying but no such luck.
Plz can some1 help me i need it badly.
If u want to explain it to me more contact me on msn Jamesmak@hotmail.com thanx...
Jamesx101 is offline  
post #6 of 31 Old 03-27-2010, 04:28 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
joeblow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 12,056
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 186
Hmmm, maybe the old settings aren't cleared out. There's a drastic measure to clear everything back to factory default, but you'll lose all of your data and dloaded games if you do it. With the PS3 turned off, hold the power button until you hear the beeps, and the menu below should pop up:

1. Restart system
2. Restore default settings
3. Restore file system
4. Rebuild database
5. Restore PS3 system
6. System update

Remember, restore PS3 will clear out everything, so be sure you know the risk before trying it.

Los Angeles Lakers - 16 NBA Championships!

joeblow is online now  
post #7 of 31 Old 03-27-2010, 12:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
totalownership's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2,215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by joeblow View Post

Hmmm, maybe the old settings aren't cleared out. There's a drastic measure to clear everything back to factory default, but you'll lose all of your data and dloaded games if you do it. With the PS3 turned off, hold the power button until you hear the beeps, and the menu below should pop up:

1. Restart system
2. Restore default settings
3. Restore file system
4. Rebuild database
5. Restore PS3 system
6. System update

Remember, restore PS3 will clear out everything, so be sure you know the risk before trying it.

Doing that will clear your trophies or it that a server side thing?

AT HAMMOND ROBOTICS WE'RE BRINGING THE FUTURE ... HOME
totalownership is offline  
post #8 of 31 Old 09-07-2010, 12:22 PM
Newbie
 
luceas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
on wich settings is that media setting ????
luceas is offline  
post #9 of 31 Old 12-30-2011, 12:34 PM
Newbie
 
Angrypsnguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Please help me with this its been killing me for a year now ive been logging on eith no problem playing online for hours with no problem and then I gwt a "an error has occured and ypu have been signed out of the psn" and after that I cant log back in till I do an internet connection test and after that is succesful I play again to once again have it log me out again its really ticking me off and im close to just saying fug it n get a xbox so please some help eould be sweet
Angrypsnguy is offline  
post #10 of 31 Old 12-30-2011, 06:32 PM
Senior Member
 
boltsfan21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: California
Posts: 435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Angrypsnguy View Post

Please help me with this its been killing me for a year now ive been logging on eith no problem playing online for hours with no problem and then I gwt a "an error has occured and ypu have been signed out of the psn" and after that I cant log back in till I do an internet connection test and after that is succesful I play again to once again have it log me out again its really ticking me off and im close to just saying fug it n get a xbox so please some help eould be sweet

How is your PS3 connected to the internet? One thing you should check is your Nat Type. Go into settings, then select Network Settings, and finally select Settings & Connection Status List. Scroll down to the bottom to see your Nat Type. It should be 1 or 2. If you have Nat Type 3, that can cause connection issues with online games.
boltsfan21 is offline  
post #11 of 31 Old 12-30-2011, 06:36 PM
Senior Member
 
boltsfan21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: California
Posts: 435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by luceas View Post

on wich settings is that media setting ????

Go into settings, then select Network Settings, and then finally select Media Server Connection. You can disable it there.
boltsfan21 is offline  
post #12 of 31 Old 03-15-2012, 01:58 PM
Newbie
 
vandelia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I use an ethernet from modem to ps3 (and also I have tried wireless, however whatever method I use to receive a connection I continue to be signed out during my zombie matches cod black ops. Media server disabled, I also enabled it then re-disabled it to see if the problem would stop, yet it persists. My Nat type is open. It seems I have tried everything you read in the forums. Can someone help with any new ideas, thanks.
vandelia is offline  
post #13 of 31 Old 03-16-2012, 02:53 PM
Member
 
1.21JiggaWatts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vandelia View Post

I use an ethernet from modem to ps3 (and also I have tried wireless, however whatever method I use to receive a connection I continue to be signed out during my zombie matches cod black ops. Media server disabled, I also enabled it then re-disabled it to see if the problem would stop, yet it persists. My Nat type is open. It seems I have tried everything you read in the forums. Can someone help with any new ideas, thanks.

You may also turn "display what's new" off and theater mode off.

Do you mean modem or router? Either way, make certain their firmwares are upto date.

Do you have dsl or cable?

Replace your Ethernet cables.

Separate your ac, dc, and signal cables from eachother.

Check your modem's GUI for excessive line noise.

Keep your modem and such cooled and clean.

Replace your modem with a docsis 3.0.
1.21JiggaWatts is offline  
post #14 of 31 Old 06-18-2012, 04:42 AM
Newbie
 
Barney Mahanga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yea hay mate im having the same problem .. look its not downloading the update and my media server thing is disabled
so i dont know what to do a friend used it to download something and know it wont do the updat thing help
Barney Mahanga is offline  
post #15 of 31 Old 08-11-2012, 05:12 PM
Newbie
 
Ed Wood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Dead on. thanks.
Ed Wood is offline  
post #16 of 31 Old 01-23-2013, 02:39 PM
Newbie
 
irishcomrad11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hello everyone, i just bought the newest Ps3, and I'm trying to download the update for sky rim, but everytime it downloads , it always stops anywhere from 10-17% and it stays at 17% and wont go any further. ive deleting the game utility data and tried re-downloading it, but it still stops at 17%( ive tried downloading it 8 times now) any suggestions or tips?????!?!?!?!?!
irishcomrad11 is offline  
post #17 of 31 Old 01-24-2013, 09:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Crash44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by irishcomrad11 View Post

hello everyone, i just bought the newest Ps3, and I'm trying to download the update for sky rim, but everytime it downloads , it always stops anywhere from 10-17% and it stays at 17% and wont go any further. ive deleting the game utility data and tried re-downloading it, but it still stops at 17%( ive tried downloading it 8 times now) any suggestions or tips?????!?!?!?!?!

Make sure your system has the latest firmware, yadda, yadda.

If you're having trouble then try this: Start the game and ignore the update, the system will sign out of PSN. Let the game install completely. Back out, then start the game again and load the patch. Don't watch the progress bar! Go make a sandwich or vacuum, because the patch is probably pretty big these days.

If it still gets stuck, try downloading at an off peak time, I usually choose before I sleep. Let the game install first then back out. Go into the Power Save Settings and set the PS3 to turn off after, say 5 hours, and check the box to turn off no matter what. Go back and start the game and patch, then go to bed.

Hope this helps.

PSN: CrashLanding (please ID requests as AVS)
Crash44 is offline  
post #18 of 31 Old 02-18-2013, 10:41 PM
Newbie
 
Gabriel Silva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Somebody help!!!

Can someone help me please my. One day I was playing Black ops 2 on my ps3 and I wanted to go to sleep the next day I turned it on for it to say Hard disk file system corrupted so I restored it so my first thought was to install Black ops 2 so I put in the disk and it suddenly froze when it said "please wait" screen it it wouldn't let me press anything so I just I had to unplug it Then I tried 3 more times same thing so instead I tried every other game I had It worked except The first black ops and the second one this has been going on for a month I wanna try to fix it but I could screw it up and I may not get much for it if I try to sell it. So please can anyone help me If they know how?
Gabriel Silva is offline  
post #19 of 31 Old 04-02-2013, 04:17 PM
Newbie
 
coburn23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can somebody help..?

I haven't played call of duty black ops 2 for a couple of months now!

Just put the disc into my ps3 system & I needed to download new gaming data..

The download gets to 50% sometimes 75% then the seconds remaining starts to count up instead of down (24, 25, 26 seconds) and so on..

After a couple of minutes I get an error message saying:

"An error occurred during the download operation. (80710723)"

I have disabled the media server connection and still no joy?

I can play fifa 13 online no problems.. But I dread the day they bring an update out!!

Somebody please help frown.gif
coburn23 is offline  
post #20 of 31 Old 04-09-2013, 11:18 AM
Newbie
 
clusterhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I feel you pain. I have the exact same issue with Far Cry 3. Either the 'Downloading Update data' stays at 0% or 50% or 75% and I get the seconds increasing until it fails with error message "An error occured during the download operation (80710123). This is really really frustrating. I have also tried turning off media sharing with no joy. I also am required to accept an update to sign in to the Playstation Store and can't download that update either. RAAAAAARRRRRRRRR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!mad.gif
clusterhead is offline  
post #21 of 31 Old 04-09-2013, 11:35 AM
Newbie
 
clusterhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mate, found a fix!!! biggrin.gif:D:D:D:D Found this when browsing for a fix and could not believe it worked. BOOM! Cant believe I was about to reset my whole system too. (So glad I did not do that!) Try the following:


A PS3 Error 80710723 signifies a network/router error. Try going to SETTINGS > NETWORK SETTINGS > INERNET CONNECTION SETTINGS > (if wired, choose path 1. if wireless, choose path 2.)

1. WIRED CONNECTION > CUSTOM > MANUAL SETTINGS > AUTO DETECT > AUTOMATIC > DO NOT SET > MANUAL ( DNS1 : 208.67.222.222 , DNS2 : 208.67.220.220 ) > AUTO > DO NOT USE > ENABLE > X > X

2. WIRELESS > ENTER MANUALLY > ( ENTER SSID OR CONTINUE ) > ( CHOOSE SECURITY OR CONTINUE ) > CUSTOM > AUTO > DO NOT SET > MANUAL ( DNS1 : 208.67.222.222 , DNS2 : 208.67.220.220 ) > AUTO > DO NOT USE > ENABLE > X > X


cool.gif
clusterhead is offline  
post #22 of 31 Old 04-09-2013, 09:43 PM
Senior Member
 
GFelizardo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Lakewood, WA
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by clusterhead View Post

Mate, found a fix!!! biggrin.gif:D:D:D:D Found this when browsing for a fix and could not believe it worked. BOOM! Cant believe I was about to reset my whole system too. (So glad I did not do that!) Try the following:


A PS3 Error 80710723 signifies a network/router error. Try going to SETTINGS > NETWORK SETTINGS > INERNET CONNECTION SETTINGS > (if wired, choose path 1. if wireless, choose path 2.)

1. WIRED CONNECTION > CUSTOM > MANUAL SETTINGS > AUTO DETECT > AUTOMATIC > DO NOT SET > MANUAL ( DNS1 : 208.67.222.222 , DNS2 : 208.67.220.220 ) > AUTO > DO NOT USE > ENABLE > X > X

2. WIRELESS > ENTER MANUALLY > ( ENTER SSID OR CONTINUE ) > ( CHOOSE SECURITY OR CONTINUE ) > CUSTOM > AUTO > DO NOT SET > MANUAL ( DNS1 : 208.67.222.222 , DNS2 : 208.67.220.220 ) > AUTO > DO NOT USE > ENABLE > X > X


cool.gif

It sounds like your router's DNS lookup is causing the error. I thought I recognized those DNS addresses above, they are for OpenDNS. You could probably improve the DNS lookup for your entire network if you make these changes at the router. Go to OpenDNS.com to get instructions for your particular router. Other DNS services like GoogleDNS would probably work too.
GFelizardo is online now  
post #23 of 31 Old 09-24-2013, 05:54 AM
Newbie
 
freshbebo16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Where is the setring for the media serever
freshbebo16 is offline  
post #24 of 31 Old 09-25-2013, 09:03 AM
Newbie
 
ethancoxxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

thank you thank you thank you thank you thank you thank you thank you thank you thank you thank you thank you thank you thank you thank you thank you thank you thank you thank you thank you thank you thank you thank you thank you thank you thank you thank you thank you thank you thank you thank you 

ethancoxxx is offline  
post #25 of 31 Old 09-25-2013, 11:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 3,914
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by freshbebo16 View Post

Where is the setring for the media serever

If you read up a few posts, you will find this:
Quote:
Originally Posted by boltsfan21 View Post


Go into settings, then select Network Settings, and then finally select Media Server Connection. You can disable it there.
TornadoTJ is offline  
post #26 of 31 Old 10-26-2013, 07:49 AM
Newbie
 
carloslabestia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My ps3 doesnt connect with psn. It always says "the connection with sony entertainment network is over... What should i do?
carloslabestia is offline  
post #27 of 31 Old 11-07-2013, 10:11 AM
Newbie
 
Peter Chakarov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

can any one help me with this problem i have PS3 super slim i found free wifi connection and play for a 2-3 weeks 60% signal  and now i have 70 and can't connect to PSN

Peter Chakarov is offline  
post #28 of 31 Old 11-21-2013, 05:00 PM
Newbie
 
Ticoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Originally Posted by clusterhead View Post

Mate, found a fix!!! biggrin.gif:D:D:D:D Found this when browsing for a fix and could not believe it worked. BOOM! Cant believe I was about to reset my whole system too. (So glad I did not do that!) Try the following:


A PS3 Error 80710723 signifies a network/router error. Try going to SETTINGS > NETWORK SETTINGS > INERNET CONNECTION SETTINGS > (if wired, choose path 1. if wireless, choose path 2.)

1. WIRED CONNECTION > CUSTOM > MANUAL SETTINGS > AUTO DETECT > AUTOMATIC > DO NOT SET > MANUAL ( DNS1 : 208.67.222.222 , DNS2 : 208.67.220.220 ) > AUTO > DO NOT USE > ENABLE > X > X

2. WIRELESS > ENTER MANUALLY > ( ENTER SSID OR CONTINUE ) > ( CHOOSE SECURITY OR CONTINUE ) > CUSTOM > AUTO > DO NOT SET > MANUAL ( DNS1 : 208.67.222.222 , DNS2 : 208.67.220.220 ) > AUTO > DO NOT USE > ENABLE > X > X

 

 

 

Amen Brother, I had tried every thing posted to fix broadband issues. This is the only one that worked. Thank you so much for posting this find!

Ticoll is offline  
post #29 of 31 Old 11-30-2013, 01:36 PM
Newbie
 
playco123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
still cant update gta V:(
playco123 is offline  
post #30 of 31 Old 03-09-2014, 04:22 AM
Newbie
 
ninoevans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My ps3 womt download them it downlaods for 10 mins or so then it says error and then i try again it dowloads and then it goes to install then says error this data is corrupt and then i delete the data and then i try again and it dose the same thing again and its not my internet because before te problem i could play other games onlin and i cant download the new version of games wat can i do
ninoevans is offline  
Reply PlayStation Area

Tags
Playstation 3 80gb System , Playstation 3 160gb System , Playstation 3 320gb System
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off