Netflix On PS3 goes disc-free...(Gets 1080p streaming and DD+ 5.1 surround sound) - Page 16 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-23-2010, 08:42 PM
Member
 
Rei86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
So I'm on the 7.99 plan and I'm wondering if I'm getting the full instant watch that people with other more expensive plans.

Also another thing I want to talk about is I've been using all three systems. Panasonic TC-P50G25 VieraLink system, Xbox 360, PS3...

I've come to the conclusion the Xbox 360 is ****ing retarded. The Xbox 360 has no search feature but looks good for having the blade feature. But where the **** is my search?

The Panny VieraLink NetFlix app kind of looks like what the old PS3 GUI looked like. But thats only from youtube videos I've seen so I have no idea. The VieraLink NF app can pretty much do everything the PS3 can do.

Another thing I noticed the PS3 when playing HD content will say X-High/High, the Panny says HD, the 360 says HD...Why the hell can the PS3 not just say HD?

Other then that complaint besides the PC being the best the PS3 is my go to box ATM. Also I found the speed of each system to be the same, all three are hooked up by CAT6 to my router so so it shouldn't be that slow anyways. The only thing that I found to be slow is that PS3/TV when searching is a lot slower then the Xbox 360s slide system. I'm sure you know what I'm talking about when I say the PS3 has a slight lag when going from one item to another. However I did find the all the info + having that small screen that starts to play like five mins to see if you're intrested seems to be exclusive to the PS3 system ATM which is a plus.

With that said I'm going back on to say that I prefer the PS3 overall to the other two items in the house that can do it.
Rei86 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-24-2010, 08:36 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Daekwan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 10,262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 335
Was gone for the weekend.. just got home a few hours ago. Tried my Netflix app again on my PS3, still the same. Even deleted and reinstalled again, no success. There has to be a way to trick it to download the better version

Xbox Live & PSN gamertag- Daekwan
www.facebook.com/Daekwan
Daekwan is offline  
Old 10-24-2010, 08:43 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Daekwan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 10,262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 335
Netflix testing $7.99 and $8.99 streaming-only plans in US right now:

http://www.engadget.com/2010/10/23/n...s-in-us-right/

When CEO Reed Hastings called Netflix "primarily a streaming company that also offers DVD-by-mail," he wasn't messing around, as the company's quietly made streaming-only plans a reality on US shores. Strangely enough, however, it seems the firm hasn't quite decided how much the new plan should cost, as depending on which computer and web browser you use to navigate Netflix's website you'll see a different result. Our Windows desktop running Chrome was invited to sign up for the same $7.99 disc-less plan as our Canadian counterparts, while Firefox asked us to pay $8.99 for the same privilege, and in either case it'd cost us $9.99 in total if we wanted physical discs as well -- while a MacBook Pro on the other side of the country was given the choice between $8.99 for streaming-only or Netflix's previous plan of $8.99 for both. In short, there's a chance you might get a $1 discount if you only use the company's online service now, but if you like DVDs delivered to your door you may find yourself subsidizing those who don't. See a picture illustrating the discrepancy right after the break.

Update: We've got Netflix's entire pricing breakdown for DVD-mailer plans after the break, and unless we're mistaken, the three cheapest tiers all cost an extra dollar now, while the more expensive plans stay the same.

Xbox Live & PSN gamertag- Daekwan
www.facebook.com/Daekwan
Daekwan is offline  
Old 10-24-2010, 10:14 PM
Member
 
Rei86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daekwan View Post

Was gone for the weekend.. just got home a few hours ago. Tried my Netflix app again on my PS3, still the same. Even deleted and reinstalled again, no success. There has to be a way to trick it to download the better version

Any screen shots of the better App? Or is the better App the one that PSBlog demoed?
Rei86 is offline  
Old 10-25-2010, 12:22 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 17,180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rei86 View Post

Any screen shots of the better App? Or is the better App the one that PSBlog demoed?

Engadget has a good story on all the various apps available on the PS3. Apparently they're all 2.0 and there's no way to know which one you'll get.

I have no triangle feature whasoever on mine, no "video browsing", nada.

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
Old 10-25-2010, 06:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
Vince2909's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Platte City, MO
Posts: 680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I dl'd the app to my new slim this weekend and watched "Rampage", netflix listed as
HD an DD+. I'll say that the PQ was excellent and the audio was excellent as well. All routed via HDMI to an Onkyo 605 and Panny 58" V10. I was quite pleased with it all. I'd look into the streaming only pack if they'd get more films avail to stream.

PSN: VinnAY-DBC
Vince2909 is offline  
Old 10-25-2010, 08:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 3,934
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rei86 View Post


Another thing I noticed the PS3 when playing HD content will say X-High/High, the Panny says HD, the 360 says HD...Why the hell can the PS3 not just say HD?

Other then that complaint besides the PC being the best

The reason the PS3 says both X-HIGH and HIGH is because X-HIGH is 1080p and HIGH is 720p. Since no other system on the planet can do Netflix at 1080p yet, only the PS3 is going to give the X-HIGH option.

The PC version is the WORST of them all IMO. The stupid stuttering due to Silverlight is extremely annoying.
TornadoTJ is offline  
Old 10-25-2010, 08:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cuco33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
only did some minor browsing over the weekend with 1/2 of Tyson documentary watched (friend never saw it). Different interface than the xbox one but I like it especially not needing a disk now. Haven't tried any of the HD w/5.1 content yet... then again I still need to wire up my surrounds (new place)

Onkyo 605 / Paradigm Titan / Paradigm CC Center / Paradigm ADP rear / HSU STF-1 / HD-A2 / 40gbPS3 / 360elite / Wii / PC
I hate fanboys..
anti-GT5:P-er ;)
eurokult.com
cuco33 is offline  
Old 10-25-2010, 08:47 AM
Senior Member
 
elixxxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveFi View Post

Engadget has a good story on all the various apps available on the PS3. Apparently they're all 2.0 and there's no way to know which one you'll get.

I have no triangle feature whasoever on mine, no "video browsing", nada.

Same. Mine look exactly like Engadget's own screenshots, just with no option to browse video while watching. I'm also still experiencing audio stuttering with 5.1 streams.
elixxxer is offline  
Old 10-25-2010, 11:17 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 22,040
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 971 Post(s)
Liked: 828
Quote:
Originally Posted by TornadoTJ View Post

The reason the PS3 says both X-HIGH and HIGH is because X-HIGH is 1080p and HIGH is 720p. Since no other system on the planet can do Netflix at 1080p yet, only the PS3 is going to give the X-HIGH option.

The PC version is the WORST of them all IMO. The stupid stuttering due to Silverlight is extremely annoying.


if that is the case then why does it show "SD" when it shows "HIGH"?
On the netflix content I tried that shows X-High and HD, it looks identical to the same Netflix content coming from my TiVo at 720P.
As well as the ones showing High and SD, looks like the content my TiVo shows at 480P from Netflix.

And i've never seen stuttering from the PC application. It's smooth with no video or audio issues for me.

40TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
Old 10-25-2010, 11:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Suntan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Twin Cities
Posts: 7,142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post

And i've never seen stuttering from the PC application. It's smooth with no video or audio issues for me.

Well if that's the case, then you happen to be the one guy on the face of the planet that has had such fortune. Go buy a lottery ticket.

-Suntan
Suntan is offline  
Old 10-25-2010, 11:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 3,934
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 36
No kidding, and my HTPC is no slouch either; it was purpose built to be an HTPC and plays BluRay rips perfectly.
TornadoTJ is offline  
Old 10-25-2010, 11:53 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
zoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10,073
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post

if that is the case then why does it show "SD" when it shows "HIGH"?
On the netflix content I tried that shows X-High and HD, it looks identical to the same Netflix content coming from my TiVo at 720P.
As well as the ones showing High and SD, looks like the content my TiVo shows at 480P from Netflix.

And i've never seen stuttering from the PC application. It's smooth with no video or audio issues for me.

I agree! picture does not look that good on PC.

Btw Aaron, do u have slim or phat or both? and if you have nailed DD plus issue yet with your 3808CI?
zoro is offline  
Old 10-25-2010, 11:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 3,934
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 36
I have 2 slims and a phat and none of them have display issues. I watched the National Geographic documentary called "Collapse" last night and the picture was fantastic!
TornadoTJ is offline  
Old 10-25-2010, 12:10 PM
Senior Member
 
pixelman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: GSP
Posts: 270
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Never a stutter on any of our PC's either. Always perfectly smooth.
pixelman is offline  
Old 10-25-2010, 12:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mproper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Palmyra, PA
Posts: 7,043
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
No problems on my laptop over the last 2 or 3 years either.

Of course, the subset of Netflix HD material available to the PC is a fraction (about 1/2 I think) of the HD material available to other devices.
mproper is offline  
Old 10-25-2010, 12:17 PM
Member
 
dono4100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rei86 View Post

Another thing I noticed the PS3 when playing HD content will say X-High/High, the Panny says HD, the 360 says HD...Why the hell can the PS3 not just say HD?

where does it say 'HD', or any quality, running netflix from viera-cast on the panny?? i've yet to see/find it on my g25
dono4100 is offline  
Old 10-25-2010, 12:25 PM
Member
 
Rei86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveFi View Post

Engadget has a good story on all the various apps available on the PS3. Apparently they're all 2.0 and there's no way to know which one you'll get.

I have no triangle feature whasoever on mine, no "video browsing", nada.

wow that so odd, why would you have so many versions of this app?

Mine is just like youtube video number 2 and I can't complain. Its actually damn good besides the computer and hell of a lot better then the Xbox 360. I mean how the hell can you leave out the search function?

Also to TornadoTJ I disagree. I found the video quality to be great on the PC with no breaks/juddering. Pro Tip, stop downloading porn when you want to watch something on NetFlix.
Rei86 is offline  
Old 10-25-2010, 01:00 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 22,040
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 971 Post(s)
Liked: 828
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoro View Post

I agree! picture does not look that good on PC.

Btw Aaron, do u have slim or phat or both? and if you have nailed DD plus issue yet with your 3808CI?

I use a slim. I traded in my 20GB 2006 PS3 when Gamestop had the $200 trade in credit offer for the PS3.

40TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
Old 10-25-2010, 01:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Suntan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Twin Cities
Posts: 7,142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Not the first time Netflix PC playback has been criticized.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1255994

But if you're just watching it on a little monitor attached to your PC, you may not notice it as much.

-Suntan
Suntan is offline  
Old 10-25-2010, 01:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 3,934
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rei86 View Post

Also to TornadoTJ I disagree. I found the video quality to be great on the PC with no breaks/juddering. Pro Tip, stop downloading porn when you want to watch something on NetFlix.

I realize you are joking, but for the record this PC is never used for surfing, it has no AntiVirus on it, nothing that would be interfering with any audio/video streaming, and like I said works perfectly for BluRay. If you look around on this forum, there's a thread of plenty of folks that have the problem on the PC, and the issue is attributed to Silverlight. I'm not alone on this.

The issue is most apparent when panning to the left or right. It is painful to watch.

EDIT: Suntan beat me to the link.
TornadoTJ is offline  
Old 10-25-2010, 01:46 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 17,180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 26
I have a Slim and a 35/35 FIOS connection and haven't experienced any stutters. I have had the video drop back to SD from HD on occasion- you'd think 35/35 would be enough, but apparently Netflix needs to beef up their network a bit. They must have had a pretty big influx of new PS3 users (like me) when they went to 5.1/1080p.

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
Old 10-25-2010, 02:06 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 28,493
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 449 Post(s)
Liked: 445
Quote:
Originally Posted by TornadoTJ View Post

I realize you are joking, but for the record this PC is never used for surfing, it has no AntiVirus on it, nothing that would be interfering with any audio/video streaming, and like I said works perfectly for BluRay. If you look around on this forum, there's a thread of plenty of folks that have the problem on the PC, and the issue is attributed to Silverlight. I'm not alone on this.

The issue is most apparent when panning to the left or right. It is painful to watch.

EDIT: Suntan beat me to the link.

Is your browser up to date? How about your version of Silverlight? I know awhile back Firefox had some stuttering issues whereas IE played the files fine. Firefox has since become fully compatible and plays the files fine now, and I believe it was due to an updated Silverlight, but I'm not certain on that.
Keenan is offline  
Old 10-25-2010, 02:12 PM
Member
 
Rei86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by TornadoTJ View Post

I realize you are joking, but for the record this PC is never used for surfing, it has no AntiVirus on it, nothing that would be interfering with any audio/video streaming, and like I said works perfectly for BluRay. If you look around on this forum, there's a thread of plenty of folks that have the problem on the PC, and the issue is attributed to Silverlight. I'm not alone on this.

The issue is most apparent when panning to the left or right. It is painful to watch.

EDIT: Suntan beat me to the link.

Yes it was a joke. I've only watched two titles on the PC and the rest on the PS360. The PC is connected to a 24inch LCD Asus monitor and I didn't notice any hiccups.

I'm just saying that my PC experience was great but like I said before I do prefer my PS3 as the go to netflix box.
Rei86 is offline  
Old 10-25-2010, 02:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 3,934
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Maybe that's why. I have a 46" Sammy in the living room and a 42" Panny in the bedroom. I should mention that I'm extremely sensitive to flicker on CRTs, and I'm one of those people that can see the green flash and rainbows in DLPs. I know these don't affect someone. Honestly I wish I couldn't see those things.

Everything is up to date on my PC. I don't watch in a browser, I use MC7. I have one machine that's Windows 7 64 bit, one that's 32 bit, both have the same issue. Check that link Suntan posted, there's a good discussion about the issue I'm having there.

My Netflix picture on the PS3 is so much better than I went and got a 2nd slim for the bedroom and moved the HTPC from there to another room.
TornadoTJ is offline  
Old 10-25-2010, 03:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Abaddon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: St Louis
Posts: 2,022
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Really random, really unlikely thought: is it possible that some (if not all) of the UI differences are because the PS3's are running at different resolutions? Maybe it has a different interface for 480p and 1080p, for example.

I was going to start a free month trial but I am going to wait until the bugs are worked out before burning that.
Abaddon is offline  
Old 10-25-2010, 03:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mproper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Palmyra, PA
Posts: 7,043
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I would think there are very very few people in this thread running their PS3's in 480p mode.
mproper is offline  
Old 10-25-2010, 03:57 PM
Member
 
Rei86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by TornadoTJ View Post

Maybe that's why. I have a 46" Sammy in the living room and a 42" Panny in the bedroom. I should mention that I'm extremely sensitive to flicker on CRTs, and I'm one of those people that can see the green flash and rainbows in DLPs. I know these don't affect someone. Honestly I wish I couldn't see those things.

Everything is up to date on my PC. I don't watch in a browser, I use MC7. I have one machine that's Windows 7 64 bit, one that's 32 bit, both have the same issue. Check that link Suntan posted, there's a good discussion about the issue I'm having there.

My Netflix picture on the PS3 is so much better than I went and got a 2nd slim for the bedroom and moved the HTPC from there to another room.

I don't remember my Asus's model number but that doesn't really matter. I do most of my viewing on a Panasonic TC-P50G25. I don't have perfect vision anymore but nope I never had the pleasure in owning a DLP set, a lagging phosphor trail laid by my Plasma nor have I had flicker issue with my old 36" WEGA.

My computer is running Ubuntu 64bit and Windows XP 32bit (never upgraded when Vista came out and taking my time before I go 7) and neither system has problem with Netflix unless the video itself is the issue.
Rei86 is offline  
Old 10-25-2010, 04:34 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Daekwan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 10,262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 335
Quote:
Originally Posted by Abaddon View Post

Really random, really unlikely thought: is it possible that some (if not all) of the UI differences are because the PS3's are running at different resolutions? Maybe it has a different interface for 480p and 1080p, for example.

I was going to start a free month trial but I am going to wait until the bugs are worked out before burning that.

Hmm.. Im running mine at 1080i, but I'll switch to 720p and give it a try. Cant hurt! I only have 720p set.



Edit: Nope still have the most sucky version. I am happy to report that the resolution change DID make changes to get my Netflix logo & navigation icon key map to show properly without being cutoff. I also noticed BEFORE the resolution change that my movies stored on the PS3 harddrive are now organized in folders and no longer do the video thumbnail preview. I kinda like it better that way.

Xbox Live & PSN gamertag- Daekwan
www.facebook.com/Daekwan
Daekwan is offline  
Old 10-25-2010, 05:18 PM
Member
 
Rei86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Abaddon View Post

Really random, really unlikely thought: is it possible that some (if not all) of the UI differences are because the PS3's are running at different resolutions? Maybe it has a different interface for 480p and 1080p, for example.

I was going to start a free month trial but I am going to wait until the bugs are worked out before burning that.

The UI hasn't hindered me from watching shows at all.
Rei86 is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off