PS3 Games on YCbCr - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 12-27-2010, 08:00 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
JoseQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Dallas, TX USA
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This may be a simple question, but I can't find where there may be a solution.

I need to set my PS3 to YCbCr for games. I know how to set it for video and it plays them fine, but the menus and games are not shown properly. I'm not too interested in BTB or WTW, I just want to have regular color (everything looks green in my screen).

My screen is a SIM2 HT300E projector, so the settings are very limited on that end. It actually displays them fine if I connect the PS3 directly to the projector, but I need to go through my receiver (Onkyo HT-RC180) to get sound. Likewise if I connect the output of the receiver to a monitor, it also displays everything fine. So there must be some miscommunication when going through the Onkyo to the SIM2 where it detects the display as being something it's not.

Is there any way to force YCbCr output for the games?

I have tried all possible combinations (I think) for the RGB Full Range / Super-White / etc. settings. I've tried other cables. I've tried everything I can think of.

Any help is appreciated.

JoseQ

http://www.tailormadeservers.com
Dedicated Servers for Every Need
JoseQ is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 12-27-2010, 09:32 PM
Senior Member
 
mcmushx15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 415
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
if everything is green, you may have your green and blue crossed. make sure you got the right connections set up and that on the ps3 end, its fully pushed in!
mcmushx15 is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 12-27-2010, 09:39 PM
Member
 
HDTVblues3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do you have the manual?

Quote:


Pge. 18:

The default settings are:
NATIVE (the machine's native primary colours)
HDTV, EBU, SMPTE-C, primary colours defined by the standards
AUTO, mode that applies one the standard settings described above

Would that help?
HDTVblues3 is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 12-27-2010, 09:53 PM
Member
 
HDTVblues3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcmushx15 View Post

What he said

Yeah, check for this first since it happens with all my RGB connections at least once.
HDTVblues3 is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 12-27-2010, 11:03 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
JoseQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Dallas, TX USA
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm actually using an HDMI cable, not Component output.

http://www.tailormadeservers.com
Dedicated Servers for Every Need
JoseQ is offline  
Reply PlayStation Area

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off