Game resolution drops to 480p - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 06-06-2011, 07:39 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
stojakapimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all,

Whenever I start up a game on my PS3, my TV changes the resolution to 480p. However, when I'm in the PS3 console, or viewing netflix, the TV resolution stays at 1080p.

My TV is a Pioneer 1150HD and the PS3 connects to the TV through an AVR 347 receiver.

However, if I connect the PS3 directly up to the TV, then the games load with a resolution of 1080i and it looks much better. This tells me that it's probably an issue with either the AVR or perhaps the HDMI cable connecting the PS3 to the AVR. I'm not quite sure why the AVR would be causing this problem, though.

Anybody know what I can try to do to get it so that PS3 games stop loading with a resolution of 480p, and instead load with 720 or 1080?

Thanks!

EDIT: Just to clarify, I'm using HDMI from the PS3 to the AVR and HDMI from the AVR to the TV. No component or S-video cables
stojakapimp is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 06-06-2011, 07:58 PM
Member
 
mborland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sun Prairie Wisconsin
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by stojakapimp View Post

Hi all,

Whenever I start up a game on my PS3, my TV changes the resolution to 480p. However, when I'm in the PS3 console, or viewing netflix, the TV resolution stays at 1080p.

My TV is a Pioneer 1150HD and the PS3 connects to the TV through an AVR 347 receiver.

However, if I connect the PS3 directly up to the TV, then the games load with a resolution of 1080i and it looks much better. This tells me that it's probably an issue with either the AVR or perhaps the HDMI cable connecting the PS3 to the AVR. I'm not quite sure why the AVR would be causing this problem, though.

Anybody know what I can try to do to get it so that PS3 games stop loading with a resolution of 480p, and instead load with 720 or 1080?

Thanks!

Well, HDMI from PS3 to AVR, HDMI to TV from AVR then? Has to be, I believe. Otherwise it will be downgrade. Someone smarter than me will correct if necessary. I am assuming you are going Component out from the AVR as you specify only 1 HDMI cable may be bad.
When you connect direct to TV, what are you using?
mborland is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 06-06-2011, 08:22 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
stojakapimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mborland View Post

Well, HDMI from PS3 to AVR, HDMI to TV from AVR then? Has to be, I believe. Otherwise it will be downgrade. Someone smarter than me will correct if necessary. I am assuming you are going Component out from the AVR as you specify only 1 HDMI cable may be bad.
When you connect direct to TV, what are you using?

Sorry I should have specified, but I'm using HDMI for all connections. That is, HDMI from PS3 to AVR and then HDMI from AVR to TV
stojakapimp is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 06-06-2011, 08:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
futurecode's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wilkes-barre, PA
Posts: 506
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by stojakapimp View Post

Hi all,

Whenever I start up a game on my PS3, my TV changes the resolution to 480p. However, when I'm in the PS3 console, or viewing netflix, the TV resolution stays at 1080p.

My TV is a Pioneer 1150HD and the PS3 connects to the TV through an AVR 347 receiver.

However, if I connect the PS3 directly up to the TV, then the games load with a resolution of 1080i and it looks much better. This tells me that it's probably an issue with either the AVR or perhaps the HDMI cable connecting the PS3 to the AVR. I'm not quite sure why the AVR would be causing this problem, though.

Anybody know what I can try to do to get it so that PS3 games stop loading with a resolution of 480p, and instead load with 720 or 1080?

Thanks!

EDIT: Just to clarify, I'm using HDMI from the PS3 to the AVR and HDMI from the AVR to the TV. No component or S-video cables

Either your avr is trying to convert the signal (set to "pass through" if you can) but most likely the ps3 wants to do 1080p, your tv says "no" and is just out putting at 480p. Go into the ps3s xmb and to setting then to display settings and try unchecking some of the display options it give you (mainly 1080p, 1080i and 480p if you can't get it to do 720p)

Ps, if you tv isn't 1080p, for games, 720p would be better then 1080i.

PSN: futurecode
futurecode is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 06-06-2011, 10:39 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
stojakapimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by futurecode View Post

Either your avr is trying to convert the signal (set to "pass through" if you can) but most likely the ps3 wants to do 1080p, your tv says "no" and is just out putting at 480p. Go into the ps3s xmb and to setting then to display settings and try unchecking some of the display options it give you (mainly 1080p, 1080i and 480p if you can't get it to do 720p)

Ps, if you tv isn't 1080p, for games, 720p would be better then 1080i.

I tried that previously but it still wasn't working.

But that said, I finally figured it out. I did what you suggested and removed 1080i and 1080p, but the game still started up in 480p. Then, I went to the settings for the AVR and saw that the video was set to 480p, so I changed that to 720p. After that, it worked great.

I tried doing the same thing earlier but for some reason the AVR wouldn't let me change the resolution. Not sure what was different this time.

I tried turning 1080i and 1080p back on in the PS3 xmd, but the game still started in 720p. I'm guessing that's because the game is spec'd at 720p/1080i, and as you said, 720p is better than 1080i so it reverted to that.

Anyways, seems to be fixed now. Really appreciate the help.
stojakapimp is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 06-08-2011, 06:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tokerblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 4,718
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 19
You should set your receiver to pass through the video unscaled. The best option is to let the PS3 decide what the best resolution to use if you have a 1080p TV. Select 480p, 720p and 1080p.
tokerblue is offline  
Reply PlayStation Area

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off