PS3 Netflix Problems - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 66 Old 11-14-2009, 07:48 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
kleiniford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got Netflix on my PS3, and I am having some problems. Every time I try to watch a show or movie it will stop every 10 minutes and it says "Retrieving". I have a DSL connection, which should be ideal for a decent viewing experience. I already researched the problem, and ended up getting an Ethernet Splitter. So now my PS3 is on a wired connection, and the same problem still occurs. PLEASE HELP! I've searched the threads and could not find a definate answer.

PSN: kleiniford
kleiniford is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 66 Old 11-14-2009, 08:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
IeraseU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 1,441
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does the same thing happen when you try to watch on your PC? It sounds like a bandwidth issue. Even though you said you have DSL, that tells us nothing. There are different 'grades' of DSL service. The more you pay, the more bandwidth your ISP will let you access.

PS Network: HZR
Xbox 360 Tag: HZR Nam 75
Wii Connect: 7793 3308 1436 9373

I support cycle commuting.
IeraseU is offline  
post #3 of 66 Old 11-14-2009, 07:05 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
kleiniford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well on my PC, when I watch stuff I do not get the same problem. And it will let me pause and load the whole episode before watching. I tried pausing on the PS3 for a while in attempt to load the show/movie and it still stopped every 10 minutes and "Retrieved"

I Do not believe it has to do with my DSL Connection, because it works fine on my computer. Also, on the PS3 it kind of lags and the audio and video doesn't match up.

PSN: kleiniford
kleiniford is offline  
post #4 of 66 Old 11-14-2009, 09:32 PM
Member
 
collven's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
First of all, you keep saying you have DSL, but not the speeds you are supposed to be getting. How many mbps are you supposed to get on your service. Secondly, when you say you got an ethernet splitter, do you mean a router, or an actual splitter? If it's a splitter, you should have gotten a router. They are much more efficient at distributing packets.
collven is offline  
post #5 of 66 Old 11-14-2009, 09:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mcjasonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Hyde Park, NY
Posts: 2,042
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 113
go to speedtest.net on your PS3 browser and tell us your results.

Nearfield rig: Laptop -> JDS Labs ODAC -> Emotiva Mini-X -> Pioneer SP-BS22-LR & SW8-mk2Headphone rig: laptop -> JDS Labs ODAC -> Emotiva Mini-X speaker taps -> modded AKG Q701H.T.: PS3 - Yamaha RX-V2500 - Infinity Alpha 50's - Alpha center - Harmon Kardon HKB6 rears, Epik Sentinel
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
mcjasonb is offline  
post #6 of 66 Old 11-14-2009, 10:25 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
kleiniford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Speedtest.net results:
Download Speed: .46Mb/s
Upload: .13MB/s
Ping: 209ms

And i have a router, but its wired to the PS3

PSN: kleiniford
kleiniford is offline  
post #7 of 66 Old 11-14-2009, 11:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
thecrazykevy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 641
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kleiniford View Post

Speedtest.net results:
Download Speed: .46Mb/s
Upload: .13MB/s
Ping: 209ms

And i have a router, but its wired to the PS3

Your download speed is very slow. That is more then likely your problem.

Try running speedtest.net on your PC to see what speeds you get there.
thecrazykevy is offline  
post #8 of 66 Old 11-15-2009, 01:54 AM
Member
 
CRAZZZY's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Westminster, CA.
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by kleiniford View Post

Speedtest.net results:
Download Speed: .46Mb/s
Upload: .13MB/s
Ping: 209ms

And i have a router, but its wired to the PS3

With a connection like that, you should be glad it only disconnects every 10 minutes or so. I have Time Warner Road Runner cable premium and my results are below:

DL: 7.72 Mb/s
Upld: 1.24 Mb/s
Ping: 17 Ms

I'm no videophile, but I know what looks good to me.
CRAZZZY is offline  
post #9 of 66 Old 11-15-2009, 09:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mcjasonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Hyde Park, NY
Posts: 2,042
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by kleiniford View Post

Speedtest.net results:
Download Speed: .46Mb/s
Upload: .13MB/s
Ping: 209ms

And i have a router, but its wired to the PS3

those speeds are terrible. i'd call your ISP and see what they have to say about that. the ping time is also very very high. that's going to make gaming a nightmare.

Nearfield rig: Laptop -> JDS Labs ODAC -> Emotiva Mini-X -> Pioneer SP-BS22-LR & SW8-mk2Headphone rig: laptop -> JDS Labs ODAC -> Emotiva Mini-X speaker taps -> modded AKG Q701H.T.: PS3 - Yamaha RX-V2500 - Infinity Alpha 50's - Alpha center - Harmon Kardon HKB6 rears, Epik Sentinel
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
mcjasonb is offline  
post #10 of 66 Old 11-15-2009, 12:10 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
kleiniford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well I had Sprint DSL, which changed to Embarq, which now just changed to something new. I tried getting up with someone to talk to, and it was impossible. I'll see if there is any way I can make my connection better.

PSN: kleiniford
kleiniford is offline  
post #11 of 66 Old 11-15-2009, 12:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
IeraseU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 1,441
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
At those speeds more then likely you are on their entry level DSL plan. Your ISP can help you upgrade to a plan with higher bandwidth, for a fee of course.

PS Network: HZR
Xbox 360 Tag: HZR Nam 75
Wii Connect: 7793 3308 1436 9373

I support cycle commuting.
IeraseU is offline  
post #12 of 66 Old 11-15-2009, 01:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mcjasonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Hyde Park, NY
Posts: 2,042
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 113
switch to cable. my download speed is usually around 10-12Mb, and upload speed is always 2Mb. my ping times are always less than 15ms, usually it's 10 or 12ms.

Nearfield rig: Laptop -> JDS Labs ODAC -> Emotiva Mini-X -> Pioneer SP-BS22-LR & SW8-mk2Headphone rig: laptop -> JDS Labs ODAC -> Emotiva Mini-X speaker taps -> modded AKG Q701H.T.: PS3 - Yamaha RX-V2500 - Infinity Alpha 50's - Alpha center - Harmon Kardon HKB6 rears, Epik Sentinel
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
mcjasonb is offline  
post #13 of 66 Old 11-15-2009, 02:12 PM
Senior Member
 
fst96se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Idaho Falls, ID
Posts: 478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
My speeds are as follows:

DL 5.31
UL .29
Ping 37ms

UL speed seems REALLY slow... I did this test on my laptop, over a wifi connection. I will test it on the PS3 over wifi, but are these speeds listed above fast enough to stream HD over netflix on the PS3?
fst96se is offline  
post #14 of 66 Old 11-15-2009, 02:46 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
kleiniford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was looking at the options for my DSL Service, and there are 5 options:
Up to 768k download/384k upload
Up to 1.5M download/512k upload speed
Up to 3.0M download/640k upload speed
Up to 5.0M download/768k upload speed
Up to 10.0M download / 896k upload speed

Would the 3.0M Download option be ideal for netflix/PS3 gaming?

PSN: kleiniford
kleiniford is offline  
post #15 of 66 Old 11-15-2009, 03:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mike LS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,658
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Would be much better than what you have. I believe Netflix suggest 5-6mb down for reliable HD streaming.

Gamertag: crud monkey
Mike LS is offline  
post #16 of 66 Old 11-15-2009, 03:40 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
kleiniford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I dont do HD... but I just upgraded my DSL... should see results tomorrow. I'll post up my speeds for criticisms.

PSN: kleiniford
kleiniford is offline  
post #17 of 66 Old 11-15-2009, 05:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mcjasonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Hyde Park, NY
Posts: 2,042
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 113
the HD video alone is peaking at around 5-6Mbps, and probably averages around 2-3Mbps so don't expect to stream HD seamlessly with anything under 3-4Mbps.

for gaming you don't really need a lot of bandwidth, but fast (low) ping times are kind of important.

Nearfield rig: Laptop -> JDS Labs ODAC -> Emotiva Mini-X -> Pioneer SP-BS22-LR & SW8-mk2Headphone rig: laptop -> JDS Labs ODAC -> Emotiva Mini-X speaker taps -> modded AKG Q701H.T.: PS3 - Yamaha RX-V2500 - Infinity Alpha 50's - Alpha center - Harmon Kardon HKB6 rears, Epik Sentinel
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
mcjasonb is offline  
post #18 of 66 Old 11-15-2009, 06:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
eddy_winds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4,747
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10




My mom works for Sony, and she brought home a copy of "Starhawk BETA"
I quickly slipped it into my trusty PS3, and started playing.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
eddy_winds is offline  
post #19 of 66 Old 11-15-2009, 06:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
$mitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 1,116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Your PS3 also has a speed test...results are usually pretty similar to the speedtest.net numbers though.

For $30 a month I use Earthlink (runs on the local TWC lines) and I get 7 to 8 mbps. I've always gotten better results with cable than with DSL.

AVS Madden League -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


PSN - mrSM1TTY
$mitty is offline  
post #20 of 66 Old 11-15-2009, 07:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mcjasonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Hyde Park, NY
Posts: 2,042
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by eddy_winds View Post





that's all you are getting with roadrunner cable? something is wrong.

Nearfield rig: Laptop -> JDS Labs ODAC -> Emotiva Mini-X -> Pioneer SP-BS22-LR & SW8-mk2Headphone rig: laptop -> JDS Labs ODAC -> Emotiva Mini-X speaker taps -> modded AKG Q701H.T.: PS3 - Yamaha RX-V2500 - Infinity Alpha 50's - Alpha center - Harmon Kardon HKB6 rears, Epik Sentinel
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
mcjasonb is offline  
post #21 of 66 Old 11-16-2009, 04:13 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
kleiniford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10


My new speeds...

PSN: kleiniford
kleiniford is offline  
post #22 of 66 Old 11-16-2009, 06:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mike LS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,658
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
should help.

Gamertag: crud monkey
Mike LS is offline  
post #23 of 66 Old 11-16-2009, 06:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
IeraseU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 1,441
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kleiniford View Post



My new speeds...

That's good enough for SD video, certainly.

PS Network: HZR
Xbox 360 Tag: HZR Nam 75
Wii Connect: 7793 3308 1436 9373

I support cycle commuting.
IeraseU is offline  
post #24 of 66 Old 11-16-2009, 06:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chad473's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Comcast-Lancaster, PA
Posts: 2,269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
that should definitely help. you shouldn't have any trouble with SD stuff with those speeds.

xbox live/PSN: Chad473
chad473 is offline  
post #25 of 66 Old 11-16-2009, 09:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mcjasonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Hyde Park, NY
Posts: 2,042
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 113
yup, thats a lot better.

Nearfield rig: Laptop -> JDS Labs ODAC -> Emotiva Mini-X -> Pioneer SP-BS22-LR & SW8-mk2Headphone rig: laptop -> JDS Labs ODAC -> Emotiva Mini-X speaker taps -> modded AKG Q701H.T.: PS3 - Yamaha RX-V2500 - Infinity Alpha 50's - Alpha center - Harmon Kardon HKB6 rears, Epik Sentinel
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
mcjasonb is offline  
post #26 of 66 Old 11-16-2009, 03:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
thecrazykevy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 641
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kleiniford View Post



My new speeds...

Much better. That should be good enough for streaming SD on Netflix with very little buffering or stoppage.
thecrazykevy is offline  
post #27 of 66 Old 11-16-2009, 03:54 PM
Senior Member
 
the49ola's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by thecrazykevy View Post

Much better. That should be good enough for streaming SD on Netflix with very little buffering or stoppage.

If you have the opportunity, try comcast. I'm currently streaming the Last Dragon while doing this test
the49ola is offline  
post #28 of 66 Old 11-17-2009, 01:42 AM
Member
 
CRAZZZY's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Westminster, CA.
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by the49ola View Post

If you have the opportunity, try comcast. I'm currently streaming the Last Dragon while doing this test

WOW!!!!. What plan are you on?. My business T1 line doesn't even do those type numbers. Very impressed.

I'm no videophile, but I know what looks good to me.
CRAZZZY is offline  
post #29 of 66 Old 11-17-2009, 06:04 AM
Senior Member
 
mpkelley20's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CRAZZZY View Post

WOW!!!!. What plan are you on?. My business T1 line doesn't even do those type numbers. Very impressed.

I run speedtest all the time and get almost identical numbers on the download speeds (my average is 29 and change) but my upload speeds are almost twice as fast (average 8mbps). I am ranked in the 99th percentile for both up and download speeds. I didn't realize that I was THAT fast!

I am using Comcast as my provider and have been getting these speeds for a couple of years now.

One thing to note, if Netflix is streaming from somewhre far away like California (I am in Boston), my speeds on speedtest using a callfornia server would drop down to 15mbps or so. I haven't done it in a while but think I may try tonight.
mpkelley20 is offline  
post #30 of 66 Old 11-17-2009, 06:12 AM
Member
 
Nutman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kleiniford View Post

I was looking at the options for my DSL Service, and there are 5 options:
Up to 768k download/384k upload
Up to 1.5M download/512k upload speed
Up to 3.0M download/640k upload speed
Up to 5.0M download/768k upload speed
Up to 10.0M download / 896k upload speed

Would the 3.0M Download option be ideal for netflix/PS3 gaming?

I have 3.0 download speed. My router is in one room and my PS3 with WiFi is in another room and I have no problems with my netflix streaming.
Nutman is offline  
Reply PlayStation Area

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off