Netflix On PS3 goes disc-free...(Gets 1080p streaming and DD+ 5.1 surround sound) - Page 13 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #361 of 1195 Old 10-21-2010, 07:16 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
V.X.Donique's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Neuropolis, Brainland
Posts: 999
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Since the first day of launch on 10/18, I have the GUI PSblog has minus the "Video Browse" option, which looks sweet. I hope they push that out soon....

V.X.Donique

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Creator of the AVScience DIY Speakers and Subwoofers Forum

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
V.X.Donique is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #362 of 1195 Old 10-21-2010, 08:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bassmonkeee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4,713
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamieva View Post

So in the end the customer isn't right.

I've usually found this to be the case because the customer makes assumptions about what they "deserve," has no understanding of what actually goes into a decision and a complete lack of facts, and is oftentimes an idiot.

In other words--don't get your panties in a wad over a service that's been available for 4 days and will likely change many times in the coming months.

Quote:


Great attitude to have. Hey here's a great new product....but you don't get it...why? Can't tell you just accept it. Bogus

I agree--it is a great attitude to have in this case. The service that I pay $10/month for just got faster and has more features. I am enjoying Netflix and watching both tv shows and movies as opposed to wasting time and making phone calls and getting pissed off that my widget is infinitesimally different than someone else's widget on the internet.

I fail to see how you aren't getting the "great new product." Are you not able to find and watch movies? The movies are the product, right?

Honestly, I couldn't even tell you which version of the interface that I have. All I know is that I have the ability to find movies that I want to watch that scrolls through options very quickly, and loads movies 5-10 times faster than it did with the disc based version and has 5.1 sound.

I find all of the gnashing of teeth and internet wailing over this ridiculous and amusing.

PSN/XBL: bassmonkeee
Wii number: Who cares?
bassmonkeee is offline  
post #363 of 1195 Old 10-21-2010, 08:22 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Daekwan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 10,262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 333
Because you dont have the version that sucks.

I'd be happy too if I had the new features.

Xbox Live & PSN gamertag- Daekwan

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Daekwan is offline  
post #364 of 1195 Old 10-21-2010, 08:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Suntan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Twin Cities
Posts: 7,110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daekwan View Post

Because you dont have the version that sucks.

"Yeah, that's easy for your to say, you're Mr. White. You have a cool-sounding name. Alright look, if it's no big deal to be Mr. Pink, you wanna trade? "

...Seriously guys. It's an electric box that plays movies for you out of thin air. Just watch some shows and munch some popcorn.

-Suntan
Suntan is offline  
post #365 of 1195 Old 10-21-2010, 08:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bassmonkeee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4,713
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daekwan View Post

Because you dont have the version that sucks.

I'd be happy too if I had the new features.

I think I have the stripped down version that Pixelman posted a couple of pages back. I can't see if something is in HD or has 5.1 unless I go into the title's page looking for more info (the horror!).

What constitutes a version that sucks and ruins the movie watching experience? Is there one that takes a lot longer to load, or doesn't offer the movies in HD, or something? I was under the impression that it was mostly cosmetic in the way you scroll through movies and where you have to go to find the information about said movies.

You can't be Mr. Black--he's on another job.

PSN/XBL: bassmonkeee
Wii number: Who cares?
bassmonkeee is offline  
post #366 of 1195 Old 10-21-2010, 09:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Chris Schempp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Grand Forks, ND
Posts: 2,302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by bassmonkeee View Post

I think I have the stripped down version that Pixelman posted a couple of pages back. I can't see if something is in HD or has 5.1 unless I go into the title's page looking for more info (the horror!).

What constitutes a version that sucks and ruins the movie watching experience? Is there one that takes a lot longer to load, or doesn't offer the movies in HD, or something? I was under the impression that it was mostly cosmetic in the way you scroll through movies and where you have to go to find the information about said movies.

You can't be Mr. Black--he's on another job.

Oh, is not seeing HD until the info page the problem? If so, I have the crappy one too and I love it.

Chris Schempp

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

PSN - Mandos_eD
Chris Schempp is offline  
post #367 of 1195 Old 10-21-2010, 09:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bassmonkeee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4,713
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Schempp View Post

Oh, is not seeing HD until the info page the problem? If so, I have the crappy one too and I love it.

I honestly don't know. I just know that I like the version I have now for free a lot more than the version I had on the 360 when I was paying for Gold.

PSN/XBL: bassmonkeee
Wii number: Who cares?
bassmonkeee is offline  
post #368 of 1195 Old 10-21-2010, 09:45 AM
Member
 
jzderf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am getting a "We're unable to connect you to Netflix" error when I launch the app right now. This is around 12:45 EST in NYC. Anyone else having issues?
jzderf is offline  
post #369 of 1195 Old 10-21-2010, 09:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
NJ3118's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Northern New Jersey
Posts: 1,223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jzderf View Post

I am getting a "We're unable to connect you to Netflix" error when I launch the app right now. This is around 12:45 EST in NYC. Anyone else having issues?

same here

I have a fever and the only cure is more Blu-Ray....
NJ3118 is offline  
post #370 of 1195 Old 10-21-2010, 10:02 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
zoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10,057
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post

When getting 5.1 DD+ on the 3808 is shows up as Dolby Digital + + Prologic IIx cinema on my 3808 display. When receiving DD it shows up as Dolby Digital + Prologic IIx cinema.

You can also look at the audio status page and it will tell you more info about the audio stream as well as showing Dolby DIgital Plus.
Any time I watch something on VUDU I get DD+ and I have some test BDs with DD+.

aaron, i have a slim set to bitstream, and it showed dd ex in my case. i do have 7.1 system though. should i try lpcm and see if i get same display on 3808?
zoro is offline  
post #371 of 1195 Old 10-21-2010, 10:14 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Daekwan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 10,262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 333
Quote:
Originally Posted by Suntan View Post

"Yeah, that's easy for your to say, you're Mr. White. You have a cool-sounding name. Alright look, if it's no big deal to be Mr. Pink, you wanna trade? "

...Seriously guys. It's an electric box that plays movies for you out of thin air. Just watch some shows and munch some popcorn.

-Suntan

Quote:
Originally Posted by bassmonkeee View Post

I think I have the stripped down version that Pixelman posted a couple of pages back. I can't see if something is in HD or has 5.1 unless I go into the title's page looking for more info (the horror!).

What constitutes a version that sucks and ruins the movie watching experience? Is there one that takes a lot longer to load, or doesn't offer the movies in HD, or something? I was under the impression that it was mostly cosmetic in the way you scroll through movies and where you have to go to find the information about said movies.

You can't be Mr. Black--he's on another job.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Schempp View Post

Oh, is not seeing HD until the info page the problem? If so, I have the crappy one too and I love it.

So you guys all must have this version then:



Awesome that you are so easily satisfied!



Evidently you must have it, because you all certainly seem to be talking on behalf of those that actually do. Or if by some completely odd chance that you have the better version, then why even care what others have? Why question what those that have the version above are complaining about?

Xbox Live & PSN gamertag- Daekwan

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Daekwan is offline  
post #372 of 1195 Old 10-21-2010, 10:15 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,429
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 638 Post(s)
Liked: 714
Quote:
Originally Posted by bassmonkeee View Post

.............I agree--it is a great attitude to have in this case. The service that I pay $10/month for just got faster and has more features.............

How did it get faster? The PS3 implementation is equal to or slower than my other Netflix devices. Although it does have the search capability and of course 5.1.
But put those features in all the Netflix capable devices and the PS3 would not be my first choice.

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is offline  
post #373 of 1195 Old 10-21-2010, 10:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jamieva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Midlothian, VA
Posts: 2,192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Because some people like to be the contrarian.
jamieva is offline  
post #374 of 1195 Old 10-21-2010, 10:19 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,429
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 638 Post(s)
Liked: 714
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoro View Post

aaron, i have a slim set to bitstream, and it showed dd ex in my case. i do have 7.1 system though. should i try lpcm and see if i get same display on 3808?

The way mine is setup, I can get DD EX from a DD 5.1 source. and it will show up as 6.1. Anytime the source is DD+, it will show up as such.

I using a 7.1 setup also.

the best way to see what the Denon is receiving is to look at the audio status overlay page. It will show the format, number of channels, etc.

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is offline  
post #375 of 1195 Old 10-21-2010, 10:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Chris Schempp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Grand Forks, ND
Posts: 2,302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daekwan View Post

So you guys all must have this version then:



Awesome that you are so easily satisfied!



Evidently you must have it, because you all certainly seem to be talking on behalf of those that actually do. Or if by some completely odd chance that you have the better version, then why even care what others have? Why question what those that have the version above are complaining about?

Not really easily satisfied. Is it annoying? Yeah, but it doesn't even take a second to click and then back out. I assume going forward this will improve, much like the PS3 has in general.

Chris Schempp

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

PSN - Mandos_eD
Chris Schempp is offline  
post #376 of 1195 Old 10-21-2010, 10:22 AM
Advanced Member
 
PeterLewis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 638
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by jzderf View Post

I am getting a "We're unable to connect you to Netflix" error when I launch the app right now. This is around 12:45 EST in NYC. Anyone else having issues?

I'am in Orlando and i'am seeing the same as you...

Samsung 60F8500
Panasonic 55GT30
Panasonic BDT310
PS3 (PS4 coming soon)
Sony STR-DG1000 AVR
Mirage Omnisat V2 7.1 set up with Energy S10 Sub
PeterLewis is offline  
post #377 of 1195 Old 10-21-2010, 10:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sitlet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,591
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by jzderf View Post

I am getting a "We're unable to connect you to Netflix" error when I launch the app right now. This is around 12:45 EST in NYC. Anyone else having issues?

Same here, 1:35 in michigan. That figures, I just renewed my netflix last night just for this, and already it isnt working.
sitlet is offline  
post #378 of 1195 Old 10-21-2010, 10:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mproper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Palmyra, PA
Posts: 7,043
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
1:38 in PA (EST). Both my PS3 and 360 are working fine for Netflix.

**Watches movie while pointing and laughing at the rest of you suckers**
mproper is offline  
post #379 of 1195 Old 10-21-2010, 10:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
saprano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bronx NY
Posts: 3,396
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 249
Quote:
Originally Posted by jzderf View Post

I am getting a "We're unable to connect you to Netflix" error when I launch the app right now. This is around 12:45 EST in NYC. Anyone else having issues?

Can connect either. They must be updating the app to the final design.

I hope they use the one from the PSblog. Thats the version i have and think it's the best.

home theater addict
saprano is offline  
post #380 of 1195 Old 10-21-2010, 10:43 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Daekwan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 10,262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 333
Mproper I hope your electricity goes out..

And maybe they are updating the Netflix services/app so we all have the newer version!!

Xbox Live & PSN gamertag- Daekwan

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Daekwan is offline  
post #381 of 1195 Old 10-21-2010, 10:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Suntan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Twin Cities
Posts: 7,110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daekwan View Post

So you guys all must have this version then:

Actually, I still have the disc version sitting on the shelf in the basement because I haven't gotten around to firing the PS3 up and downloading the new interface.

I've just had more important things to do in the evenings then get upset about the interface for picking shows to watch off the internet. ...Now as for riling up a fellow forum member while at work... I've got all kinds of time for that.

-Suntan
Suntan is offline  
post #382 of 1195 Old 10-21-2010, 10:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mproper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Palmyra, PA
Posts: 7,043
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daekwan View Post

Mproper I hope your electricity goes out..

And maybe they are updating the Netflix services/app so we all have the newer version!!

Well, the queue did seem to take longer than usual to come up on both my PS3 and 360, but once it was up, it worked fine (and is working fine....watching another episode of The Kill Point right now through the PS3 app)
mproper is offline  
post #383 of 1195 Old 10-21-2010, 11:04 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Daekwan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 10,262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 333
Quote:
Originally Posted by Suntan View Post

Actually, I still have the “disc” version sitting on the shelf in the basement because I haven’t gotten around to firing the PS3 up and downloading the new interface.

I’ve just had more important things to do in the evenings then get upset about the interface for picking shows to watch off the internet. ...Now as for riling up a fellow forum member while at work... I’ve got all kinds of time for that.

-Suntan

Who's upset? I just want the same interface others are getting.

"As for riling up a fellow forum member while at work".. I have no doubt I have more time & effort than you buddy..

Especially since apparently I dont have "more important things to do in the evenings" lmao! See ya tonite.. does 9pm work?

-Daekwan

Xbox Live & PSN gamertag- Daekwan

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Daekwan is offline  
post #384 of 1195 Old 10-21-2010, 11:10 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Daekwan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 10,262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 333
Quote:
Originally Posted by mproper View Post

Well, the queue did seem to take longer than usual to come up on both my PS3 and 360, but once it was up, it worked fine (and is working fine....watching another episode of The Kill Point right now through the PS3 app)

Since you are home enjoy the spoils of the couch. Did your version ever get upgraded Mproper? I checked last night.. even uninstalled & reinstalled and still stuck with the same crappy version.

Xbox Live & PSN gamertag- Daekwan

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Daekwan is offline  
post #385 of 1195 Old 10-21-2010, 11:17 AM
Member
 
Evan E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post

How did it get faster?

Once I select a movie, the movie loads much faster than it did with the disc-based connection. Picture quality is also noticeably better - on my paltry 4.5Mbps connection it was rare to be able to get content in anything above 480p. Since Monday night, every single item available in HD has come through in HD - that's extraordinary. Plus, you know, 5.1 sound if it's available.

I'm getting the "previewed" interface, and I hope it or a tweaked version of that becomes the standard for everyone after this launch period, because it's a huge improvement over the disc-based interface. But interface issues aside, once I select an item the PS3 app is a huge improvement over the disc.
Evan E is offline  
post #386 of 1195 Old 10-21-2010, 11:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mproper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Palmyra, PA
Posts: 7,043
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daekwan View Post

Since you are home enjoy the spoils of the couch. Did your version ever get upgraded Mproper? I checked last night.. even uninstalled & reinstalled and still stuck with the same crappy version.

Nope, still the same old crappy UI.
mproper is offline  
post #387 of 1195 Old 10-21-2010, 11:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 3,919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 34
I've tried 3 different movies that state 5.1, I've edited the sound settings to set 5.1 in the movie, but still I get 2.0.
TornadoTJ is offline  
post #388 of 1195 Old 10-21-2010, 11:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
maximuslcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,934
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I saw this option the other night while playing, can I merge it with my existing netflix account? I receive disc through the mail?

xbox live GT: xXmaximus prime
PSN: maximus_rr
I have to go, I have a meeting with the bobs, uhhh I wasnt aware of any meeting......yeah they called me at home
maximuslcd is offline  
post #389 of 1195 Old 10-21-2010, 11:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sitlet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,591
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
can I merge it with my existing netflix account?

You dont "merge" it, just sign it with your current email and password.

Quote:
I receive disc through the mail?

Huh? If you have a disc, you dont need to use it anymore, thats the whole point of this application.
sitlet is offline  
post #390 of 1195 Old 10-21-2010, 11:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bassmonkeee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4,713
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daekwan View Post

So you guys all must have this version then:



Awesome that you are so easily satisfied!

Again--what feature set is missing here that I should be unsatisfied with? I'm serious.

Quote:
Evidently you must have it, because you all certainly seem to be talking on behalf of those that actually do. Or if by some completely odd chance that you have the better version, then why even care what others have? Why question what those that have the version above are complaining about?

Because as an American, I have a God given right to covet what complete strangers have that could potentially be better than what I have. I'm questioning what the "better" version has that the "easily satisfied with" version doesn't. I WANT TO BE PISSED OFF, TOO! Gimmie a torch or a pitchfork so I can join the mob storming the corporate meanies ruining our GUI! Just tell me what I'm supposed to be mad about first is all I'm asking.

PSN/XBL: bassmonkeee
Wii number: Who cares?
bassmonkeee is offline  
Reply PlayStation Area

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off