PS3 slim black screen flicker + sound cutting off periodically - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 12-27-2009, 03:56 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
SlingingSlasher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Console: PS3 Slim
Connection: HDMI through full HD 1080p 32 inch sammy siries 6 TV

Hi,

Okay i just bought this new PS3 slim for about 2 weeks and i've experienced this really weird "black screen" flickering issue.

The symtoms are:
When i try to launch a game (full of demo) the game would start up, but it also introduce this really weird jumping screen artifacts sort of thing being interlaced with the actual in-game game screen. While this is happening, the in-game sound keeps cutting off for every 1 or 2 seconds or so.

This issue has happened about 3 times now and i had to quit the game and go back to the XMB. When i try to launch the game again for the second time after quitting, the game would run fine as normal again.

This issue happens at random so there is no way to tell when it's going to happen. So far i had played Resistance: fall of man for about 6 times now and this issue only happened once on my 4th launch-thorugh.
As for Dante's Infernal demo, it happens straight away on my first attempt to launch the game. After that it seems to run fine again.


Does anyone here had/has similar issues? is there any way i could prevent it from happening in the future?

Cheers.
Sok
SlingingSlasher is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 12-27-2009, 12:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
moothemagiccow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 881
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Take it back to the store and exchange for a different one

WiiU: moothemagiccow

PSN: moothemagiccow (duh)

moothemagiccow is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 12-27-2009, 08:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gooki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Queenstown, New Zealand
Posts: 3,812
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Tried a different HDMI cable?

International HDDVD Screenshot Archive (Full 1080p Images): www.hdmovies.co.nz
gooki is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 12-27-2009, 10:07 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
SlingingSlasher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gooki View Post

Tried a different HDMI cable?

Hi. Yes i have, and so far i have not had any issues as yet. I will post an update after a week of intense gaming =)
SlingingSlasher is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 12-28-2009, 07:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
eddy_winds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4,747
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gooki View Post

Tried a different HDMI cable?

Bingo

My mom works for Sony, and she brought home a copy of "Starhawk BETA"
I quickly slipped it into my trusty PS3, and started playing.


GOOZEX Game/Movie Exchange
eddy_winds is offline  
Reply PlayStation Area

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off