PS3 60 gig Bricking after 3.61 update? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 Old 05-18-2011, 11:49 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
MGM619's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just did the update and could it coincidentally brick my system? It was running fine prior to the update. I also played it regularly while PSN was down.. Any input would be appreciated.. Thanks
MGM619 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 05-18-2011, 11:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
confidenceman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 7,984
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 37
As much as it sucks and as much as I feel your pain (my original 60gig went YLOD about six months ago), these claims have been made for as long as firmware updates have existed. The old "phat" PS3's all die, firmware update or not.

The only reason it coincided with the update is that you're power cycling your PS3 during the update process. It was probably already on its way out; this just sealed the deal. Many (if not most) of the 20gig and 60gig owners around here have lost their original units due to YLOD. Sucks, but it's inevitable.

You can try a short-term fix in order to rescue any game saves. But that won't last as a long-term solution. Your options are either to send it in to Sony and pay $150 for a fix (which may just delay the inevitable), or you can sell it or trade it in for $100-200 as is through ebay, Craigslist, or to Gamestop.

PSN & XBL ID: drop me a private message
confidenceman is offline  
post #3 of 16 Old 05-19-2011, 12:10 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
MGM619's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the info. It sucks a lot because I play a lot of PS1 and Ps2 games! There are places around the area that can "repair it" for $60. Something about reflowing the gpu and or adding new thermal paste. Would that be a short term fix or will it make it "good as new."

Quote:
Originally Posted by confidenceman View Post

As much as it sucks and as much as I feel your pain (my original 60gig went YLOD about six months ago), these claims have been made for as long as firmware updates have existed. The old "phat" PS3's all die, firmware update or not.

The only reason it coincided with the update is that you're power cycling your PS3 during the update process. It was probably already on its way out; this just sealed the deal. Many (if not most) of the 20gig and 60gig owners around here have lost their original units due to YLOD. Sucks, but it's inevitable.

You can try a short-term fix in order to rescue any game saves. But that won't last as a long-term solution. Your options are either to send it in to Sony and pay $150 for a fix (which may just delay the inevitable), or you can sell it or trade it in for $100-200 as is through ebay, Craigslist, or to Gamestop.

MGM619 is offline  
post #4 of 16 Old 05-19-2011, 06:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
crippldogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Yorktown, VA
Posts: 572
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by MGM619 View Post
Thanks for the info. It sucks a lot because I play a lot of PS1 and Ps2 games! There are places around the area that can "repair it" for $60. Something about reflowing the gpu and or adding new thermal paste. Would that be a short term fix or will it make it "good as new."
This will be a short term fix. You can do it yourself, takes about 2 hours to complete. There's a youtube video showing step by step how to do it. I've done it and soon after sold my 60GB for a slim.

The Weekend Warriors
crippldogg is online now  
post #5 of 16 Old 05-19-2011, 08:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tgable's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,363
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 78
All firmware updates are followed by some body saying it caused their system to brick. The truth is it was coincidence, millions of people are running 3.61 just fine and Rockstar has since redacted their stupid finger pointing.

Now playing: Destiny, Madden, Diablo 3, PvZ: GW
Recently Finished: Infamous: First Light, Watch Dogs
PSN & XBL: Scuzzlebutt33
tgable is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 05-19-2011, 09:04 AM
Member
 
Evan E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
My originally-60GB (I've since installed a 500GB drive) is working fine post-update.
Evan E is offline  
post #7 of 16 Old 05-19-2011, 09:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Abaddon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: St Louis
Posts: 2,014
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evan E View Post

My originally-60GB (I've since installed a 500GB drive) is working fine post-update.

Ditto, minus the HD upgrade that I keep putting off.
Abaddon is online now  
post #8 of 16 Old 05-19-2011, 09:19 AM
Member
 
Avious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evan E View Post

My originally-60GB (I've since installed a 500GB drive) is working fine post-update.

Mine is running fine as well.. and I have the 500GB drive.

psn: Avious
Avious is offline  
post #9 of 16 Old 05-19-2011, 09:20 AM
Senior Member
 
FenixP3D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: eLk GrOvE, CA
Posts: 405
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
60gb with ps2 bc (bought it in Oct 2011) still running fine with latest update.
FenixP3D is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 05-19-2011, 11:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
confidenceman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 7,984
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by MGM619 View Post

Thanks for the info. It sucks a lot because I play a lot of PS1 and Ps2 games!

I was in the same boat. Though it's some small comfort that even the latest Slim models still play PS1 games.

PSN & XBL ID: drop me a private message
confidenceman is offline  
post #11 of 16 Old 05-19-2011, 11:35 AM
Member
 
MakoCSH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Duluth, GA
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
My first 80GB phat quit reading disks right after an update. I believe it was an unfortunate coincidence though.

PSN: MakoCSH
MakoCSH is offline  
post #12 of 16 Old 05-19-2011, 12:37 PM
Senior Member
 
60SXRD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 449
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
My January 2007 build 60GB (w 320GB installed) is still fine. I opened it up and cleaned out the dust last year.

Cheers,

Jeff

SXRD/Denon/OPPO/HTPC/PS4/PS3/XB360/NHT/HSU
PSN ID: Krondorian
XBL ID: Midkemian
West Coast
Twitter: @Krondo_jd
60SXRD is online now  
post #13 of 16 Old 05-19-2011, 04:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
Notsobright's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 699
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 20
my fat 60 with a 500 in it is still alive, but it having trouble breathing sometimes.
Notsobright is offline  
post #14 of 16 Old 05-19-2011, 05:20 PM
 
TyrantII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Boston
Posts: 10,114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 832
I wish there was a way to mod the sturdy slim into the sexy 60 case...

TyrantII is offline  
post #15 of 16 Old 05-19-2011, 05:25 PM
Senior Member
 
stuup1dmofo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Only way to really fix a ylod, is not to reflow but to reball.
stuup1dmofo is offline  
post #16 of 16 Old 05-20-2011, 07:36 PM
Senior Member
 
Kabuto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Pearland, TX.
Posts: 244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Mine updated but on reboot got an error about not having the original hard drive or some such. Luckily just unplugging the unit for a little bit and starting again worked fine.
Kabuto is offline  
Reply PlayStation Area

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off