Netflix On PS3 goes disc-free...(Gets 1080p streaming and DD+ 5.1 surround sound) - Page 8 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #211 of 1195 Old 10-19-2010, 05:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jamieva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Midlothian, VA
Posts: 2,191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 32
My 6 year old wanted to watch Princess and the Frog last night. It looked spectacular. Even i had to watch for a while just for the picture quality.
jamieva is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #212 of 1195 Old 10-19-2010, 06:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
iamkoza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 827
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was surprised that I was able to get 1080p w/5.1.... I have a 6Mbit wired DSL connection.... PQ was pretty good, it was 11pm at night, perhaps that's why it was working so well for me.
iamkoza is offline  
post #213 of 1195 Old 10-19-2010, 06:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Suntan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Twin Cities
Posts: 7,107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by iamkoza View Post

I was surprised that I was able to get 1080p w/5.1.... I have a 6Mbit wired DSL connection.... PQ was pretty good, it was 11pm at night, perhaps that's why it was working so well for me.

DSL doesn't degrade its throughput when more users are online like cable. What youg et is what you get.

I always get the exact same (slow) 3.15Mbps download, regardless of when I check it.

-Suntan
Suntan is offline  
post #214 of 1195 Old 10-19-2010, 06:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
curtlots's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northeast WI
Posts: 576
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 29
My connection is on the slow end at 1.5 but this is by far the most impressive streaming I have seen. Very impressed. Even the cheezy You Tube videos need to constantly buffer but the few shows & movies I checked out on Netflix last night ran without a hitch and the picture quality was light years ahead of other streaming sites, even at SD.

I've had Netflix for a few years now, so I know the play it now selections tend to be older movies and TV shows, but this will be a great supplement to my 2 at a time Blu-ray account that I can easily watch on my TV.
curtlots is offline  
post #215 of 1195 Old 10-19-2010, 06:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mproper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Palmyra, PA
Posts: 7,043
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by curtlots View Post

My connection is on the slow end at 1.5 but this is by far the most impressive streaming I have seen. Very impressed. Even the cheezy You Tube videos need to constantly buffer but the few shows & movies I checked out on Netflix last night ran without a hitch and the picture quality was light years ahead of other streaming sites, even at SD.

I've had Netflix for a few years now, so I know the play it now selections tend to be older movies and TV shows, but this will be a great supplement to my 2 at a time Blu-ray account that I can easily watch on my TV.

Well, I've seen much more impressive streaming (Vudu HDX and Zune on XBOX come to mind, both of which have been 1080p 5.1 for quite awhile), but if you're limited to a 1.5 connection, your choices are pretty limited (not to mention those other options are much more expensive, since they are a PPV basis, and not buffet). You're probably not getting the best quality with that connection, but if you're happy, that's all that matters.

As for selection, You guys might be interested in this "Netflix Gems and Finds" thread I started earlier this year: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1222798

I've watched over 250 titles on it, and still have quite a few in my queue (although I'm currently under 40, but I'm sure if I started browsing, I'd get that back over 100 again). No complaints about selection here. Just need to expand your tastes a bit. Everyone knows the best movies being put out now are from independent and foreign studios
mproper is offline  
post #216 of 1195 Old 10-19-2010, 06:47 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
V.X.Donique's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Neuropolis, Brainland
Posts: 996
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Watched the Matrix Revolutions last night..X-High/5.1= stupid grin on face. Please let there be more newer titles like this in the future...

V.X.Donique

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Creator of the AVScience DIY Speakers and Subwoofers Forum

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
V.X.Donique is online now  
post #217 of 1195 Old 10-19-2010, 07:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ratm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by V.X.Donique View Post

Watched the Matrix Revolutions last night..X-High/5.1= stupid grin on face. Please let there be more newer titles like this in the future...

Awesome. You just totally messed up my honey do list. THANK YOU!!!!

Although I'm not getting it 5.1.
ratm is offline  
post #218 of 1195 Old 10-19-2010, 08:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Plex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: North Huntingdon, Pa 15642
Posts: 2,044
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by V.X.Donique View Post

Watched the Matrix Revolutions last night..X-High/5.1= stupid grin on face. Please let there be more newer titles like this in the future...

I also picked that to watch last night and really nice o hear the rears kicking in, had a few drop outs but I figure the site was being flooded last night Since I'm so slow to return and disks these days I'd opt for a streaming only

Audyssey
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Plex is offline  
post #219 of 1195 Old 10-19-2010, 08:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
akbled's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,954
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did anyone else have issues with pause/rewind/ff last night? Once I tried to rewind and system froze. Once I paused and my system froze. I had issues loading Arrested Development last night, about three times I got only about 3 seconds of audio and no picture and system locked up. Hopefully this is just initial server issues and it will get worked out, right now it still seems Xbox is the way to go.
akbled is offline  
post #220 of 1195 Old 10-19-2010, 09:11 AM
Advanced Member
 
chmilar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Culver City, CA
Posts: 686
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BGPu View Post

I've got a Japanese unit and it looks like I can't use the Netflix app due to region restrictions.

I bought my PS3 in Taiwan (Region 3/Region A), and it won't run the Netflix app due to region restriction (I am in the U.S.). But it did work with the Netflix disc.

I wonder if the Netflix disc will continue to work, or if it will become disabled....

It's too bad the restriction is using the DVD region instead of the Blu-ray region, because I am in the correct Blu-ray region.

The
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
, an AVS Forum tradition.
chmilar is online now  
post #221 of 1195 Old 10-19-2010, 10:17 AM
Senior Member
 
pixelman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: GSP
Posts: 270
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ratm View Post

Awesome. You just totally messed up my honey do list. THANK YOU!!!!

Although I'm not getting it 5.1.

Did you turn on the 5.1 setting in Netflix before you played the title? Once you do this, most other titles will remember the setting, but some I have found do not and have to be told 5.1 before each play.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
pixelman is offline  
post #222 of 1195 Old 10-19-2010, 10:26 AM
Senior Member
 
The Sapient's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pixelman View Post

Did you turn on the 5.1 setting in Netflix before you played the title? Once you do this, most other titles will remember the setting, but some I have found do not and have to be told 5.1 before each play.

Where do you do this?
The Sapient is offline  
post #223 of 1195 Old 10-19-2010, 10:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 3,918
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by pixelman View Post

Its an option when viewing the full-screen listing in the new PS3 layout.

If the title has 5.1 (will show 5.1 next to name at top of screen), then on the left where it shows "Play, Add/Remove to/from Instant Queue, Rate the title" there will also be an option of "Audio and subtitles". Go in there and switch it to 5.1.

It should remember this setting for future titles, although I've found some which did not for some reason.

Read this from earlier in the thread
TornadoTJ is offline  
post #224 of 1195 Old 10-19-2010, 10:31 AM
Senior Member
 
The Sapient's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks, and sorry for my inability to read the thread properly before asking.
The Sapient is offline  
post #225 of 1195 Old 10-19-2010, 10:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gnolivos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: OHIO, USA
Posts: 1,749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
OK, I will have to rant.

Ive enjoyed NetFlix WITH DISC for a while now. Only complaint was the need for the Disc. I was happy with the quality of 720p titles on the large (108" projector) screen.

Tried the new app last night. HORRIBLE GUI change! Why?!?! It was fine before, now it feels clunky, and looks unpolished. It is also buggy (will not elaborate on this, but I did find a few bugs).

Worst of all, I played one of the 720p titles that I had been watching via Disc last week (Wild China BBC or something...) and the quality is MOST DEFINITELY inferior. I dont really care if the projector now 'believes' that the stream is 1080p (which it does), I can say for sure that the quality is no better than a 480 SD. I would have been fine with just the good old 720p resolution, but this is ridiculous. The top left of the screen by the way seems to dynamically switch from SD to X-High, although I see no change in picture quality... just looks SD to me.

Not happy with any of the changes, and I was really hoping for the same interface, without need for a Disc.

EDIT: After reading more of this thread, it appears there are different GUI interfaces been pushed to users... I wonder if the interface I got was poorer than the others... I can tell you it really sucked!!

The Moderno Theatre! Slideshow (
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
, and
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
)
Pixar screenplay slideshows
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
!
gnolivos is offline  
post #226 of 1195 Old 10-19-2010, 10:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
taxman48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 2,489
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Wonder if the app will work with a 2nd PS3? I have the fat upstairs for games/movies and the slim for downstairs as my BD.. way to go Netflix..

taxman48 is offline  
post #227 of 1195 Old 10-19-2010, 10:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 3,918
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 34
it works on 2 ps3's for me. Haven't tested 3 yet (have a phat I haven't sold yet).
TornadoTJ is offline  
post #228 of 1195 Old 10-19-2010, 10:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
SeattleAl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 561
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
When I checked the app yesterday afternoon, most of the things I looked at had the "Audio/Subtitles" button, but later in the evening, I couldn't find any that had it. I checked this morning, and only 30 Rock and maybe one or two others had it.

Is it just me? What changed?
SeattleAl is offline  
post #229 of 1195 Old 10-19-2010, 11:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tfoltz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: CA
Posts: 3,525
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 61
I didn't see the option to change audio formats on any screen when I was using the program last night. I also didn't see "5.1" next to the movie/show title. It just played 5.1 on movies/shows automatically if they were programmed to do so.

Also, I like the new movie-selection screen a lot better than the previous one.

PSN: PrankT


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

tfoltz is offline  
post #230 of 1195 Old 10-19-2010, 11:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
akbled's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,954
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gnolivos View Post

OK, I will have to rant.

Ive enjoyed NetFlix WITH DISC for a while now. Only complaint was the need for the Disc. I was happy with the quality of 720p titles on the large (108" projector) screen.

Tried the new app last night. HORRIBLE GUI change! Why?!?! It was fine before, now it feels clunky, and looks unpolished. It is also buggy (will not elaborate on this, but I did find a few bugs).

Worst of all, I played one of the 720p titles that I had been watching via Disc last week (Wild China BBC or something...) and the quality is MOST DEFINITELY inferior. I dont really care if the projector now 'believes' that the stream is 1080p (which it does), I can say for sure that the quality is no better than a 480 SD. I would have been fine with just the good old 720p resolution, but this is ridiculous. The top left of the screen by the way seems to dynamically switch from SD to X-High, although I see no change in picture quality... just looks SD to me.

Not happy with any of the changes, and I was really hoping for the same interface, without need for a Disc.

EDIT: After reading more of this thread, it appears there are different GUI interfaces been pushed to users... I wonder if the interface I got was poorer than the others... I can tell you it really sucked!!

I can see that, if your projector does a better job of upscaling the 720p content than simply displaying the Netflix native 1080p content. You could test it by disabling 1080p output on your PS3.
akbled is offline  
post #231 of 1195 Old 10-19-2010, 11:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gnolivos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: OHIO, USA
Posts: 1,749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Well, with the Disc NF version, my projector switched to 720p mode when viewing 720p content. It was not upscaling, guaranteed.

Now, the projector is simply switching to 1080pmode because it sees a 1080p stream from NF (apparently, NF is now tunnelling all content, SD and HD, through a 1080p stream). What I dont understand is why the 720p NF videos, now tunneled through a 1080p stream, look like crap.

Or at least that was my observation based on one single flick... will try tonite again.

Quote:
Originally Posted by akbled View Post

I can see that, if your projector does a better job of upscaling the 720p content than simply displaying the Netflix native 1080p content. You could test it by disabling 1080p output on your PS3.


The Moderno Theatre! Slideshow (
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
, and
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
)
Pixar screenplay slideshows
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
!
gnolivos is offline  
post #232 of 1195 Old 10-19-2010, 11:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tgable's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,360
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by taxman48 View Post

Wonder if the app will work with a 2nd PS3? I have the fat upstairs for games/movies and the slim for downstairs as my BD.. way to go Netflix..

worked for me, no more registering the device online, it uses the PSN account I think.

Now playing: Madden, Diablo 3, First Light, PvZ: GW
Recently Finished: Watch Dogs
PSN & XBL: Scuzzlebutt33
tgable is offline  
post #233 of 1195 Old 10-19-2010, 12:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
MarkcusD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 594
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I agree that the gui is a step back. The queue is no longer circular
MarkcusD is offline  
post #234 of 1195 Old 10-19-2010, 12:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tfoltz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: CA
Posts: 3,525
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 61
2 PS3s work fine: I installed Netflix with the same PSN account on both PS3s (it only asked me my Netflix user name/password on the 1st PS3). I then tried to turn on Netflix on both PS3s without signing into PSN and it would not let me go forward without signing into a PSN account. I then signed into separate PSN accounts for each respective PS3 and both worked and streamed the same movie at the same time (they streamed separate movies as well, of course). One thing to note is that the Netflix disc did not require signing into PSN, and I will have to test this further to see if there is a way to use Netflix without signing into PSN; I don't like being signed on because the friend sign-on/sign-off notification popped up during movies! I checked my Netflix account on their website and see both my PS3's are activated for Netflix streaming, and you can have up to 6 active streaming devices.

PSN: PrankT


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

tfoltz is offline  
post #235 of 1195 Old 10-19-2010, 12:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
taxman48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 2,489
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 67
thanks for quick reply.. Tried the 5.1 on 30 Rock and it works fine.. Displaying "Dolby Digital EX on my Pio ELite VSX-03.. this is great progress

taxman48 is offline  
post #236 of 1195 Old 10-19-2010, 12:37 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 28,285
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 338 Post(s)
Liked: 398
Quote:
Originally Posted by gnolivos View Post

Well, with the Disc NF version, my projector switched to 720p mode when viewing 720p content. It was not upscaling, guaranteed.

Now, the projector is simply switching to 1080pmode because it sees a 1080p stream from NF (apparently, NF is now tunnelling all content, SD and HD, through a 1080p stream). What I dont understand is why the 720p NF videos, now tunneled through a 1080p stream, look like crap.

Or at least that was my observation based on one single flick... will try tonite again.

My guess would be that the Netflix app is doing a terrible job of upscaling it. I haven't watched anything yet so I can't comment on picture quality. I'm still a bit befuddled that they would force an upconverison to 1080p in the first place, in my world, native is the way to go, and in fact it worked just fine when it was coming at 720p.

Is the 1080p just a cheap marketing stunt? Yes, it's wonderful that the app is capable of 1080p playback, but I'd be more impressed if it played back content in it's native encoded resolution.
Keenan is offline  
post #237 of 1195 Old 10-19-2010, 12:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 3,918
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Agreed. It shouldn't be an upscale, it should be 1080p source.
TornadoTJ is offline  
post #238 of 1195 Old 10-19-2010, 12:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Zookster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by tfoltz View Post

I don't like being signed on because the friend sign-on/sign-off notification popped up during movies!.

I can see where that would be annoying; so annoying in fact, I have that function completely disabled because I don't like to see the notices even while playing games. Ruins the immersion factor for me and sometimes distracts me to the point I mess up at a key moment.
Zookster is offline  
post #239 of 1195 Old 10-19-2010, 12:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
Billbofet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Waukesha, WI
Posts: 538
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I downloaded the update and tried a few of the HD movies/shows. I think the quality has definitely improved.

One odd thing is that the 5.1 is a hell of a lot quieter than 2 channel. I noticed this on The Last Boyscout. I tried 5.1 and it sound just okay - kind of lacking dynamic range and bass. Then tried a few other movies and came back to Boyscout and it was super loud. Then I noticed it had swapped back to 2 channel. It actually sounded better in 2 channel processed as DPLII.

Maybe it's just this movie in particular. Let me know if any of you guys have experienced something similar.

Billbofet
Billbofet is offline  
post #240 of 1195 Old 10-19-2010, 01:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jamieva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Midlothian, VA
Posts: 2,191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Couple of things.

Bring back the circular queue. I have 240 items in my queue and I really hate having to scroll to number 200+ to get to the item otherwise i have to search for it.

Found a bug last night while scrolling through the queue. had an issue where i stopped on an item, but the item listed in the description was the next item in queue to the right.

So for example I had the picture for battlestar galactica season 4.5, but the episodes listed and titles and everything were for In Plain Sight season 1, which if i scroll to the right was the next picture in line. Figured it was some type of scrolling issue.
jamieva is offline  
Reply PlayStation Area

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off