Rock Band 2 A/V PS3 (using HDMI and surround receiver), driving me nuts! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 Old 05-13-2009, 10:35 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
PublicSectorTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm not sure where to put this thread but I will start with the Playstation area since I'm having problems with the PS3. Recently I got a new surround receiver (Onkyo TX-SR507) and so I moved the PS3 from component to HDMI. The PS3 goes through the surround receiver and from there, the video goes to the TV and the audio goes out to the speakers (obviously). I have the "Dolby Digital" option checked on Rock Band 2.

Now here's the problem-audio and video are waaay out of sync. Rock Band 2 has an internal program that's supposed to fix it, but it doesn't come close. I'm trying to do it manually but I'm not having much luck. Is anyone having this same issue using the PS3 with a surround receiver? BTW, my TV is a Sony XS955 analog CRT HDTV, and I'm using its HDMI input for video. Let me know if you were able to fix this annoying problem.

Twitter: Gizzmonic
PSN: Gizzmonic
PublicSectorTech is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 Old 05-13-2009, 11:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 3,919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 34
common problem that's been discussed here many, many times. Turn off Dolby Digital.
TornadoTJ is offline  
post #3 of 17 Old 05-13-2009, 11:48 AM
Senior Member
 
mystik610's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Also try adjusting the audio/video sync on your Onkyo receiver. I think its under the hardware menu, but I'm not sure (at work right now and dont have access to my 606).
mystik610 is offline  
post #4 of 17 Old 05-13-2009, 03:30 PM
Member
 
odd-props's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
additional processing causes lag.

analog out has the least amount of lag.
odd-props is offline  
post #5 of 17 Old 05-15-2009, 08:07 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
PublicSectorTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Damn, that means my AV setup is gonna be more complicated. Do you know if there's a way to trick the PS3 into outputting component and HDMI at the same time. I'd hate to have to rejigger stuff every time I wanted to watch a movie.

Twitter: Gizzmonic
PSN: Gizzmonic
PublicSectorTech is offline  
post #6 of 17 Old 05-15-2009, 08:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 3,919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 34
There is not a way to do that. Simply uncheck the Dolby Digital setting in Rock Band. That'll get you 95% of the way there, and will not cause you to need to make any cabling changes.
TornadoTJ is offline  
post #7 of 17 Old 05-15-2009, 09:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bdwright77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,891
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Don't you lose some of the vocals / volume levels when unchecking DD on a 5.1+ system? I remember not getting anything out of my center channel when this was done.
bdwright77 is offline  
post #8 of 17 Old 05-15-2009, 09:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 3,919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Nope. The only bit change is that the crowd won't be as distinct in the rear channels. Won't make any difference in the actual gameplay though, other than the lag, especially in the vocals, will be gone.
TornadoTJ is offline  
post #9 of 17 Old 05-15-2009, 10:11 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
PublicSectorTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TornadoTJ View Post

Nope. The only bit change is that the crowd won't be as distinct in the rear channels. Won't make any difference in the actual gameplay though, other than the lag, especially in the vocals, will be gone.

That's good enough for me, I'll give it a try!

I wonder why they even included that option if it was going to cause such problems!

Twitter: Gizzmonic
PSN: Gizzmonic
PublicSectorTech is offline  
post #10 of 17 Old 09-08-2009, 03:54 PM
Newbie
 
kikgon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does the audio quality suffer if you take off the Dolby?
kikgon is offline  
post #11 of 17 Old 09-09-2009, 12:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 3,919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Nope, just what he said right above your post.
TornadoTJ is offline  
post #12 of 17 Old 09-09-2009, 06:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
funsocaltiger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 793
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PublicSectorTech View Post

Damn, that means my AV setup is gonna be more complicated. Do you know if there's a way to trick the PS3 into outputting component and HDMI at the same time. I'd hate to have to rejigger stuff every time I wanted to watch a movie.

This is a super old post but I believe this is possible now with firmware 3.0.
funsocaltiger is offline  
post #13 of 17 Old 10-23-2009, 11:29 AM
Member
 
treepop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by funsocaltiger View Post

This is a super old post but I believe this is possible now with firmware 3.0.

I am considering getting an Denon avr-590 over my Denon avr-1709, due to the ability to have audio over HDMI.

Would audio over HDMI correct this problem? vs Audio over optical? or does the problem stem from something else?


Thanks
treepop is offline  
post #14 of 17 Old 10-23-2009, 01:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 3,919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 34
The lag issue is still going to occur. It doesn't matter about the connection, etc. The solution is simply turn off Dolby Digital within the game. It does NOT affect any other game, movie, etc.
TornadoTJ is offline  
post #15 of 17 Old 10-23-2009, 03:06 PM
Member
 
treepop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TornadoTJ View Post

The lag issue is still going to occur. It doesn't matter about the connection, etc. The solution is simply turn off Dolby Digital within the game. It does NOT affect any other game, movie, etc.

thats so weird

is this only on Denon's or on all receivers....if so....WHY OFFER IT!?

I like the audience around me I FEEL LIKE A STAR!!!!!!!!!!, but seriously I do like it
treepop is offline  
post #16 of 17 Old 10-23-2009, 04:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dogdoctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Framingham, MA
Posts: 3,704
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by treepop View Post

thats so weird

is this only on Denon's or on all receivers....if so....WHY OFFER IT!?

I like the audience around me I FEEL LIKE A STAR!!!!!!!!!!, but seriously I do like it

It affects all AVRs not just Denon. But you need to learn how to manipulate the sound in the AVR to your liking. Turn off the DD and send stereo. Then on the AVR select either 5 channel stereo/dolby prologic and the AVR will redirect the sound to the surrounds as well. You won't get nearly the same clarity with the extrapolated dolby prologic as you would from a discrete DD 5.1 signal, but hey it's it better than nothing without the lag. If you send 5 channel stereo you will hear the exact same sound out of all the speakers, rather than with dolby prologic trying to calculate what should be coming out where.

Now don't let that stop you from going up to the new line of receivers. Audio over HDMI is just plain nice, no matter how you slice it. Have the new AVR and a new Slim just opens more doors of possibilities.

PSN ID: dogdoctor
dogdoctor is offline  
post #17 of 17 Old 10-23-2009, 05:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tingham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bucks County, PA
Posts: 2,652
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I don't have any lag when playing in DD mode. I wonder why some people have this problem? Maybe it's a LCD issue? I play on a plasma, and I usually don't play in the DD mode. In my setup, 2 channel actually sounds better using the Dolby PLIIx or DTS Neo6 surround modes on my Denon.

Go Phillies! Go Eagles! Go Sixers! Go Flyers!
tingham is offline  
Reply PlayStation Area

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off