Help with wired internet connection. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 06-27-2010, 08:28 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Frisco the dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hello, I have recently moved to a new town and after getting my shaw internet hooked up I cannot seem to get my ps3 to work online.
I plug it straight into the same wire that is currently connecting my laptop, to the internet, obviously the laptop works fine.
When I use the auto setting to detect internet connection it always fails. the test obviously fails as well. I so far tried resetting which didn't work.
I have a cable connection with a motorola sb5102 cable modem

any help would be appreciated, Thanks
Frisco the dog is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 06-27-2010, 08:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
moothemagiccow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 881
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Are you using a router? This is usually the biggest obstacle.

If so, download the latest firmware for the router and follow these instructions:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...67#post9017967
http://boardsus.playstation.com/t5/P...E/m-p/26366933

WiiU: moothemagiccow

PSN: moothemagiccow (duh)

moothemagiccow is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 06-27-2010, 09:31 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Frisco the dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yes I believe the cable modem I have is a router, however their is no firmware available on motorola web site for it.

I am using a mac laptop which I'm not overly familiar with either, I wouldn't even know how to access the routers settings
Frisco the dog is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 06-27-2010, 10:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
moothemagiccow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 881
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
open your web browser and type 192.168.1.1 into the address bar
the user name and/or password is generally admin

if it's different the instructions may be on the router itself

WiiU: moothemagiccow

PSN: moothemagiccow (duh)

moothemagiccow is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 06-28-2010, 05:56 AM
 
Im2sexy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 674
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You did select wired connection right, made sure internet connection was enabled? And you also configured the internet connection settings right?
Im2sexy is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 06-28-2010, 10:09 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Frisco the dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
tried typing in that number, it failed to open anything.

yes wired connection has been selected and internet connection enabled, however otherwise I've only tried auto setup as I have no idea what any of the custom settings mean. The router I'm using was setup by cable guy and I'm not aware of any passwords or other info regarding it.
when it looks for ip address it always fails, unfortunately I don't evn know what an ip address is.
I lived in a condo for 1 month in may, plugged ps3 straight into router and it always worked fine, I used auto setup their as well.
Frisco the dog is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 06-28-2010, 10:40 AM
 
Im2sexy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 674
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK I had a motorola surfboard modem a while back. If you copy and paste that IP address that moo posted into your browsers address,hit enter and a small popup window will open asking for user name and password, type in "admin" for user name and password you should get to the modems settings. You need to turn off the modems firewall and put it into DMZ. Thats what I ended up having to do after spending hours on the phone with the cable company and Sony support.
Im2sexy is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 06-28-2010, 10:43 AM
 
Im2sexy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 674
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
PS I think you have to do it from home from your laptop connected to that modem.
Im2sexy is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 06-28-2010, 10:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
zetram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,041
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Where the p3's connectivity test fail at? If it fails at IP you may just simply need to reboot the modem every time to swap the cable from the laptop to the ps3 and vica versa.

I strongly suggest you get basic router for $30.

PSN: Zetram00
MGO: Tez $$
zetram is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 06-28-2010, 02:58 PM
Senior Member
 
mobgre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Im2sexy View Post

PS I think you have to do it from home from your laptop connected to that modem.

You constantly offer useless info.
mobgre is offline  
post #11 of 12 Old 06-28-2010, 03:54 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Frisco the dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
does reboot modem mean to unplug and plug back in. their are no buttons on the modem itself.
Frisco the dog is offline  
post #12 of 12 Old 06-28-2010, 04:26 PM
 
Im2sexy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 674
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Im2sexy View Post

OK I had a motorola surfboard modem a while back. If you copy and paste that IP address that moo posted into your browsers address,hit enter and a small popup window will open asking for user name and password, type in "admin" for user name and password you should get to the modems settings. You need to turn off the modems firewall and put it into DMZ. Thats what I ended up having to do after spending hours on the phone with the cable company and Sony support.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mobgre View Post

You constantly offer useless info.

What part of that post is useless info? Wheres all your useful info there pal? Havent seen you try to help this guy yet with all your expertise. Come on solve the problem mr. mensa. Or are you cranky cause your boyfriend cheated on you again?


Now I see the problem, youra cleveland fan LMAO. Not only did the Celtics kick the Cavs ass your football and baseball teams are like you, LOSERS!!!!!!!
Im2sexy is offline  
Reply PlayStation Area

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off